2004 team?

• Thread starter Thread starter Dry Rot

Lawrence might have a good season with us, but realistically we are still rebuilding and I would probably rather see Birss, Cooney, Faulkner, and Gilbs get a run ahead of a guy like Lawrence.

The more you look at these teams the more you realise that time is nearly up for Garlick, Harro, and Dimma. They have all given us good service and I hope they can still make an impact next year, but they are well into the twilight of their careers. Crofty probably won't make it past next year either.

I've been a big fan of The Ingredient, he has been a solid contributor to the team but his form has deterioted over the past two years. Should struggle for a spot next year.

Harro is isn't going to get any better and isn't the most popular bloke here but he has been good for us, I thought he had a good year (if such a thing is possible when we finish last) this year. SHould be able to figure in the team as a regular last year but I would much prefer to see other players push him out.

I can see Boyd taking over Dimmas role, I was impressed with the way he went about his footy when given the chance. Dimma had his best year this year and brings more to the team than simply being another footballer, he sets a good example in terms of heart and commitment. May struggle next year with the improved depth but there is certainly a place for Dimma if he is in good form.

I am suprised Crofty has stayed on, he was starting to look very slow this year. Age / injury appear to have caught up with him; Absolute champion but I'd love to see a few defenders step up and take the reins off of him.

Here a few random ideas about team structure for next year:

Bigger bodied midfield: get Hahn, Boyd, Dimma in the middle to provide some grunt. Rotate them through effectively using them as 'pinch hitting power' players. Birss / West the smaller in and under types.

Play Chris Grant in the backline on the third best forward or in a Cloke type role. Harris to full back, with Grant's support should be able to hold the KP role.

Bandy deep in the forward line to stretch defence. Bowden leading out of the square or roaming the F50 as FF. Hard working smaller forward to pounce on spillages and provide a defensive presence (Robbins maybe?)

All I want in 2004 is a team that is stronger over the ball and can contest in the air.

B: Harris Croft Gilbee
HB: Koops Grant Smith
C: Robbins West Eagleton
HF:Guido Bandy Harrison
F: Johnson Rawlings Bowden
R: Darcy Hahn Murphy

I: Cooney Hargrave Street Dimma
E. Birss Power Garlick

Move Smurf into the midfield and Robbo up the ground. Hargrave and Harris interchangeable, Harris againstt he bigger sides Hargrave against the smaller sides. Tough choice between Birss and Gilbee for the back pocket

Chuck Bandy on a HF flank if he's fit. The dude's got some serious aerobic fitness (sub-13 4k puts him in top 2 or 3 at club) and has a height advantage over most HB Flankers. A huge IF about the fitness, but with #3 and Rawlings coming in, best to use him with something he can do (when fit)...RUN.

Was talking to a mate from SA and he recons Cooney is ready now, big and strong and heaps of skill

So if you add cooney to the starting line up it

B: Harrison Hargrave Robbins
HB: Koops Darcy Smith
C: eagleton West cooney
HF:Bandy Boyde johno
F: Grant Rawlings Skipper
R: street Hahn Murphy

I: Harris morgan croft power
Coach Rhode (I guess) if I could pick one Michael Noonan (didn't get a real go with fitzroy),
assistant, you'd have to think brian royal,
And lastly jose as a runner, I recon he would be a complete prick to the opposition, can't imagine him not saying anything.
Ruck coach Scoty wynd
Goal kicking coach - bernie quinlin

I recon darcy at either end, at least you know he will contest
The only change I'd make is hargraves on brown when they play, I still remember that punch to the side of "stkilda black head?", I recon brownie would do a matty knights and cry about it for weeks.

Hmm, this is hard. Generally you dont trade for guys that wouldnt walk straight into the side, otherwise whats the point? So we have to assume that Street and Koops are walk-up starts, and possibly Morgan, although we seem to have a spine now, so where...

Robbins Harris Hargreave

Koops Grant Smith

Murphy West McMahon

Johnson Bandy Bowdo

Guido Rawlings Croft

R: Darcy Hahn Dimma

I: Street, Morgan, Gilbee, Power

E: Boyd, Eagleton, Skipper

geez, thats hard. Theres a lot of guys who were walk up starts last year to injury and lack of depth who will have to play for their spots this year. Almost no position is without competition.

Koops to HB , Murphy to the MF.

If we get Rawlings,this is what my best side would look like.

Also probably don't need to use pick 4 on a developing tall if Rawlings plays with us when you consider we also have Skipper,Walsh,Minson,Wight and Morgan on the list.

B.......BIRSS........HARRIS.......HARGREAVE

HB....KOOPS......GRANT......SMITH

C....GILBEE.....WEST.....COONEY

HF...JOHNSON....RAWLINGS....GIANSIRACUSA

F.....BANDY.....BOWDEN.....FAULKNER

R.....DARCY....HAHN.....MURPHY

I FROM.....STREET.....POWER.....MCMAHON.....MCGUINNESS......
ROBBINS....CROFT....CROSS....EAGLETON

posted this on another thread but should have put it here;

B:......Croft.........Harris.......Hargrave

HB:....Smith........Grant.......Koops

C:......McMahon...Murphy....POwer

HF:....Eagleton....Bandy......Johnson

F:......Bowden....(Rawlings)..Robbins

R:......Darcy........Hahn.........West

Int:...Street....Guido.....K-Mac....Gilbee

Reserves

Smalls: Garlick, Faulkner, Birss, Dimma

Mids: B.Murphy, Cross, (Cooney)

Talls: Wiggins, Harrison, Walsh, Minson, Skipper, Wight, Bassett, Morgan, Veale

+ pick 4 and pick 50
-----------------------------------------

Garlick, Wiggins, Bassett look vulnerable and could be culled.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
And isn't that good for a change?

Its great. MacMahon, Skipper, Dimma, Harris, Bowden, Robbins, Eagleton, Croft, Hargreave, Guido, even Bandy...if they arent in form, the'll be playing for the bees.

Thats not even mentioning Cooney, Faukner, KMac all knocking on the door.

Dont know where to play Rawlings. FF or CHF? I think we'd be better off playing Bandy from a FP (long bomb target) and Rawlings CHF, but if Rawlings really needs to have his knees nursed, as the rumour, he might be played at FF most of the time.

Originally posted by stefoid
Dont know where to play Rawlings. FF or CHF? I think we'd be better off playing Bandy from a FP (long bomb target) and Rawlings CHF, but if Rawlings really needs to have his knees nursed, as the rumour, he might be played at FF most of the time.
... as long as he doesn't stand with his arms folded, giving off sulky vibes like the previous FF incumbent, until we agree to let him go to his club of choice. :mad:

No, let's be optimistic -

For those who have posted a possible team, would you change the structure depending upon the ground?

eg more likely to have Rawlings at FF on smaller grounds like the SCG and perhaps Telstra, and at CHF on bigger grounds like the MCG?

And would you change your backline structure?

Originally posted by The Doctor
posted this on another thread but should have put it here;

B:......Croft.........Harris.......Hargrave

HB:....Smith........Grant.......Koops

C:......McMahon...Murphy....POwer

HF:....Eagleton....Bandy......Johnson

F:......Bowden....(Rawlings)..Robbins

R:......Darcy........Hahn.........West

Int:...Street....Guido.....K-Mac....Gilbee

Reserves

Smalls: Garlick, Faulkner, Birss, Dimma

Mids: B.Murphy, Cross, (Cooney)

Talls: Wiggins, Harrison, Walsh, Minson, Skipper, Wight, Bassett, Morgan, Veale

+ pick 4 and pick 50
-----------------------------------------

Garlick, Wiggins, Bassett look vulnerable and could be culled.

I agree with this one the most. Power and McMahon should play on the wing next year.

Robbins Harris/Morgan Harrison
Smith Grant Koops
Eagleton West Gilbee
Giansiracusa Bandy McMahon
Johnson Rawlings Croft
Darcy Hahn Murphy

I: Dimmatina, Street, Garlick, Birss

E: Hargrave, Power, McGuiness, Boyd, Bowden

?'s - Rawlings, Grants knee, Crofts body, Cooney, Pick 4

Key position depth!

last year, according to most games they played in that position (there was a LOT of shuffling the deckchairs on the titanic)

FB: Croft - backup kritter
CHB: Harison - backup hargreave
ruck: Darce - backup skipper
CHF: injured bandy - backup bowden
FF: Harris - backup brown

this year, the possibilities are:

FB: Harris - backup Morgan, Croft
CHB: Grant - backup Morgan, skipper
Ruck: Darce - backup Street
CHF: Rawlings - backup Bandy
FF: Bowden - backup Croft, Bandy

with the luxury of a resting ruckman in the FP! Its just infinately better. We could actually afford to take an injury to two KPP players and still be able to plug all holes up the spine.

If we learn to play footy this year instead of basketball, anyone expecting us to languish at the bottom of the ladder again is in for a shock.