2008 National Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter vealesy

I'll definitely be interested in seeing how Hunt goes for you blokes. Went to school with him and he was a top guy, also held/holds all kinds of state and national records in shotput javelin and discus

This will turn out to be one of the most underated drafts of the year.

I admit at first there were some surprise selections, but as you think about it, each choice made sense. It left me feeling very happy about how we went.

Mitch Brown was a bolter. Couldn't make the sandi squad originally but worked his way into it. Shows the character of the bloke as well. Was willing to work hard to get in there.

Brown played in a forward line the consisted of Vickery and Watts two of the top 8 picks in the draft and more then held his own. I think that is a key point to remember in all of this. He has a really solid pair of mitts.

Gillies was an excellent choice. He has the ability already to back himself. With the TAC cup housing so many talented forwards to concede as little as he did was phenominal. Will be the gem of this draft imho.

Motlop is another great choice. A nice solid build and has all the aspects of his game that Daniel does. He represented the NT at under 16 and 18 level at the same time. He has massive wraps and would have been a very early selection this time next year.

Hunt is my only disappointment. With so much talent still left in the draft to take a kid who has poor disposal is a bit of a shame. The plus side is that he can work on it and fix it. The rest of his game is great. He is a good running player. Not sure if we needed a type like him.... but anyway.

I hope Davvers gets some senior games.

So what do you think Rizzo? Anyone you thought Wells would take but overlooked when it was our pick? Where did that kid go that you really wanted?

O there were heaps C2R. I thought Trengrove with our first pick and Broadbent at #33 were locks. While I thought we could have found someone better with our last pick. Whilst Jordan Lisle and Michael Walters were still around after Taylor hunt.

My man Nathan O'Keefe went pick 59 to the Kangas. Really thought he would come to the cats. I think we showed a lot of interest in him right up until the day. If you want to see him in action their is a video of him on the AFL site.

Every year people seem to want new recruits to show something right away. In 2007 Selwood was a freak in 2008 we got a mature age Taylor to cover an immediate problem with an Egan in doubt. Other than that our recruits are taken as longer term prospects. Scott Simpson will be ahead of Mitch Brown for example but Lonergan and Hawkins are ahead of them both etc. SS might break in for a game or 2 next year but he is at least 10kg ahead of Brown in terms of body development so as good as Brown's video was he will be a work in progress. Despite the disappointing GF result we are a mature team with no immediate need to rush the youngsters hence I think the rationale behind the club's selections. FFS we had to let Prismall and Davenport go because we couldn't fit them in the team lets just leave the 18/19/20 year olds to progress gradually for when they are really needed and remember that you don't pick up a Selwood every year especially when you don't have the top picks.

I'll tell you one thing though I've now got a feeling he'll ****ing tear up the VFL for the time he is there, vice like grip in the marking contest and he may still be growing!! (he grew 7cm in half a year!, hope there's more to come :thumbsu:)

There's a big difference playing against kids your same age who are much less talented than playing against men 12 - 20 kg heavier than you who can be just as good skill wise as well. Yes he looks good but lets not get carried away. Sometimes a quick growth spurt like the one he has had can be detrimental ie fragile bones. A good 2 years in the VFL will be fime without expecting him to tear it up.

Sorry I was a bit over the top, wasn't I? lol :o

Just really hoping for him to settle in and develop strongly

Sorry I was a bit over the top, wasn't I? lol :o

Just really hoping for him to settle in and develop strongly

DW mate, fire up! A Scott Simpson, Hawkins, Brown forward line looks mint!

lol. at this stage it really is all speculative hogwash isnt it? how many first round pics fizzle out, and how many mid to late pics turn out gems?

Though i like what some of you are saying about stephen wells and i totally agree, he has a fabulous record with the pics hes had and we have every reason to think he'll keep up his keen insight of players.

Jeez i miss footy.

I think Motlop is a definite flight risk, he has spent the whole time saying how much he wanted to play with his brother... and seeing we have the cousin too...

Not trying to stir shit here though... I think it's kinda funny cause now you guys gotta put up with the Motlop flair :)

Though, I will liken him to Nathan Krakouer on our list, between him and Pearce, they came to the club weighing in the 60s from memory, clearly needing some weight, but still all managing to show things early on... whether or not he can push his way ahead of say a Chapman or Varcoe is another story...

Regarding Davenport, he seems to have done well for your 2's, and with your midfield he would find it difficult to break into, any idea on why he was de-listed?

Seems as though he was a handy back-up. What sort of player is he? Any off-field issues?

He won the B&F in the 2's. I was surprised they let him go, particularly after Prismall did his knee and then wanted out.

Davenport isn't quick

Hunt is my only disappointment. With so much talent still left in the draft to take a kid who has poor disposal is a bit of a shame. The plus side is that he can work on it and fix it. The rest of his game is great. He is a good running player. Not sure if we needed a type like him.... but anyway.

Who do you think we should have gone for at this pick?

BTW, congrats on getting right a couple of sliders (for which you were criticised) in your phantom.:thumbsu:

I think Motlop is a definite flight risk, he has spent the whole time saying how much he wanted to play with his brother... and seeing we have the cousin too...

Not trying to stir shit here though... I think it's kinda funny cause now you guys gotta put up with the Motlop flair :)

Though, I will liken him to Nathan Krakouer on our list, between him and Pearce, they came to the club weighing in the 60s from memory, clearly needing some weight, but still all managing to show things early on... whether or not he can push his way ahead of say a Chapman or Varcoe is another story...

Agree it is a bit of a worry. However the beauty of Geelong is that it is a big country town and I think he will fit in very well down here because of it. Also, in a non racist way we have a good set of aboriginal guys down here that will welcome him in. They all tend to stick with each other. So having blokes like Stokes, Varcoe and Djidi at the club will mean the transistion is smoother.

Who do you think we should have gone for at this pick?

BTW, congrats on getting right a couple of sliders (for which you were criticised) in your phantom.:thumbsu:

Thanks mate. Gotta love it when people say stuff and they are wrong :p

I liked Lisle, Clancyee Pearce and Matt DeBoar at that pick. Very talented players. However if hunt works on his kick and decision making he will be a very good player. He has some valuable assets that not many have.

Found some more info on Motlop:

What type of player are you?
I’m a medium-sized forward, so I like playing anywhere around the goals.

Strengths?
I’d probably say my speed and my marking. I did three seconds flat last time I did the 20m sprint, so that’s probably one of my biggest attributes.

Weaknesses?
My strength would be my biggest weakness. I’m certainly not the biggest guy out there, but my fitness isn’t too bad.

Which AFL team do you support?
Port Adelaide.

Which AFL player do you most resemble?
I suppose I do resemble my brother Daniel. We look pretty similar and I don’t mind taking a big mark and kicking a goal too. I don’t try and model myself on him, but people always say we’re exactly the same.

Taylor-Hunt reminds me of David Glasscott who played for carlton in the 80's-90's. Was a very good running wingman.

Are we?

None of us know the thought or reasoning behind our picks, but using your logic it would be very easy to mount an argument for the fact Brown has far more upside than those with '2 solid years of form' given he only played half a season, hasn't done a pre-season and had never played KP before.

And that word was wrong, just as it was many times throughout the draft.

I liked the look of Smith myself, but the fact we passed him over twice indicates that the 'talk' was garbage.

There is obviously a reason why Smith went some 20 picks later than the Bigfooty 'experts' predicted.

Have you actually seen him play though?
I, like many here, only have access to phantom drafts, rep games and youtube clips, and personally i wouldn't be dismissing a player based on such little information.

ok first i agree with you that no one knows the reasoning behind our picks but to say that using "my" logic it is better to draft somone who has only played half a seaon, well tbh i dont see where you plucked that from. where the hell did i say that???

then i will have a guess, and yes it is only a guess that this would actually be one of the reasons behind drafting brown. the fact he has had only a short time playing key position means he might well have a lot of improvment left, but we dont know whether this is going to happen. it could just as likely turn out that he just happened to have a blinder 7 games or so and doesnt turn into a gun, only time will tell.

but to say that as a general rule it is better to overlook someone with 2 years solid form for someone who has come from nowhere to play well doesnt make much sense to me. wells must see something in him to suggest he will keep improving and i trust his judgement so i am hoping he will, but we dont know how he will develop do we.

second. just because we didnt pick him doesnt mean the word was wrong, i'm sure we had our eye on more than a few players, and as you said, "None of us know the thought or reasoning behind our picks", we dont know how close he was to getting picked.

as wells said they took into consideration the loss of nablett and egan, now maybe they rated smith higher but decided the need factor was higher with a key back so they took gillies because they didnt think he would survive to 39. then just hoped that one of smith and broadbent made it through to 39, and as it turned out neither did, if they wre available then we never know what would have happened. maybe just maybe the talk wasnt all garbage.

also tbh i hadnt heard a great deal of talk about smith going to geelong on bf, most of it started with burgo. now for you to say that some people on here have no idea about when people will get picked up is fair enough but to say that someone who's job is to find out these rumours and rank junior players knows nothing is just stupid.

No i havent seen motlop play, i never tried to imply a had. all i was trying to say is that if these comparisons to his brother are true then its not all freakish goal kicking, daniel is very inconsistent and more often than not unimpressive imo. now i have no idea if his brother is the same it was just a thought. the fact that he can dominant a game in the under 16's though against people that are 1 or 2 years younger than him doesnt really carry much weight though if you ask me. if his u18 form alone warrented selection then fair enough i guess, but i can still be speculative. these kind of flashy players are often hit and miss i'm just hoping we hit.

after all that i'll just say that obviously wells knows more than us so it cant be all that bad.

Hunt is my only disappointment. With so much talent still left in the draft to take a kid who has poor disposal is a bit of a shame. The plus side is that he can work on it and fix it. The rest of his game is great. He is a good running player. Not sure if we needed a type like him.... but anyway.[/quote]

You will not be disappointed Riz - I just wished the Saints picked him up.

Well balanced, great speed and endurance and his skills are quite good.

Seen him play a fair bit at the Dragons - he will be a very good player, mark my words.

And a fantastic kid as well

You will not be disappointed Riz - I just wished the Saints picked him up.

Well balanced, great speed and endurance and his skills are quite good.

Seen him play a fair bit at the Dragons - he will be a very good player, mark my words.

And a fantastic kid as well

Your people spoke with him. Along with Brisbane, Port & the Eagles. He is a great kid and as keen as to succeed. Although not a Cat supporter, is rapt to be with us.

Now go back to the VAFA board Cardio:D