2007 - Thoughts

Is there an other?

I vote to keep Bomber, sack some players and make alteration to the assistant coaching ranks.

I.e. Recruit a SOS, Carey, etc.

My ideal outcome would be for:

1. Bomber to resign (that's resign, not re-sign)

2. Delist Lonergan (or Spencer), Koula, Gardiner (if uncontracted) and McCarthy.

3. Grima nominated rookie and 5 new rookies (a ruckman, 2 speedy midfielders, a key forward and a key defender)

4. Trade Kingsley. If no trade available, keep on a bare-bones contract.

5. Trade Kelly if we can get a sub-20 pick.

catempire said:

Agreed
catempire said:
2. Delist Lonergan (or Spencer), Koula, Gardiner (if uncontracted) and McCarthy.

I think we should delist McCarthy, Koula, Gardiner, Spencer & Longergan (if he shows nothing from decent game time in the backline in the remaining 2 games).

catempire said:
3. Grima nominated rookie and 5 new rookies (a ruckman, 2 speedy midfielders, a key forward and a key defender)

What about elevating someone like Batchelor or Will Slade otherwise they are both gone. I'm impressed with Will Slades commitment but becomes overagreesive at times.

Batchelor has not impressed me one bit.

Agree with the rookie system though.

catempire said:

Correct. I beleive he plays for a very cheap price anyway. It would be good to have him as a backup.
catempire said:

Highly doubt we would get a pick under 30 for him. What about a strait swap for Aker? Even though we all basically know he will be at Essendon next year.

Batchelor hasn't done enough and Slade would be borderline IMO.

If we can't get a pick under 20 for Kelly we're better off keeping him. He could still come good under the right coach and disciplinary regime.

I'm not interested in Aker. We'd have to pay the earth (which I don't think we could fit in our cap). It's also likely we'd have to give up something like Kelly and our first or second pick. His high media profile wouldn't be suited to Geelong anyway.

catempire said:

Agreed.

nananana catman said:
Given the strength of this years draft, I'd doubt Batchelor or Slade will be promoted onto the senior list. I'd like to see Grima promoted though.

Sorry dude, this isn't a crack at you, but I've got to interject. We don't know how strong the draft is. Until recently we thought 2001 was a "superdraft", but half the players we recruited that year (Gardiner, McCarthy, Playfair, Kelly) haven't come up.

If you want proof that there aren't certainties, check out the likely Rising Star Winner - Andrew Raines. Taken at pick 87 or something like that. Which means ALL 16 teams had 5 chances to take him and passed him over. Bet every side would love him now.

Partridge, you don't get to take your picks in the draft with hindsight.

It's all very well to say now that everyone would love to have Raines. Fact is, he didn't look as good as 86 other prospects at the time.

Same goes when saying this is a "strong draft". All it means is that you factor that into your list management decisions. Of course, the "strong draft" prediction could be right and it could be wrong. You won't know until after it's done and dusted though.

Keep Bomber?
hahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!
Oh boy....

catempire said:

Could not have said it better myself other than get rid of Gardiner even if he is contracted!!!! There will be a trade for Kingsley.

Partridge said:
Sorry dude, this isn't a crack at you, but I've got to interject. We don't know how strong the draft is. Until recently we thought 2001 was a "superdraft", but half the players we recruited that year (Gardiner, McCarthy, Playfair, Kelly) haven't come up.

If you want proof that there aren't certainties, check out the likely Rising Star Winner - Andrew Raines. Taken at pick 87 or something like that. Which means ALL 16 teams had 5 chances to take him and passed him over. Bet every side would love him now.

Fair point, but we aren't going to get much from batchelor or Slade, so i'd be inclined to look to the draft given from all reports that its got some good talent there.

We know what we have with dlade and batchelor, the example of raines is why we should draft kids.

Sando said:
Hasn't he been a great in the seconds as a backman??

Yes, from what I've heard.

It's list management really. We need to make room for some new blood and TL has failed in his primary reason for being on the list - as a key forward.

I'm not totally against retaining him, but he's in the mix to get the boot.

I would think that with Ricco retiring there would be probably at least four to five more players to be delisted at years end. Gardiner (pay out his contract), Spencer, McCarthy and Koulouriotis are probably the most obvious. One may be saved if Kingsley or Playfair are traded for draft picks rather than for players. I reckon Lonergan may be given another year. Kelly, with two more years on his contract, is also unlikely to go. In fact I have a feeling that Playfair will probably also stay.

I will be very surprised if this "review" results in any major changes other than to the assistant coaches

Why isn't there a "sack coach and some players" option?

Surely if there's variations on both these options, they should exist together as one?

And no, I didn't vote!

nananana catman said:
Fair point, but we aren't going to get much from batchelor or Slade, so i'd be inclined to look to the draft given from all reports that its got some good talent there.

We know what we have with dlade and batchelor, the example of raines is why we should draft kids.

Totally agree with you on that one. It's more of a complaint against the media and others who assume every kid next year will be a superstar. Even Hawkins has to prove himself. But back to your point by all means take some chances on youngsters. It's the only way forward.

thoughts on sheringham guys? been on the rookie list same time as batchelor but has not been given a chance in terms of nab cup games n stuff. personally i reckon this kid has the goods, do you think they will give him more time or move on to the next hopeful in line...??

We have to get rid of crappy second line coaching staff. Sure they were good middle impact players, but Lovett and Hinkley weren't special, nor did they have an abundance of skill.

Hinkley could rarely kick straight on a good day in front of the sticks, so therefore why is he our forward coach after so many years of mediocracy and poor kicking ??

The midfield skill level has dropped off, with all players effectiveness taking a nose dive. Again, Lovett was a 'good' midfielder, that is all.

We NEED better skilled coaches to drive our players up.

Players wise, I can see the following:

Gardiner - Delisted
KK - Either kept or traded
Lonergan - Delisted or traded
Kelly - kept
H - kept
Kourli - kept
Macca - Delisted or at least traded
Sherringham - Delisted
Slade - Elevated. Showed something at start of the year

thegerman said:
We have to get rid of crappy second line coaching staff. Sure they were good middle impact players, but Lovett and Hinkley weren't special, nor did they have an abundance of skill.

Hinkley could rarely kick straight on a good day in front of the sticks, so therefore why is he our forward coach after so many years of mediocracy and poor kicking ??

you are an idiot mate. the man has coached premiership after premiership in local football, he knows what he's talking about. u dont have to be a good player to be a good coach. u prob dont even play footy, stick to your flag waving in the outer buddy ;-)

hyperswivel said:
Why is it that playing the game is still a prerequisite for coaching in Victoria?

are you asking me or the other spoon? i mean playing footy is a prerequisite for knowing something about the game...

he means your have to be skilled at football to be a good coach, i wouldnt have thought so...

Did Chris Connolly ever play the game?
I may be wrong, but I'm sure there are AFL coaches who've never pulled the boots on.