2007 Draw

Socceroos
Has it been announced yet? And if so, are we playing away at Skilled Stadium?
And I assume Good Friday games are `taboo' despite Easter Sunday being the more important day biblically. Footy should be played on either BOTH days or NEITHER days! You can't justify playing football on Easter Sunday while not allowing it on Good Friday! I'm sick & tired of the rubbish excuses delivered by Andrew Demetriou as to why there is no footy on Good Friday. Why should AFL supporters have religious beliefs (flawed as they are) thrust upon them?
What if the next CEO of the AFL is a satanist? Would s/he ban footy from being played on Friday 13ths?

Shinboners said:
I don't know about Friday the 13th games, but you can be sure that Melbourne will be winning a few Premierships.
Gee, you've clean bowled me there Shinboners - middle stump straight out of the ground without offering a shot. The scarey thing is, I reckon the ball actually moved away from me! Well bowled.

Devil Fish said:
And I assume Good Friday games are `taboo' despite Easter Sunday being the more important day biblically. Footy should be played on either BOTH days or NEITHER days! You can't justify playing football on Easter Sunday while not allowing it on Good Friday! I'm sick & tired of the rubbish excuses delivered by Andrew Demetriou as to why there is no footy on Good Friday. Why should AFL supporters have religious beliefs (flawed as they are) thrust upon them?
What if the next CEO of the AFL is a satanist? Would s/he ban footy from being played on Friday 13ths?

Maybe if we changed out name to the Gold Coast Crucifixes they would allow us to play on Good Friday.

mav said:
Maybe if we changed out name to the Gold Coast Crucifixes they would allow us to play on Good Friday.

Gold Coast Christs!

It would mean we would have to get pumped in the game though!!

Devil Fish said:

Idiot there is a difference between Good Friday and Easter Sunday.

Good Friday is the day Jesus was killed hence a day of mourning- no football.
Easter Sunday is a day of celebration Jesus rose from the dead.

Meaning it is not offensive to a number of Australians for football to be played on Easter Sunday as opposed toGood Friday.

I think we can manage to have one single day a year Football Free cant we??

ARDENSTREETforever said:
To rb214.
Are you new to NM BF?
Devil Fish is always posting very random, tongue in cheek comments.

Arden St,

Yeah sort of new I dont post much and I can`t say I know Devil Fish. I suppose I took a little offence but perhaps he is just taking the piss which is cool.

Thanks mate

rb214 said:

Meaning it is not offensive to a number of Australians for football to be played on Easter Sunday as opposed toGood Friday.

Yes Rb, those in the know are well aware that Good Friday is the most significant day on the Catholic Calender, but why is it so that we can not play football. In the good old days games on Sunday were forbidden as well. Times a change and the Catholic Church needs to change if they want to maintain their numbers.

It's amazing how people want the values of the church instilled in their children (hence Catholic Schools are very hard to get into) but people don't want the inconveniences of Church. (hence Mass numbers are down). The Church needs to change if it wants to maintain people and Footy on Good Friday will only but help. There would be plenty of opportunities for the Church to get involved to boost its appeal. Things like the goal umpires wearing Silly Hats like the Pope. A quick Rosary before the game. Even a live Crusifixtion of a Collingwood supporter at half time. The closed bars could be turned into confessional boxes....countless opportunities.

mav said:
Yes Rb, those in the know are well aware that Good Friday is the most significant day on the Catholic Calender, but why is it so that we can not play football. In the good old days games on Sunday were forbidden as well. Times a change and the Catholic Church needs to change if they want to maintain their numbers.

It's amazing how people want the values of the church instilled in their children (hence Catholic Schools are very hard to get into) but people don't want the inconveniences of Church. (hence Mass numbers are down). The Church needs to change if it wants to maintain people and Footy on Good Friday will only but help. There would be plenty of opportunities for the Church to get involved to boost its appeal. Things like the goal umpires wearing Silly Hats like the Pope. A quick Rosary before the game. Even a live Crusifixtion of a Collingwood supporter at half time. The closed bars could be turned into confessional boxes....countless opportunities.

Are you actually being serious??

mav said:
The Gold Coast Catholics....But the Lions would eat us a live if we played them!

True, but remember the Catholics eventually rose up and defeated the "pagans" that fed "us" to the Lions and have ruled in that arena ever since.

rb214 said:

Yes and why can't it be April 30 instead of Good Friday? Who decides? Take your hate crimes somewhere else, we're fully stocked.

Gabbie said:
True, but remember the Catholics eventually rose up and defeated the "pagans" that fed "us" to the Lions and have ruled in that arena ever since.

No they never actually defeated the Pagans, they just white anted them by stealing their coach, who then jumped the fence and made catholicism mandatory.

pharro said:
Certainly wouldn't want to martyr those bastards.

I would not mind killing them with a kangaroos sword. let those wounds feel like a pack of kanagroos, are punching them and kicking them in the gut.

it would not make any difference if the matches are played on Good Friday or any other Friday
at Southland , MCC or the Gold Coast
under the name of Kangaroos , North Melbourne, Gold Coast whatever
there will be stuff all supporters there.

Blitz said:
it would not make any difference if the matches are played on Good Friday or any other Friday
at Southland , MCC or the Gold Coast
under the name of Kangaroos , North Melbourne, Gold Coast whatever
there will be stuff all supporters there.

Because we're all good catholics?

Devil Fish said:
Why should AFL supporters have religious beliefs (flawed as they are) thrust upon them?
So you are suggesting that my belief in Zeus, Ra, Apollo, Ari-Hes-Nefer, Papa Ghede, Quetzalcoatl, Satan, Thor and Sun-Wu-Kong who is better known as GIANTROO's favourite put down in Monkey are flawed?

P.S. I still luvs you GIANTROO.

Seriously, FWIW, IMHO, games should be played on Good Friday. We as a football club have been yearning for that blockbuster match we could rely on once a year. This would be it.

In the HS today it says that we're one of the 4 teams playing the Hawks down in Tassie. The other three being Geelong, Port and West Coast.