2007 draftees

We still have one pick left, so hopefully we will grab Daniel Chick in the pre-season draft! :)

Surprised with the level of anger at the Johnson selection. We took a punt on an Essendon player last year, hopefully it pays off again this year. I'd much rather take a gamble with pick 55 than with pick 8 like we did last year. It could be argued that we have traded Johnson, Bradley and whoever we take in the PSD for Mourish, Collard and Dunn, which doesn't look like a terrible deal.

Pick 55 in a shallow draft isn't a big deal, and we have just de-listed 3 players with a year to run so I guess if it doesn't work out we can cut our losses in 12 months time.

We'll get a clearer picture after the rookie and pre-season drafts of how we've faired this off season. If we take a re-cycled player in the PSD then take the 3 de-listed players in the rookie draft I'll be somewhat disappointed. But if the net result of our 10 selections is 6 young blokes + Kepler and Johnson + 2 of Dunn/Mourish/Collard I'll be happy.

After letting my initial shock and a mixture of surprise and anger settle to rational thought, I will ask everyone a question.

Would you rather M.Johnson playing a hard, in and under, ball winning role or the two oldies we already have M Carr or Macca?

When I ask myself I tend to have an immediate bias to our own players, however now MJ is one of ours.................. I would have his ball winning ability and disposal ahead of carrs, and probably ahead of maccas as well.

Rapt about Rhys though. Other two will be interesting. Hinkley sounds like ibbo who we have got nothing out of yet. However we will not know until next year.

Great to see Mark Johnson back in action, even if it has to be in purple :p

Reckon he'll kick you guys 70 goals over the next 2 years if he stays injury free. I knew Solly would be good for you guys and although he's a little older, MJ should be similarly valuable.

Kepler is slow off the mark, a slow decision maker, unbalanced and a dodgy kick. There are times when he's just about the biggest spaz you'll ever see attempt to play the game. But he's also a workhorse, a good mover for his size (despite the awkwardness), a strong mark, hard at the contest and a surprisingly ok kick for goal. Up forward, he's more instinctive and seems a different player to when he plays in the backline. He's 2 players in one and if some of the bad stuff can be fixed, he'll be very handy across half forward.

Hope they both do well!

Happy with Palmer, don't know enough about Hinkley & Maybe, no issue with picking up either MJ or Bradley, but was surprised not to see McGinnity's name in the mix...

I just struggle to see where Bradley and MJ are going to fit into a fully fit squad?

Plus now we have two M. Johnsons in our team which will just prove chaotic................. from now on I will refer to them as MAGIC and MOULDY.... I'll let you work out which is which.

I just struggle to see where Bradley and MJ are going to fit into a fully fit squad?

Plus now we have two M. Johnsons in our team which will just prove chaotic................. from now on I will refer to them as MAGIC and MOULDY.... I'll let you work out which is which.

I'd say Johnson will play predominantly forward with stints in the middle.

If selected Kepler will probably play as the roaming half forward, starting on the 50 and leading up to the wing.

Possible forward line (kicking down)
Bradley/Solomon--------Bell/Schammer/Palmer
Johnson/Headland----Tarrant
Pavlich-----Farmer

Carlton also got Dennis Armfield.

Bad luck Ysaye... :(

Missed most of the draft due to being here in Bali and not being able to plug my laptop in :p

Shame about Armfield. He's a guy with footy skill and speed but more importantly he is always out there giving it his all. Good luck to him.

I am pretty happy with Rhys Palmer. I think he could fill some of the gaps in the side. He is also the closest thing we are going to get to Daniel Rich next year.

Hinkley seems another roughie like Ibbotson to me.

I don't agree with picking up Mark Johnson or Kepler Bradley. If the draft was so weak, surely they should have been considering keeping some of those young guys with potential on our list and taken the minimum three picks. However, the club probably figures they are in a position to contest for the flag, so they topped up.

Great to hear you picked up Palmer. I was hopeing he would come to the Eagles (though it was almost a given Masten would be selected) and was 50/50 about Palmer/Masten. I'v heard they both like to party though ( my brother went to leeming and knows Rhys) but most 17 yr olds do. More importantly I'v heard hes an unbelievable player and i wouldnt be suprised if hes a chance at the NAB rising star. 2008 could be the Dockers year so best of luck as a derby in the finals would be great!!!!!