2007 Delistings

After watching the Williamstwon game here in Perth on replay last night, as much as I hate to say it, but I think Egans name will be on that list if he isnt careful.

He did not look interested in playing in that game. He looked bored in the huddle when the camera was on Gotchy and the team at quarter time or whichever quarter it was.

I hope to god he pulls his finger out!!!

We should target young Meeson from Adelaide. A young ruckman who was pick 8 a few years ago. Seems to be behind about 4 others including 2 youngsters.

No way we will delist Lonie.

At worst we will trade him. He does have some trade value but he has very good skills which we are lacking at the moment.

Meesan sounds alright.

Adelaide were keen on rusling , maybe he might be part of a deal in a trade.

You said he has not improved which is clearly not correct, he had a very good 2006 and statistics prove it. Your opinion is no doubt the polar opposite of what the club thinks and Lonie will be staying on our list and then you say you like Davies as a player, Lonie>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Davies. Those who are blind cannot see.

all stats prove is he got a fair bit of the ball from chip kicks in defence , his tackle count went up becuase he refuses to be 1st to the ball , allows his opponents to get it while he hangs off and tackles usually ineffective. Which allows his opponent to clear by handpassing to a running team mate in support , HE IS A WEAK LINK AND THE WHOLE AFL KNOWS IT!!!

How many players in the AFL are going to win you a premiership? I hate it when people say "they aren't going to win you a premiership" because they never really define players that can win you a premiership are. For me if we had 22 players that would win us the premiership it would be the AA team. Lonie can certainly be a contributing factor to a premiership side.

NOT BY HIS LAST FINALS EFFORT , bet you also defend the decision to keep Richards another person who should of been delisted.
Lonie would of been delisted/traded by 75% of other clubs by now even hawks got rid of his twin who is actually harder at it then ryan.

Meesan sounds alright.

Adelaide were keen on rusling , maybe he might be part of a deal in a trade.

Meeson has been passed by Griffen and Maric already, has had plenty of opportunity to break into the side with injuries to Biglands and Clarke (as well as him being delisted). I wouldn't trade Egan just for him unless we get another draft pick out of it.

NOT BY HIS LAST FINALS EFFORT , bet you also defend the decision to keep Richards another person who should of been delisted.
Lonie would of been delisted/traded by 75% of other clubs by now even hawks got rid of his twin who is actually harder at it then ryan.

Nathan is about twice as soft as Ryan, at least Ryan has made an effort to improve this side of his game. His last finals effort was poor, but so was the effort of 19 other mates. Only R.Shaw and Thomas could've held their heads high. Those guys can't win us a final, let's get rid of all of them.

Lonie - traded, probably to a team like Richmond who butcher the footy.
Stanley - he's shown very little.
Wakelin - has been very good but won't continue in/out of the side.
Bucks - as much as I hate to think of it.
Burns - although current form might sway him to play on.
Davies - just isn't good enough.

I can see a Meesen/Rusling straight swap. I think with the doubt over Hentschel's knee they will be looking to find a leading forward.

Whether or not i'm for the trade is a different thing. Meesen has had a bad run of injuries as has Rusling. Meesen is from VIC, Rusling is from SA. Seems logical. We need to develop a young ruckman, they will have ruck depth when Biglands is back.

Possible candidates to be moved on come years end:

Rusling (may be used as trade bait in some opinions)
Lonie (many people's desired trade bait)
Buckley (retire)
Wakelin (retire)
Egan (may be used as trade bait)
Burns (possible retirement. Doubt it. Wants another year)
Licuria (retire)
Davies (delist)
Richards (delist)
Stanley (???delist???)
Nicholls (has copped some heat since he debuted. Hope he gets another shot)

That's 11 players that will be looked at to whether they are needed, or whether our team can be improved by off loading them to other clubs. Other than these blokes i'd say everyone else is safe.

At this early stage I would be thinking; (assumption Bucks and Burns go around 1 more time)

Delists (clearly trade if can)

Wakelin
Richards
Stanley
Cook
Licuria - harsh but holding young blokes back and to expensive for Willy.
Davies

Promote

Either Nicholls or Wellingham

Trade

Egan - want a pick around 20
Lonie - as above

Others

Rusling - stays. upside is to great

Targets

Moran - ruck from north not getting a run
Johnson - Cat fwd who is out of favour and would add to our group. Ankles?
Sylvia - hard inside mid to replace Licca. Groin problems though
Meesen - developing ruck but could get him in PSD.
Ray or Griffen - Dogs might be keen to trade for a first round pick.

you wont get a pick anywhere near 20 for egan, was at the game on sunday and this guy is as flat as a tack, will b very lucky to stay on ur list wif the young crop coming through, was really impressed by wellingham though, he will b sumfin

Wakelin, Davies, Stanley, Licuria and/or Burns will retire. Stanley looks like he'll be in trouble. Lonie, if he does go will be traded for a pick, he will and should not be stone cold delisted. Last year I would of said Lockyer but so far things are looking up for him.

Licca retire? he is 28!!!! lol

Assuming we delist/trade a total of six players.....

Buckley's hopes of playing next year are fading fast
Wakelin is a certainty to retire
Licuria may be a sacrificial lamb, and forced into retirement. However thats not the way club champions are treated at Collingwood, and he'll probably be retained for one more year
Burns is the Eveready Bunny. I had him penned in as a certainty to go at years end however he could well play on next season. In fact the way he's going he could captain the club next year!!!

So of the above four, I reckon two or three will go, with a line-ball decision between Burns and Licuria

That leaves another three/four to be delisted
Of the mid-aged players those under the pump are Richards Lonie and Davis. SURELY two of them will be chopped at the end of the year.

That leaves one or two younger players to go. Its out of Davies Cook and Stanley.

So in summary at this stage its
Buckley
Wakelin
Richards
Davis
Davies
Stanley

you wont get a pick anywhere near 20 for egan, was at the game on sunday and this guy is as flat as a tack, will b very lucky to stay on ur list wif the young crop coming through, was really impressed by wellingham though, he will b sumfin

Depends on the relative strength of the draft. Got pick 23 for Cole a couple of years ago and whilst this years draft will be much stronger I think Egan is ahead of where Cole was at.

Personally, I would be keen to persist with him.

You are right Wellingham is shaping up very nicely. Hits the ball a bit harder than Chris.

Meeson has been passed by Griffen and Maric already, has had plenty of opportunity to break into the side with injuries to Biglands and Clarke (as well as him being delisted). I wouldn't trade Egan just for him unless we get another draft pick out of it.

Meesen will go PSD. He was on a 1 yr contract and has little trade value.

2007 Delistings