2010 Fixture Released

Future Star

http://www.afl.com.au/fixture/tabid/10586/default.aspx

14 Matches at the G (Includes the 7 of the first 8 with the other at Etihad)

9 Saturday Matches (3 Being at Night, 1 in Melb, 1 in Darwin, 1 in Bris)

2 Friday Matches (1 at night, Round 22 in the Day)

Looks like a very good fixture for us. 17 matches in Victoria. Unfortunately for me i will be playing footy for all those saturday matches other than that im happy.

At least we don't have to go to Etihad against the Bombers and deal with that fully ticketed bullshit. Add the fact we get the Swans at the G, Richmond twice and more Saturdays. Overall, pretty happy with the draw.

Hi guys and girls.

I've updated my fixture builder with the 2010 dates.

It builds CSV, iCal and PDF fixtures to import into Outlook/Thunderbird/Google Calendar/etc. Obviously the PDF is for printing!

You can customise your calendars, set reminders, categories, etc.

I have also built iCal (ics) calendars you can subscribe to, which will be updated with scores etc. once the season has started.

To create a customised calendar, go to: http://www.thismonkey.com/cgi-bin/football-fixture.pl?start=2010&end=2010&type=ha&code=afl

and to subscribe to 2010 calendars, go to: http://offsite.thismonkey.com/fixtures/afl/calendars/aus/2010/index.html

Please leave feedback if you like it, hate it, or think it needs improvement.

(You can find other football codes at http://www.thismonkey.com)

Thanks,
Go Pies,
Scott

At least we don't have to go to Etihad against the Bombers and deal with that fully ticketed bullshit. Add the fact we get the Swans at the G, Richmond twice and more Saturdays. Overall, pretty happy with the draw.

This schedule is EXACTLY the kind of head start I was hoping we might get in 2010. We have a real chance to scrape into the finals with the draw we've got here IMO.

Maybe in terms of the numbers of games in Melbourne, but we're going to be up against it after 5 rounds.

Hawthorn, Collingwood, Adelaide, Richmond, Brisbane.

We're likely to be 1-4 after Round 5.

We will also get ambushed from Rounds 10-14, where we're likely to lose 5 straight:

Geelong, Carlton, Collingwood, Adelaide, St Kilda.

Scheduling wise this is decent, football wise this is shit.

We'll most likely start the season 2-7, **** the times and places of games it's a shit draw when you look at who we play and what round we play them.

We'll be scraping to get out of the bottom four.

Rd1 - Hawthorn
Rd2 - Collingwood
Rd3 - Adelaide
Rd4 - Richmond
Rd5 - Brisbane
Rd6 - North @Etihad - Although playing at Etihad we can easily be smashed.
Rd7 - Bulldogs
Rd8 - Eagles
Rd9 - Port @TIO - Unknown how we'll play there.
Rd10 - Geelong @Skilled
Rd11 - Carlton
Rd12 - Collingwood
Rd13 - Adelaide @AAMI
Rd14 - St Kilda @Etihad
Rd15 - Essendon
Rd16 - Freo @Subiaco - Again highly doubtful at Subi.
Rd17 - Swans
Rd18 - Brisbane @Gabba
Rd19 - Richmond
Rd20 - Hawthorn
Rd21 - Port @AAMI - Even if it's Port, at AAMI we are no chance.
Rd22 - North

8 possible wins there and of course there's the chance of a couple of upsets just as it's possible for us to drop games against a Freo at the MCG or North at Etihad. Don't expect finals.

I love your opptimism and enthusiasm W33 :thumbsu:

Not sure if we'll scrape into the 8 - but we will get a bit more exposure in this draw and should get a few decent home crowds which is just what we need.

8 possible wins there and of course there's the chance of a couple of upsets just as it's possible for us to drop games against a Freo at the MCG or North at Etihad. Don't expect finals.

I'm more optimistic than you with some of these matches though mate. But you'd have guessed that already, I suspect ;)

I'd give us a pretty decent chance against Adelaide at the 'G, all things considered - and given that we beat Brisbane in 2008 with, undoubtedly, a substantially weaker team on the field than we'd be likely to have for this Round 5 fixture, I feel good about our prospects for that one too.

And then there's Round 1 against Hawthorn - without Franklin.

Given that we ended up within 3 goals of the Hawks in 2008 when they had him out there, and weren't beaten by a particularly greater margin against them in 2009, I seriously think we've got a fair sniff of a chance in this match as well.

Rd1 - Hawthorn-50/50
Rd2 - Collingwood-50/50
Rd3 - Adelaide-50/50
Rd4 - Richmond
Rd5 - Brisbane
Rd6 - North @Etihad
Rd7 - Bulldogs
Rd8 - Eagles
Rd9 - Port @TIO
Rd10 - Geelong @Skilled
Rd11 - Carlton-50/50
Rd12 - Collingwood-50/50
Rd13 - Adelaide @AAMI
Rd14 - St Kilda @Etihad
Rd15 - Essendon
Rd16 - Freo @Subiaco
Rd17 - Swans
Rd18 - Brisbane @Gabba
Rd19 - Richmond
Rd20 - Hawthorn
Rd21 - Port @AAMI-50/50
Rd22 - North

That's what i reckon is possible for next season, 10 wins. And turn those 50/50's into wins (highly doubtful for all of them) then that's 16 wins! :eek:;):rolleyes::cool:

So we're in serious danger of breaking our drought on the road against Port Adelaide in Darwin. :cool:

I'm more optimistic than you with some of these matches though mate. But you'd have guessed that already, I suspect ;)

I wouldn't say optimistic, I'd say unreasonable.

I'd give us a pretty decent chance against Adelaide at the 'G, all things considered - and given that we beat Brisbane in 2008 with, undoubtedly, a substantially weaker team on the field than we'd be likely to have for this Round 5 fixture, I feel good about our prospects for that one too.

You are completely underestimating Adelaide and overrating us, we look good for the future but you have put unreasonable expectations on a group of kids.

Adelaide are a top 4 team and it will matter little where we play them, of course we are the slightest (0.01%) chance of an upset but to the level you underestimate Adelaide is astounding.

And then there's Round 1 against Hawthorn - without Franklin.

Given that we ended up within 3 goals of the Hawks in 2008 when they had him out there, and weren't beaten by a particularly greater margin against them in 2009, I seriously think we've got a fair sniff of a chance in this match as well.

We also got smashed by 104 points as well in 2008, just because we got within 3 goals later on in 08 and then 6 goals in 09 doesn't mean we'll get close this time.

I have high hopes for our future but unlike you I know developing these kids properly takes time and I don't expect finals, I expect about 7-8 wins and more improvement from Morton, Watts, Jurrah, etc.

Scheduling wise this is decent, football wise this is shit.

We'll most likely start the season 2-7, **** the times and places of games it's a shit draw when you look at who we play and what round we play them.

We'll be scraping to get out of the bottom four.

Rd1 - Hawthorn
Rd2 - Collingwood
Rd3 - Adelaide
Rd4 - Richmond
Rd5 - Brisbane
Rd6 - North @Etihad - Although playing at Etihad we can easily be smashed.
Rd7 - Bulldogs
Rd8 - Eagles
Rd9 - Port @TIO - Unknown how we'll play there.
Rd10 - Geelong @Skilled
Rd11 - Carlton
Rd12 - Collingwood
Rd13 - Adelaide @AAMI
Rd14 - St Kilda @Etihad
Rd15 - Essendon
Rd16 - Freo @Subiaco - Again highly doubtful at Subi.
Rd17 - Swans
Rd18 - Brisbane @Gabba
Rd19 - Richmond
Rd20 - Hawthorn
Rd21 - Port @AAMI - Even if it's Port, at AAMI we are no chance.
Rd22 - North

Rare as it is, I agree with you Dez, this coming year 8 wins is the likely outcome (100% improvement). Bail's has already said the season will be about getting as much game time as possible into the kids, while this is happening you can't expect continuity of performance until 2011/2012...

My big problem is, I still can't see who is going kick enough goals for us to match the majority of the other teams....

You are completely underestimating Adelaide and overrating us

Well given that we ended up going down by 3 goals against them back in Round 5, without anything approximating a forward line in that match IMO, and could've been closer in spite of that, I do think we'll have something of a chance against them at the 'G this time round.

Incidentally, the margin against the Hawks in that Round 9 match this year was 22 points- definitely not 6 goals...

My big problem is, I still can't see who is going kick enough goals for us to match the majority of the other teams....

I agree with this. Its going to be a pretty even spread this year - with quite a few goals coming from the midfield I think.

If Bate and Petterd can take the next step they might help out - and if Jurrah continues he will kick a few. Wonnamaerri should be good for a handful of goals but I will be absolutely stoked if Watts can kick 3 or 4 goals in a few games.

Well given that we ended up going down by 3 goals against them back in Round 5, without anything approximating a forward line in that match IMO, and could've been closer in spite of that, I do think we'll have something of a chance against them at the 'G this time round.

Incidentally, the margin against the Hawks in that Round 9 match this year was 22 points- definitely not 6 goals...

You really need to stop using past matches as measures, just because you get close one game does in no way, shape or form mean that you will get closer or win the next time.

Agreed. Also, this year our opponents knew full well that our priorities were building based and they prepared accordingly (resting players, less defensive accountability, etc).

loving all the optimism here, I reckon 7-9 wins should be the aim given that draw, it's not too bad all in all.
More important is getting a higher level of cohesion amongst the guys who are the core of the team going forward - Watts, Scully, Trengove, Grimes, Morton etc.
I look forward to it.

Well no, it doesn't necessarily mean that, but I'm pretty confident that we'll have a substantially stronger team on the field for these games in 2010 than we did in the previous matchups I was talking about there.

So yeah, I'm going into next year believing that we certainly could improve on those kinds of close results.

Ill be disappointed with <6 wins, satisfied with 6-7 wins and happy with 7>.

I think like last year Ill be looking for a few of the less tangible ascpects to our season such improvement from middle tier players and solid performances from the younger group.

http://www.afl.com.au/fixture/tabid/10586/default.aspx

14 Matches at the G (Includes the 7 of the first 8 with the other at Etihad)

9 Saturday Matches (3 Being at Night, 1 in Melb, 1 in Darwin, 1 in Bris)

2 Friday Matches (1 at night, Round 22 in the Day)

Looks like a very good fixture for us. 17 matches in Victoria. Unfortunately for me i will be playing footy for all those saturday matches other than that im happy.

best draw we've had for a decade

I've always liked Sunday matches because I've normally played footy on the Saturday. I'm a 50/50 to play football next year but with that many Saturday games...I may have to give it a miss.

We really should be aiming for about 8 wins. We could have gotten 5-6 this year if we gave a stuff in the Richmond and North Melbourne games.