Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread

FWIW on SEN this morning Patrick Smith had mentioned that Collingwood had gone cold on Cousins and said that we are now the favourites to secure his services. Greg Denham said exactly the same last week too. Make of it what you will.

The million dollar question is "why did they go cold"? There could be a good reason. The magpies have been very thourough in checking him out, to the extent that they hired a private investigator to report on his movements in Perth.

And it's not only Collingwood gone cold, so has Brisbane.
Add to that Ben made no assurances that he will not relapse again. AFL will put him under rigourous testing, if he happens to relapse after he was re-registered their integrity would take a massive blow.
Will the AFL take the risk?

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24457481-23211,00.html

Would we be interested in Beau Dowler?
Former first round pick who had some problems ( car accident)
Can't get game time with the Hawks ( too big buggers in his way )
Has played well with the Box Hill Hawks but hasn't had a huge crack at AFL.

No. Better to recruit someone in the draft.

:thumbsu: Would just be a waste...

Cousins is worth the risk if the AFL pass him. Could just be the one to tip us over the edge to help us make that last Saturday in September.

I agree. Cousins is really an all or nothing thing though, we just need to make room for him in terms of the PSD.

We've got plenty of spuds that id'e be more then happy to trade for draft picks who will be on cheaper contracs while Cousins will be there/de-list to make room...

Rix, Howard, Gwilt, Fiora, Baker plus Clarke brothers possibly.. When would Cousins go under the veterans thing? That would help with salary cap issues..

We've got plenty of spuds that id'e be more then happy to trade for draft picks who will be on cheaper contracs while Cousins will be there/de-list to make room...

Rix, Howard, Gwilt, Fiora, Baker plus Clarke brothers possibly.. When would Cousins go under the veterans thing? That would help with salary cap issues..

Can't qualify for the veterans list mate. Needs to have been at the same club for 10 years.

Bit harsh there mate. If you believe Dowler is in the same catergory as Fiona, well you've lost all credibility that you may have had.

Dowler is a very good player, did extremley well playing both ends of the ground for Box hill. Surely Dowler is a far better prospect than Boyle

I was being flippant brother, but you can't jump up and down about Dowler when he has played very little senior footy. We all know the difference between VFL and AFL. Fiora even looks half decent in the VFL.

I would agree that Dowler would be better than Boyle, but I would stick with Jarryd Allen over the both of them in 2009.

I was being flippant brother

No wackers just needed to make sure lol.

With regards to Dowler the poor kid was involved in a serious car accident the year he was drafted and was badly injured.It's taken him a couple of years to get back on his feet, hence the reason he hasn't been able to break into the senior side (bar 1 appearance) plus it would've been extremley difficult to break into this year's side.In saying that he was named as an emergency on a few occassions so that has to say something.

The VFL standard isn't as bad as one might assume and yes I do understand that there is a massive gap between standards(AFL) but there have been quite a few players that were half decent in the that were/are playing great football in the AFL except for our beloved Fiona.

IMO Dowler has far more upside than Allen

We are one of the few teams who can claim to have the hard "ïn and under" inside midfielder position fully filled. Armitage and Birss were unable to gain a spot because of Luke Ball and Lenny Hayes' dominance there.

Xavier Clarke is more typical of the type of player we have been lacking. He is a more outside player with great skills.

While Dal is so dominant in this area he will continue to get the hard tag - so we need X to step up and fulfill his destiny.

Spot on Kildonan.

We need outside ball carriers who can deliver the ball into F50 with precision.

With Mr 383 having retired, we will need a number of players (including X) to step up.

We are one of the few teams who can claim to have the hard "ïn and under" inside midfielder position fully filled. Armitage and Birss were unable to gain a spot because of Luke Ball and Lenny Hayes' dominance there.

Xavier Clarke is more typical of the type of player we have been lacking. He is a more outside player with great skills.

While Dal is so dominant in this area he will continue to get the hard tag - so we need X to step up and fulfill his destiny.

Looks like were probably going to get Cousins. If that happens and he gets back to full fitness and stays off the hoochie coochie. He'll be that gun outside link player that we need out of the midfield.
I really hope this goes through and he pulls up. Cousins at his best was the best in the comp. That was only 2 years ago.

Looks like were probably going to get Cousins. If that happens and he gets back to full fitness and stays off the hoochie coochie. He'll be that gun outside link player that we need out of the midfield.
I really hope this goes through and he pulls up. Cousins at his best was the best in the comp. That was only 2 years ago.

Even though it was only two years ago the pace of the game has changed alot in those two years...
Stewie Dew retired two years ago, comes back after a year off and almost wins a norm smith. If a fatty boombah like Dew can adjust after a year off you'd reckon Cousins could.

I couldn't agree more.

He wouldn't come back if he didn't believe he could be a valuable asset at the risk of ruining his standing in the game...on-field anyway.

Don't know if i could support him after tearing Frankie Peckett a new one with 5 goals in the last quarter over there to win them the game in his Rising Star winning season though :rolleyes:

Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread