2009 Rookie Draft Thread

^ He recorded those at Draft Camp, supposedly, which means at least a few teams were interested enough in him to want to see him tested. Doesn't bode so well for us with pick #19... but you never know. :(
Depends on How High they Rated Him,

Have you heard anything from the Club Snoop?

Anyone but Temel.

Please Deka, stay away from him.

He is not the type of player we need. I would really like to see his sprint times because in the games I saw him play, he was treacle slow off the mark. Could not get any seperation on his opponent.

He is also not mobile enough IMO and it's fair to say he does not possess a big tank which makes him fail badly in his repeated efforts and chasing. Has no defensive side to his game- he is effectively out of the contest if he does not mark it.

The guy looks like a Buddy clone from afar but lacks all the athletic attributes and smoothness of the superstar.

He does though possess a very good kick for goal, however, this won't be enough to cut it at AFL level.

I posted this in another thread a while ago, but I didn't get a response.

A long lost friend of mine is nominated for the draft. His name is Justin Van Unen. Has anyone seen him play, and does anyone rate him as a chance to be drafted?

Hopefully he goes to Collingwood.:thumbsu:

Here is his draft profile: http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/86871/default.aspx

Aww, c'mon TD. It's only the rookie draft. C'mon Derek, DRAFT HIM!:p

Nah, but seriously if he gets drafted to any club I'll be happy, except if it's the Scum!:D

I have a mate who is a chance to get drafted as well but as long as the SCUM dont draft him i will be happy

Snoops Picks from his Snoop's Mock Draft:

18 Collingwood Josh Donaldson / West Perth / 194cm / 85kg

Versatile tall who represented WA at champs and can play a variety of positions. Mainly played as a back up ruck at the champs but at 193cm will be recruited to play back or possibly even CHF where he has done well at times. I think his best chance at AFL level is to become a FB or CHB where he has also spent some time. Got good athletic credentials, good pace for a big fella and a big leap on him. Can also take a contested grab and kick a goal so will be interesting to see how he develops. Similar to Ryder in many ways! Big chance Pies will take Kris Pendlebury around here.

34 Collingwood Derek Wanganeen / Port / 172cm / 63kg or KRIS PENDLEBURY

Wanted to get Temel to here but he wont last til 34 IMO. Derek is small and light (but I thought he was closer to 70kg) and hence you wonder how he is going to get drafted but let me tell you this kid has something. Seen a bit of him and typically plays back or wing but his decision making and work through traffic is first class. Big ball winner and uses the ball really well both by hand and foot. One of the things I like about him is that he always seems to attack the corridor – lets hope AFL footy doesnt knock that out of him. Backs that with what appears to be a good fitness base and constant pressure around his man and as such tends to get good tackle numbers. Could be one of the finds of the draft. Think there is a big chance Kris Pendlebury may get picked up but after years of thinking Rose and Meyer might have been I have gone cold on sticking my neck out.

Video of Wangannen:

http://www.mediafire.com/?zdu0mfvm5z0

Will Add Donaldson Video Short;y

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=16412364#post16412364

If we are going 'now', then I'm not sure my two favourites -swingmen Tighe and Donaldson will get in our first round rookie pick. Leigh Brown seems to get in their (and already Reid's and NBrown's) way in the firsts.

Have tagger, let's grab him, then we have something approaching a full deck list.

Also don't discount Kris Pendlebury, older brother of Scott, for a spot. He is 23(?) was outstanding in the VFL (and in particular VFL finals) last year and has been training with the boys who stayed behind from Arizona. Daniel Frost has also been training with us too but I doubt we would take him - again played well in the final he played in (Semi?).

Someone I talk to Said that He asked Bucks about Daw and he said he thought his Kicking was Terrible - So they would not Draft Daw:(

im really keen on getting jaryd cachia as a rookie with one of our picks. i have nfi how he wasnt taken in the national draft.

good speed, very good endurance, hard at the ball, exceptional handball, decent kick, excellent overhead mark, tackles like a crazy person, solid build, ready for AFL footy, but most important of all, he believes that he belongs at AFL level. finished top 5 in the northern knights best and fairest despite only playing 10 games with them this year due to school footy. averaged 25 disposals in those games. massive shock when he didnt make the vic metro side (was also co-captain with tom scully of the under-16 vic metro team)

before i hear your cries of 'we need key-position players, not another midfielder!' im gonna point out something a lot of you guys seem to overlook. decent KPP 95% of the time dont last til the rookie draft. youd be hard done by to name a KKP playing regular AFL thats come up from the rookie draft (merett, rutten and glass is all i can come up with off the top of my head. and remember recruiting is far more advanced than 10 years ago when rutten and glass sliped through the system). If you want a quality KKP the national draft is where you should look. you are more likely to find quality midfielders that have slipped through to the rookie draft than you are KKP.

While im all for picking up a tall i reckon if there is a midfielder who we believe has a strong chance of making it then we should go for them rather than investing in a KKP just for the sake of it.

im really keen on getting jaryd cachia as a rookie with one of our picks. i have nfi how he wasnt taken in the national draft.

good speed, very good endurance, hard at the ball, exceptional handball, decent kick, excellent overhead mark, tackles like a crazy person, solid build, ready for AFL footy, but most important of all, he believes that he belongs at AFL level. finished top 5 in the northern knights best and fairest despite only playing 10 games with them this year due to school footy. averaged 25 disposals in those games. massive shock when he didnt make the vic metro side (was also co-captain with tom scully of the under-16 vic metro team)

before i hear your cries of 'we need key-position players, not another midfielder!' im gonna point out something a lot of you guys seem to overlook. decent KPP 95% of the time dont last til the rookie draft. youd be hard done by to name a KKP playing regular AFL thats come up from the rookie draft (merett, rutten and glass is all i can come up with off the top of my head. and remember recruiting is far more advanced than 10 years ago when rutten and glass sliped through the system). If you want a quality KKP the national draft is where you should look. you are more likely to find quality midfielders that have slipped through to the rookie draft than you are KKP.

While im all for picking up a tall i reckon if there is a midfielder who we believe has a strong chance of making it then we should go for them rather than investing in a KKP just for the sake of it.

Don't mind Cachia if we do go Mid(Hope Not) he would be 1 I hope we select,

Video of Cachia:

http://www.mediafire.com/?b5gub5xv4mo

The best un-drafted 2009 TAC player is Mitch Golby. Did his knee playing Vic Country but sees our physio, Dave Francis. By all accounts all is going really well with his re-hab. According to the powers to be at Gippsland he is a very accountable run and carry defender with potency in the midfield. But do we want another Gippsland boy?

With one more week to go before we finalise our full playing list for 2010 I have changed my tune somewhat and am really hoping the Pies to take a risk on one or two KP types over 190cm in the rookie draft. I know that it appears that we don’t rate the talent in this area this year but after recruiting a glut of midfielders in the last two National drafts (as well as last years rookie draft) I’m not sure there is anything to be gained by taking any more. The only talls we have brought in during this time are Leigh Brown and Lachlan Keefe. IMO we are better off taking a risk on a couple of talls that have a bit have shown obvious raw talent. We can then try and mould them into something a bit more and have them ready to make an impact when they will be required in a couple of years time.

Hine was quoted pre national draft this year that they were mindful of Presti coming towards the end of his career and this was a need they needed to look at filling. It wasn't addressed with our ND picks so I'm hoping we have our eyes on a KPD at 18. I am hoping for one of Grimes/Hartigan/Donaldson/Tighe here.

We could also do with some more depth at KPF IMO with the uncertainty over whether Dawes will come on or whether Rusling’s body will hold up. So at 34 I wouldn't mind us taking a chance on one of Levi Casboult/Tom Hill/Temel. Casboult would be my preference as an overage player this year at 198cm, 100kg he would be closer to senior footy than the other too. His goal kicking in the TAC this year of 41.14 shows he is also a very accurate kick for goal.

If we don't go tall with pick 34 I am not opposed to looking for another small crumbing type forward at 34. With the unexpected loss of Bennell and with Neon being closer to the end of his career than the start this could be an area we look to address. If this is the case I think Clinton Garlett from WA could be a good selection. Very clean user of the ball that brings others into the game. He also has the engine to go into the midfield if required. Wanganeen is also another that has been raised and would also be a worth a look.

I would be happy with a combination that involved any of those names but if I had to lock in a combo based on who I think will still be there come our picks I will go:

#18 Sean Tighe

#34 Levi Casboult; and

# 46 "The Lanky Yank" Shae Mac.

With one more week to go before we finalise our full playing list for 2010 I have changed my tune somewhat and am really hoping the Pies to take a risk on one or two KP types over 190cm in the rookie draft. I know that it appears that we don’t rate the talent in this area this year but after recruiting a glut of midfielders in the last two National drafts (as well as last years rookie draft) I’m not sure there is anything to be gained by taking any more. The only talls we have brought in during this time are Leigh Brown and Lachlan Keefe. IMO we are better off taking a risk on a couple of talls that have a bit have shown obvious raw talent. We can then try and mould them into something a bit more and have them ready to make an impact when they will be required in a couple of years time.

Hine was quoted pre national draft this year that they were mindful of Presti coming towards the end of his career and this was a need they needed to look at filling. It wasn't addressed with our ND picks so I'm hoping we have our eyes on a KPD at 18. I am hoping for one of Grimes/Hartigan/Donaldson/Tighe here.

We could also do with some more depth at KPF IMO with the uncertainty over whether Dawes will come on or whether Rusling’s body will hold up. So at 34 I wouldn't mind us taking a chance on one of Levi Casboult/Tom Hill/Temel. Casboult would be my preference as an overage player this year at 198cm, 100kg he would be closer to senior footy than the other too. His goal kicking in the TAC this year of 41.14 shows he is also a very accurate kick for goal.

If we don't go tall with pick 34 I am not opposed to looking for another small crumbing type forward at 34. With the unexpected loss of Bennell and with Neon being closer to the end of his career than the start this could be an area we look to address. If this is the case I think Clinton Garlett from WA could be a good selection. Very clean user of the ball that brings others into the game. He also has the engine to go into the midfield if required. Wanganeen is also another that has been raised and would also be a worth a look.

I would be happy with a combination that involved any of those names but if I had to lock in a combo based on who I think will still be there come our picks I will go:

#18 Sean Tighe

#34 Levi Casboult; and

# 46 "The Lanky Yank" Shae Mac.

Good Read,

That also be a Good Rookie Draft - I am a Fan of Casboult but I think he could go Early in the Rookie Draft.

Video of Casboult:

http://www.mediafire.com/?rg23hr1zq5m

I thought that was an interesting comment too, but maybe we thought we'd be able to pick up Sam Grimley (199cm) at pick #62 as a bit of a smokey, as there was talk we were interested after Hawthorn snaffled him before then. It's very hard to know what attributes the recruiters prioritise when looking at talls though, so who knows who would be top of their list?

He's a decent mark and kick, but he seems to really struggle when the ball hits the deck. I'm not entirely sold on Casboult, unfortunately. Tom Hill is a better package for mine.

Agree on that point, but I don't know much about Garlett. Is he any relation to Cruize or Jeff, already in the AFL system? Wanganeen sounds like a nice choice from what I've heard, not sure if he'll get to #18 but you never know... Also have you seen/formed an opinion of Robbie Hicks, a small forward for PEGS/Vic Metro who would fit a similar need?