2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

i reckon if roo was less level headed he'd belt that fat fool into next week. seriously, he must get sick of it. hutchy has a viewpoint and he is pushing it. get rid of him, and bring back scotty palmer and his punchlines full time!

I look forward to reading the alpha article.

Anyone see the other rumour, that Gilbert and Armo ( i think it was) are among the targets as well?

I think Gilbo's been secured until 2010 / 2011?

Armo would have to be the concern given he is playing good VFL footy but not getting a gig.

Anyone see the other rumour, that Gilbert and Armo ( i think it was) are among the targets as well?
Early speculation has every Queenslander in the league linked to the Gold Coast Gays, in our case Riewoldt, Gilbert, Armitage and Howard.

Gilbert's safe, signed until 2011. In the unlikely event he does request a trade, GCG has to pay up.

Riewoldt should be right. He'll be approaching veteran status and so that allows us to back-end his contract more heavily. He's well-settled, and I don't see him screwing the club.

If Clayton has any sense he'll go after Armitage and to a lesser extent Howard. Armitage can't break the team right now, and his contract apparently expires end of 2010. He's a real worry.

Not sure what Howard's contract status is since we delisted and re-rookied him, but odds are he'll be targeted. He's a decent way back in the queue, he's had a taste of senior level (2 games) and he must've shown something for us to draft him that high originally (pick 27, 2006 'super draft')

Most people have never heard of Howard. The fact that he is included as a Target is proof of your suggestion that someone has just gone through all the lists and named anyone who has ever lived played or had an extended visit in queensland.

Howard's early drafting would have to be considered an error, since two years on, he has been placed on the rookie list.

I would expect that the reality is that GC will target promising young players, and their state of origin will be a minor consideration. I do think that players who are good enough to play ( Armo, Steven, Macca, even Heyne sort of level ) will be targeted above rookies who are showing potential.

Most people have never heard of Howard. The fact that he is included as a Target is proof of your suggestion that someone has just gone through all the lists and named anyone who has ever lived played or had an extended visit in queensland.

agree. I'd assume there is some structure to the actual targets of the club but the rumours scream of "random picks"

Reformed Ray is a happy Saint

Reformed Saint Farren Ray is not surprised he is playing his best football at St Kilda.

The former Western Bulldog has been a revelation in the Saints’ blistering start to the season, widely considered best on ground in his side’s round 1 win against Sydney and adding speed and polish to St Kilda’s half-back line and midfield.

Speaking ahead of Sunday’s meeting with his former club, Ray said he was relishing the extra freedom granted him by Saints coach Ross Lyon. “I’m not surprised I’ve been able to turn it around in the first five rounds because it’s what I’m capable of,” Ray said. “I played some different roles with the Bulldogs — run-with roles and some tagging — so I’m not surprised. “I think I can get a lot better. “I’m enjoying a bit more freedom on the wing and not having to lock-down players.”

Ray is averaging more than 23 disposals, six marks and five tackles this season, far exceeding his regular input at Whitten Oval.

The 23-year-old didn’t want to discuss playing against his former club this weekend. He believed the focus should be instead on the job ahead of the Saints. “Five straight wins is obviously a good start,” Ray said. “Hopefully I’ve fitted in well and we can only try to build on that against the Bulldogs.”

agree. I'd assume there is some structure to the actual targets of the club but the rumours scream of "random picks"

I guess what I'm saying is that I'm sure the GC club is targetting specific players, but I don't necessarily believe that it is the ones being reported by the media.

even better would be anyone rubbing Akers ugly mug into the turf. Might shut him up for a bit.

Doubt it - he would just accuse the player of going after his ghoulies again (like he did with Harvs). Would have been a great soccer player - sorry Holden :p - i.e. get a knock on the ankle and go down holding your head!

I watched the replay Harvs did go for his ghoulies;)

Unless Aker's got the John Wayne Bobbit going (but with his bits re-attached in the wrong place) then at least one person's got their hand on their ghoulies.

Would have been a great soccer player - sorry Holden :p - i.e. get a knock on the ankle and go down holding your head!

ma io non sono italiano...

Saints, Cats Pitch To Move Blockbuster To MCG

Yes please. :)
Cats play the dome just as well as we do, if not better. And if we're ever gonna beat the Cats this is the place to do it. And the money too.

From that article:

"Former coach Grant Thomas said Ross Lyon was coaching the team better than he ever could."

Now it's only Nexus in the other camp.:p

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25406462-19742,00.html

"SOLID early season form has thrust St Kilda's teenage ruckman Ben McEvoy into the mix to replace injured Steven King.

McEvoy, consistently in the best players for VFL affiliate Sandringham, is poised to play his second AFL game against the Western Bulldogs on Sunday."

Thought I saw something yesterday about King a definite non-starter, so hope Big Mac gets his chance ... ready or not

As you are no doubt aware, the St Kilda Football Club will play a home game against Melbourne on the Gold Coast in Round 10. This deal has significant financial benefits for the Saints and also helps the AFL to grow the game in an emerging market.
Importantly, given we have shifted this home game interstate, the Club has negotiated an agreement with the AFL that will see our members receive free admission to the corresponding match against Melbourne in Round 22 at the MCG.
St Kilda membership cards therefore will not gain admittance to the Round 10 fixture at Gold Coast Stadium, however they will against Melbourne in Round 22. If you wish to attend our Gold Coast match, you can book your tickets through Ticketmaster, or alternatively, if you hold a Queensland St Kilda Membership, contact the Club on 03 9559 6691 to request your free ticket which will be mailed prior to the game.
Round 22 v Melbourne at the MCG
All 2009 Members with a valid barcode will have access to this game. Entry can be gained by scanning the barcode on your membership card. For all non reserved seat members you may utilise any general admittance seats.
Reserved Seat Holders
All 2009 reserved seat holders will have access to reserved seating bays at the MCG in Round 22 which are outlined below:
  • Gold Reserved Seat holders (Level 2) at Etihad Stadium will have access to Level 2 Bays N29 – N34 at the MCG.
Please note there are dining facilities available on a walk up basis on Level 2 in the Harrison Room and meals for all tastes and budgets are available.

• Standard, Bronze and Silver Reserved Seat holders (Level 1 & 3) will have access to Level 1 Bays M30 – M36.
Click here to view an MCG seating map
Click here to view directions to the Harrison Room
Entry is gained by scanning your membership card barcode at the gate and these bays can be accessed by showing your seating details on the reverse of your membership card.
If you have any further queries, please don't hesitate to call 1300 GO SAINTS.
Regards,

Thanks for this.. tho Level 1 Reserved Seat holders dont get great saets...
M30-36 thats in the 50, pocket to pocket
understand the Melbourne memebers has priority tho

0,,6609369,00.jpg

Eww get it away.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25424467-19742,00.html

Had no idea Sheahan was such a tool.

Could not believe that the Saints could challenge with Gardiner and Koschitzke? Most would have said we could not challenge without these two guys playing well you flog.

Would have thought he would have overcome any concerns regarding CJ 12 months ago if he'd been watching.

But maybe we didn't stack up until we played his team in the Dogs?

I'm just enjoying the way the Saints are playing rather than looking at where it might take us, but the media hacks are falling over themselves.

"On the Couch" or Fell Asleep on the Couch?

John "Yeah Yeah" Anthony has been offered a week for a similated sex act against North.

Should have been two for having a forehead with its own postcode.

John "Yeah Yeah" Anthony has been offered a week for a similated sex act against North.

Should have been two for having a forehead with its own postcode.

Don't steal my thinder Squizzle.

Old Pumpkin Head Anthony was my humour target for next Monday night.

2009 Media Thread