2011 Draft Discussion

We should be circling around Melbourne and Adelaide's uncontracted players, the likes of Sylvia and Morton are off contract and could be picked up in the psd if we were able to make a fair offer.

Both players would add a lot to our team.

We should be circling around Melbourne and Adelaide's uncontracted players, the likes of Sylvia and Morton are off contract and could be picked up in the psd if we were able to make a fair offer.

These types would be long gone by the time it was our PSD pick.

I wouldn't touch Morton, don't need a pea heart around the club... Sylvia will demand good coin and unless he showed the desire to play here I wouldn't look at him.

Yep. How many of us last year (including me) thought "Karnezis... pick 25... wtf Hadley... he is going at pick 60 in phantom drafts... what are you doing".

I've realised that the "BigFooty recruiters" are posting on BigFooty for a reason, and the club recruiters are recruiting for clubs for a reason.

Thats the beauty of draft day...so many variables and opinions which make for great reading.

Every season there are a handful of bargain picks that start out as "shock selections"...but given time they develop and the recruiters look like gods.

But end of the day it comes down to hard work once a player is on the list, and usually the true measure of ones character and work ethics isnt exactly realise until they are 19-20 years old...hence we some fail and some make it regardless of under 18 hype or lack of it

Pretty clear we need key position defense after today. We just couldn't match it with the crows forwards

Yeah cant agree more If available I would take Talia with our second pick or Andrew Bosley

Talia is Proberally the best KPD in the draft

Bosley is someone who I rate, he played really good on patton. I actually think he will go second round in the mock draft they have him around pick 60+.

Has to be a KPD IMO. Go for the
Mids next year in the super draft
On KPDs in the draft, there are two points to be made when you look back over previous drafts:

1. If you disregard the likes of Reid and Hurley who played junior footy at both ends, very few pure KPDs get taken in the top 10.

2. Those that do tend to be successful (although it is a small sample).

But right now, the draft would appear to be a little light on for talls, let alone pure defenders. Unless someone pops out of the blue like Phil Davis did in 2008 after missing most of the season with injury, I think it is unlikely that we'll take a key defender with our first selection.

Over the next two seasons, I'd like to see us add to our list:

3-4 KPPs (if Clark leaves, one needs to have rucking ability)
2 forward of centre mid types
2-3 elite users of the footy (1-2 of whom can play in defence)
1 development ruck
2 quick small forward/defenders

That is taking 10-12 players - big changes for our list.

Chris25 has us taking an interesting mix - a mid with the first selection and a couple of KPPs with our compo and 2nd round selection, and 2 later selection small forwards.

It is way too early for phantoms to be particularly accurate but, as a mix of player types (ie not judging individual players), I'd be OK with that as a draft outcome.

- Dom Tyson
- Bussey
- Mihocek
- Newman
- Zorko

If we get another end of first round selection, then we may not draft as far down as the 4th round.

First pick is pretty much always bet available but KPD must be a priority IMO. I think we should also look at trading for a KPD this year. CHB is needed urgently IMO
I'm OK with that. Picking up 2 KPPs in the middle of the draft would give us options. But there's no point us saying "first pick must be a tall defender" if there isn't one in the mix.

Would be disappointed if we took Bussey with our second pick. He has been extremely average this year and there's much better talent available.

Tall Defenders at the Draft Combine Released

First pick should be best available and in this draft it looks unlikely that this will be a KPD. However with priority (almost certain at this stage) and compo pick we could pick one or two up there - or with our 2nd round pick.

Mohr interests me. 22years old, 195/98 & seems to be playing good footy in the VFL. Ready made.

Sorry to intrude (again :D)

Tim Mohr is a name being bantied around by a few boards.

Seem him quite a few times and he is exactly what is being said. I put this on the mature aged recruits thread.

Trent Shinners, 192cm, 96kg, 19/12/88, Tall Defender

Strong ever reliable key defender who has likened himself to Essendonina Michael Hurley for his ability "to compete in the air and flexibility to play at both ends of the ground.". An evergreen defender who could come in and play from day one, not to disimilar to Fremantle's VFL recruit Peter Faulks last year.

Tim Mohr, 195cm, 98kg, 19/10/1988, Defender

A key defender who crossed from Tasmania last year. His rapid rise from bit parts footballer to consistent VFL player has been narrowed down to the advice from his coach Bradley Gotch. Played under 18 football in the talented 2006 Mariners squad that included, Mitch Thorp, Jack Riewoldt, Tom Hislop and Colin Garland with some keen observers suggesting Mohr was as good as Riewoldt and Garland. With his party lifestyle behind him, could Mohr make it late into the AFL?

Tobias Thoolen, 196cm, 99kg, 23/2/1990, Defender

Some think, this former Collingwood rookie listed player was let go too early after being selected as an underager directly from placing second in the Pioneers best and fairest. He has come on strongly in the padt 12 months after being a somewhat of a bit parts player, finally settling in well in defence. He has added to his frame and is now a lot more mature. At (nearly) 21, he could well and truly be given another shot.

Kyle Hartigan, 194cm, 91kg, 7/11/1991, Defender

Another highly talented kid that was surprisingly overlooked in his draft class of '09. He has gone away and played some very good senior football. From the couple of games I have seen of him this year he is trying to be more counter active than reactive than this time two years ago when he seemed a pure stopper, one thing that had hung over his head. Some had Hartigan as a monty top 40 of his draft year, so anyone want a ready made KPD, come and get him.

These are the standout VFL key defenders.

Mohr has been a sensation for Casey since crossing from Tasmania, whilst Hartigan is a super stopper who has found a more attacking, offensive side to his game.

Thoolen and Shinners would be about equal 3rd (only just as Shinners has had some leg problems this year).

Thoolen was an underage rookie at Collingwood and is still young (21), has certainly come on in leaps and bounds since being delisted whilst Shinners is a super athlete who can play on talls or medium forwards and provides great rebound.

Not sure about some of the interstate mature aged KPD but thought I'd help you guys out.

If you want to know any more on them, feel free to ask away and i'll try and help you out.

Sorry to intrude (again :D)

Tim Mohr is a name being bantied around by a few boards.

Seem him quite a few times and he is exactly what is being said. I put this on the mature aged recruits thread.

Mohr has been a sensation for Casey since crossing from Tasmania, whilst Hartigan is a super stopper who has found a more attacking, offensive side to his game.

Thoolen and Shinners would be about equal 3rd (only just as Shinners has had some leg problems this year).

Thoolen was an underage rookie at Collingwood and is still young (21), has certainly come on in leaps and bounds since being delisted whilst Shinners is a super athlete who can play on talls or medium forwards and provides great rebound.

Not sure about some of the interstate mature aged KPD but thought I'd help you guys out.

If you want to know any more on them, feel free to ask away and i'll try and help you out.

Thanx, mate.:thumbsu: input appreciated.

Do you reckon the Lions will draft a mature age player? After seeing how good Barlow Duigan Puopolo and Smith have been.

So it looks like in this years draft will have 3 picks in the first round if the ladder finish how it does now. Will have pick 8 than two picks need the end of the first round were using the Compensation pick we got from the Suns and if we don't win two more games we get a Priority pick for not winning 5 games.

Do you reckon the Lions will draft a mature age player? After seeing how good Barlow Duigan Puopolo and Smith have been.

Bewick was a mature aged player as were Maguire and Dalziell in recent years. I would think we would be as likely to pick up a couple more as other clubs.

Being there isn't great depth to draft a future defensive player for the next 10 years, i would certainly just go best available in the draft, and look to pick up one of these mature guys to get us through another year. They might turn half decent, at worse they are worth a shot to see how they develop.

Season is nearly over and i can't wait to see how the draft order falls into place.

The GWS mini draft throws up a different slant. If we were to offer our first round, possible compensation and player or two it would affect our draft picks for this year. In my mind we won't just throw the majority of our draft picks at KDP but we will get a spread of players but there is the obvious need for KPP's. I do like the idea of third and/or fourth round mature KDP picks. Bigger guys tend to take longer to develop and though the AFL is a step up again physically and mentally they might be prepared for that step up. Combine will be interesting, lack of both foot skills and choice making are evident across the board and think that this is an area that needs to be taken into consideration when looking at players

in our list development, we need to ensure that we have the second-tier KPP both forward and back that can step in when the first-choice KPP go down with injury.

This has been one of the biggest single areas of concern this year that we have had no adequate replacement for either merrett or brown, added to that was/is the injuries to second and third tier players ie staker to a lesser degree lester and patful, leaving us very vulnerable in our back half, and young and inexperienced in a forward half (Karny corny & retzy).

whilst it is recognized that kpp take longer, i think we need to be inking some in and if the opportunity arises taking them.