2008 PDFL split

To change or not to change?

• Nothing wrong with the current PDFL setup.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I like the proposed 3 tier system.

• I would prefer a 2 Division PDFL only System.

• Needs change ....Maybe another option.

Re: CHANGES TO CURRENT PDFL ( merged ) NEW COMP / MFL/PDFL 3 Division System Threads

In response to your other post on the "main board" intiminator.

It will be interesting to see what happens. As i understand it i think there is a meeting on MOnday night to discuss such issues. I think the competition with in the league is great at the moment, and the reason sides like us and you guys have become more competitive is beacuse of the teams like tunga, katandra etc. They have shown us what we have to do to achieve good results. If it was up to me i would keep it the same, the league is a little too big but better than some leagues that are stuggling for numbers. Time will tell.
All the best for your upcoming "tough" run over the next few weeks intiminator. I reckon the Shep east boys will be out firing this week as their season is on the line.

Re: CHANGES TO CURRENT PDFL ( merged ) NEW COMP / MFL/PDFL 3 Division System Threads

In response to your other post on the "main board" intiminator.

It will be interesting to see what happens. As i understand it i think there is a meeting on MOnday night to discuss such issues. I think the competition with in the league is great at the moment, and the reason sides like us and you guys have become more competitive is beacuse of the teams like tunga, katandra etc. They have shown us what we have to do to achieve good results. If it was up to me i would keep it the same, the league is a little too big but better than some leagues that are stuggling for numbers. Time will tell.
All the best for your upcoming "tough" run over the next few weeks intiminator. I reckon the Shep east boys will be out firing this week as their season is on the line.
Charlie your club certainly doesn't appear to be repesentative of your opinion, anyway I put this to some, previous to there current coaching appointments, Rovers and Strathy were in no better position than say we or Yarroweyah are now.
If Bode left the Rovers next year to coach the Rams and he took, or they followed, Braybon, Todd, Hardiman, Germano, Fitzpatrick and Robinson, McCallum,Blake retired and May went overseas, how competitive do you Charles Mac think they would be and could you replace these players to remain competitive??
Cause personally I think you guys would struggle and thats what is the difference between the district clubs and those closer to major cities.
Charlie I aint just having a dig at the Rovers it's just there the ones I know more of the players and credit must be given have probably got as good a list together as they have had for a long time.

Charlie your club certainly doesn't appear to be repesentative of your opinion, anyway I put this to some, previous to there current coaching appointments, Rovers and Strathy were in no better position than say we or Yarroweyah are now.
If Bode left the Rovers next year to coach the Rams and he took, or they followed, Braybon, Todd, Hardiman, Germano, Fitzpatrick and Robinson, McCallum,Blake retired and May went overseas, how competitive do you Charles Mac think they would be and could you replace these players to remain competitive??
Cause personally I think you guys would struggle and thats what is the difference between the district clubs and those closer to major cities.
Charlie I aint just having a dig at the Rovers it's just there the ones I know more of the players and credit must be given have probably got as good a list together as they have had for a long time.

This is my point PTF. There is no way to replace those players. The sides closer to Shep have a bigger pool of players to choose from. Germano, Todd, Robinson and May are the only players in the above group to be recruited to the club over the past few years. All the rest have moved to town for work, so there would be no way to replace them. Where would we recruit from ?? Echuca, Finley, Rams ?? No chance.

What opinion does my club have on the matter ?

This is my point PTF. There is no way to replace those players. The sides closer to Shep have a bigger pool of players to choose from. Germano, Todd, Robinson and May are the only players in the above group to be recruited to the club over the past few years. All the rest have moved to town for work, so there would be no way to replace them. Where would we recruit from ?? Echuca, Finley, Rams ?? No chance.

What opinion does my club have on the matter ?

May be true in some sense but Hardiman , Braybon , Bode and Blake join or re-join the club after having jobs in the town for some time and playing else where ??
Anyway probably getting off the matter a little, the fact remains that on a average year most district clubs would struggle to be competitive with the Shepparton based sides who have a greater recruiting and sponsorship opportunities !!
Katandra are very similar to Stanhope in the KDFL, dairy community and they just have great support and a great club. Good luck to them .

Have sent you a PM C.M. in relation to your last question.

Re: Picola District Football League, general thread mk II.

[YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE]
I agree totally mac, you have touched on my main point, and that is that i also will travel as long as i have to, in order to have an enjoyable game of footy and a beer at the home club afterwards, that is what these remote clubs need to embrace, i am not pushing them away, but stating the fact that most of the player base is in the Shepp area, so financially the further you have to travel the less likely we are to attract players, No one travels in this league more than me, as i live in Sydney.

why do you play in this league when you have to travel so far?:eek:

Bullet, I have the opportunity to play with my brother, and spend time with my family who live in Shepp. Last year for me getting to old for this game.

Have been at TAFE all week in Leeton and one of the other blokes there is from Hay and I don’t think he liked my comments on his statement that it’s a sure thing that Hay will be playing against Berrigan next year.
Surly they not silly enough to include Hay in all this.

Why whats the mail?:confused:
North, South including you guys, the weir, katty, rennie and possibly Finley. Honestly that split would do nothing to resolve the competiveness and reducing of travel issues, Wughnu remains competeting against Katandra, Tunga, Shepp East, Waaia, Dookie etc. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Definately no relagation- derelagation system !!!

North, South including you guys, the weir, katty, rennie and possibly Finley. Honestly that split would do nothing to resolve the competiveness and reducing of travel issues, Wughnu remains competeting against Katandra, Tunga, Shepp East, Waaia, Dookie etc. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Is this just a proposal or what? Has it or will it go to a vote with the clubs??? Tell me more....

No more boozy cup between Tungamah and Katamatite??

P2F - I'm not quite with you re above post. Did the recent PDFL meeting agree to (or at least put on the table) a North - South split of the comp, and if so, what teams were they considering for each comp???

Or am I off the track completely?

Not at this stage mate, looks like a will probably be back in Afghanistan with the army, this is definately my last year, but thanks.

No worries mate, but if you change your mind, let me know and I'll hook you up with a club that has strong defence force links.
We're a great bunch of blokes, and if you like a drink, well ....:cool:

P2F - I'm not quite with you re above post. Did the recent PDFL meeting agree to (or at least put on the table) a North - South split of the comp, and if so, what teams were they considering for each comp???

Or am I off the track completely?
My info is that the north, south option was placed on the table but understandably received strong resistance from a number of clubs which were deemed to be involved in the northern comp. With concerns over extensive travel and the attracting of Shepp based players. Unfortunately the whisper is nothing will happen and having spoke to someone close to the league pres. the executive believe the league is fine the way it is.
Other whispers were the old Picola league and Tungamah leagues and the need for 10 clubs in a comp. before the VCFL will consider it, I personally know that is not true, 8 would be looked upon favourably, to get rid of a number of current issues.
From here I beleive they will to and fro and nothing will happen because they have placed this so called criteria of 20 clubs involvement before considering it.
Hopefully the VCFL step in, because honestly the current set-up has huge problems.
Rennie won't come in cause no-one wants them.

My info is that the north, south option was placed on the table but understandably received strong resistance from a number of clubs which were deemed to be involved in the northern comp. With concerns over extensive travel and the attracting of Shepp based players. Unfortunately the whisper is nothing will happen and having spoke to someone close to the league pres. the executive believe the league is fine the way it is.
Other whispers were the old Picola league and Tungamah leagues and the need for 10 clubs in a comp. before the VCFL will consider it, I personally know that is not true, 8 would be looked upon favourably, to get rid of a number of current issues.
From here I beleive they will to and fro and nothing will happen because they have placed this so called criteria of 20 clubs involvement before considering it.
Hopefully the VCFL step in, because honestly the current set-up has huge problems.
Rennie won't come in cause no-one wants them.

Thanks for the info. Will be interesting to see if the VCFL steps in, and what they do!

On Rennie, my strong info is that Yarroweyah, Berrigan and Jerilderie are very supportive. Maybe they're not pumping up and showing that support at PDFL meetings. Perhaps those clubs are using Rennie as a bit of catalyst (leverage) for some change/s to the current PDFL set up!!!

Thanks for the info. Will be interesting to see if the VCFL steps in, and what they do!

On Rennie, my strong info is that Yarroweyah, Berrigan and Jerilderie are very supportive. Maybe they're not pumping up and showing that support at PDFL meetings. Perhaps those clubs are using Rennie as a bit of catalyst (leverage) for some change/s to the current PDFL set up!!!
Don't know about Berrigan and Jerilderie, would make sense if they where the only ones who supported Rennie as they are there closest neighbours, Yarroweyah no !! Either way they won't get enough support, 2 clubs against 14 won't see them in, even with a revamp I can't see any clubs other than maybe Jerilderie or Berrigan wanting them involved. As I have previously said 4 clubs is proposed to be needed to be involved with the proposed revamp for it to be considered possible by the PDFL executive, which to happen would need for our current boundaries to be extended which only the few clubs closest to that area will support. It still remains that only 3 clubs within the current boundaries may show some interest in playing in a district comp. Finley, Tally or Congupna. The next nearest clubs to any boundary would be possible Wakool, to the west, Rennie to the north-east, Benalla district clubs to the south east, Ardmona possible to the south.

Yeah ardmona would be a great inclusion then they and mathoura could just go around belting each other when they play LOL ;) But seriously this issue has gotten bigger than itself. They have made it too complicated. Why not put a range of 3 or 4 proposals on the table, let the reps go back to their clubs committees decide what they will support, call a leauge meeting, Vote on your prefered proposal then take the winning majority proposal to the VCFL and see what happens!

No they'd be in your comp and we'd see who could belt the most 17 year olds behind play ;);). Seriously I think your on the money with tabling proposals and lets vote, the big stumbling block is, are clubs prepared to play in a 8 side comp, in contrast to a 16 side comp, which it may well have to start out as. Will start another thread with this question, please don't post on that thread , leave discussions for this thread.

Ha ha still on about age are we??

2008 PDFL split