2011 Draft Discussion

Reactionary poster??? The draft was done last year mate, and there have been question marks about the lions decision to pass on darling and harper. You say drafting is done for 3-4 years down the track...spot on. Guess what mate? We need another strong contested marking forward for the post brown era. I have been watching darling and cant help but feel we missed the boat with a chance to get a player like darling learning his craft under brown. If that makes me reactionary, then so be it. But you obviously down read all my posts.

I guess in the coming years the recruiting staff are confident in landing a couple of quality forwards...lets hope so after a obvious missed chance.

The thing is, we were not the only ones to pass on Darling. And after Fev there's an argument to made that we passed due to his off-field background as well as the fact that he was recovering from his serious head injury which may have affected him long term.

To just look at his performance now and talk about missing the boat is to totally ignore the context in which that drafting decision was made.

The thing is, we were not the only ones to pass on Darling. And after Fev there's an argument to made that we passed due to his off-field background as well as the fact that he was recovering from his serious head injury which may have affected him long term.

To just look at his performance now and talk about missing the boat is to totally ignore the context in which that drafting decision was made.

Yeah i understand the reason why he was a slider, but there were 2 teams who had the picks to roll the dice on a player like darling who has for a long time had the qualities of a top 10 pick...lions and eagles had the luxury to snap him up while still draft safe picks. I also wonder how much communication there was between the board and recruitiing staff in regards to fevs place in the team...in hindsight it looks like the board was ready to pull the trigger on fev and just waiting for another slip up...drafting a ready made forward talent to develop would seem like the best strategy, but we see the lions playing our 2 best ruckman up forward due to lack of confidence in cornelius and retzlaff.

But i guess life goes on and lessons may or may not be learnt depending on how the recruiting staff view their drafting preformance

Back on topic, we hear alot about elton, but anyone else got mail on other quality tall forwards...in particular ones with some core strenght.

I think with the compo pick we also need to find a harry taylor type who can make a impact early in his career...any names to keep an eye on?

Robinson has had Ratten coaching him POBT and despite that he has been a pretty reasonable player so far. My point is picking them is one thing developing them is another.

I was very disappointing we didn't go with Darling on talent as I really liked him but even I didn't expect him to look at good as he has. The pace he is showing and the defensive work is fantastic. Karnesis looks like a classy HFFer and a true goal scorer so he will definately be handy but he looks like a lot of ground to make up. Then again I guess if he comes out and plays like Fyfe in the second half of the year it would be very nice.

Robinson has had Ratten coaching him POBT and despite that he has been a pretty reasonable player so far. My point is picking them is one thing developing them is another.

Not a comment on the players Quigley. More the "jump the gun" opinions where drafting decisions are hailed or derided based on nothing more than a game or two. As I said on a less visible thread, I'd have Robinson in our side - just not instead of Rich, Redden or Banfield.

. Karnesis looks like a classy HFFer and a true goal scorer so he will definately be handy but he looks like a lot of ground to make up. .

With all due respect Q i'm not sure why he has a lot of ground to make up - he didn't asked to be drafted a head of Darling - he just got drafted there. He just needs to work on being the best footballer he can for our club. Shouldn't be comparisions at all.

I tend to agree. Collingwood have shown that a smaller / faster / fitter side in general is the way football is heading. Obviously they still have a few talls - Jolly, Cloke, Dawes, Tarrant. But I think the future of footy is heading towards having a smaller side in general, in keeping with the fast nature & incredibly physically demanding style of footy played these days.
good to see someone else agrees my god how a decent crumber would have been good last night:eek: of course brisbane will need a couple of talls but seriously their lack of crumbers is annoying the absolute shit out of me and as soon as i saw polec was sub i knew brisbane were no chance because as we all know brisbane are far from the fastest team going around and to see a very good young quick midfielder start as sub was extremely depressing

I wonder if NT Thunder small forward Ross Tungatalum is interested in re-igniting his AFL career? Is playing some good footy from what I've seen on the TV. I reckon a bit of flair would be a good thing in our forward line.

He sure has been in good touch. His talent is unquestioned just a matter of Ross deciding he wants to play AFL. Would fit the bill at the lions perfectly.

There is a fascinating book out there called Outliers which focuses on outliers both in sport and education and business.It postulates a 10000 hours rule ie in order to become procient at any skill such as footy or playing the violin , you need to put in 10000 hours of work.In relation to kids who are big at an early age, usually because their birthday is early in the particular sporting year, they are generally picked in rep teams because they are better at an early age.It then becomes a self fulfilling prophecy - because they are in rep teams they get better coaching more matches and get to the 10000 hours quicker and so always have an advantage.He refers to a canadian under age ice hockey team where 3/4 of the team were born in Jan feb March with the cut off date being 1 Jan.He also gives similar examples for soccer.The point of this ramble is that players seldom catch up to the bigger players - waiting for someone to grow into their body can be a fruitless task.Brownie was always big and always had advantages.Darling will be the same.I dont know but I expect Darlings birthday is near the cut off date for junior footy meaning he may well have played agaginst kids almost a year younger.ramble over.

Wow. Really interesting. I think we all have the impression that the bigger kids don't have to develop the range of skills because their size allows them to dominate (the Tom Hawkins effect, if you will). But what you are saying also makes sense - that a player's size will make them more likely to (a) receive better coaching (b) play more (I guess both in terms of minutes played and higher levels of footy) and (c) play against more proficient opposition.

Fascinating.

The argument goes further to state that the cohort of slightly larger slightly older players actually eventually push out the perhaps equally talented slightly younger slightly smaller cohort who dont get the opportunities and they are then lost to the game at least at higher levels.

Funnily enough, I recall a sports program talking about successful athletes in a range of sports, and maybe they were referring to similar stats, but they found a much greater percentage of successful athletes are born between January and April/May, maybe because of the reasons morsie mentioned. It even went further and said that prospective parents who harbour a wish for their future children to be athletes should aim to have their children born in those months...interesting nonetheless.

Personally I really rate Chad Wingard and would love him to have a quiet champs and be available when we pick. This kid will be a special player and if he was available to hell with the talls take him.

For the most part though I think that this year if you are tossing up between two players one tall and one short you take the tall.

Chad is a great kid and was a VERY promising basketballer from Murray Bridge in SA before going to Sturt. Has been going very well for a 17 year old in the SANFL.. Will be SA's number 1 target at the u18 champs i imagine.

Not sure if any of you have mentioned this kid but Alex Sexton, looks to be a great talent. Most Likely will finish up with Gold Coast or Brisbane.
[FONT=Verdana,Arial,sans-serif]“His composure, his attack on the footy, his speed, his kicking under pressure, his ability to kick goals when they really counted in the final game, his work through the midfield … he just glides over the ground beautifully,” Sheahan said.[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana,Arial,sans-serif]“He’s got all the attributes. And at 185cm he’s that lovely size who you’d thing is going to develop into a perfect midfielder for AFL.”[/FONT]

The whole article can be read here.

Not quite related to the 2011 draft but Borders in Brisbane City had copies of Emma Quayle's "The Draft" for dirt cheap prices - 80% off RRP. Think they are shutting today though.

Ooo...could someone pretty please grab me a copy?

Really hope we draft Patton. Exactly the type of player we need and could replace Brown when he retires. Here's a bio i've wrote on him for my blog if you guys are interested.

Name: Jonathan Patton
Height: 197cm
Weight: 96kg
DOB: 20/05/93
Position: Key Forward
Club: Eastern Ranges (VIC)

Bio: I will admit i didn’t know much about him before this year but after watching a few TAC cup matches you can easily tell he’s an elite talent. Players like these don’t come in every draft. Patton is a massive unit. A very team orientated player, mobile around the ground, one of the best overhead markers i’ve seen in the junior level, Darling like attack on the ball, clean hands and elite disposal for a man of his size. Despite getting double teamed in the TAC Cup he still manages to kick bags. One player to seriously keep an eye out for.