2009 Draft Discussion

This doesnt help with consistency or stepping up to a higher level. But anyhows BTron interesting debate ;)

Cheers mate. Was interesting.

Interesting thoughts Rippednew1 and B-Tron. IMO i think we can afford to draft one more small player, i think if we draft 2 we will be a little bit on the small side.

Although we do have a lot of small's on our list, we still have a relatively tall midfield. Anthony, Wells, Ziebell, Swallow, Greenwood and possibly Cunnington. Add in Urquart and Wright and it goes from relatively tall to huge.

We have a lot of big bodied mid's who can provide the grunt work, whilst we also have a good mix of flair and skill. At any one time i don't think we can afford to have anymore than 4 smalls in the side. At the present time, I'd have Thomas, Campbell, Harvey and Adams in our starting 22. That leaves Garlett and Ross on the outer fighting for one of those positions. If we drafted 2 small midfielder this year then the competition would be too great. I'd rather skip on the small mid and just pick up someone like Gysberts, Bastinac or Sheppard or another tall forward.:thumbsu:

I think we won't be picking up 2 mids with pick 25 and 21 anyway, so we won't really have to face this dilemma.

Interesting thoughts Rippednew1 and B-Tron. IMO i think we can afford to draft one more small player, i think if we draft 2 we will be a little bit on the small side.

Although we do have a lot of small's on our list, we still have a relatively tall midfield. Anthony, Wells, Ziebell, Swallow, Greenwood and possibly Cunnington. Add in Urquart and Wright and it goes from relatively tall to huge.

We have a lot of big bodied mid's who can provide the grunt work, whilst we also have a good mix of flair and skill. At any one time i don't think we can afford to have anymore than 4 smalls in the side. At the present time, I'd have Thomas, Campbell, Harvey and Adams in our starting 22. That leaves Garlett and Ross on the outer fighting for one of those positions. If we drafted 2 small midfielder this year then the competition would be too great. I'd rather skip on the small mid and just pick up someone like Gysberts, Bastinac or Sheppard or another tall forward.:thumbsu:

I think we won't be picking up 2 mids with pick 25 and 21 anyway, so we won't really have to face this dilemma.

I don't think this is true, but I don't think we're an overly short team either.

Comparing our guys to the Cats, it'd be interesting to hear anyone suggest the cats are too short. FWIW i don't think the cats are that tall either & I'm of the belief that height is not an issue, so long as any of your 'short' players are either super strong or super quick/agile (or all 3 if you're ablett!)

Selwood, 182cm // Swallow, 183cm
Chapman, 179cm // Thomas, 181cm
Corey, 191cm // Anthony, 189cm
Bartell, 187cm // Cunnington?, 185cm
Ling, 189cm // Ziebell, 188cm
Enright, 187cm // Wright, 188cm
Hogan, 182cm // Greenwood, 181cm
Varcoe, 180cm // Wells, 180cm
Kelly, 183cm // Urquart, 181cm
Burns, 175cm // Campbell, 174cm
Stokes, 177cm, Adams, 176cm
Wojo, 180cm // Harding, 181cm
Rooke, 189cm // Firrito, 190cm
Djerrkura, 176cm // Garlett, 174cm
Ablett, 182cm // Harvey, 172cm (ok 4" shorter but strong/agile like ablett)

Good comparisions. But with that we wouldn't want to be adding too many smalls to that list. Thats why i think we should only have a maximum of 1 or 2 in this years draft.

The good thing about Coyler and Bartlett is that they both have some of the attributes you were talking about.

Coyler: Super fast with excellent evasive skills. Very agile, and rarely gets taken to ground.

Bartlett: Very quick and very strong for his size. Good skills and can kick goals.

In essence i'd like to think we'd be going with best available, but if the best available are all smalls then we may have to look at other options.

Selwood, 182cm // Swallow, 183cm
Chapman, 179cm // Thomas, 181cm
Corey, 191cm // Anthony, 189cm
Bartell, 187cm // Cunnington?, 185cm
Ling, 189cm // Ziebell, 188cm
Enright, 187cm // Wright, 188cm
Hogan, 182cm // Greenwood, 181cm
Varcoe, 180cm // Wells, 180cm
Kelly, 183cm // Urquart, 181cm
Burns, 175cm // Campbell, 174cm
Stokes, 177cm, Adams, 176cm
Wojo, 180cm // Harding, 181cm
Rooke, 189cm // Firrito, 190cm
Djerrkura, 176cm // Garlett, 174cm
Ablett, 182cm // Harvey, 172cm (ok 4" shorter but strong/agile like ablett)

They are all huge boys though compared to our guys. Granted a lot of them have had 6 or 7 pre seasons but I can't ever see Thomas being bigger than Chapman (nor as skilled for that matter).

Another thing is I don't think they ever play Varcoe, Burns, Stokes and Djerrkura in the same team but a few are making a case for a combo of Adams, Ross, Garlett, Campbell and Harvey to be in the same team. That would be silly IMO.

here's some info from inside football

Callum Barltett – Midfielder, Geelong Falcons, 182cm, 82kg
“Callum hurt his ACL during the pre season so he didn’t play all year. But he’s had a really good rehab and is on track. Played with us as a 17 year old last year and he’s a mid-sized left footer and very powerful, which has created some interest. He’s very similar to Brisbane’s Daniel Rich in that he kicks the footy with penetration and has good power and a body that is ready made, but he doesn’t have Rich’s game knowledge at this stage, so that’s something he needs to develop.” – Geelong Falcons coach Gary Hocking

Jake Carlisle – Tall Forward, Calder Cannons, 196cm, 83kg
“Jake can play forward and back and I don’t think he quite realizes how good he can be. He’s got enormous potential once he gets a bit of confidence in his ability. His skills are good and particularly up to 40m, his kicking is really good – somewhere up in the mid 70’s efficiency. He’s possibly a late first round or early second round selection.” - Calder Cannons coach Martin Allison

Travis Coyler – Midfielder, Claremont, 175cm, 73kg
“Travis has exceptional speed and that would be his biggest strength. He’s very small, but he’s also strong which offset’s that. He reminds me a little of Brent Harvey in the way he plays. Very quick, has a good change of speed, can kick a goal, but mainly breaks the lines through the middle of the ground. Doesn’t get really high possessions, but when he does get it, he uses it really well.” – Claremont Football Manager Dean Horsington

Jesse Crichton – Midfielder. Tassie Mariners, 183cm, 68kg
“Jesse has been in our system for two years and in many ways it was his season last year that set him up. He’s had a good year again this year but got himself known to recruiters in 2008. He’s a very clever, inside player, with a great ability to bring others into the game with his hands because of his vision and awareness. Still has a very light body so needs to work on that, but he kicks the ball well with his left foot, although at the moment he lacks penetration because he is so light. Tested OK at draft camp and was middle of the road in most areas. Jesse played well in the AIS-AFL academy and he was a respected member of that group.” – AFL Tasmania High Performance Manager Nick Probert

Mitchell Duncan - Medium Forward, East Perth, 188cm, 81kg
“Mitch made his senior debut in Round 1 for us and he’s a really dangerous half forward who can go up onto a wing as well. Possesses good skills on both sides of his body, has great awareness and uses the ball very well. Had a standout game against Peel Thunder late in the year, kicking 3 goals. Makes the most of all his opportunities, makes good decisions and is very driven.” – East Perth Football Manager Mark Winnett

Nat Fyfe – Medium Forward, Claremont, 186cm, 73kg
“Nat’s a forward who was one of the best marks in the Colts this year. Very good games sense, reads the play very well and is just an improved player all round. I’d say he’d be a half forward at AFL level and in one game he kicked 8 goals and took 16 marks. Not naturally quick, but makes up for it by reading the game really well.” – Claremont Football Manager Dean Horsington

Benjamin Griffiths – Tall Forward, Eastern Ranges, 198cm, 97kg
“Ben’s a power forward who had some injury concerns during the year, but when he was fit and playing well he was really dangerous. He kicked 6 goals against the eventual premier (Calder Cannons) but he didn’t do a lot at draft camp because he had a crook shoulder. He played two games for Vic Metro and in one of them he kicked 5 goals in a half against NSW/ACT. The thing that will push him up is his mobility for his size. His speed over 20 m is really good and his agility and clean ball at ground level is great. There aren’t many like him in the draft and we hope he goes maybe late second round or third round. We’ve had clubs tell us he’ll go late and others say he’ll go really early.” -Eastern Ranges Regional Manager Anthony Parkin

Ayden Kennedy – Tall Forward, Eastern Ranges, 191cm, 80kg
“Ayden is coming of his first year in the TAC Cup after playing division two Colts in the Eastern Football League. He’s come a long way in 12 months. Played in the trial game in September 2008, played well and made our jumper list and then made the starting side against Gold Coast in Round 1 and played really well. Didn’t have a great national carnival but was better for the experience. Athletically he was in the top 5 in three of the testing areas – speed, agility and vertical leap. He’s probably a third tall hit up forward with good speed of the mark, he’s good at ground level.. sort of a Ryan O’Keefe type. He’s got a good tank so he’s pretty exciting because Ayden’s got a lot of developing going forward in terms of how much he’s improved in just the last 12 months.” – Eastern Ranges Regional Manager Adrian Parkin

Jasper McMillan-Pittard – Medium Defender, Geelong Falcons, 185cm, 72kg
“Jasper could go inside the top 10. To use a horse race analogy he has come right into the market late. Scotty Clayton (Gold Coast Recruiting Manager) rate him inside the top 10. He’s a rangy sort of build, has got Kenny Hunter hands, very smart with the footy with his run and rebound but his kicking could get a little better. Just a super kid who is very intelligent. Paul Roos said to John Longmire after interviewing him “ f@#$ drafting him, let’s just put him on as an assistant coach.” He had question’s prepared for Neil Craig when Adelaide interviewed him, which went down really well with the Crows. Comes from the Calder Cannons program and moved down this way so we had the pleasure of having him this year. Type of person that if he has a comment he’ll say it, or if he has an opinion he’ll give it. He legitimately understands the game.” - Geelong Falcons coach Gary Hocking

Daniel Menzel – Medium Defender/ Forward, Central Districts, SA, 185cm, 77kg
“Daniel is a rangy utility player who has played forward, back and onball for us. Good skills, has a good leap and he’s got a good body size and frame to build into. Has really developed over the last 12 months. Played reserves footy after the under 18 championships and has been with us since the under 17’s.” – Central Districts development manager Scott Stevens

Matthew Panos – Tall Forward, Norwood, 192cm, 85kg
“Matthew came out of the college system in 2008 and hasn’t played a lot of footy – he’s probably only played the last two or so years. He comes from an indoor soccer background and he’s a very good volleyball and tennis player. He played state indoor soccer so he’s very nimble on his feet. This year he went to university and started our year in the under 18’s, went on and played state under 18’s and had a really good carnival and then ended the year playing two games in the senior side. Plays key forward and is a magnificent kick and mark. Other than that everything else is good without being super.” – Norwood Development Manager David Otley

Sam Reid – Tall Defender, Murray Bushrangers, 194cm, 84kg
“Sam is an outstanding athlete in that he has fantastic athleticism for a player who is 194cm and still growing. Runs a 14.7 beep test and 2.92 for 20 metres so he’s got a good combination of speed and endurance. He’s got an amazing vertical leap, which I believe was tested incorrectly at the camp. He was measured at about 64cm or 65cm; he thought they were 10cm out and he did about 75cm, which puts him in the elite. You tick a lot of boxes with Sammy even though he’s still only a baby because he’s a late December birthday. I think he’s possibly a little better at the same age than his brother Ben (at Collingwood). Sammy really excites you with his athleticism and what he can do, but at this stage he hasn’t been able to have a big impact on TAC Cup games. There’s a bit of work to do yet, but there’s a lot to like.” - Murray Bushrangers coach Phill Bunn

Sam Shaw – Tall Defender, Oakleigh Chargers, 191cm, 77kg
“Sam’s a very intelligent kid and very well rounded. He’s and extremely athletic 192cm player who kicks left foot and played mainly as a winger half back but showed his adaptability by playing forward at times. Very quick and was top 10 at the draft camp for sprints. Quite and exciting player and if he’s not in the elite athlete mould he’s very close to it. I would expect him to go maybe mid second round.” – Oakleigh Chargers coach Steve Grace

Josh Thomas – Midfielder, Gold Coast QLD, 178cm, 70kg
“Josh was offered a pretty good deal to go to the Gold Coast but he decided he wanted to go into the draft. Plays midfield and hails from Redlands FC. Can play half back and half forward but is probably more comfortable up forward, he’s just a good all round player. He’s pretty quick, hits the ball at pace, has that ability to get away from the contest and has good skills on both sides.” - Qld under 18’s coach Mark Browning

Troy Taylor – Medium Forward, NT Thunder, 188cm, 75kg
“The most publicised NT player given his chequered past (missed the 2008 season because he was in a juvenile detention centre). Has vowed to do everything right to make something of his life with football. He is a smooth moving medium forward who reads the ball well and is very agile when the ball hits the deck. Some scouts are calling him the next Michael O’Loughlin. Has a good defensive mindset and a great ability to win contested ball. I’d expect a club to give him a chance early in the second round.” – AFLNT Talent and Coaching Manager Jarrod Chipperfield.

Garrick Weedon – Medium Forward, Claremont, 186cm, 80kg
“Garrick’s a Broome boy who is a highly skilled indigenous player with a great set of hands. Played a lot for us across half forward with a few runs in the midfield. A good mover with plenty of game smarts.” - Claremont Football Manager David Horsington

Nicholas Winmar – Tall Forward, Claremont, 190cm, 78kg
“Nicholas is the second cousin of former StKilda star Nicky. He’s a very fluent mover and another boy who’s strength is his running. Can run of half back and use his long penetrating kicking to hurt sides. Plays very differently to Nicky but he’s one of the best runners I’ve seen come through the system. He’s got to get more confident in his own ability, but if he does he could be anything in a few years.” – Claremont Football Manager Dean Horsington

Benjamin Griffiths – Tall Forward, Eastern Ranges, 198cm, 97kg
“Ben’s a power forward who had some injury concerns during the year, but when he was fit and playing well he was really dangerous. He kicked 6 goals against the eventual premier (Calder Cannons) but he didn’t do a lot at draft camp because he had a crook shoulder. He played two games for Vic Metro and in one of them he kicked 5 goals in a half against NSW/ACT. The thing that will push him up is his mobility for his size. His speed over 20 m is really good and his agility and clean ball at ground level is great. There aren’t many like him in the draft and we hope he goes maybe late second round or third round. We’ve had clubs tell us he’ll go late and others say he’ll go really early.” -Eastern Ranges Regional Manager Anthony Parkin

198 cm, 97 kgs:eek:, quick and good beneath his knees.

I won't be dissappointed about missing out on Butcher if we could snag this bloke at Pick 21/25. :thumbsu:

I really hope we get Ben Griffiths at pick 21 or 25 also, providing his medical report is fine.

He has the potential to be the best tall forward in the draft.

It will be interesting to see if he's still available at pick 21 or 25, i think he will be taken before our pick.

So do I. With the right training program he could become a superstar. I've always said that I've wanted him at pick 21. I think he might still be around then, Talia, Griffiths, Butcher, Panos and Vardy will be the talls that will be taken in the top 20.

Can't go past Jesse Crichton with our third pick if he's still there. Particularly if we go Cunnington pick 5, Jesse is a very similar type to Rohan.

Little bit different to Rohan IMO. matches him with speed and skill, but he isn't as good overhead and he isn't as evasive. Probably beats Rohan at the hard ball though. Very raw IMO. Crichton would take a couple of years of development. He reminds me very much of Riggio, not just with his hairstyle!

2009 Draft Discussion