2008 PDFL split

To change or not to change?

• Nothing wrong with the current PDFL setup.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I like the proposed 3 tier system.

• I would prefer a 2 Division PDFL only System.

• Needs change ....Maybe another option.

Re: CHANGES TO CURRENT PDFL ( merged ) NEW COMP / MFL/PDFL 3 Division System Threads

Don't know about Berrigan and Jerilderie, would make sense if they where the only ones who supported Rennie as they are there closest neighbours, Yarroweyah no !! quote]

Remember that bit where I said that perhaps some clubs are using Rennie as a bit of leverage (catalyst) for a change to the current comp setup? Either your sources are wrong or Yarroweyah aren't being up front with the PDFL because they (or someone purporting to represent that club) were the first club to contact Rennie.

Anyway, won't really matter if the majority of clubs are opposed to any such changes.

Re: CHANGES TO CURRENT PDFL ( merged ) NEW COMP / MFL/PDFL 3 Division System Threads

Just wondering when all this drama started was it when the cgfl teams entered?? or other teams?? who takes the blame for the mess that will eventually happen??? why didnt the pdfl or vcfl say enough when the comp started getting so big?????

The PDFL has three groups that have great rivalries (and close) and they probably should not be split up:

I see these groups as:

Picola United, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah, Katunga, Strathmerton

Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers, Jerilderie, Mathoura

Dookie United, Shepparton East, Katandra, Tungamah, Katamatite

For people to be happy with any new arrangement these groups of teams would have to participate in competitions together.

As I have posted before if Dookie United, Shepparton East, Katandra, Tungamah and Katamatite were to break away they would form a comp that would attract extra sides.

As for the former Coreen League teams such as Rennie, that would be another matter to sort out.

Sorry Thommo but no , Mathoura has no rivalry with Jerilderie as we have not played against them for probably 20 years at least and they're around 200klms away from where most of our players are from, similar to saying Katandra have a great rivalry with Gisbourne or similar, and very little with Berrigan as they are around 150klms and we have only played against them for the last few years, but you are right in that tradition/rivalries should play a role when considering splitting of the league. Which as you have said may see the league seperated as you have suggested it, old Tungamah and old Picola but leaves the Tungamah league comp with possibly six sides and the Picola league with 8 and two clubs, Jerilderie ands Berrigan, which have limited history in either and unfortunately the thought of them joining the old Tungamah league teams doesn't appeal to most within the Tungamah comp, so nothing will probably happen unless the VCFL jump in and do what they want.

A recommendation (by a consultant) will be made shortly to Sth NSW-AFL that the Hume League with some additional teams be split into 2 divisions. The power clubs / bigger towns in one comp (Osborne, Lockhart, Holbrook, Henty, Culcairn, Jindera, Thurgoona, Howlong, The Rock), and smaller clubs into the other (BB, Walla, Rand W, Billabong, Rennie, Berrigan, Jerilderie, Finley). Not too sure which of the two comps Coly, CDHBU, Magpies were to go in. Hay was also mentioned. A lot of merit in it, but I just can't see it panning out that way. Opinions anyone?

Have copied this over from the Hume thread. Note that this recommendation involves some PDFL Clubs - I bet they don't know about this! Informed that Finley are putting out the feelers to drop back a league. Can't see the above proposal going anywhere. Too many controlling bodies (NSWAFL, VCFL), Leagues (Hume, Farrer, Tallangatta, Picola, Golden Rivers, Murray), and egos/agendas running the individual club/s to go close to getting over the line. This shows that there sure is a hell of a lot going on at the moment.

Re: Picola District Football League, general thread mk II.

Six extremely one sided contests over the weekend and two close games, probably further adds to the debate for the need of competition changes and the difference between the top 6 and bottom 6 currently within the comp.
Think all of those who were soundly beaten on the weekend would be extremely competitive in games against each other.
Maybe be a good round to consider all the winners in one comp , all those who lost in another, or perhaps Deni, Katunga 5 point margin in the lower comp and Dookie and Strathy in the winners comp ???
Could look something like this :

Strathy, Dookie, Waaia, Shepp East, Jerilderie, Berrigan, Tungamah, Katandra

Yarroweyah, Mathoura, Deni, Katunga, Wunghnu, Blighty, Picola, Kattamatite.

All bar two sides in the first comp will play finals this year and will finish probably 9th and 13th, whilst in the 2nd comp Katunga and Deni will play finals this year.
From a club that will finish mid range of the bottom 8 this year, I would say we would give ourselves a very good chance of being competitive regularly against most of the sides in the bottom comp. in most seasons over the past 10 seasons.
Would be very interested to hear of peoples thoughts on this possible split, because honestly the only problem I can see is the lose of a couple of neighbouring rivalries involving possibly Katunga .

Six extremely one sided contests over the weekend and two close games, probably further adds to the debate for the need of competition changes and the difference between the top 6 and bottom 6 currently within the comp.
Think all of those who were soundly beaten on the weekend would be extremely competitive in games against each other.
Maybe be a good round to consider all the winners in one comp , all those who lost in another, or perhaps Deni, Katunga 5 point margin in the lower comp and Dookie and Strathy in the winners comp ???
Could look something like this :

Strathy, Dookie, Waaia, Shepp East, Jerilderie, Berrigan, Tungamah, Katandra

Yarroweyah, Mathoura, Deni, Katunga, Wunghnu, Blighty, Picola, Kattamatite.

All bar two sides in the first comp will play finals this year and will finish probably 9th and 13th, whilst in the 2nd comp Katunga and Deni will play finals this year.
From a club that will finish mid range of the bottom 8 this year, I would say we would give ourselves a very good chance of being competitive regularly against most of the sides in the bottom comp. in most seasons over the past 10 seasons.
Would be very interested to hear of peoples thoughts on this possible split, because honestly the only problem I can see is the lose of a couple of neighbouring rivalries involving possibly Katunga .

Yeah not a bad concept doesnt do a great deal for travel though. Got any ideas how to keep the competitions even from year to year with Deni, Katunga and Picola having better consistant records than most in that second group. Hmmmm.. I wonder what sort of system could keep two comps in an overlapping area consistantly even???

Would make the travel aspect extremely even for all clubs. Speaking in regards to the 2nd comp. I have played in the league 5 years of the last 10 and think (we)Mathoura have been beaten by Deni twice in that time, Picola 3 times and Katunga it would be about 50/50 or a tad in there favour ? Think you may find that clubs may still have there rises and falls just the difference between the two wouldn't be so large.
Of those clubs in the I guess, lesser comp. all bar Deni are from the smaller communties wthin the current comp, so therefore I think it would remain fairly even.

Would make the travel aspect extremely even for all clubs. Speaking in regards to the 2nd comp. I have played in the league 5 years of the last 10 and think (we)Mathoura have been beaten by Deni twice in that time, Picola 3 times and Katunga it would be about 50/50 or a tad in there favour ? Think you may find that clubs may still have there rises and falls just the difference between the two wouldn't be so large.
Of those clubs in the I guess, lesser comp. all bar Deni are from the smaller communties wthin the current comp, so therefore I think it would remain fairly even.

Travel: How exactly would it make the travel issue better? Dookie to Jerrelderie :confused: Deni to Katty :confused:

Katunga V Mathoura 50/50: Not sure who taught you maths PTF but matoura and katunga have met 5 times in the last 5 years with katunga taking the points 4 times thats 80/20. (And will be 5 and 1 by the end of the year:eek:)

Smaller Communities: I think you check your populations there mate. Anyways there are a lot more factors that can vary the success of a club other than the size of the town. Surley Waaia is the perfect example of a VERY small town that consistantly performs well. I beleive splitting the league based on recent form or town size is very dangerous unless there is a process for reveiw on regular basis weather it be promotion/relegation or mearly just bi-yearly review of the clubs in each leauge. BUt just lumping clubs in a 8 team league with no flexability could be disasterous for some clubs particularly if you are put in the higher league and continually finished last it may become very hard to recruit and re-build. At least with promotion/relagation clubs would have a chance of being competitve whilst in their rebuilding phase. I dont know why everyone is so against it I have played in a number of sports were it happens and works brilliantly (i:e Lawn Bowls, Tennis, Basketball, even mixed netball) and its done in footy in the ametures in melbourne. Why cant people see that this is the best answer ?:confused:? Prime Example 2004 Tungamah finished second last with 3 win 15 losses. Imagine if the split was done after that season and they were placed permanantly in the weaker of the 2 leagues what would that league look like this year ???

Looks like the Hume L have other options for Berrigan and Jerilderie.
This was in the Border mail

HUME SPLIT
BRETT KOHLHAGEN
23/07/2008 12:00:00 AM
THE Hume Football League could be broken into two divisions next season with Thurgoona, Jerilderie, Finley and Berrigan thrown up as possible inclusions.
Long-time football administrator Ron Montgomery tabled his report to the NSW-AFL southern regional board on Monday night suggesting east and west pools be introduced in what could be the second shake-up of the league in as many years.

CDHBU, Walla, Billabong Crows, Coleambally, BB Saints, Finley, Berrigan, Rennie and Jerilderie have been grouped in the western pool, while the Murray Magpies, Rand-Walbundrie, Holbrook, Osborne, Lockhart, Culcairn, Henty, Thurgoona, Jindera and Howlong are in the eastern division.

It is believed the major sticking points for the groupings were population base, location and strength across the various playing grades.

Each of the clubs were sent the proposal yesterday and Hume league president Merv Wegener said they would be given until August 13 to digest the proposal.

“Ron has completed his survey and put forward some recommendations and it’s up to the clubs to respond,” Wegener said yesterday.

“We have a directors meeting on August 13 to discuss it further before it goes back to the southern regional board.”

Although Rennie has been grouped in the western pool, it has applied for a clearance to join the Picola and District Football League.

Montgomery also recommended in his report that a promotion-relegation system be introduced for clubs wishing to switch pools.

He stressed this should be done by application from clubs under strict criteria.

Montgomery also threw his support behind a central administration block being introduced by the Riverina, Hume, Farrer and Northern Riverina leagues to oversee the day-to-day running of the competitions.

Clubs from the leagues, as well as junior organisations, have been interviewed over the past six months after the AFL called for an independent review into the state of football in the Riverina.

Looks like the Hume L have other options for Berrigan and Jerilderie.
This was in the Border mail

HUME SPLIT
BRETT KOHLHAGEN
23/07/2008 12:00:00 AM
THE Hume Football League could be broken into two divisions next season with Thurgoona, Jerilderie, Finley and Berrigan thrown up as possible inclusions.
Long-time football administrator Ron Montgomery tabled his report to the NSW-AFL southern regional board on Monday night suggesting east and west pools be introduced in what could be the second shake-up of the league in as many years.

CDHBU, Walla, Billabong Crows, Coleambally, BB Saints, Finley, Berrigan, Rennie and Jerilderie have been grouped in the western pool, while the Murray Magpies, Rand-Walbundrie, Holbrook, Osborne, Lockhart, Culcairn, Henty, Thurgoona, Jindera and Howlong are in the eastern division.

It is believed the major sticking points for the groupings were population base, location and strength across the various playing grades.

Each of the clubs were sent the proposal yesterday and Hume league president Merv Wegener said they would be given until August 13 to digest the proposal.

“Ron has completed his survey and put forward some recommendations and it’s up to the clubs to respond,” Wegener said yesterday.

“We have a directors meeting on August 13 to discuss it further before it goes back to the southern regional board.”

Although Rennie has been grouped in the western pool, it has applied for a clearance to join the Picola and District Football League.

Montgomery also recommended in his report that a promotion-relegation system be introduced for clubs wishing to switch pools.

He stressed this should be done by application from clubs under strict criteria.

Montgomery also threw his support behind a central administration block being introduced by the Riverina, Hume, Farrer and Northern Riverina leagues to oversee the day-to-day running of the competitions.

Clubs from the leagues, as well as junior organisations, have been interviewed over the past six months after the AFL called for an independent review into the state of football in the Riverina.

Hmmm promotion / relegation thats seems like a good idea why hasnt anyone thought of that for the PDFL? :confused:

If there was no inclusion from Renni, Berrigan and Jerrilderie went to the Hume West that would leave 14 clubs. If shepp east were put in the MFL were they should have been from the start then we would be back to 13. I would think that everyone would agree that 13 would be a more managable number obviously 9-10 would be nice so a draw could be set up to play everyone twice but at least with 13 you could play half the teams twice so the draw would have less outcome on the ladder at the end of the season. What does everyone think?

Travel: How exactly would it make the travel issue better? Dookie to Jerrelderie :confused: Deni to Katty :confused:

Katunga V Mathoura 50/50: Not sure who taught you maths PTF but matoura and katunga have met 5 times in the last 5 years with katunga taking the points 4 times thats 80/20. (And will be 5 and 1 by the end of the year:eek:)

Smaller Communities: I think you check your populations there mate. Anyways there are a lot more factors that can vary the success of a club other than the size of the town. Surley Waaia is the perfect example of a VERY small town that consistantly performs well. I beleive splitting the league based on recent form or town size is very dangerous unless there is a process for reveiw on regular basis weather it be promotion/relegation or mearly just bi-yearly review of the clubs in each leauge. BUt just lumping clubs in a 8 team league with no flexability could be disasterous for some clubs particularly if you are put in the higher league and continually finished last it may become very hard to recruit and re-build. At least with promotion/relagation clubs would have a chance of being competitve whilst in their rebuilding phase. I dont know why everyone is so against it I have played in a number of sports were it happens and works brilliantly (i:e Lawn Bowls, Tennis, Basketball, even mixed netball) and its done in footy in the ametures in melbourne. Why cant people see that this is the best answer ?:confused:? Prime Example 2004 Tungamah finished second last with 3 win 15 losses. Imagine if the split was done after that season and they were placed permanantly in the weaker of the 2 leagues what would that league look like this year ???
Intimidator re-read what was wrote intially again, equal travel for everyone, yes there my be some long trips but they already happen anyway, I have done many calculations and this proposal fair outways any other in relation to equaling out the travel aspect.
In relation to Katunga and Mathoura , I stated, 5 out of the last 10 years , this doesn't mean the last 5 years :cool::cool::cool:.
Relegation does nothing to reduce travel and that is a huge issue, for instance on the weekend we travelled to Jerilderie, 2hrs away, and considering current fuel prices and should we have had a full compliment of sides would have meant, the forths leaving at around 6am and $100 for everyone who drove and paid for a couples admittance to the ground. Not sure what the average take home wage for a younger person is , but reckon that would be a fair chunk. Lets not forget that the recent additions to the league have meant that some sides in the league now do less than haf the travelling of some other sides.

Intimidator re-read what was wrote intially again, equal travel for everyone, yes there my be some long trips but they already happen anyway, I have done many calculations and this proposal fair outways any other in relation to equaling out the travel aspect.
In relation to Katunga and Mathoura , I stated, 5 out of the last 10 years , this doesn't mean the last 5 years :cool::cool::cool:.
Relegation does nothing to reduce travel and that is a huge issue, for instance on the weekend we travelled to Jerilderie, 2hrs away, and considering current fuel prices and should we have had a full compliment of sides would have meant, the forths leaving at around 6am and $100 for everyone who drove and paid for a couples admittance to the ground. Not sure what the average take home wage for a younger person is , but reckon that would be a fair chunk. Lets not forget that the recent additions to the league have meant that some sides in the league now do less than haf the travelling of some other sides.

Oh sorry I stand corrected. I didnt realise that you had dominated Katunga in the preceeding 5 years to make your record "50/50" ;)

What are you on about now, no-one has mentioned about individuals dominating sides :confused::confused::confused:
In response to your initial comment I was merely pointing out that the 3 sides you pointed out may not have been as consistantly better as you had stated and doubt anyone from Katunga would think so.
Get over it and move on, it aint that big of a deal.

What are you on about now, no-one has mentioned about individuals dominating sides :confused::confused::confused:
In response to your initial comment I was merely pointing out that the 3 sides you pointed out may not have been as consistantly better as you had stated and doubt anyone from Katunga would think so.
Get over it and move on, it aint that big of a deal.

I had moved on untill you mis-used your power and deleted my first attemp at the above post. Its obvious to me now that you dont like being proven wrong, and when you are you just delete peoples post. What I was trying to point out was the flaws in your league split proposal: i:e "evenness" to which you replied that you you had been a as good as katunga over that last 10 years.... "50/50" which is clearly inacurate. So if your going to make claims on here at least do you research first or they will be pointed out! And stop Deleting perfectly valid posts because they dis-agree with your point of view!

[/quote/]
Your post was deleted because you are just a sh!t stirrer, who trys changing things around to suit yourself and by also taking comments out of context , that are normally of an argumentative nature and is of very little interest to other users, and if you continue to do it I will continue to delete your rubbish.
If they're valid, relative, of interest to all users and are not offensive to anyone, which is a judgement that I or the other mods make, then they will not be deleted.
At no stage did I make a claim , it was a thought, hence the word think, and you also seem to have forgot the words , or a tad in there favour.

[/quote/]
Your post was deleted because you are just a sh!t stirrer, who trys changing things around to suit yourself and by also taking comments out of context , that are normally of an argumentative nature and is of very little interest to other users, and if you continue to do it I will continue to delete your rubbish.
If they're valid, relative, of interest to all users and are not offensive to anyone, which is a judgement that I or the other mods make, then they will not be deleted.
At no stage did I make a claim , it was a thought, hence the word think, and you also seem to have forgot the words , or a tad in there favour.

"I think" or "A tad" now you splitting hairs. Delete my posts if you like it only proves you have no spine. Besides ill just re-post them anyway!

Its not that hard to work out your identity, and you are the last person who should be doubting someones courage , still hiding behind the keyboard to some , but not all.
If you doubt my claim come up to the club one day and I'll organise for you to express your thoughts, you so happilly make on here whilst behind a username.:D:D
Not splitting hairs stating facts !!!

Its not that hard to work out your identity, and you are the last person who should be doubting someones courage , still hiding behind the keyboard to some , but not all.
If you doubt my claim come up to the club one day and I'll organise for you to express your thoughts, you so happilly make on here whilst behind a username.:D:D
Not splitting hairs stating facts !!!

No it wouldnt be hard to work out my Identity however I dont see the realevance. Lighten up a bit, If you dont like my opinion offer your own and move on. Dont delete my posts if they disagree with your opinion and dont get too worked up over what somone has been writen. AFTER ALL ITS JUST AN INTERNET FORUM. If people didnt offer their opinions on here then there would be nothing written!

My opinion is that Strathy will lose this week and they wont have to worry about how the league gets split, as they will fold soon. :D:D

Why are we all so hung up on creating two 8 team comps? If it is to be 2 8 team comps the 'nucleus' of the PDFL (Waaia, Katunga, Picola, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah, Strathy) will find themselves split.

Remove the NSW teams or remove the Tungamah League teams.

Dookie United, Katandra, Katamatite, Shepparton East & Tungamah may play in as a five team comp for one year (max).

Congupna will want in! Violet Town may want in! Tallygaroopna may be tempted. Waaia might get sick of winning flags:p. Benalla All Blacks & Goorambat may be interested.

In approx 4-5 years the league could have 10 teams.

Would anyone be unhappy with this option? Don't underestimate Katamatite either probably one of the most successful PFL teams over the last 15 years and some talented footballers currently playing elsewhere.

Why are we all so hung up on creating two 8 team comps? If it is to be 2 8 team comps the 'nucleus' of the PDFL (Waaia, Katunga, Picola, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah, Strathy) will find themselves split.

Dookie United, Katandra, Katamatite, Shepparton East & Tungamah may play in as a five team comp for one year (max).

Congupna will want in! Violet Town may want in! Tallygaroopna may be tempted. Waaia might get sick of winning flags:p. Benalla All Blacks & Goorambat may be interested.

Would anyone be unhappy with this option? Don't underestimate Katamatite either probably one of the most successful PFL teams over the last 15 years and some talented footballers currently playing elsewhere.

Not a bad Idea removing the NSW teams! Would leave 11 Vic clubs with very reasonable travelling distances. The NSW Leauge could pick up Finley and Rennie to make it 7 clubs strong and build from there if they wish!

( I dont truly beleive this is the best option but considering some of the other ridiculous proposals being thrown around... Why not?)

Not a bad Idea removing the NSW teams! Would leave 11 Vic clubs with very reasonable travelling distances. The NSW Leauge could pick up Finley and Rennie to make it 7 clubs strong and build from there if they wish!

( I dont truly beleive this is the best option but considering some of the other ridiculous proposals being thrown around... Why not?)
I have been probably based things so strongly around 8 sides per comp. because the VCFL have made it very clear that 8 is the minimum number they would consider in a restructure situation.
In relation to the splitting of the league, I know some may not understand it, but travel and being competitive most weeks is extremely important. To just split the league with the six clubs closest to each other, and then say good luck to the rest, will see a number of clubs fold. To me there appears a few powerhouse sides which you would expect in a top 8, to make finals regularly, Waaia, Dookie, Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah. Which I think most would agree, from there it gets tricky, Jerilderie I think could be in that bracket also. So for me that is 6 and getting the other 2 sides is very difficult ??

2008 PDFL split