2008 player numbers

Well I don't know what they are posting, but I said his father wore number 3 in this thread and I'll stand by that comment - Courier Mail on Thursday a direct quote from Sheldon

And the CM is correct Ken played 53 games with the Saints from '87 to '89 wearing the #3 jumper.

Well I don't know what they are posting, but I said his father wore number 3 in this thread and I'll stand by that comment - Courier Mail on Thursday a direct quote from Sheldon

Cool Jed :thumbsu:
When I think of Kenny Sheldon I automatically think Carlton & premierships.

You tend to wipe his & many other Blues transition to washed up perennial losers at the Saints from your mind. Suppose there wouldn't have been a better party club to finish your career at though.

Cool Jed :thumbsu:
When I think of Kenny Sheldon I automatically think Carlton & premierships.

You tend to wipe his & many other Blues transition to washed up perennial losers at the Saints from your mind. Suppose there wouldn't have been a better party club to finish your career at though.

No worries. I was thinking of changing that post, thought I might have been a tad harsh on you initially!

As for the bolded part, West Coast of the current day comes to mind. ;):D

Suppose there wouldn't have been a better party club to finish your career at though.

Brisbane Bears was the place to spend your final years back in the early days of the franchise.

Low expectations, great weather, and plenty of surfing. ;)

Three's not a crowd for Lions' youngster

November 8, 2007

BRISBANE Lions youngster Sam Sheldon is no stranger to pressure. His choice of guernsey for 2008 would suggest he enjoys it.
The Lions confirmed yesterday that the 2006 draftee had been handed the famous No. 3 jumper worn by Brownlow medallist and triple premiership captain Michael Voss.
But the 18-year-old has grown up being compared to another three-time premiership player — his father Ken Sheldon, winner of three flags with Carlton.
Sam Sheldon was well aware of his new-found responsibility, but Lions coach Leigh Matthews — who also wore No. 3 as a Hawthorn player — still gave him a not-so-subtle reminder at their recent official team photo shoot, quipping: "A genuine champion wore that before you. Don't let the No. 3 reputation down."
Former Melbourne midfielder Travis Johnstone will wear the No. 4 guernsey for Brisbane.
AAP

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...lions-youngster/2007/11/07/1194329318884.html

and also good to see albie proud get number 2 :D

should have retired it for a season though :thumbsdown:

As one of my all time favourite Lions (Mickey Conlan being the other), I totally agree BUT if it comes with Chrissie Johnson's blessing (which i imagine it would) then i have no problem at all - (just share the same sentiments as Lethal about what he said to Sheldon about wearing the No.3). In this case, something like "don't let the No.2 reputation down"

I have only seen Proudy play the one or two pre-season games and his 2 senior games and i like what i see, but you guys who have seen him run around for Suncoast and at training etc may have a more adequate impression as to whether he will potentially deliver. I remember last year before the draft wanting him but thinking he had NO chance of falling to No.22 if IIRC, and to my astonishment he slipped through and we landed him - i was only goiing off what i had heard and that he was already living in QLD.

Henderson in number 14, perhaps we keep with the number 14 theme for the Big Footy Lions Board player sponsorship?

Nice work TBD; does that give us only one live selection in the rookie draft and if so we can claim a QLD kid as priority, right?

Interesting considering a few posters had a few QLD boys being taken in the proper draft who weren't taken, which would've allowed us to claim a couple via the rookie draft.

Where does Garner fit in considering the likes of Tyler, Mills, Clark, Henderson, Collier, Patfull, Roe, Merrett, Drummond are all ahead of him? Was Garner a KPP defender or more a small tall (if that makes any sense)?

Genuine tall KPP.

Club obviously has big wraps on him.

For some strange reason I prefer somebody else, just my 2c:p

0,,5393460,00.jpg

... and my 2cents worth Vidman... a fellow Queenslander, and bridge engineer, John Job Crew Bradfield ... :p ;)

I truly fear for your sanity at times Fred.

Il ne cherche le vrai que pour faire le bien...

Fear not TBD my sanity had reached the age of finding a mate, packing up and leaving home many, many years ago… :eek: :D

2008 player numbers