2007 Fixture Released

mattdavies_03 said:
absolute shocker of a draw, apart from essendon getting a **** one, hirdy possibly playing his last game in perth, bs

wow, collingwood, what a load of ****

Im sure hirds last game would have had a HUGE bearing on the minds of the AFL when setting the entire draw for the entire competition. :rolleyes:

Crows by timeslot
Fri night - 3 (1H 2A)
Saturday arvo - 4 (1H 3A)
Saturday night - 7 (5H 2A)
Sunday early - 3 (3H 0A)
Sunday arvo - 3 (0H 3A)
Sunday twilight - 2 (1H 1A)

Teams we play twice
Top 4 - Freo
Other Top 8 - Coll, WBull
Bottom 4 - Bris, Ess
Other Bottom 8 - Geel, Port

The only time we play interstate in consecutive weeks is in Victoria, so no problems with travel.

All in all the best draw I've seen for this club.

Seriously, half of you ignorant fools should not even be posting on here.

Collingwood - home ground MCG (therefore, 11 games should be at the MCG, even though two of OUR home games are being played at The Dome)

Play Richmond twice (add another MCG game)

Play Melbourne twice (add another one)

Play Carlton and Essendon twice (huge crowd expected, so add another few at the G)

Not really that hard to figure out how we could play so many games at the MCG.

Oh, and nearly every club requests to play us in Melbourne to prop-up there monetary intake. Hard to travel 6 times when these clubs need us to survive.

West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide and Port Adelaide all play 12 games at their home ground, and most of these are SIGNIFICANT HOME GROUND ADVANTAGES. No one's sooking about that.

No travel in the last 10 rounds is lucky, I'll grant you that. But until you can draw like us, SHUT THE F*CK UP & STOP YOUR WHINGING. It's a 22 Round year, not 30, SO IT WILL NEVER BE FAIR.

Crypt Keeper said:

Collingwood - home ground MCG (therefore, 11 games should be at the MCG, even though two of OUR home games are being played at The Dome)

Play Carlton and Essendon twice (huge crowd expected, so add another few at the G)

Oh, and nearly every club requests to play us in Melbourne to prop-up there monetary intake. Hard to travel 6 times when these clubs need us to survive.

West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide and Port Adelaide all play 12 games at their home ground, and most of these are SIGNIFICANT HOME GROUND ADVANTAGES. No one's sooking about that.

No travel in the last 10 rounds is lucky, I'll grant you that. But until you can draw like us, SHUT THE F*CK UP & STOP YOUR WHINGING. It's a 22 Round year, not 30, SO IT WILL NEVER BE FAIR.

Exactly right... and our game's season and can't be extended to 30 because of the climate condidtions. The players would need to have every other year off to compensate for playing in hot weather etc.

Are the whingers forgetting that u should actually WANT to play the better teams ? Its the only way u improve.

I would have preferred 2 games against Adelaide next season coz they are the one team we really need to improve against.

Happy getting some big clubs into Telstra Stadium...Pies Saints and Weagles are all big drawcards these days....good news for footy in Sydney.

We simply cant afford to be playing bottom 4 clubs at TS right now...if we want the bigger crowds at TS this is a step in the right direction...good work giving us those drawcard games.

Weagles TWICE was always gonna happen....more sensible news.

0 Friday night games and only one game against Freo...not stoked about that.

Crypt Keeper said:

A collingwood supporter who can add. Very interesting.

Complaints about Collingwoods draw;

2 Home Games scheduled at Telstra Dome which is not our home ground.

Only 4 day breaks before the Anzac day game.

2 Sunday games which is a shocking day for footy.

Tough gig doing up a completely fair draw but youd think the AFL would do better than that.

juddy_Like said:
F@ckin Hell, we lose in the First week.

Get real...u seen our early season form in recent years ?

Its a GREAT first up draw for the weagles...lousy for us.

SYD v WCE was always going to be twice this yr and u would need to play us once in Sydney....Round 1 is the BEST time to play us here...much better for u than later in the season.

Geeezus christ ...even the Dons beat us this season in Round 1....mark it down as 4pts to the weagles ...maybe :D

Bollox said:

SYD v WCE was always going to be twice this yr and u would need to play us once in Sydney....Round 1 is the BEST time to play us here...much better for u than later in the season.

Geeezus christ ...even the Dons beat us this season in Round 1....mark it down as 4pts to the weagles ...maybe :D

The way our previous contests have gone the past couple of years, it'll probably be a draw.

FiveStrings said:
The way our previous contests have gone the past couple of years, it'll probably be a draw.

The sequence is bound to be broken soon...we all knew about this game already but it truly is a GREAT start of the draw for the weagles. If u had to play us in Sydney then round one is the perfect time.

We are notorious poor starters even at home....big crowd first up...LOTS will do the trip from Perth for this game....book ya flights early.

They'd schedule half a dozen SYD v WCE games this yr if they could.

Embers said:
Maybe so but the AFL couldnt make it any more obvious they want us to lose. Screw this 22 round make it 15 or get more teams.

Embers, WCE request less travle so you play Freo, Adelaide & Port twice. You cant have it both ways mate......what are we meant to do ? Pick Perth Up and move it closer to the other teams????

Dylan82 said:
No West Coast playing in Brisbane this year :eek:

They have a big following over here, at least half the crowd for the fixture at this years' game at the 'Gabba were Eagles supporters.

Guess I won't be cheering on the boys from behind the posts at the Vulture St end next year... :(

When are we ever going to get a competition when each team play each other twice? :thumbsdown:

When there are 68 weeks in a year?

Bollox said:
The sequence is bound to be broken soon...we all knew about this game already but it truly is a GREAT start of the draw for the weagles. If u had to play us in Sydney then round one is the perfect time.

We are notorious poor starters even at home....big crowd first up...LOTS will do the trip from Perth for this game....book ya flights early.

On the other hand, if Sydney needed a shot in the arm to try to get up for Round 1 then this is it - an early chance for revenge. It's a good draw for you blokes too.

Bollox said:

yeah i have and boy ol boy, you guys are lousy in the first month. but man were not too crash hot either. we win, but boy its unstylish.

Although your point is spot on, i hope it stays that way. i.e only 2 games. The heart can only take so much.

I rather lose to the Dons in round 1, than lose twice to the dockers in a year.:D

:thumbsu:

Bollox said:

True True.
But wouldnt it be Gold, if the gf rematch was on Anzac Day. Both teams hitting their straps, little injury (unless your the bulldogs) and gareenteed sell out.

I was hoping to dodge the customary 2 trips to Adelaide but other than that its not all that bad, it all evens out in the end anyway, especially when you have a decent side.

You are a chronic whinge who clearly has purple blood Embers, give it a rest.

burto said:
When there are 68 weeks in a year?

Obviously there isn't, but if the AFL wants a fair draw, then a 30-game season is a must. Some ways to go about it...

* Ditch the pre-season cup and start the season earlier.
* Final 6, not 8. Less finals and no rewarding of teams who only had 50/50 seasons.
* Fixture so there are shorter breaks between games. Have it so that each team plays 3 games within 2 weeks on a select few occasions.
* Increase list size significantly to counter possibility of a greater number of injuries.

Either that or get rid of some teams to make the competition smaller, then fix the fixtures accordingly so each team plays the other twice.

understudy said:
Complaints about Collingwoods draw;

2 Home Games scheduled at Telstra Dome which is not our home ground.

Only 4 day breaks before the Anzac day game.

2 Sunday games which is a shocking day for footy.

Tough gig doing up a completely fair draw but youd think the AFL would do better than that.

You're a ****ing mental case!

WE would all rather Collingwoods bloody easy draw. Then what we have

* 2 back to back games in Adelaide
* 2 trips to Western Australia
* A trip to NSW
* Geelong at Geelong.

Collingwood have it easy like bloody usual. If you can not see you have an easy fixture then you are idiots just like the afl.

Embers said:
Its playing at Dome 3 times in 5 rounds and no Friday night games at Subi which get me aswell. No doubt AFL are trying to soften us up before the finals by forcing us to play at the Telstra Ice Rink.

Maybe its Judds punishment for criticising the ground?? :eek:

2007 Fixture Released