2008 phantom draft

1. Watts (self-explanatory)
2. Naitanui (WCE may believe that Nat's potential is too high to pass up)
3. Rich (Freo will jump straight at Rich)
4. Ziebell (I'm going for a left field selection here)
5. Sidebottom (Will pass on Hurley, Sidebottom adds class to Bombers middle)
6. Hurley (Carlton will develop Hurley as a forward)
7. Yarran (Vossy will love this bloke)
8. Vickery (Tigers get their man)
9. Hartlett (North will jump at Hartlett)
10. Trengove (Adelaide will pick best available tall)

That's my top ten and it is basically just a stab in the dark :thumbsu:

I dont know if any of them have proven them self as real good tall defenders apart from maybe Merret I think Roe and Patfull will be better as 3rd talls in the back line. Henderson has played limited games and has played more footy as a forward and the other 3 are all pretty much untried.

But yes it is just a guess at what they will get wouldnt be suprised to see them even take Blease Swift Suban or another midfielder.

Patfull definitely has. But to follow on from your comment above, what's the point in drafting yet another "unproven" tall defender when we've got so many already?

That would be an unbelievable outcome, I'd run around the street naked if that eventuated. :thumbsu:
Hmmm.

Heard that one before...
I'm not going to say Philhawk as I'll get yelled down :)

I think Pears is more likely to slide than Rance. If Rance fell to Hawthorn's first pick I will run laps around Telstra dome naked.

I really dont think NN could 'flop' as much as some are suggesting.

It's not like he's never played footy before.

Agree but I'm still an bit nervous as I'd love Rich (a sure thing?).

Worst case we'll have a guy out-jumping, out-tackling and out-chasing every other ruck in the comp. Can't be that bad, surely?

[FONT=&quot]1 -[/FONT][FONT=&quot] Melbourne - Jack Watts
2 - West Coast - Daniel Rich
3 - Fremantle - Nick Naitanui
4 - Port Adelaide - Tyrone Vickery
5 - Essendon - Michael Hurley
6 - Carlton - Jack Ziebell
7 - Brisbane - Hamish Harlett
8 - Richmond - Steele Sidebottom
9 - North Melbourne – Sam Blease
10 - Adelaide – Tom Swift
11 - Collingwood - Steven Hill
12 - Sydney - Lewis Johnston
13 - St Kilda – Jackson Trengove
14 - Western Bulldogs - Ayce Cordy
15 - Geelong - Shaun Mckernan
16 - Hawthorn – Chris Yarran

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]1 -[/FONT][FONT=&quot] Melbourne - Jack Watts[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2 - West Coast - Daniel Rich[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]3 - Fremantle - Nick Naitanui[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]4 - Port Adelaide - Tyrone Vickery[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]5 - Essendon - Michael Hurley[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]6 - Carlton - Jack Ziebell[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]7 - Brisbane - Hamish Harlett[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]8 - Richmond - Steele Sidebottom[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]9 - North Melbourne – Sam Blease[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]10 - Adelaide – Tom Swift[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]11 - Collingwood - Steven Hill[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]12 - Sydney - Lewis Johnston[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]13 - St Kilda – Jackson Trengove[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]14 - Western Bulldogs - Ayce Cordy[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]15 - Geelong - Shaun Mckernan[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]16 - Hawthorn – Chris Yarran[/FONT]

LOL, you wish. :D

Ill have a stab:

1 - Melbourne - Watts - obvious pick, best available in the position they need most
2 - West Coast - Rich - again, best available and no risks, will become a gun mid to complement masten and ebert
3 - Fremantle - Naitanui - will become a great ruckman and hopefully a super player around the ground, need a backup for sandi and mids will be available in the second round
4 - Port Adelaide - Hartlett - probably the best available, could have taken vickery but hartlett looks to be another fantastic prospect, he and boak will be formidable in the future port midfield
5 - Essendon - Ziebell - best available, can ply in the middle or HFF and will kick more goals than most of the mids here
6 - Carlton - Vickery - will be lauging to snare him here, can play vic, kruezer and the fev in the one forward line next year, should help them in a push for the finals
7 - Brisbane - Yarran - will be surprised he has lasted to their pick and though they probably need a midfielder more, yarran is exquisitely talented and there should be midds galore in the second round
8 - Richmond - Sidebottom - will be very happy with another mid to add to the delidio/cotcin combo
9 - North Melbourne – Swift - need mids so they will risk a pick on swift, will pay off imo
10 - Adelaide – Trengove - not johnson, dont need fwds as much as some think, tippet, walker and sellar should all come good, trengove can go down forward but can also hold down a key back role
11 - Collingwood - Blease - breaks lines and should become a solid, pacy midfielder
12 - Sydney - McKernan - best available, will be used primarily as a forward but can pinch hit in the ruck or even go back as a loose man in defence. good, versatile pick up here
13 - St Kilda – Hurley - will drop because of a lack of pace but also a general belief that he was a man playing amongst boys in the 18s. saints will be laughing getting just the man they need to cover hudghton
14 - Western Bulldogs - Cordy - f/s, covers the bullies stocks in the long tern
15 - Geelong - Johnson - great forward prospect, perfect for the cats
16 - Hawthorn – Robinson - will go with a player who can add something to the team in the immediate future as well as the long term, solid player without being outstanding.

17 - Melbourne - Hill - will take a while to develop but should come good just as the dees do so.
18 - West Coast - Cornelius - got three smalls early last year so will go with at least one tall early. cornelius is the best available and should go well with kennedy as the marking chf.

19 - Melbourne - Heyne - great pick here, can take over robbo's role straight away as well as becoming a midfielder in future
20 - West Coast - Walters - they need a small forward and walters is their man. chopped the 18s and should be a very good player
21 - Fremantle - O'keefe - have picked up a very good player here, solid off the hbf in the 18s and has great disposal, best mid available
22 - Port Adelaide - Schoenmakers - good tall forward prospect, i really rate the guy
23 - Essendon - Lisle - a real slider, essendon have got a mid and kpd with their first two - very good result imo
24 - Fremantle - Blight - again for freo, the best mid available, looks a real player this guy. kicks well and has strong hands
25 - Brisbane - Broadbent - probably the best midfielder available, tall mid who will run all day
26 - Richmond - Roughead - needed to go tall with an early pick, maybe roughead is going a bit early but will be a good future ruckman
27 - North Melbourne - Hannebery - bottom ager who looks to be the goods, two solid-looking mids for nm and theyll be happy
28 - Adelaide - Zacharias - need a mid with an early pick, best available
29 - Collingwood - Suban - another slider. could probably have gone first round but due to his size and not being a true mid i think hell slip. great pick at this stage
30 - Sydney - Pearce - hard, determinded ball winner will fit in well at the swans
31 - Western Bulldogs - Brown - need to take a risk to capitalise on what i think is a short premiership window. mitch brown did very well all year and deserves a go in the doggies forward line.
32 - Western Bulldogs - Rockliff - slider, another forward to add to the doggies bow, a great pick up here
33 - Geelong - Jetta - picked in the hope that he'll make an immediate impact
34 - Hawthorn - De Boer - will be laughing getting a very good midfielder at this point in the draft. doesnt really fit the hawks with his weakish disposal, but his hard running and determination should make him a cert at this pick.

Admittedly a lot of this is based on other bf opinions but mainly on what the clubs need, how they draft and which players will be besta available.

Thoughts...?

pretty good effort there. Hurley is interesting, I haven't seen a lot of him, but he sounds like the type that could potentialy slide

The only pick I can really disagree on is DeBoer to Hawthorn. They will not pick him because of their kicking policy

Maybe theyd go with ash smith. in retrospect i reckon de boer shold go a fair bit higher, could easily replace zacharias or blight in my draft. good extractor and i think, despite his poor disposal (and im sure it will improve), he will instantly add to a team in the next few years.

Patfull definitely has. But to follow on from your comment above, what's the point in drafting yet another "unproven" tall defender when we've got so many already?

Were the others high draft picks though?
I would think that Hurley would be a player that a coach could look at building a backline around as he is highly rated.

We have Charmo and Leuenberger + Clark,Tippet etc and won't pick a ruckman.
Lions will be looking at the best midfielder available at our first pick and probably second as well. So either Hartlett or Ziebell or if they are gone possibly Blease or Sidebottom for our first pick.
Agree, Brisbane: first round pick 05(pick 10 IIRC),ruckman/KPP(Mitch Clarke),first round pick 2006 (pick 4:Matthew Leunbuger), first round pick 07 (pick 8) ruckman/KPF (Lachlan Henderson). The last 3 years they have drafted potential ruckman in the first round, i think they are right for ruckman.

Were the others high draft picks though?
I would think that Hurley would be a player that a coach could look at building a backline around as he is highly rated.
Not many top fullbacks are taken inside the top 10. I cannot think of one. Hudghton taken at 15. Glass at 11. They're about as high as they get. But you can look at others: Lake- 71, Egan- 62, Merrett- 30, Rutten- Rookie, Michael- rookie.

Shows that some of the most aren't found inside the top 30, let alone the top 10

hurley will slide, backmen just arent worth it. i mean, it would be great to have a glass or scarlett, but most clubs would rather have a crack at the next judd or buddy. there are other ways to get around defence problems.

really depends on how much the clubs rate him as a forward - would he be more highly rated than a mckernan or even johnson? i had him falling to the saints at 13.

hurley will slide, backmen just arent worth it. i mean, it would be great to have a glass or scarlett, but most clubs would rather have a crack at the next judd or buddy. there are other ways to get around defence problems.

really depends on how much the clubs rate him as a forward - would he be more highly rated than a mckernan or even johnson? i had him falling to the saints at 13.

agreed, but I have Sydney taking Hurley, Geelong taking Trengove and Adelaide taking Johnston.

hurley will slide

It's funny how after the champs he was a sure top-5 pick who could play FB, CHB, CHF or FF. Now, after a subpar sprint time at draft camp he's being pegged as a slow FB. I think when teams come to pick, they'll pay a lot more weight to what Hurley's done on the field than at draft camp. He's a gun player. I hope he slides all the way down to 13. I doubt he will. He should go a lot closer to 5 than 13.

thats the side of him i dont really know - is he as good as johnson when he goes forward? if so he'd go earlier than i suspect.

its not just the dc that makes me think he'll slide. he's not going to be as relatively big when he gets to afl level. he'll be as strong as most and read the play well but good luck when buddy or watts get out on a strong lead.

no defenders, in my opinion, are worth a top five, or even top 10, draft pick. when the idea of pick five for garland arose most essendon fans were totally against it. garland looks very much to be a great backman, has shown as much, if not more promise than hurley. unless he has the potential to play as a dominant key forward i think clubs will let him slide in favour of mids and forwards.

It's funny how after the champs he was a sure top-5 pick who could play FB, CHB, CHF or FF. Now, after a subpar sprint time at draft camp he's being pegged as a slow FB. I think when teams come to pick, they'll pay a lot more weight to what Hurley's done on the field than at draft camp. He's a gun player. I hope he slides all the way down to 13. I doubt he will. He should go a lot closer to 5 than 13.

You are spot on mate, draft camp result amount for pretty much zero, it doesn't change a players position. Hurley is a footballer, plays KP at either end of the ground and is a wonderful kick, he won't drop to 13.