Draft Review 2005 - Redo the 2005 Draft

Re: 2005 Afl draft Re-Done

Thomas is a superior player to Swallow.

It's like comparing a S Class Mercedes to a Ford V8.

Thomas can do things & has that are beyond Swallow. He is also an All Australian, a Premiership player and a player that has played 3 great Grand Finals.

Pretty unfair to use these things in a head to head argument if you ask me. Especially when one has played on a really young side compared to Collingwood.

Thomas is a superior player to Swallow.

It's like comparing a S Class Mercedes to a Ford V8.

Thomas can do things & has that are beyond Swallow. He is also an All Australian, a Premiership player and a player that has played 3 great Grand Finals.

If you are a North supporter you would say Swallow.
If you are Collingwood supporter you would say Thomas.
If you are a neutral it would be 50/50 maybe slightly in Thomas' favour.
Not a lot between them. Thomas probably has more class whilst Swallow is more of a workhorse.

I think if you asked most neutrals, Thomas would get more than 50/50 favor.

He is a bonafide Top 20 player in the AFL. Even some neutral coaches described him at a point as the best player in the game.

Thomas has / is at a level that is beyond Swallow, he does things that are beyond the skill set of Swallow.

If you are a North supporter you would say Swallow.
If you are Collingwood supporter you would say Thomas.
Not a lot between them. Thomas probably has more class whilst Swallow is more of a workhorse.
Thomas is arguably the hardest working Collingwood player on the field. Just because Thomas has better skills doesn't mean he's less of a worker.

Yep, I'd go Thomas as well - he's pretty unique as a footballer - great to watch and all round very classy player with the ball.
Swallow probably has another gear though so it will be interesting to raise this question again in 12 months time.

I get that feeling too AC, have a feeling he might get into Hayes type territory in the next 24 months.

The top end of this draft is very good.

1. Pendlebury
2. Murphy
3. Thomas
4. Kennedy
5. Swallow
6. Ryder
7. Higgins
8. Gilbert
9. Hurn
10. Birchall

Clark should not be anywhere near the top 30 of this draft ... a very average player lol

Ryder has had a poor year, and has not really been anything other than a solid contributor for his career. Similar to Clark, although Clark had 1 year of goodness

Personally the top 5 are pretty clear, although order may change:
1. Pendlebury
2. Murphy
3. Thomas
4. Kennedy
5. Swallow

from here it gets harder but I would have:
6. Birchall
7. Hurn
8. Goldstein
9. Clark
10. Ryder
11. Jones
12. Gilbert
13. Higgins
etc.

Pretty unfair to use these things in a head to head argument if you ask me. Especially when one has played on a really young side compared to Collingwood.

The average age of our winning grand final team was 24yr 1mth. The average age of the North Melbourne side that played in round 22 in 2010 was 24yr 4mth.

I agree that simply being a premiership player doesn't count for anything in a head to head comparison (unfortunately it is used though, just ask Buckley), but playing great games in finals, especially GFs, definitely ups a players worth in a head to head comparison.

The average age of our winning grand final team was 24yr 1mth. The average age of the North Melbourne side that played in round 22 in 2010 was 24yr 4mth.

I agree that simply being a premiership player doesn't count for anything in a head to head comparison (unfortunately it is used though, just ask Buckley), but playing great games in finals, especially GFs, definitely ups a players worth in a head to head comparison.

I think what he meant was reeling off team success' as a point of difference between the two.

In the same regard that Collingwood supporters would, if it was said Swallow is a double best and fairest winner.

Offsider said:
Personally the top 5 are pretty clear, although order may change:
1. Pendlebury
2. Murphy
3. Thomas
4. Kennedy
5. Swallow

from here it gets harder but I would have:
6. Birchall
7. Hurn
8. Goldstein
9. Clark
10. Ryder
11. Jones
12. Gilbert
13. Higgins
etc.

Goldstein was drafted in 2006.

This year was argubly Jones' best year to date.. I reckon he may breakthrough next year and become a very good player.

Varcoe meanwhile is an extremely average footballer being carried by what is the greatest side of all time.

Yeah.. if I'm not mistaken I'm pretty sure selwood and bartel carried varcoe on their shoulders all the way up the wing for that last quarter goal in the big dance. Lazy pr*ck mistakenly ran with the flight of the ball into oncoming traffic, soccerred the ball cause he didn't want to put his head over the ball and to top it all off absolutely fluked the left footed sausage roll at the end.

i wonder where people would place these players.
a edwards, d pearce, r crowley, h grundy, j gibson, d morris, s mcmahon, j drummond.
all taken in the 2005 rookie draft.

i think roughly 40 players remain of 66 taken in the 05 nd, thats about 60% not a bad result for one of the most shallow drafts going in recent times.the quality of the draft is another point altogether.

What does where someone finishes in a best and fairest award (a midfielders award) have to do with how good someone is? Patty Ryder finished 9th in Essendons best and fairest, does that mean he's Essendons 9th best player? No.

Goldstein acrued the 2nd most hitouts ever in a year, with the the 3rd most effective hitouts in the league.

Disposals - Goldstein > Ryder
Tap Outs - Goldstein > Ryder
Taps to advantage - Goldstein > Ryder
1%'ers - Goldstein > Ryder
Marks - Ryder > Goldstein
Tackles - Goldstein > Ryder
Goals - Ryder > Goldstein
Clearances - Goldstein > Ryder
Contested possesions - Goldstein > Ryder

Anyway, not sure why I'm even arguing with you or any Essendon supporters. About 90% of people would agree that Goldstein shits on Ryder, and the other 10% are Essendon supporters ;)

You mention the word argue - I am asking a question - I continually read that Goldstein is the second or third best ruck in the AFL - And he finished 7th in the B and F.

Strange that I have never mentioned Ryder or any other player in my post -

We are discussing Goldstein.

1. Scott Pendlebury
2. Marc Murphy
3. Dale Thomas
4. Josh Kennedy
5. Andrew Swallow
6. Robert Warnock
7. Matt Priddis
8. Trent West
9. Grant Birchall
10. Shaun Higgins

Warnock and west too high for me. Birchall should be 7th, priddis 6th.other than that, good go at it mate

I'd have Jones in the top 10 ahead of Higgins. Call me biased but 23 disposals a game this year and lays about 3 tackles plus snagging 4 or 5 marks. Goes well, underrated at our club.

Yeah man, I'd take a bloke that's hard at the footy like him over Higgins any day.

Knightmare

Good list.

Smetimes the rookie listed players such as Priddis are under-valued, when making these lists.:thumbsu:

Thought it was ordinary tbh.

1. Scott Pendlebury
2. Marc Murphy
3. Dale Thomas
4. Andrew Swallow
5. Josh Kennedy
6. Matt Priddis
7. Kieran Jack
8. Bernie Vince
9. Shannon Hurn
10. Grant Birchall
11. Ben McGlynn
12. Heath Hocking
13. Mitch Clark
14. Alipate Carlile
15. Travis Varcoe
16. Sam Gilbert
17. Alan Toovey
18. Patrick Ryder
19. Matthew Stokes
20. Shaun Higgins
21. Richard Douglas
22. Robert Warnock
23. Sam Lonergan
24. Nathan Jones
25. Garrick Ibbotson
26. Trent West
27. Xavier Ellis
28. Nick Lower
29. Danny Stanley

Warnock and west too high for me. Birchall should be 7th, priddis 6th.other than that, good go at it mate

Warnock and West aren't on production now. At 24 both will go on and next season really establish themselves as some of the better rucks going around the league.

Think Warnock and West will really improve massively over next couple of seasons and go on to be top 10 rucks in their own right. Possible top 5 around the league.

West will surprise allot for those who have seen little of him. Really liked what he produced last season. Will be a very solid ruckman and will go on to have a long career.

Could very easily be called top 10 quality based on what he has produced.

Why I don't rate him top 10 is because he hasn't shown great improvement since entering the league. Really been consistant right through and don't think he will get THAT much better.

But Higgins could very easily be a flop.

Thought it was ordinary tbh.

1. Scott Pendlebury
2. Marc Murphy
3. Dale Thomas
4. Andrew Swallow
5. Josh Kennedy
6. Matt Priddis
7. Kieran Jack
8. Bernie Vince
9. Shannon Hurn
10. Grant Birchall
11. Ben McGlynn
12. Heath Hocking
13. Mitch Clark
14. Alipate Carlile
15. Travis Varcoe
16. Sam Gilbert
17. Alan Toovey
18. Patrick Ryder
19. Matthew Stokes
20. Shaun Higgins
21. Richard Douglas
22. Robert Warnock
23. Sam Lonergan
24. Nathan Jones
25. Garrick Ibbotson
26. Trent West
27. Xavier Ellis
28. Nick Lower
29. Danny Stanley

Big variation on Warnock/West/Higgins.

While they haven't produced yet expect Warnock + West to prove you wrong and go on to be clear best 15 players in this draft.