2009 Draw

• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

Yup, Saturday arvo is the traditional timeslot for footy in Melbourne, just like 3pm Sunday is the 'traditional' kick-off time for the rugby league here in Sydney.

The Swans have been playing on a Sunday afternoon since they came to Sydney, all so you Melburnians would have a game to watch on TV on Sunday! :p

Sorry, mate, but Sunday 3pm is not "traditional" rugby league time.

Saturday afternoon was just as traditional for rugby league games. My dad occasionally took us to games in the very early 70s, and if not at games we'd watch ABC coverage on telly.
The Sunday thing is recent, as in the past 15-20 years.

By the way, does anyone else remember what the rugby league used to do on Easter weekends for a while?
All 12 (yes, 12) teams played each other over the Saturday and Sunday at the SCG, known as the League-athon, from memory. Weird, but great fun, every team's colours on show over the two days.

This is what im expecting

Blue = Win
Red = Loss

Round 1 vs St Kilda (A)
Round 2 vs Hawthorn (H)
Round 3 vs Lions (A)
Round 4 vs Carlton (H)
Round 5 vs Fremantle (A)
Round 6 vs Richmond (H)
Round 7 vs Geelong (A)
Round 8 vs West Coast (H)
Round 9 vs Port Adelaide (H)
Round 10 vs Western Bulldogs (A)
Round 11 vs Hawthorn (A)
Round 12 vs Collingwood (H)
Round 13 vs Adelaide (A)
Round 14 vs North Melbourne (H)
Round 15 vs Essendon (H)
Round 16 vs Carlton (A)
Round 17 vs Melbourne (A)
Round 18 vs St Kilda (H)
Round 19 vs Richmond (A)
Round 20 vs Geelong (H)
Round 21 vs Collingwood (A)
Round 22 vs Brisbane (H)

So i have

11 wins
11 losses

This should see us sneak into 8th :thumbsu:

Lose to Richmond, late in the season !!!! perish the thought

were getting smashed hawthorn , geelong , collingwood, adelaide 2x.

no chance of top 8. if we did defeat these teams we would be top 4 anyway.

Check this analysis out. Man did the Swans get shafted in this draw :( VERY top heavy. But don't worry, finishing bottom will give us picks in the draft - Oh, yeah, that's gonna be compromised too.

Time to dig out some AFL conspiracy theories again.;) EDIT : Just had a look at the other club's draws. The AFL has more or less declared that Carlton & Richmond don't have to play anyone to get to the finals this year. Fair enough too. They have been down for soooooooo long.

Ladder position 2008, team & round(s)

1 Cats 7 & 20
2 Hawks 2 & 11
3 Dogs 10 (AWAY)
4 Saints 1 & 18
5 Crows 13 (AWAY)
7 Roos 14
8 Pies 12 & 21

9 Tigers 6 & 19
10 Lions 3 & 22
11 Blues 4 & 16

12 Bombers 15
13 Port 9
14 Freo 5
15 WC 8
16 Demon 17

Yay! Richmond twice! That's my Dad's team and I can't remember the last time I've gotten the chance to go to both games! :)

The rest of the draw is bull though, not liking Hawthorn twice, Geelong twice, and Pies twice. Freo at Subi in Rnd 5 could also prove a challenge. Hmmmm. :thumbsd:

Check this analysis out. Man did the Swans get shafted in this draw :( VERY top heavy.

1 Cats 7 & 20
2 Hawks 2 & 11
3 Dogs 10 (AWAY)
4 Saints 1 & 18
5 Crows 13 (AWAY)
7 Roos 14
8 Pies 12 & 21

9 Tigers 6 & 19
10 Lions 3 & 22
11 Blues 4 & 16

12 Bombers 15
13 Port 9
14 Freo 5
15 WC 8
16 Demon 17

Thanks Bungee, very interesting.:eek:

Check this analysis out. Man did the Swans get shafted in this draw :( VERY top heavy. But don't worry, finishing bottom will give us picks in the draft - Oh, yeah, that's gonna be compromised too.

Time to dig out some AFL conspiracy theories again.;) EDIT : Just had a look at the other club's draws. The AFL has more or less declared that Carlton & Richmond don't have to play anyone to get to the finals this year. Fair enough too. They have been down for soooooooo long.

1 Cats 7 & 20
2 Hawks 2 & 11
3 Dogs 10 (AWAY)
4 Saints 1 & 18
5 Crows 13 (AWAY)
7 Roos 14
8 Pies 12 & 21

9 Tigers 6 & 19
10 Lions 3 & 22
11 Blues 4 & 16

12 Bombers 15
13 Port 9
14 Freo 5
15 WC 8
16 Demon 17

Doesn't look good when you put it like that. I can see us missing the 8.

We've officially been shafted. Our bogey team twice as usual, our other bogey team in an away game, the 4th placed Saints twice and the grand finalists twice.

West Coast are shit now so they only make us play them once:rolleyes:

Sorry Hooley, I went to South Tech..

Sorry for being so insensitive :(

1 Cats 7 & 20 means the Cats finished 1st in season 2008, and we play them in rounds 7 and 20. So as we go down the ladder and get to the lower teams, we can see we only play the lower teams once. So we got somewhat shafted :thumbsd:

Sorry for being so insensitive :(

1 Cats 7 & 20 means the Cats finished 1st in season 2008, and we play them in rounds 7 and 20. So as we go down the ladder and get to the lower teams, we can see we only play the lower teams once. So we got somewhat shafted :thumbsd:

Dont be sorry mate, I like that about you..

and I still dont get it,l I will try in the morning

We had a similarly 'tough' draw this year when we had to play top 4 2007 teams (by ladder position) in 5 weeks:
Port - Round 2
WC - Round 4
Gee - Round 5
Kangaroos - Round 6

and there were numerous fans worried we could start the season at 0-6. The point being we have to play the 2009 versions of these teams and not the 2008 versions. Some will drop out and if past history is anything to go by, one of those bottom 5 will rise into the top 4.

Personally I think the 'tough' draw mentality is incorrect. You play the cards that are dealt to you. One cannot predict how teams will perform next year. Most would predict us to beat the Lions next year but perhaps they rise from the dirt to be a top 4 team or Hawthorn has the mother of all hang overs? Who knows?

Overall, we cannot complain. One trip to Adelaide and Perth with 'away' games in Canberra. The fact is if we are premiership contenders then we will win games away to Hawthorn etc.

Bring on 09!

once again Melbourne based Swans get a raw deal, why do we have to play Geelong again out their shit ground that only 1000 of our members can get in.
Collingwood twice again.

Couldn't agree more !!

In reality its 5 games in Melbourne..

Makes it hard for Melbourne based members, when you do the math it's cheaper to buy general admission tickets on the day than pay full membership.

Bollocks to the draw, its rigged, how they can honestly sit back and call it fair has me stumped..

Call me crazy, but FFS why cant we just play everyone twice ???

Over it !!

We had a similarly 'tough' draw this year when we had to play top 4 2007 teams (by ladder position) in 5 weeks:
Port - Round 2
WC - Round 4
Gee - Round 5
Kangaroos - Round 6

and there were numerous fans worried we could start the season at 0-6. The point being we have to play the 2009 versions of these teams and not the 2008 versions. Some will drop out and if past history is anything to go by, one of those bottom 5 will rise into the top 4.

Thoroughly agree, looking at last year is never a good indication of what will happen this year.

The most important factor is number of home games, and number of long interstate trips Perth/Adelaide (Adelaide because we have a second home in Melbourne).

We ge shafted because of ANZ, SS in Geelong but make it up a bit with only one Adelaide and one Perth trip plus having Manuka & Melbourne games.

Decent draw for us.