2007 BigFooty Phantom Draft

for Richmond i will help TOA

As much as I am sure TOA appreciates ur help.

I'll put this to bed be4 it starts. Teams will be reprented by the coaches that have pretty extensive background in the Class of 2007.

What we have tried to do is get 16 guys together that have seen a fair bit of underaged footy this year and have a real passion towards the draft.

In an ideal world, 2-3 coaches might be ideal, but for the exercise. Realistically 1 is the only way it will really work.

People can lodge their names for an emergency list if someone pulls out but only do that if u have seen the kids urself and u want to express u OWN opinion.

Cheers

Hodgey

As much as I am sure TOA appreciates ur help.

I'll put this to bed be4 it starts. Teams will be reprented by the coaches that have pretty extensive background in the Class of 2007.

What we have tried to do is get 16 guys together that have seen a fair bit of underaged footy this year and have a real passion towards the draft.

In an ideal world, 2-3 coaches might be ideal, but for the exercise. Realistically 1 is the only way it will really work.

People can lodge their names for an emergency list if someone pulls out but only do that if u have seen the kids urself and u want to express u OWN opinion.

Cheers

Hodgey

oh ok thanks mates

Yep, we're starting now and are using the 'shotguns' system to figure out the order.

SHOTGUNS FIRST PICK!

#1 - Matt Kreuzer

Next. :p

Where does it say "if you had a team last year, you get them again the following year"?

Vinnie knows more than you and is more deserving of the Pies.

You should be thankful that you even got a gig last year.

Anyone who knows anything wouldnt have had Leigh Adams and Tom Hurley in a top 5 for a Phantom draft.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=261255

So take what your given or go away.

And this from you re Fevola earlier this week when reported he had an injury

"Was probably never injured.

Pagan wanted him dropped but they didnt want to affect his trade value so they pulled out the thigh 'injury' trick.

New coach comes in, Ratten's has his dick on the line, says he wants Fev to play..hey presto, magically over his injury.
- took me 2 mins to find this classic.

With respect we all post dumb posts from time to time and this was certainly one of my rippers. But if you are going to put your chin out there make sure it isnt made of glass my man!!

But in saying that, maybe instead of pulling this quote (from about May last year) you could have pulled my mock draft from last year - the first one that went out which also had a pretty good hit rate if you would care to go back and do some more of your investigative work.

Don't recollect seeing one from you sport.....

PS have nothing against VV - as you say he is a v good poster.......

And this from you re Fevola earlier this week when reported he had an injury

"Was probably never injured.

Pagan wanted him dropped but they didnt want to affect his trade value so they pulled out the thigh 'injury' trick.

New coach comes in, Ratten's has his dick on the line, says he wants Fev to play..hey presto, magically over his injury.
- took me 2 mins to find this classic.

With respect we all post dumb posts from time to time and this was certainly one of my rippers. But if you are going to put your chin out there make sure it isnt made of glass my man!!

But in saying that, maybe instead of pulling this quote (from about May last year) you could have pulled my mock draft from last year - the first one that went out which also had a pretty good hit rate if you would care to go back and do some more of your investigative work.

Don't recollect seeing one from you sport.....

PS have nothing against VV - as you say he is a v good poster.......

Whats wrong with the Fev call? Alot of Blues supporters were making the same inference. Dont you think its abit of a coincidence that a bloke who will more than likely get traded at the end of the year had a 3 week thigh injury but then 3 days later he was fine to play after a change in coach. Pagan wanted him out, Ratts wanted him to play. I think its more than conceivabe.

Not true, it was just a dodgy scan on the Monday.

I think it is unfair to individualise a single post and use it as a valid reason for why someone shouldnt participate in the phantom draft. I argued vehemently with Snoop Dog that he rated Adams too high and while his response was not in accordance to my way of thinking I appreciated his logic. David Brent make sure you play the ball and not the man. I have no doubt Snoop Dog will snare some of my hidden treasures during the draft- I am looking forward to the challenge.
For Essendon supporters who are interested in the phantom draft I am happy for you to PM me with your ideas and I'll share what I am thinking. I reckon Darcy Daniher will take at least our third round selection perhaps our second. So unless we trade for picks we may not have many early picks in the draft.
I think a third round selection would be a fair result for Daniher. I watched him yesterday and he was impressive at CHF playing on a pretty good player.

Maybe we should have our own bidding system for father/son prospects for the purpose of the Phantom Draft.

Is that right? Then you better withdraw immediately. You have consistently demonstrated over multiple years that (a) you don't watch any games other than a few U18 championships; and (b) you have absolutely no idea. I guess if you get in and organise the phantom draft then people may overlook your complete lack of genuine knowledge. For everyone's reference, this is the guy that picked Eric McKenzie with pick 6 last year and Luke McEntee with a top 10 pick the prior year. Don't make me laugh.

Far out, deja vu. Mate, do you come out this time every year just to bag LH15?

lol - thatd be a bit tough and complicated wouldnt ya think? cudos if it can be pulled off
Would it be? I reckon we could do it. Third rounder for Darcy Daniher seems to be consensus. Anyone willing to spend a second rounder on him can pipe up. Anyone willing to spend a first rounder probably shouldn't be doing the mock draft. Our bidding system wouldn't have to be formal. :)

Just an idea anyway...

I dont mind the idea for a bidding system. I would be shocked if anyone nominated a first round for Daniher. A second round nomination would mean we can take him with a third round choice as long as he nominates to come to Essendon. Seeing he is training at Essendon I think it is a lay down that he will be at the Dons for a third round pick. No steal but a solid selection and gives us a bit of certainty over who we would target early on.
Jaxson Barham is an interesting one. Would anyone bid for him? His stocks are rising. A team may well bid a 3rd round selection for him by the end of the year.

I dont mind the idea for a bidding system. I would be shocked if anyone nominated a first round for Daniher. A second round nomination would mean we can take him with a third round choice as long as he nominates to come to Essendon. Seeing he is training at Essendon I think it is a lay down that he will be at the Dons for a third round pick. No steal but a solid selection and gives us a bit of certainty over who we would target early on.
Jaxson Barham is an interesting one. Would anyone bid for him? His stocks are rising. A team may well bid a 3rd round selection for him by the end of the year.

would certainly bid 4th round for barham, has x factor and with the quality late in this draft being pretty even he is one who could surprise significantly on the upside given his development this year.

I dont mind the idea for a bidding system. I would be shocked if anyone nominated a first round for Daniher. A second round nomination would mean we can take him with a third round choice as long as he nominates to come to Essendon.
Not necessarily, it's your next available pick, correct?

As Essendon are currently in the eight, if a team outside the eight bid their second rounder, you'd have to use yours to match them.

I would have thought a second round selection for the Bombers for Daniher would be needed to secure his services.