2005 Draft Smokeys

RooDog said:
millar has the best hands ive seen for someone his size... yer ive seen cubillo play a couple of times for north and in the intercol... good player but doesnt stand out like some players do.

very good player

Andrew Luzza....
He is a promising 17 year old playing down at Alphington in their seniors. He is a 193 cm rover and weighs 80kg. He has had calls from carlton, collingwood and hawthorn asking questions about him so in the draft look forward to seeing his name pop up in the draft.

All theses people are valid candidates for the draft im not sure if Angus Graham has been mentioned yet and also Richie Douglus are contenders

Firstly, who gives a crap about ur sh it 2nd grade first 18 league, the standard of footy would be no where near as good as the proper comp. therefore you cant claim that players are good just because they play good for gleeson or pedare, half the time they are playing against ******s, (some of them probably qualify as ****** footy players aswell). The only decent playing is Cheetham, with qualifications. Even he is overrated and hasn t done anything great to prove the raps on him, if he wasnt 195cm no one would give a toss about him.

The reality is that probably only 3-5 players will get drafted from the skool comp this year,

These (REAL chances, not bias choices such as fitzgeraldother SHC players u blokes blow up) are: Elliot, Bode, Smith, Minson, Hurley, Raymond, Cheetham (if he that crapcomp qualifys as skool footy)

In the future a number of others such as: Millar, Arbon, Huthcins, Christie

i think there will only be 3-4 drafted or rookie list from school comp this year.

bode:30-40
Cheetam:30-40
Elliot-maybe, 40+

rookie chances:
Smith
Raymond

Minson will be given time to develop and will be a definate possibility next year.
Hurley, after he dominates the 18's carnival next year will be a chance.
Arbon has to prove his worth. if he has a good yr he will go as he is what clubs are looking for- tall, quick.
Millar will go pretty high next year.
holmes, will go in the near future
White has a chance, he is very quick good skills

are they getting screenings? If not, very very doubtful...

doesnt matter how well he played mate i would be surprised if the recruiters even knew his jumper number when they go watch SHC play

straylan said:
doesnt matter how well he played mate i would be surprised if the recruiters even knew his jumper number when they go watch SHC play

actually has had a lot of interest from port... they have seen a lot of him through students dads who work at port and also his progress in the footy subject at alberton

OK. After asking the initial question about Gleeson boys i should probalby fix the whole thing up. I do not go to Gleeson, i have some mates who go there. I think i am in reasonable place to comment.

Cheetham only played the one game for Gleeson. The grudge match. He is a gun and should start packing his bags for the AFL. (PS he can play guitar and didgeridoo) he will not go to another school as he is a house captain at gleeson and 5 weeks away from finishing. Who ever wrote the comment about going to another school was plainly stupid. Enough said on that.

Gleeson lost to Rossies 2nds and Adelaide High 1sts. They beat cbc firsts and every other team they came up against including PAC's 2nds.
The reason gleeson was not in the 1sts comp as there is a rule saying if you don't have 2 teams, u have to play in the 2nds. It was the schools first ever attempt at college footy so of course they are going to brag about any win they get.
There is no doubt they would get flogged in the firsts. Outside of Cheetham (who didn't play all year) and Sparnon, they probably don't have any AFL/SANFL players.
The fact is rossies etc have 50-60 years of footy behind them and this school itself is only 15 years old. How about everyone cuts the crap and genuinley talks about Draft smokeys and actually pays a little respect to the fact that a small school with only about 350 boys is trying to start some inkilng of tradition.

PS; the three schools on that campus, Gleeson, Pedare and Golden Grove High could definatley put a composite team together to match it with the big boys.

MJ101 said:
OK. After asking the initial question about Gleeson boys i should probalby fix the whole thing up. I do not go to Gleeson, i have some mates who go there. I think i am in reasonable place to comment.

Cheetham only played the one game for Gleeson. The grudge match. He is a gun and should start packing his bags for the AFL. (PS he can play guitar and didgeridoo) he will not go to another school as he is a house captain at gleeson and 5 weeks away from finishing. Who ever wrote the comment about going to another school was plainly stupid. Enough said on that.

Gleeson lost to Rossies 2nds and Adelaide High 1sts. They beat cbc firsts and every other team they came up against including PAC's 2nds.
The reason gleeson was not in the 1sts comp as there is a rule saying if you don't have 2 teams, u have to play in the 2nds. It was the schools first ever attempt at college footy so of course they are going to brag about any win they get.
There is no doubt they would get flogged in the firsts. Outside of Cheetham (who didn't play all year) and Sparnon, they probably don't have any AFL/SANFL players.
The fact is rossies etc have 50-60 years of footy behind them and this school itself is only 15 years old. How about everyone cuts the crap and genuinley talks about Draft smokeys and actually pays a little respect to the fact that a small school with only about 350 boys is trying to start some inkilng of tradition.

PS; the three schools on that campus, Gleeson, Pedare and Golden Grove High could definatley put a composite team together to match it with the big boys.
exactly right.

We lost to Rossies 2nds twice, and both times we were in front at 3 quarter time. when we played them recently, we were ahead by 4 goals at half time before losing by bout 6, and the other time we lost by 2 goals. We beat PAC 2nds by 20 goals. When we played our local game against Pedare, both teams had their best sides and we won by about 12 goals, so that showed we were obviously stronger. The last 2 rounds we played 2 First 18 sides in CBC n Adelaide High. We beat CBC by 5 points, and would have killed them if we kicked straight, it was something like, 4.14 to 5.3. We were missing 1 of our guns against adelaide high, and they were big and strong. They had 1 guy, who plays rugby and was friends with a guy in our team, and the Adelaide High guy benchpresses 120kg, and he was 1 big unit. All there players wore war paint and they only had that big guy, and some blonde haired guy named Ryan and a red head named Zac that killed us. We only lost by 8 points.

Thanks. Let' see just see what everyone else thinks. Do u agree with the statement that the campus could beat most big school sides? True that sparnon runs sub 10min 3kms and 15 beep test??

how did gleeson beat pac by 20 goals, they were close to the best 2nds team. and i might point out that it is not something to brag about when gleeson only beat cbc by 5 points.
i dont think a composite side between those three schools would go close to beating shc or rc.

Again i agree that beating CBC is not much but for a first year side expecting to get belted any win is good. I olny heard it was the PAC 2nds as i have sed i don't go to that school but my belief was that they beat both PAC's 2nds and 3rds. Like i said can't be 100% sure on facts.

Yo'ud be suprised about the composite side
from Nth
J.Cheetham, S.Hatley, Sparnon, M.Greene, S.Edwards,
from Centrals
M.Obushak, N.White
From Norwood,
Skinner, J.Greene, B.Masters, A.Cochelle
That is off the top of my head

shc only have really 150 ppl to choose from in footy.... i think by memory the shc 2nds gave pedare or gleeson an absolute bathing.. wen gleeson thrashed our 4ths they were aparrantley as arrogant as anything and treated it like a grand final... this got back to school so i hope for ur sake gleeson dont have the privilidge of playing shc 1sts b/c they have good memories

Flying Joey said:
shc only have really 150 ppl to choose from in footy.... i think by memory the shc 2nds gave pedare or gleeson an absolute bathing.. wen gleeson thrashed our 4ths they were aparrantley as arrogant as anything and treated it like a grand final... this got back to school so i hope for ur sake gleeson dont have the privilidge of playing shc 1sts b/c they have good memories

Absolutely the same with us. Played our fourths and were arrogant as hell. Looks like we have found the reason why everyone's having a dig at your school. Because you are a bunch of cocky ********s that reckon they are top of the food chain when they can thump 4th 18 sides.

Man oh man i hope we can organise a pre-season practice match against you guys....

They do not think they could beat your 1sts and they know this. They would get flogged by your firsts. A point i made earlier. in terms of only 350 guys to choose from, i meant only 350 guys @ the school. Obviously only about 20 are old enough and have played any serious football to be of any use at senior level.

Of course they are gonna be cocky coming up against average teams each week. Knowing a fair percentage of the boys, they acutally would have rather had their A$$ kicked each week and play in a decent comp but as i stated, ISSA have that stupid rule.

It is agreed by all they are not a strong footy school. Therefore any further comment about that is now jsut unnesscessary and excess to an already stressed point. I think the best attiutude for you guys to take is feel honoured and privelided that a small school with no football culture is trying to emulaten you larger schools and try to enstill some of what you guys already have. Be grateful another school is trying to increase the standard of college footy in the state although it is going to be 5-10 years before they are recognised at the top level.

True MJ101

Gleson will be a VERY GOOD school footy team, BUT THEY ARENT THERE YET.

They have three bonafide guns in Cheetham, Obushak and Sparnon
Two or three very good players in Furno, Mylray and McLean

They have a GUN coach who knows his stuff and is aparrently very emotive when speaking according to my mates at AHS they could hear him from 150 metres away!!!

**Stress this: BUT THEY HAVE HEAPS OFF WORK TO DO TO GET UP TO SHC ETC.

I have reffereed several of theoir games and they ARE a great team...much better than a seconds outfit. I saw them SMASH Trinity seconds by 33 goals.

Positives for Gleeson
Cheetham is a great player - and bloke
Obushak is a machine in the guts
Sparnon is a fitness freak and hard at it - should be playing at higher level
The coach - dont know his name but do know he is a scout for Carlton. He is apparently very popular and very smart in regards to tactics

Negatives
Too many little dudes who wouldnt get a firsts game
Small forward line
No real skill in the back half - although one guy, appernetly a rugby player, is 'as hard as anyone' i have seen in firsts or seconds

Oh...and they have this one kid Dayle Woodhams, who is a state runner/sprinter and he can apparently run 11 second 100's - when he gets the ball its like lightning hits the ground - sh it was a running hard to keep up with him!

Wodhams PB is about 10.80 but is not a great footballer. Could we please can the whole gleeson convo unless anyone else has sumthing useful to say. From this conversation we can conclude, gleeson are not great in the scheme of things, they did especially well for a first year team, they have alot of improving to do but look promising, cheetham and sparnon are only genuine chances, sparnon to a lesser extent. All Done??

Flying Joey said:
get over yourself mate, whats treating it like a grand final?? get around all your players when you get a goal, talking, have supporters out?? how did we treat it like a grand final?

meh said:
get over yourself mate, whats treating it like a grand final?? get around all your players when you get a goal, talking, have supporters out?? how did we treat it like a grand final?

are u thick or just plain stupid.... i said ONE of the reasons shc are so good, and have been labbelled cocky, is b/c they treat every game like a grand final... not just the games vs sts, pac, rc, etc... they prepare the same to every game and they have a reputation of never taking their foot off their opponents throat... wen they played blackfriars last game term 2 the preparation was the same from coach and players as wen they played st peters and pac... they respect every opponent and they try to demoralise teams, not just beat them.... and b4 u go saying how much of a arrogant bunch of ppl and how we act like we own the world, that attitude is not a new things... if u stopped watching cartoons and watched something to further ur intellect like the discovery channel, ud find out that the reason lance armstrong rides is to make his opponents hurt... he rides not to win but to demoralise his opponents... if its good enough for prob the greatest ever athlete the world has seen, its good enough for a litle college footy team

Flying Joey said:
are u thick or just plain stupid.... i said ONE of the reasons shc are so good, and have been labbelled cocky, is b/c they treat every game like a grand final... not just the games vs sts, pac, rc, etc... they prepare the same to every game and they have a reputation of never taking their foot off their opponents throat... wen they played blackfriars last game term 2 the preparation was the same from coach and players as wen they played st peters and pac... they respect every opponent and they try to demoralise teams, not just beat them.... and b4 u go saying how much of a arrogant bunch of ppl and how we act like we own the world, that attitude is not a new things... if u stopped watching cartoons and watched something to further ur intellect like the discovery channel, ud find out that the reason lance armstrong rides is to make his opponents hurt... he rides not to win but to demoralise his opponents... if its good enough for prob the greatest ever athlete the world has seen, its good enough for a litle college footy team

Pretentious wanchor thinks SHC can be related to Lance Armstrong! Ha.
You arent fit or mentally tough enough to blow up his tyres!
Get over yourself.

Has anyone listened to what i said?? How about everybody gets over it. Gleeson didn't play SHC 2nds ,must have been the thirds coz they didn't lose to ne SHC teams