2008 Buddy Draft Register

At the risk of sounding "undemocratic" - I'd be happy enough with that. Maybe we need to set some guidelines... >3 months membership to BF + >50 posts perhaps???? Dunno - just putting it out there...

Thoughts?

Another possibility is that we "double-up"... so some players have two buddies for 2008?? Just another thought. (The first time we did this we had some posters with 2 buddies cos we didn't have enough participants.... :eek:)

I'll add the names to the list in order for the moment, and maybe we can thrash out some of the finer details when the registers of interest slows down to a trickle...

Yep agree,I dont think regular posters should miss out especially after what happened last year.

At the risk of sounding "undemocratic" - I'd be happy enough with that. Maybe we need to set some guidelines... >3 months membership to BF + >50 posts perhaps???? Dunno - just putting it out there...

Thoughts?

Another possibility is that we "double-up"... so some players have two buddies for 2008?? Just another thought. (The first time we did this we had some posters with 2 buddies cos we didn't have enough participants.... :eek:)

I'll add the names to the list in order for the moment, and maybe we can thrash out some of the finer details when the registers of interest slows down to a trickle...

Maybe assign every player on the list a buddy first in best dressed, then leave this thread open and hopefully get a 2nd buddy for each player before the season starts? Or if we don't get 88 names (which is probable) put the 20 or so less popular players back in so they have two buddies, because the lesser lights need more support.

Two posters with the same buddy could throw up some humorous debate. Aslong as I don't end up sharing a buddy with Ripper, Gav or Roundhouse. ;)

I'm on the list (assuming I haven't been taken off) but I just wanna say I haven't posted heaps lately due to the fact I have been studying for a while, I am a big fan of this forum and I am a dockers member, have been since start if that means anything. Besides I would assume the bigger fans would be checking it more regularly and would have seen it. Just a thought, anyway thanks for the spot.

I don't think you should get a buddy. Not because you post infrequently, but because you have been a member for 13 years and decided to name yourself after Mundy.

Maybe the first time you post a report on your buddy you call it 'Player X-Buddy Watch'

Then every time you're inclined to write something about your buddy you add it to that thread. Might also prevent 16,472 new threads entitled 'Des Headland' on a Monday morning.

We could have a thread on the sub-board for each player? Then instead of starting threads on a particular player post game we could give them a pat on the back or whack their buddy across the knuckles depending on the players performance.

I think I started 16,471 of those Headland threads. ;)

Yes it amazes me how supporters can ride the pendulum from "sack him" to having him in the Best players within a season. Not saying you did this by the way, and it is common to all clubs. Geelong has had heaps of it in the very recent past. The common thread with Headland since coming to the club is that he has not lived up to expectations, which does not mean that he is not a valuable player.

The problem with Desmond was his work rate, not a lack of ability. You make a good point re Geelong, Headland and Steve Johnson had similar seasons in 2007 when they both started playing to their ability regularly.

I reckon you have it in for him. I watched the round 6 2006 derby the other week and Des really stood out , as did a few others , especially M.J.

Come on Dom , we are all not like the computer on the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy.

Sorry Rip, that reference went over my head. Due to my internet addiction I don't have time to read books or watch movies.

Didn't think sci-fi would be your thing though. I had you pegged as a feel good romantic comedy kind of guy.

Yeah I sure did. Was one of my favourites this year though. David Mundy on the other hand. :mad:

;)

No doubt he slipped the best part of a fair way in 2007. Again i watched some 2006 tapes and Mundy was backing "courageously into packs" , taking "courageous marks" and all they way through has had imaculate disposal off both feet.

I wouldn't write him off yet , IMO he was gettin back to somewhere near the 2006 Mundy at the end of 2007.

I reckon these 2006 tapes that you speak of are your version of George Bush's weapons of mass destruction.

Can I borrow your 2006 tape of the easter bunny and the loch ness monster?

I don't think you should get a buddy. Not because you post infrequently, but because you have been a member for 13 years and decided to name yourself after Mundy.

I think you should take him on as your buddy dom - maybe with a bit of encouragement you can steer him in the right direction. It could be like a reverse buddy draft where you take on your least favourite player? :p

Of course, you could always hope that the new coaching staff toughen him up over the summer and claim it as your own influence. :D

Some hate mail might do the trick do you think Chooker?

I was thinking more along the lines of some positive thoughts directed at him, maybe a bit of general encouragement (either at the game or yelling at the screen) to take on the more physical aspects of the game, but I guess you could always write him an open letter each week on his thread (in the buddy sub-forum of course) pointing out where he went wrong. ;)

How about I drive up to training at Freo Oval in a tank and yell "Get some nuts, foooool!!!"

That's what the commission should have said to Cousins when he was making excuses - "Quit yo jibber jabber!!"

I just found this pic while looking through photo bucket junk, someone make it relevant becasue it was just too good to let slip

4thehorde.jpg

Whilst I would love to be included this year, I think I've well and truely missed out - damn overseas holiday!

2008 Buddy Draft Register