2008 - Where will we finish?

With an emphasis on skill level and accountability, unification and a huge willingness to prove doubters wrong (we'll repeatedly be "tipped" down the bottom) and still in possession of 3 AA calibre match-winners (18,25,31)

Anything can happen.

Yea, 2 problems,

1, in '07 we had 4 of what you would call AA match winners. Hird is now gone.

2, Their is a massive gulf between those players and the rest of the list as it currently sits.

We have a batch of young future stars but they won't be matchwinners next year. In effect, we'll be playing with 1 less AA matchwinner (Hird) and less experience as we look to develop many of the young guns.

Development of our youngsters is a great thing though in my view, and with all things being even, we'll be a bottom 6 side. You just can't realistically challenger without a midfield - ours is as bad as any in the league.

Buckle up for 2010 when these kids start consistently hitting there straps!

We have a batch of young future stars but they won't be matchwinners next year. In effect, we'll be playing with 1 less AA matchwinner (Hird) and less experience as we look to develop many of the young guns.

Development of our youngsters is a great thing though in my view, and with all things being even, we'll be a bottom 6 side. You just can't realistically challenger without a midfield - ours is as bad as any in the league.

Buckle up for 2010 when these kids start consistently hitting there straps!

The youngsters don't need to be matchwinners, they just need to be solid contributors around our best players.

We may have the worst midfield looking at last year but a lot had to do with Sheedy. The new coaching staff will work hard on skill and accountabilty, the 2 reasons we have finished where we have, it's possible ity could improve quite a but next year and make us a better team, better than the 10 win we had despite Hird leaving.

A lot would have to go right ala North, Port and Collingwood, IMO we have almost or just as much talent as them, we just need to imrpove on those 2 areas and get a few more playing consistently.

If Jetta, Winderlich and all them stand up together we'll finnish : 7th or 9th with 10 - 11 wins.

If our midfielders doesn't improve as much as we want it to, we'll finnish : 12th or 13th with 6 wins.

Our foward and backline is already fine, get our midfield up and fireing, and we won't be struggling in '08.

If Jetta, Winderlich and all them stand up together we'll finnish : 7th or 9th with 10 - 11 wins.

If our midfielders doesn't improve as much as we want it to, we'll finnish : 12th or 13th with 6 wins.

Our foward and backline is already fine, get our midfield up and fireing, and we won't be struggling in '08.

Spot on regarding the midfield. Playing the agerages though, Young kids generally take a number of years to be consistantly in or around the best players. Yest there are examples of this happening although these as a rule are abberations.

Also, I think our backline needs a bit of work.

Maybe we should re do it and stipulate that we want only essendon supporters to vote so we can have a rough guide of what our fellow board members think.

I couldn't give a rats ass what other teams supporters think on this issue.

Think you will suprise everyone. You have a great young list and they will all improve this year. The rubbish that has been coming from the likes of Hawthorn supporters are simply not worth acknowledging. Id put money on you guys to end up higher than them next year. Really looking forward to watching Jetta get some senior time and the improving Ryder , Davey , Winderlich , Laycock and company makes for something good to look forward to next year. Just remember what they all said about the Roos last year.

Exactly. Thanks.

I think we could end up anywhere. Our best 22 will be exciting just like this year. That's all I ask for. This year I probably enjoyed our performance more then most years. Exciting footy rewards. I don't think we'll be lower then 13. Won't make the 8 however.

well said mate thanks
our young list is developing very well and the likes of Stanton, Lovett, Lovett-Murray will stand up this year we will be better than last year cant wait for it

Me too mate.

Appartenly already in the gym and Prescott saying he is really looking forward to working with him again...

If hes over this injury I think he will go close to winning the rising star next year

I reckon about 9-12. I reckon there will be a similar number of wins to last year but the wins they have will be more convincing. (ie win matches like Richmond, Melbourne by bigger margins).

I think i might have said it before:

7th and 11 wins if we have big improvers (eg.Jetta, Houli, gumbleton)
12th and 7 wins with only 1 or 2 improvers.
16th and 2 wins if everything goes wrong (eg. Lloyd, Lucas Injured for season)

I think we're already good enough not to be on the bottom but theres some doubts.

The whole of the 2008 season is pretty much on our youngsters shoulders at the moment. But I guess we got the right man on it now.... (matty knights)

Fingers Crossed

Its either going one way or the other.

I think i might have said it before:

7th and 11 wins if we have big improvers (eg.Jetta, Houli, gumbleton)
12th and 7 wins with only 1 or 2 improvers.
16th and 2 wins if everything goes wrong (eg. Lloyd, Lucas Injured for season)

I think we're already good enough not to be on the bottom but theres some doubts.

The whole of the 2008 season is pretty much on our youngsters shoulders at the moment. But I guess we got the right man on it now.... (matty knights)

Fingers Crossed

Its either going one way or the other.
Actually completely agree with everything said in this post. Need our youngsters to step up. Not sure if Gumbleton will be able to make his mark so early but guys like Jetta, Winderlich, Reimers are the ones i hope will improve

2008 - Where will we finish?