2007 Top 5

Apr 30, 2006
melbourne
Top 5 players for the year:

1. Dustin Fletcher - Another magnificent season where he controlled the backline and saved our bacon on so many occasions. When you give up the most inside 50's of any team then you know your defence is in for one hell of a job.

2. James Hird - At 34 he can still produce the goods.

3. Mark McVeigh - Stamped himself in the elite category this year.

4. Scott Lucas - Magnificent first half of the year and was our best forward.

5. Damien Peverill - Has been consistently good and tried his guts out. For him to get in the top 5 it indicates how poor a side we were.

Top 5 Youngsters on form and potential:

1. Paddy Ryder
2. Jobe Watson
3. Jason Winderlich
4. Jay Nash
5. Alwyn Davey

Top 5 Disappointments:

1. Mark Johnson - A senior player that became a liability.
2. Ricky Dyson - Didn't give a whimper.
3. Courtney Johns - Didn't show anything.
4. David Hille - A few good games but looks disinterested.
5. Jason Johnson - Another senior player that became a liability.

Top 5 players for the year:

1. Dustin Fletcher - Another magnificent season where he controlled the backline and saved our bacon on so many occasions. When you give up the most inside 50's of any team then you know your defence is in for one hell of a job.

2. James Hird - At 34 he can still produce the goods.

3. Mark McVeigh - Stamped himself in the elite category this year.

4. Scott Lucas - Magnificent first half of the year and was our best forward.

5. Damien Peverill - Has been consistently good and tried his guts out. For him to get in the top 5 it indicates how poor a side we were.

Top 5 Youngsters on form and potential:

1. Paddy Ryder
2. Jobe Watson
3. Jason Winderlich
4. Jay Nash
5. Alwyn Davey

Top 5 Disappointments:

1. Mark Johnson - A senior player that became a liability.
2. Ricky Dyson - Didn't give a whimper.
3. Courtney Johns - Didn't show anything.
4. David Hille - A few good games but looks disinterested.
5. Jason Johnson - Another senior player that became a liability.

Pev over Stanton? :rolleyes::thumbsdown::rolleyes:

My top 5

5. Lucas
4. Hird
3. Stanton
2. Fletch
1. McVeigh

Top 5 players.

Dustin Fletcher - Champion
Mark McVeigh - Is all class and proved with consistency
Jobe Watson - Has stepped up into another gear. Kicking still needs work
James Hird - Legend
Scott Lucas - Another good year from the big forward

Best Youngsters

Jason Winderlich - Came of age this year
Jay Nash - Has nice skills
Paddy Ryder - Future star backman
Alwyn Davey - Narrowly misses out on top 5 for this year (shows how much we need him)
Tom Hislop - showed a bit in not many games
Bachar Houli - Has lots of talent and will play more next year

Biggest crappers

Mark Johnson - Shocker of a year
Jason Johnson - Same with him
Courtney Johns - Big guy with talent but has done nothing with it
David Hille - A very average year from a Leader at the club
Scott Campreale - Had a bad year with injuries and looks set to retire

Disapointments

Angus Monfries - Has been better lately but struggled earlier in the year
Jason Laycock - Up and down form but is on the rise and will be good in future years
Andrew Lovett - Lacked spirit when playing most of the time

Top 5 Best Players Of 2007

5. Mark McVeigh - One of best years ever. If he doesn't get AA i will be very surprised. Hardly had a bad game this year.

4. James Hird - For the games that he has played this year, he has had an impact on and for him to do that at 34 years of age is outstanding. Def be crying again this week. Win Lose or Draw.

3. Jason Winderlich - Has done a magnificent job this year with his pace and ability to kick and hit the target 99% of the time going flat out is amazing.

2. Jay Nash - Now i know a lot of you are thinkin yeah he has a good year and all but shouldn't be top 5. Ever since Round 12 against Port, he has been outstanding and racked up close to 20+ disposals a game since then. He is going to be a regular player for sure for years to come

1. Adam Ramanaskuas - Pure and simply just after what he has done to get back to playing AFL and what he has overcome is just a miracle and an inspiration.

Top 5 Underperformed Players of 2007

5. David Hille - Partially Sheedy's fault playing him as a ruckmen but he is useless to Essendon as a ruckmen. The only place i would have him in my team is playing him out of the goal square or CHF. Strong mark and good kick for goal.

4. Mark Johnson - I love this guy, great for the club and love for him to stay at the club and have another crack i mean he has had 1 bad year. 2 time B&F winner and i love his toughness. I hope the coach keeps him and gives him another go.

3. Jason Johnson - Again partially Sheedy's fault, but he is our best clearance player at the club. An excellent kick and also has a lot of toughness and gets in a gets the ball. I also hope that the new coach gives JJ one more crack. He has won us a lot of games as a midfielder i reckon. Certainly 2001 Essendon V Kangaroos Comeback game.

2. Adam McPhee - This guy has amazing potential, he finds the ball but never uses it. He will def stay at the club next year just needs to work on his disposal a bit more. If Essendon get rid of him, it will come back to bite us.

1. Ricky Dyson - I can't explain the words that i have about this kid. He is going to be an awesome player. I just can't understand why the club won't give him a go. Quick,Good Skills etc. Just give him some experience. Good Luck Ricky. Ur certainly one of my fav players and even if you leave Essendon you still will be one of my fav players.

Top 5 Must Go -

5. Kepler Bradley - Gee where do i start? Nothing against big Kepler but he is one of those guys who is good enough for VFL but that is it.. He is too uncoordinated and crumbles under pressure. Sorry Kepler but you gotta go.

4. Jobe Watson - Disposal is terrible and i know ill prob cop some flak over this but he is too slow and his disposal is crap. Can't drop him every time that we make our way to big grounds eg. Subiaco.

3. Mark Bolton - Just terrible im not really looking forward to watching him tomorrow on Cousins as i have heard :mad:. He is just to...oh i dunno everything negative lol.. been on the list too long must go...

2. Richard Cole - Ruined the Reputation of Leroy Jetta and has now made Leroy thinking every night that he goes out. Oh shit i better not get in trouble and everything like that.

1. Damien Peverill - Read Jobe Watson.

Now i know ill prob cop some flak over some of these statements but everyone is allowed to have their own opinon are they???.

P.S Thanks For The Memories Hirdy and Sheedy. Hope the boys have a bit more heart this week than they did last week

I'd say the four standouts imo would be:

McVeigh
Watson
Lucas
Fletcher

Lloyd (had a very strong second half) and Hird tied for 5th

Youngsters:

Watson
Winderlich
Ryder
Nash
Davey

All confirmed spots among our most important players.

Laycock, Monfries and Lovett all showed their potential towards the end of the year, just need to develop some consistency.

You're damn right that you will cop crap about wanting to get rid of Watson. If we do look to trade him, there will be 15 clubs knocking on his managers door. He is quality. There is no way he will be leaving. He is probably our best midfielder.

Mate he is too slow we need to get rid of these kind of players. He is disposal is terrible.

Adam Simpson, Luke Ball, Brett Kirk, Daniel Kerr, Peter Bell, Cameron Ling, Tyson Edwards all have disposal similar to or if not worse than Watson. Look up the stats if you want.

I don't know how much football you have played but its nearly impossible to dispose of the ball at 80% efficiency and above when you are constantly getting rid of it in traffic.

His disposal WAS terrible, but he has worked very hard on it and it was spot on later in the year

Watson and Stanton will form the base of a fabulous midfield within three years....as mid 20's, they will both be very, very good mids....

Here's hoping Winderlich and some other youngsters step up another notch now....

Best Performers:

1. Fletcher
2. McVeigh
3. Lucas
4. Peverill
5. Watson

Special mention to Davey and NLM who have played extremely well in the limited number of games they have played.

Worst Performers:

1. Bradley (Primarily because he was played out of position. I think he should be retained on the list and played on the forward flank.)
2. Hille
3. MJ
4. JJ
5. Lovett

5. Mark McVeigh - One of best years ever. If he doesn't get AA i will be very surprised. Hardly had a bad game this year.

Agreed, but won't go close to AA unfortunately. Has been our best most consistent this year, but isn't AA.

3. Jason Winderlich - Has done a magnificent job this year with his pace and ability to kick and hit the target 99% of the time going flat out is amazing.

Part 1 of the why are they in your top 5 best players? A breakout year, and he's been great, but unfortunately two hamstring spells and some quiet games here and there but not consistent enough, or had good enough games. Good player, should be great, but not this year. Shouldn't be ahead of Fletcher, Stanton, Lucas, Pev, Watson, McPhee.

2. Jay Nash - Now i know a lot of you are thinkin yeah he has a good year and all but shouldn't be top 5. Ever since Round 12 against Port, he has been outstanding and racked up close to 20+ disposals a game since then. He is going to be a regular player for sure for years to come

Part 2. Another youngster who has showed some great signs and development, and has me really excited, but again, top 5?? Ever since Round 12? There were 12 other games before that had players performing, and even when he came into the side he has rarely been in the top 5 players on the ground. He has been good, but come on, not top 5 yet.

1. Adam Ramanaskuas - Pure and simply just after what he has done to get back to playing AFL and what he has overcome is just a miracle and an inspiration.
Part 3. I think you are getting top 5 best players mixed with courageous, or favourite players. Rama is a legend, and I love the bloke, but he wouldn't be our top 5 best you wouldn't think.
5. David Hille - Partially Sheedy's fault playing him as a ruckmen but he is useless to Essendon as a ruckmen. The only place i would have him in my team is playing him out of the goal square or CHF. Strong mark and good kick for goal.
Can't see him as a CHF or FF, especially not a better one than the two L-trains. He is a born and bred ruckman, but a struggling one at that.
4. Mark Johnson - I love this guy, great for the club and love for him to stay at the club and have another crack i mean he has had 1 bad year. 2 time B&F winner and i love his toughness. I hope the coach keeps him and gives him another go.
Don't think he's had that bad a year in the first place, just not as good as he used to be. Agree one more year. Also, only 1 B & F
3. Jason Johnson - Again partially Sheedy's fault, but he is our best clearance player at the club. An excellent kick and also has a lot of toughness and gets in a gets the ball. I also hope that the new coach gives JJ one more crack. He has won us a lot of games as a midfielder i reckon. Certainly 2001 Essendon V Kangaroos Comeback game.

Not sure it's Sheedy's fault, injury is slowing his body down big time by the looks of it. When he is playing, he is not close to 100% either I'd say. Also don't think he'd be classified as an excellent kick. I think he deserves a full crack next year also.

2. Adam McPhee - This guy has amazing potential, he finds the ball but never uses it. He will def stay at the club next year just needs to work on his disposal a bit more. If Essendon get rid of him, it will come back to bite us.
Been a bit of a scapegoat, has been pretty consistent all year but his decision making does let him down, especially in recent weeks. Essendon won't get rid of him he still has two years to go in his contract. Will be very surprised if he doesn't finish top 10 B & F. In fact, I'd put my house on it.
1. Ricky Dyson - I can't explain the words that i have about this kid. He is going to be an awesome player. I just can't understand why the club won't give him a go. Quick,Good Skills etc. Just give him some experience. Good Luck Ricky. Ur certainly one of my fav players and even if you leave Essendon you still will be one of my fav players.
I'm also a fan but you cant use the "didn't get a go" excuse. He was given 5-6 weeks of senior footy where he had a chance to cement a spot easily. And while he did some nice things and kicked some very good goals, didn't perform well enough. I think we should keep him for sure, but you're right he has underperformed.
Top 5 Must Go -

4. Jobe Watson - Disposal is terrible and i know ill prob cop some flak over this but he is too slow and his disposal is crap. Can't drop him every time that we make our way to big grounds eg. Subiaco.

It's an understatement to say we missed him last week. To say we should get rid of him is borderline ludicrous. You are allowed to have an opinion for sure but as long as you can expect one back.

I forgot about Stanton.

I guess I don't consider him that much of a youngster anymore seeing he has played 75 games.

He misses the youngsters category and misses the top 5 performers as he's been injured and I don't think we've seen anything close to his best.

Top 5 Players
1 - Dustin Fletcher
2 - James Hird
3 - Mark Mcveigh
4 - Scott Lucas
5 - Brent Stanton

Top 5 Youngsters
1 - Paddy Ryder
2 - Alwyn Davey
3 - Jobe Watson
4 - Jason Winderlich
5 - Jay Nash

You're kidding right? Doubt anyone will agree with you too. His disposal and ability to read the play makes him very much a required player at Essendon.
everyone i have spoke to agrees with me that Watson should go..Yes he reads the play well, but he is too slow and shit disposal.he has to go..he is only there on his name

Top 5

Fletcher
McVeigh
Davey
Hird
Peverill

Worst 4

Johns
Bolton
Bradley
Heffernan

Hard to really put any other underperformers as they havent actually been our worst in our list of players to make a senior appearance.

everyone i have spoke to agrees with me that Watson should go..Yes he reads the play well, but he is too slow and shit disposal.he has to go..he is only there on his name

In that case your friends have as little idea as you do. Watson is nowehre nearn being delisted, he is there on the basis of hsi very good form and excellent ability to get clearances. Dont try to make it sound like your crack pot ramblings are the consensus opinoin. Watson is more important to this team than Stanton.

Top 5

Fletcher
McVeigh
Davey
Hird
Peverill

Worst 4

Johns
Bolton
Bradley
Heffernan

Hard to really put any other underperformers as they havent actually been our worst in our list of players to make a senior appearance.

Think I'd probably agree with these most so far. Davey should have had many more games, and even Houli deserves a mention. Today's game just reinforces how much Fletcher, McPhee and Lucas are providing the corridor support, with Michael being utterly disappointing all year, and Lloyd's adventures around the ground being meritorious but costing us goals.

Glad to see Gumbleton having a go in defence today

4. James Hird - For the games that he has played this year, he has had an impact on and for him to do that at 34 years of age is outstanding. Def be crying again this week. Win Lose or Draw.

Top 5 Must Go -

5. Kepler Bradley - Gee where do i start? Nothing against big Kepler but he is one of those guys who is good enough for VFL but that is it.. He is too uncoordinated and crumbles under pressure. Sorry Kepler but you gotta go.

3. Mark Bolton - Just terrible im not really looking forward to watching him tomorrow on Cousins as i have heard :mad:. He is just to...oh i dunno everything negative lol.. been on the list too long must go...

2. Richard Cole - Ruined the Reputation of Leroy Jetta and has now made Leroy thinking every night that he goes out. Oh shit i better not get in trouble and everything like that.

1. Damien Peverill - Read Jobe Watson.

Now i know ill prob cop some flak over some of these statements but everyone is allowed to have their own opinon are they???.

P.S Thanks For The Memories Hirdy and Sheedy. Hope the boys have a bit more heart this week than they did last week

Fletcher is a bit stiff there.

Dyson has had a go and is a hack. Get rid of.

Watson is a gun and will get better and better. Your named Statnton and your into someone else about their disposal. Ironic.

2007 Top 5