2011 Draft Discussion

We no doubt need some more quality mids. Even though we don't look too bad on paper for potential talent in the guts, we simply can't rely on those kids coming good. Problem is, we still need some KPP as well. I guess towards the end of the year we will know how the KPP stock are looking. That may well determine our drafting strategy. If we can get a decent KPP in the 20's, we might go for another top mid, if there are only a couple of KPP and they will most likely be gone by 20, then we will have to go them first.

We do need a good genuine inside midfielder. Someone who is going to help with the clearances once Black is gone. Good hands and has the ability to break through congestion.

Taylor Adams
September 20, 1993, 181cm, 80kg (Geelong Falcons)
Taylor is a real hard nut in the midfield. He's got good vision and good hands and he's fantastic in close around the stoppages.

Lol'd at Whitfield dominating Tassie as an underage player. He's going to be a star.

Watch out for Gordon (Geelong Falcons/Vic C Full forward) who played a solid game and Elliott (skilled small forward) who played a top game.

For Tassie i'll keep an eye out for Dobosz, pretty easy with that name (kicked 7) and their captain Mckenzie. I'll write a blog up tonight/tomorrow of the round one stuff if you're interested.

Lol'd at Whitfield dominating Tassie as an underage player. He's going to be a star.

Watch out for Gordon (Geelong Falcons/Vic C Full forward) who played a solid game and Elliott (skilled small forward) who played a top game.

For Tassie i'll keep an eye out for Dobosz, pretty easy with that name (kicked 7) and their captain Mckenzie. I'll write a blog up tonight/tomorrow of the round one stuff if you're interested.
That would be great. Cheers mate:thumbsu:

I'll try to get it up tomorrow.

Also based on needs i'd love us to draft Elliot. He's a very quick small forward, great skills and mark with Banfield like forward line pressure. He's a Lions supporter also. :)

Hey guys. Blog is up, comments will be much appreciated. Tell me what you think!

NT v WA

Don’t kill me WA fans but i think their team lacked skills for a div one team and a half decent tall forward. It took the #1 2011 pick Stephen Coniglio and the underage Jaeger O'Meara to prevent a massive upset. Not taking anything away from NT who played their best game i’ve ever seen they play. After the 1st quarter they completely dominated WA. Lots of talent showed in this game and some very exiting play ended up in goals for NT and really put WA to the sword for most the game. It took something special for WA to win and with 6 goals in the last they got out of jail.

Players that stood out:

NT.

Anthony Tipungwuti – Was dangerous whenever he was near the ball and ran rings around his defender. Great skills and usually always hit the target. Finished with three goals.

Jed Anderson – NT’s best midfielder did some nice things and worked well in parts. Kicking at goal hurt him though with 3 behinds to his name.

Jordan Wilson – Played a Joel Bowden type of game and set up the play in the back. Draftable next year.

WA.

Stephen Coniglio – Was always going to put him there. Was BOG and was the reason WA won the game. Linked up beautifully and won his own ball. Finished with 26 disposals and 2 goals.

Jaeger O'meara – If he wasn’t BOG then he was extremely close to it. Along with Coniglio they stood tall when NT were dominating and finished with 26 disposals and 1 important goal.

Shannon Taylor – Another underage player who really exploded n the final term when the game was won. Finished with 17 disposals and the goal that started the comeback.

QLD v SA

Great game to watch if you’re a SA fan. They played a very exiting brand of footy with their “play on at any cost” strategy working wonders for them and QLD just couldn’t respond fast enough. While QLD’s skills let them down at times, they were still competitive and will hopefully respond next week against Vic Metro. They will need to bring in a key forward to provide a contestant and a big target up forward as they lacked that against SA.

SA ran out of the blocks with five goals in the first quarter but from there their kicking at goal cost them a massive win against QLD. They were always in control and had too much class around the ground. Definitely a team to keep an eye out for towards the end of the champs even if you’re not a SA fan.

Players that stood out:

SA.

Chad Wingard – Highly rated teen Wingard was tagged by AFL listed player Newell and was pretty quiet by his standards with 20 disposals but went forward in the 3rd to kick two quick goals.

Lachie Neale – Along with Wingard they dominated the QLD midfield with his stoppage work and contestant ball winning ability to give their forwards every opportunity to mark.

Mitchell Grigg – Started extremely well but faded late in the game. Has a good mark and a massive kick in him.

QLD.

Peter Yagmoor – Tried hard all day and was rewarded with 17 disposals and was one of the QLD players who played well.

Alex Sexton – Started well but also faded late in the game. Good skills and will most likely be picked up by GC.

Richard Newell – Biased but i think Newell was QLD’s best. Tagged SA’s best midfielder and probably beat him until Wingard kicked two quick goals in the 3rd. Will be interesting to see how he goes against the other dangerous mids.

NSW/ACT v VIC Metro.

As tipped by everyone Vic Metro were just too good for their opponent. Too much class across the ground, skill and quantity of quality (always wanted to say that). Vic Metro dominated from the start and continued to the end. Their ball movement and speed was too much for NSW and caught them out many times. The game was all over my half time. The one thing i was really looking forward to this match was to see how Patton was going to go; I was expecting him to kick a massive bag against a team like NSW but Hartley done an incredible job on him considering how often the ball came there and kept him quiet for the whole game.

Players that stood out:

NSW.

Only two players deserve mention for NSW and they are...

Michael Hartley – Every club who is in need for a KPD will be looking at his progress from now on. Great spoiling against Patton all day and just beat him whenever the ball came to him. Just too good on the day for the highly rated forward.

Jarrod Witts – Easily won the ruck battle against highly rate Cope. Finished with 12 disposals, 5 marks and 24 hitouts.

VIC Metro.

I can add half their team here but i went with..

Sam Frost – Started at CHB but drifted forward at times. Good awareness, skills and marking ability. Finished with 25 disposals, 8 marks and 2 goals.

Brandon Ellis – Stared at HBF. Great kick, ability to find space and win his own while also doing his job defensively. Ended up with 29 disposals and 7 marks.

Rory Atkins – An underage player who only 9 disposals but i think he showed a lot. Great speed and loves to compete and kicked 2.2 for his effort.

TAS v VIC Country.

It was actually a pretty good game even though it was done by three quarter time, a lot of exiting parts of the game and individuals play made it for a very exiting final game of the round. For some reason it reminded me of the replay of the 2010 grand final. Vic Country dominated the first quarter with the help of a big breeze but then Tassie were more competitive lead by their captain and their full forward with the help of that scoring wind on their side, they kicked 4 goals to 2 in the 2nd quarter. It was all downhill from there with Vic Country big name players adding another gear to their game and started dominating all the KPI’s mainly including the stoppages and later started predicting the play to finish the game off. Tassie got close due to country not been able to kick straight in the last – two goals and 10 behinds showed this. So it didn't really show how dominate Vic Country were.

Players that stood out:

TAS.

Julian Dobosz – Don’t know much about him but will really keep progress on him from now on after he killed the Vic Country defence. Tasmania’s full forward kicked seven! To give his side every chance to win.

John Mckenzie – Their captain was excellent as usual. Lead by example and won his fair share of the contestant ball and clearances. Good skills and leadership but he just needed more help and couldn’t beat the Country star midfield lineup. Finished with 24 disposals.

Larry Owen – Despite not kicking any goals i thought Owen worked really hard, presented well up the ground and gave Dobosz every chance to get a one on one. Finished with 18 disposals and 5 marks.

VIC C.

Jamie Elliott – Was draftable last year but wasn’t picked up. Took his game to the next level this year and seriously one to look out for now if he continues those type of performance. Just too smart and fast for his opponent. Ended up with 16 disposals, 4 goals and provided Banfield like forward line pressure which resulted in 10 tackles.

Lachie Whitfield – The #1 2011 pick rang rings around the midfield. Very calm and collected, nice skills and leap. Got 24 damaging disposals and 2 goals.

Sam Gordon – Was solid but it seems every forward had disappointing games apart from Dobosz so i’ll add Gordon in here. Excellent contestant marker and a good kick at goal. Only seven disposals but kicked 4 goals – 2 behinds.

Clay Smith – Quick shout out to Smith. When Vic Country started dominating the 2nd half Smith was the one who lead the charge for most of the game. Won his own ball and gave it off the running outside players who used it well. Simon Black type clearance work.

Seeing as though were not playing to well and i suspect this kid will go pretty early, anyone interested in Will Hoskin-Elliott. Has got great hands and a good kick. Video of him here.

I like him but we already have a few players like him. Hadley has been great over the years picking up players based on our needs so i doubt he'll pick him.

Just a few players that might get a look in based on needs:

Mckenzie - Another Tassie boy. Great inside mid but his height will hurt him.
Wingard - Outside mid who can play forward.
Hayden Crozier - Good utility. Great upside.
Sumner - Goal kicking mid with damaging disposal.
Boseley - KPD.
Devon Smith - Big fan of him. Love his kicking action.
Elliot - Quick small forward with super skills.
Elton - (If Clark leaves then Elton will be a good replacement. Hasn't had the best start to the year but he's super talented.)

For the sake of discussion i've compiled a bit of information of our recent draft history. I've taken into account the drafts of 2003 - 2010, which is 8 years of drafting. I decided to have a detailed look at just what we have got in return for these drafting years. I've broken it into 2 groups, 03-07 and 08-10, which is 5 years vs 3 years.

Now just a note before i start, the total number of picks i list is the total overall, in some cases, such as rookie promotions or players being delisted and re-rookied, it's not really an extra pick. I didn't worry about adjusting for this, as i've just trying to get an overall picture, not every detail. Now, First up is the 03-07 group.

2003-2007
In this period of drafting we had a total of 51 draft picks. This includes ALL draft picks, National and Rookie. Of those 51 picks, we only currently have 12 players still on our list. These players are -

PLAYER (GAMES PLAYED)
- Adcock (110)
- Drummond (74)
- Clark (75)
- Patfull (109)
- Stiller (86)
- Bergs (54)
- Polkinghorne (49)
- Hanley (22)
- Austin (14)
- Collier (25)
- Hawksley (22)
- Sheldon (28)

Total Games = 668 (55.66 per player)

2008 - 2010
This period is shorter, only the 3 years so only a total of 31 picks. However we have 21 players from the 31 picks still on our list. Now given this includes recent drafts, we can't read too much into this, as many of these players are still on initial contracts. We don't know what the future holds for many of these players yet. But they are -

PLAYER (GAMES PLAYED)
- Rich (56)
- Redden (42)
- Banfield (32)
- Acorn (8)
- Rockliff (28)
- Harwood (7)
- Bartlett (0)
- Jessie O'Brien (11)
- Retzlaff (5)
- Goose (18)
- Beams (5)
- Polec (3)
- Karnezis (0)
- Lester (3)
- Green (3)
- Harvey (0)
- McCulloch (0)
- McCauley (3)
- Golby (0)
- Dyson (0)
- McKeever (0)

Total Games = 224 (10.66 per player / 16 per player not including players yet to debut)

16 games per player isn't too bad consider it is the last 3 years of drafting. Interesting point is from the 03-07 group, there is 7 or 8 players in our current best 22, from the 08-10 group there would be 5, maybe 6 in our best 22. It could be very possible we will end up with more best 22 players from this 3 years than the previous 5. Let's take a closer look at the 03-10 draft period seems we can judge that one a bit better.

Notable players drafted in this period but no longer with the club, Riska - pick 61, played 111 games for us. Daniel Pratt - rookie pick 16, now at North. Cam Wood - pick 18, traded to pies. Sherman - pick 45, traded to doggies. Proud - pick 22, delisted. Henderson - pick 8, traded to Carlton. Not a lot of players there that we are missing out on, although there is 3 players picked in the first 22 picks no longer with us. Overall, not a lot of talent for 5 years and 51 picks of drafting. We had 4 picks in this period of top 30 picks that went on to do nothing and 29 of the 51 players taken are not currently on any AFL list.

It will be very very interesting to look back in about 3 years time at this draft period to see how many players we still have on our list, and stack it up to our previous years of drafting.

2003-2007
In this period of drafting we had a total of 51 draft picks. This includes ALL draft picks, National and Rookie. Of those 51 picks, we only currently have 12 players still on our list. These players are -

PLAYER (GAMES PLAYED)
- Adcock (110)
- Drummond (74)
- Clark (75)
- Patfull (109)
- Stiller (86)
- Bergs (54)
- Polkinghorne (49)
- Hanley (22)
- Austin (14)
- Collier (25)
- Hawksley (22)
- Sheldon (28)

Total Games = 668 (55.66 per player)

Nice work Chopper.

the 03-07 really highlights that we are missing those middle aged players. Thank god for the rookie list because 8 of those players are in our best 22 and 3 of them were through the rookie list.

It's sad that we only have 2 first round draft picks on our list and if we lose Clark then Leuey is all we have to show for 5 years of first round draft picks. From memory Adcock and Collier are the only second round picks still on the list....:thumbsdown: If only we got Hadley earlier.

If you look at 2002, of the 9 players we drafted, only one is left (Merrett) and three are at other clubs (Jared Brennan, Daniel Pratt and Joel McDonald). We also drafted Corrie (53 games) and Selwood (75 games). Other three were rookie draft picks.

I think we need a tall forward and key backman with our first 2 picks. Tall forwards usually go before backs so the 2 standout forwards seem to be Patton & elton? I havent noticed much talk on the tall backs...any ideas?

I think we need inside midfielders who can get first hands on the ball. We already get smashed in clearances and once Black retires we're in big trouble.

We need a lot or things unfortunately:

I think that the Standout KPF is Patton, and I would hope he slides to us but hopefully another KPF stands up.

Elton I wouldn't touch with our first pick, not worthy IMO as there was a reason that GWS didn't pick him up last year. he is like a less athletic version of ryder a tweener who doesn't have the height to play ruck, and lacks a bit to play KPF.

Other than that mids, but I agree that we should get two talls, one for each end, and hopefully a mid. Not adverse to trading a player like Clark.

I think that the Standout KPF is Patton, and I would hope he slides to us but hopefully another KPF stands up.

Perhaps we should put it about that he likes the piss and has been caught doing some dodgy business at a school camp? :D

Problem is our own club will probably believe the story and let him slide...:D

Offsider what are your thoughts on Longer being any more successful in the F role than Clark. I haven't see him this year and thought he was a bit overrated last year but he has some talent and looked like he had potential there.

FWIW another option is Hender but I am not sure we will see much of him at the Champs.

No Longer is a very good ruck, probably top 10, and the best ruck. He is a better ruck than FF, similar to Hill, but I would not swap Longer for Clark.

Clark has more athleticism than Longer, and is proven and I wouldn't take the risk.

I would take Talia later in the draft, a good lock down KPD, who should make it as a good AFL player IMO

Talia would be a great get for us. Can play a lock down CHB type role or a 3rd tall rebounding type. Someone i would love to get with the compo/2nd round pick if he's available.

For our first rounder i really hope we take Devon Smith. Vossy will love him, he reminds me so much of Riloi.

On the rucks I wouldn't be wasting a high pick on one. Longer played in the forward line last year at the Champs and got quite a few people excited. I was thinking he might be a bit of a Tippett type player up there.

If we wanted a ruck I would just wait for the rookie draft and take Cabrera. Very raw but great height and he reminds me quite a bit of Bellchambers at this age. Definate talent there and he would be a cheap Qld option.

Just thinking about another forward who could have a big fall in the draft. Shane Kersten has had elbow surgery and will miss most of the year. He was very impressive last year and is a leading forward very much in line with Darling from this year. I would love for him to fall to us with our compo pick but I don't know how realistic that is.