Review 2009 Draft Revisted: Your Wish Lists

Re: pick 10.........moore

Moore will be a pretty handy player. He plays both ends and he plays them pretty well. I guess the question mark is he is a bit of an in between size.

Not my ideal first pick but someone who i would be comforatable with if we took him.

That sensationalism pisses me off. Even if Welsh left, I'm sure Knighter would back Hocking in as a tagger and pick based on other needs.

Basically this is just a chance for them to push their Welsh/McPhee bullshit.

Mark Stevens is doing a fantastic job atm of proving himself to be a complete knob jockey virtually every day.

If the draft actually went that way, I wouldnt mind us picking up Moore (not because of the welsh factor).

My prefrences are for Cunnington, then Rohan then Melksham in that order.

But if they are all gone we are left with Kane Lucas/Koby Stevens/Luke Tapscott as midfielders who I think are a bit overated on bigfooty.

Moore looks like a Ryan Okeefe clone. Extremley strong overhead, good pace and stamina. Can play anywhere on the ground. Other recruiters have compared him to Andy Otten. He looks a natural footballer, but also has genuine athletic ability.

"Topped the running vertical jump with 85cm at Draft Camp. 2.97secs for 20m and 14.1 beep test all very impressive performances. Averaged 20 disposals at 74% efficiency for the Eastern Ranges this year."

With our next pick we are likely to have a genuine inside midfielder available anyways.

Yeah no thanks. Just an in between player. Solid at best.

You live in Sydney right? How is it you have such a strong opinion on so many players which you have no doubt never seen play. Is it all Youtube packages, or who's opinions are you reading in the media? Just curious, not having a dig.

I myself would love to see Cunnington or Rohan at the club because they come from my ol stomping ground, but realistically they will be gone. I trust the club, and am enjoying readin everyones opinions here.

Cunnington or Tapscott would be great at Essendon. I have my hopes on Cunnington but I could see another team picking up Tapscott and him going on to be a very classy 200 games plus forward.
I would be happy with either.

Re: Draft Picks 10, 24, 26 & 33

I read somewhere that Essendon are very keen on taking Jake Melsham with pick 10 but there is talk that Port might spoil the party and take him at #9.

They reckon the first 6 picks are set in stone.

1. Trengove (or Scully)
2. Scully (or Trengove)
3. Martin
4. Morabito
5. Cunnington
6. Rohan

From there they reckon West Coast will either take Lucas or Jetta.

Port to take a key forward and a midfielder.

7. Lewis Jetta
8. John Butcher

Providing this happens do people think Port will take Melsham with #9 and if so who are we likely to take with #10.

I read somewhere that Essendon are very keen on taking Jake Melsham with pick 10 but there is talk that Port might spoil the party and take him at #9.

They reckon the first 6 picks are set in stone.

1. Trengove (or Scully)
2. Scully (or Trengove)
3. Martin
4. Morabito
5. Cunnington
6. Rohan

From there they reckon West Coast will either take Lucas or Jetta.

Port to take a key forward and a midfielder.

7. Lewis Jetta
8. John Butcher

Providing this happens do people think Port will take Melsham with #9 and if so who are we likely to take with #10.

I'm hoping something like this happens where Butcher and Jetta are gone by our pick and we're left to choose a good midfielder.

Ant555

George Long. What can you tell me about him? draft prospect? etc..

Not a lot. Sorry but the kids outside the SA squad who only play colts footy are not my area of expertise. There are only so many DVD's one can watch in a week.:)
I know he amde the SA squad last year , he is pretty quick , solid looking kid and from memory i think his skills are ok. Without going back and watching a few of the SA colts DVD's and looking out for him i can't offer much more than that.

Ant, I was wondering if you could give me your thoughts on Jamie Macmillan?

If Port Adelaide selected both Butcher and Melsham with selections eight and nine, I can see us perhaps taking Lucas. I also wouldn't be displeased if Talia came into consideration. Although I can understand the majority of people wanting a genuine midfielder with our first selection.

WOW...:D
I am so stoked about all the choices and options the bombers have with picks 10,24,26 and 33. I believe there is no reason stopping these players being picked up to be solid players for the future!

I believe there is enough talent within those picks and I have faith in our recruiters that the majority of the four picks will be 100+gamers.

I do understand that im probably getting ahead of myself,and that in all likelyhood not all of the picks will come out they way we want them too but im just so excited to be a supporter of this footy club!!

We have such a good opportunity to add some great young talent to the team and to start pushing our bombers into the 8.(or around there).
BRING ON DRAFT DAY!!! WOO WOO WOO
FULL STEAM AHEAD :thumbsu:

Not a lot. Sorry but the kids outside the SA squad who only play colts footy are not my area of expertise. There are only so many DVD's one can watch in a week.:)
I know he amde the SA squad last year , he is pretty quick , solid looking kid and from memory i think his skills are ok. Without going back and watching a few of the SA colts DVD's and looking out for him i can't offer much more than that.

No worries buddy. Just looking at the AFL.com.au draft information, it lists Long at 173cm, 76kg, he seems to be a likely type. Strong small defender, very good user of the ball, and some say "when on, he is almost unstoppable".

Thoughts, apparently he is super quick, and may be pushing it for a rookie spot.

I really think that we should get Ryan Hardwood at pick 33.
Bastinac at 24, and one of Gysberts or Melksham at 26.

I'm hoping something like this happens where Butcher and Jetta are gone by our ick and we're left to choose a good midfielder.

hi guys, just getting a look at other clubs opinions and choices, u better hope u take kane lucas he is an absolute machine, i want the eagles to take him but would still be happy with jetta, if u have no luck with lucas u need rohan seeing as your forward line will lack given the retirements of 2 of ur best