For Swans:

0 - Friday nights
3 - Saturday afternoon
12- Saturday night games
7 - 1pm crap sunday games

Doubles - WC, RICH, BRIS, MEL, COLL, ST KIL & HAW

Telstra Stadium - WC, COLL & ST KIL

6 MELBOURNE GAMES - RICH, KANG, ST KIL, HAW, COLL, GEE* (SKILLED)

AAMI, SUBI - once

Warwick said:
Collingwood!! 15 games at the MCG, including 8 in a row from rounds 14 to 21!

The Pies have to play 15 at the G. This was due to the Prelim arrangement. These extra games apparently make up for the revenue loss. I fail to see how losing ONE prelim game at the MCG = 15 games for the Pies at the G. How many games were the Pies playing at the G prior to the new arrangement??

Embers said:
Eagles clearly the worst. By a absolute country mile
oh im sorry your not playing the kangaroo's, brisbane, carlton and essendon twice each, but usually the afl likes to put the best teams against the best teams about twice, you always have played freo twice, you always will play freo twice
suck it up

A North perspective.

9 games played interstate (inc our 3 home games @ Carrara)
1 x Friday night home game
Only get to play Essendon & Port Adelaide once (that's 8 points down the drain)
A truck load of Sunday games which we have a history of not pulling crowds. Plus made worse by having a couple of Sunday twilights.

From a footy perspective, not bad at all. 1st 8 rounds and last 4 rounds (all at Telstra Dome) are about as 'soft' as you could hope for.

Rounds 1-8

Collingwood (H), Port Adl (A), Hawthorn (H), Brisbane (H), Geelong (A), Sydney (H), Essendon (H), Carlton (H)

delirious1 said:
oh im sorry your not playing the kangaroo's, brisbane, carlton and essendon twice each, but usually the afl likes to put the best teams against the best teams about twice, you always have played freo twice, you always will play freo twice
suck it up

Its playing at Dome 3 times in 5 rounds and no Friday night games at Subi which get me aswell. No doubt AFL are trying to soften us up before the finals by forcing us to play at the Telstra Ice Rink.

Nightwolf_69 said:
The AFL can go get ****ed...

What a disgraceful draw. We try and expand the game into other states and they repay us this way. Tools...

Are you trying to expand the game or is the driving force the money you are being paid ??

I'm a little on the fence in this - but feel that if the club is selling home games - their members should NOT be entitled to home game privileges to away games (I'm not sure if this is the case or not).

Logic suggests that a Melbourne side will play 3 or 4 away games against non-Vic sides .... leaving about 18 at home. Now if your club goes and decides to "sell" 5 home games leaving you only 13 in Victoria, then they should be adjusting their membership packages to cope.... dont think you can have it both ways. If they do charge you full tote odds for a membership (and game admittance) then the revenue for 5 of those games (your away games being treated as home games) should be going to your opponents.... otherwise you are ripping them off.

Ie Hawthorn should not be making money of its supporters for away games (they made their decision to sel home games).

pluga_4 said:
looks like the AFL have given james hird his farewell game at subiaco :D

At least it wasn't against Port Adelaide or Daren Milburn. That way at least he won't get booed of the ground or knocked out.

airpoe said:
For Swans:

0 - Friday nights
3 - Saturday afternoon
12- Saturday night games
7 - 1pm crap sunday games

Doubles - WC, RICH, BRIS, MEL, COLL, ST KIL & HAW

Telstra Stadium - WC, COLL & ST KIL

6 MELBOURNE GAMES - RICH, KANG, ST KIL, HAW, COLL, GEE* (SKILLED)

AAMI, SUBI - once

Best thing is we get a soft game at home in round 22 before the finals.

Other than that, a pretty fair draw. The telstra stadium games are all against real relevant rivals (WC, 'aints, pies) rather than made up ones, which is a step in the right direction.

Stoked Collingwood got such a soft draw as it means their players will become even softer, if thats possible, and still continue to over-rate their position by getting a cotton wool ride to the finals, only to be completley humiliated and have their fat asses kicked out of the finals in the first week...

...yet again :D

The Eagles draw isn't that bad. The late season Telstra Dome games are obviously a message to Chris Judd. Would have been nice if one of the games was at the MCG.

Interesting to see Sydney again avoid coming to Subi to play Fremantle. They've played Fremantle at Subi 3 times this decade, compared to Fremantle playing them at the SCG 6 times in the same period. And that doesn't include the Telstra Stadium prelim either!

So Geelong's breakdown is like this:

Fri Night........2
Sat Day.........5
Sat Night.......2
Sun Early.......4
Sun Day.........6
Sun Twilight....3

We are the 'anti-owls' if Richmond reckon they're the owls. Only 4 night matches (not counting these twilight ones).

mattdavies_03 said:
absolute shocker of a draw, apart from essendon getting a **** one, hirdy possibly playing his last game in perth, bs

wow, collingwood, what a load of ****

The amount of sooking from Bombers fans about a so called Hird send off in Round 22 is mind boggling.

Consider this:

* Fitzroy played their last game ever in Perth (to put things into perspective)
* Essendon haven't played a Round 22 game interstate since 1985
* If you finish 15th, you shouldn't expect any favours
* And what guarantee is there that Hird won't be injured and will actually play in Round 22
* And if you're good enough, you give him a send off in the finals.

Anyway - I'll be enjoying Archer's send off at the Dome on Sunday 2nd September.:thumbsu:

jorel6669 said:
The Eagles draw isn't that bad. The late season Telstra Dome games are obviously a message to Chris Judd. Would have been nice if one of the games was at the MCG.

Interesting to see Sydney again avoid coming to Subi to play Fremantle. They've played Fremantle at Subi 3 times this decade, compared to Fremantle playing them at the SCG 6 times in the same period. And that doesn't include the Telstra Stadium prelim either!

The thing that really disadvantages the Eagles in the draw is the 5 night games away. It means they won't be getting a flight back till the next day which means they won't start their recovery session till at least the next afternoon, which effectively means they have 1 day shorter break than what it appears to be on paper. More games at the G and less at the dome would have been much better as well.

I have no problems with the sides we are playing twice, we are the reigning premiers after all.

fck I hate Collingwood and their soft draws. Lets hope the rest of the 15 AFL teams can pull together and stick it up them a few times.
Hooray for the Eagles getting to play at the MCG only once and having to go to that sh1tty telstra dome 4 times :rolleyes: That and the fact we play 6 of the 7 top 8 teams twice, and have 5 away night games. Pathetic

Guess I better change my ladder predictor :thumbsdown:

Round 8 v Roos at Gold Coast
Round 16 v Lions at Gabba

As a Brissie based Blues supporter used to seeing his team once every two years, this is a godsend. Woohooo.

8 games at the G
8 games at the Dome
2 in Qld
2 at Subi (as usual)
1 at AAMI (Port)
1 at SCG

6 interstate trips is pushing it compared to some clubs but is offset on that personal note.

Rounds 4, 8, 13, 15, 16 and 19 our interstate trips. Tough month in there.

Essendon and Richmond screwed having to play top 8 sides more than bottom 8 sides.

I can live with this draw.

Wooshavich said:
The thing that really disadvantages the Eagles in the draw is the 5 night games away. It means they won't be getting a flight back till the next day which means they won't start their recovery session till at least the next afternoon, which effectively means they have 1 day shorter break than what it appears to be on paper. More games at the G and less at the dome would have been much better as well.

I have no problems with the sides we are playing twice, we are the reigning premiers after all.

To be fair, three of those are Friday night games, meaning we don't have to play until the following Sunday (twice) or Saturday (once). And one of those is an away game against Fremantle, which means no travel.

2007 Fixture Released

Write your reply...