2007 Ladder Prediction

ICanDressMyself said:
I heard that in 2003.

Have faith.

I'm not saying it's beyond us winning a premiership but alot would have to go right. If you matched our best 22 with the competition there at least 3 teams with more talent than us.

noddy said:
Some might need two hands.

but then again others might need none.

Lets be honest noddy if you think anything other then that then give us your thoughts, too many AFC supporters think we are just going to pick up the peices and get on with it, anit going to happen not in 2007 Sydney, West Coast, Fremantle and Bulldogs all in far better positions than us in 2007 to start with, Bulldogs are my tip for the flag they will be unstoppable.

Ive got enough balls to say where we are really at instead of pretending everything is okay which it isnt, time others did the same.

maccas_no1 said:
Do honestly understand what a waste 2005 and 2006 have been??? You spend all day fighting off Port supporters on Bay 13 when what they say is deadset spot on we ****ed it up BIGTIME, bigger than you can ever imagine, we are out of the picture in reguards to winning a premiership, forget it for 3-5 yrs now, we will slide, be honest with where the AFC is at and take the rose coloured glasses off.

We will be lucky to win 13 games in 2007, it doesnt matter how good the draw is we are relying on a ruckman that is coming back from a major Knee injury and two new ruckmen, it will take them time to get into the flow, nobody can expect them to come in and just go off in leaps and bounds, our forward line is rooted Perrie and McGregor are deadset hopeless when it comes to contested marks Welsh is okay, Burton is injury prone, and because of our midfeild deficencies will have to push up the ground, Roo will never be what we need him to be as a midfeilder or even as a forward he is clearly not upto AFL footy at the moment and no 'great preseason' will fix that.

5-6th finish in 2007.

McGregor and Perrie are hopeless when it comes to contested marks but Welsh is okay?! :eek:

Good to see the boys have got good supporter from loyal fans.

Fact is, the 2007 season is a long way away. There's no point making the prediciton that the premiership window is closed and we're ****ed in 07 and rubbish like that until you actually see how the season pans out.

maccas_no1 said:
Do honestly understand what a waste 2005 and 2006 have been??? You spend all day fighting off Port supporters on Bay 13 when what they say is deadset spot on we ****ed it up BIGTIME, bigger than you can ever imagine, we are out of the picture in reguards to winning a premiership, forget it for 3-5 yrs now, we will slide, be honest with where the AFC is at and take the rose coloured glasses off.

We will be lucky to win 13 games in 2007, it doesnt matter how good the draw is we are relying on a ruckman that is coming back from a major Knee injury and two new ruckmen, it will take them time to get into the flow, nobody can expect them to come in and just go off in leaps and bounds, our forward line is rooted Perrie and McGregor are deadset hopeless when it comes to contested marks Welsh is okay, Burton is injury prone, and because of our midfeild deficencies will have to push up the ground, Roo will never be what we need him to be as a midfeilder or even as a forward he is clearly not upto AFL footy at the moment and no 'great preseason' will fix that.

5-6th finish in 2007.

Rubbish post. Was it the AFC's fault we lost 4 of our top 8 players in Trent, Roo, Macca and Burton in the few weeks leading up to finals. No team ( West Coast inluded )would be able to cover that sort of loss in talent on the eve of finals.

maccas_no1 said:
Ive got enough balls to say where we are really at instead of pretending everything is okay which it isnt, time others did the same.

Yeah and I bet you were thinking in 2005 that we were going to finish in the bottom 8 just like the rest of Australia and where did we end up finishing? I've heard all that Adelaide are gone crap and we're too old in 2004 and look what happened there.

maccas_no1 said:
Lets be honest noddy if you think anything other then that then give us your thoughts, too many AFC supporters think we are just going to pick up the peices and get on with it, anit going to happen not in 2007 Sydney, West Coast, Fremantle and Bulldogs all in far better positions than us in 2007 to start with, Bulldogs are my tip for the flag they will be unstoppable.

I'm not saying that i need two hands personally.

well maybe on the odd occasion when the mood swings me bye.

maccas_no1 said:

5-6th finish in 2007.

I understand what you are saying Marty but is there any point in finishing 6th – 12th?

In the AFL environment there is no benefit in finishing anywhere between 6th and 12th (other than pride) so why didn’t we completely start again and delist or trade player like McGregor and Perrie? But the club didn’t so we have to support the players and the coach that we have and show some faith that they will get the job done.

I can not see any reason why we will not win 15 or 16 games again. The only team that worries me that is coming to AAMI stadium is the West Coast Eagles and the only 2 away games are Fremantle and Melbourne. 15 or 16 wins is achievable.

Have some faith.

SpringChoke said:
Rubbish post. Was it the AFC's fault we lost 4 of our top 8 players in Trent, Roo, Macca and Burton in the few weeks leading up to finals. No team ( West Coast inluded )would be able to cover that sort of loss in talent on the eve of finals.

Macca and Burton both played in the PF or did you forget that???

SpringChoke said:
I'm not saying it's beyond us winning a premiership but alot would have to go right. If you matched our best 22 with the competition there at least 3 teams with more talent than us.

Exactly !!

It will only get a little harder now in the next couple of years to even get in a gf let alone win one.

But who knows for sure what next year will bring & we have made certain footy experts look silly in the past so why not again.

crows98 said:
I understand what you are saying Marty but is there any point in finishing 6th – 12th?

In the AFL environment there is no benefit in finishing anywhere between 6th and 12th (other than pride) so why didn’t we completely start again and delist or trade player like McGregor and Perrie? But the club didn’t so we have to support the players and the coach that we have and show some faith that they will get the job done.

I can not see any reason why we will not win 15 or 16 games again. The only team that worries me that is coming to AAMI stadium is the West Coast Eagles and the only 2 away games are Fremantle and Melbourne. 15 or 16 wins is achievable.

Have some faith.

We will finish there we cant help that, mate I would love to say yes we will finish top four but there are far better sides than the AFC in 2007, Bulldogs were fantastic this year and they had nobody next year with their talls back geez they are going to be unstoppable, West Coast will again be great, Fremantle will be firing again and so will Sydney, the AFC arent in the same league as those clubs.

Sh*t, I left out St Kilda!!!

I'd slide them into 9th push Richmond back to 10th. I don't know why a fall out of the 8. They're good enough to be top 4. Some people said Sydney would slide after their flag, so maybe this is the same kind of premature prediction.

maccas_no1 said:
Reasons for a 2007 AFC slide:

Oldest list in the AFL, midfeild and forwardlines arent good enough, the players we have there are weak and too inconsistant, our forwardline is shot to peices relying on Perrie, McGregor and Welsh to kick winning scores anit going to happen, none can take a catch.

The window was open and has now shut if you believe anything else you have your hand firmly on it.

That says it all hard to argue with that

maccas_no1 said:
We will finish there we cant help that, mate I would love to say yes we will finish top four but there are far better sides than the AFC in 2007, Bulldogs were fantastic this year and they had nobody next year with their talls back geez they are going to be unstoppable, West Coast will again be great, Fremantle will be firing again and so will Sydney, the AFC arent in the same league as those clubs.

Are you suggesting it's time the AFC starts to implement a rebuilding phase?

crows98 said:
Are you suggesting it's time the AFC starts to implement a rebuilding phase?

We have already, lets be honest Mattner, Reilly and Shirley are ok players but they arent the ilk of Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards and Riccuito, our defence is great our Midfeild and Forwardlines ar shot to peices.

maccas_no1 said:
We have already, lets be honest Mattner, Reilly and Shirley are ok players but they arent the ilk of Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards and Riccuito, our defence is great our Midfeild and Forwardlines ar shot to peices.

So we need to revitalize our midfield and give an opportunity to Richard Douglas, Chris Knights, Bernie Vince and Darren Pfeiffer but at whose expense?

Surly it would not be at the expense of Kris Massie and Michael Doughty?

crows98 said:
So we need to revitalize our midfield and give an opportunity to Richard Douglas, Chris Knights, Bernie Vince and Darren Pfeiffer but at whose expense?

Surly it would not be at the expense of Kris Massie and Michael Doughty?

This is all part of the rebuilding and no not at the expense of Doughty or Massie, Reilly is accountable enough and goes in and out of the game if he doesnt fire next year we need to look at trading him and playing Douglas and Vince is the answer but they will take time to come on but we have to play them this year or in two years time we will end up like Brisbane is now.

---------------------
Port
Brisbane

After Minor Round

maccas_no1 said:
This is all part of the rebuilding and no not at the expense of Doughty or Massie...playing Douglas and Vince is the answer but they will take time to come on but we have to play them this year or in two years time we will end up like Brisbane is now.

So if need to play our young guys - who are they going to replace maccas_no1?

Massie clearly wasn't in our beset XXII in 2006 - just look at the Prelim where he was dropped.

My predictions;

Bulldogs
St. Kilda

Port
Brisbane
Kangaroos

We are capable of winning the flag in 2007, and will again be a threat the same way we were this year.

Stiffy_18 said:
What a load of crap :rolleyes:

Well mr stiffy you tell me what the story is, you even admitted in the McGregor thread that he is clearly struggling geez wouldnt that be due to his inability to take a contested mark??? Perrie is the same should rename him 'butter fingers' be honest stiffy niether take contested marks when they should be.

Our forwardline is shot to peices, thats why we struggled for the last few weeks of the season and the finals as we couldnt kick big scores because our forwardlines was deadset rubbish.

Time for AFC supporters to give honest opinions of where the club is at not think we are going to pick up the peices and get it together it wont happen, as I have said there are easily four or five clubs better than us in 2007.

2005 and 2006 were the biggest screw ups in the clubs history, when we were in a position to make a meal out of both finals series we screwed it up bigtime, that as supporters is what we have to live with and deserve all the crap we get, we have to live with it and hope the club gets it right in 3-5 years time. And yes it hurts like hell.

maccas_no1, you are bagging three players who were all smashed by injuries in 2006.

Do you not see how ridiculous it is to bag Welsh, Ken and Perrie when considering this?

If you are not judging them on their injury-riddled 2006 season, you must be looking at their 2005 seasons - in which case your claims are still ridiculous because all three were excellent that season.

Edit - Another point. When McGregor was playing (although I believe under duress) this season, he and Hentschel were the only two tall forwards used. We played some of our best football during this period.

McGregor - worst CHF in the league
Perrie - wtf?? This guy wasnt even good BEFORE his injury...
Welsh - even Bishop was able to beat this guy

People here say ohhhh yes we are going to finish top four ohh but we want to blood all our young players if thats the case you wont finish top four that is called rebuilding.

I'm not a big fan of Welsh, Perrie or McGregor, but has everyone forgotten Roo, Bock & Burton? Bode? IMO they will be our most effective goal kickers next year.