2011 Draft Discussion

because Ports greatest need in midfield talent... so Longer is safe until #5.

When I've talked to Port fans they've been insisting ruck help is most important... after Brogan they only have Lobbe who most aren't sold on and Trengove who's better in defence.

I think Gorringe will eventually be traded back to Adelaide or Port...he is Cam Wood mark II.

having smith and longer as the ruck combo is much better for the future
Gorringe may go back to SA but he is far from a Wood clone. The guy is going to be a gun.

Besides, it is his first year. I really doubt the Suns will be writing him off just yet.

Gold Coast will be admitting to really stuffing up their recruitment if they draft another ruck with their first pick this year. They have a mountain of young rucks. They have both quantity and some quality and all, Fraser aside, are young. Then add the fact that Lynch and Day are easily big/athletic enough to play 2nd ruck if need be.

It would beggar belief if they take another ruck with their current list.

with the lions looking at recruiting a fair amount of talent next year in the highly regarded 'super draft', i cant see us not going best available this year with our first pick. Saying this i cant look beyond Will Hoskin-Elliot. Although i would be absolutely wrapped if we ended up with dom, it just looks less likely by the day that will happen. In regards to the key position dilemma i am confident that we will recruit well once again with our mid twenty picks. Players like Julian Dobosz, Andrew Boseley, Brodie Mihocek & even potentially Michael Talia could still be available so in my opinion i believe it would be a waste to recruit a tall with our first pick. I am excited as always to see how we end up recruiting it should be another well drafted year for the lions

Gorringe may go back to SA but he is far from a Wood clone. The guy is going to be a gun.

Besides, it is his first year. I really doubt the Suns will be writing him off just yet.

Gold Coast will be admitting to really stuffing up their recruitment if they draft another ruck with their first pick this year. They have a mountain of young rucks. They have both quantity and some quality and all, Fraser aside, are young. Then add the fact that Lynch and Day are easily big/athletic enough to play 2nd ruck if need be.

It would beggar belief if they take another ruck with their current list.

mmm...maybe. But I guess my opinion is tainted after I went to watch him play in the SANFL finals last year and he was extremely average...Im pretty sure he finished the game with 0 hitouts & 0 possessions. I just cant see him developing into a elite ruck. But longer is a gun and will be hard to pass up much like how the Lions couldnt resist with berger

When I've talked to Port fans they've been insisting ruck help is most important... after Brogan they only have Lobbe who most aren't sold on and Trengove who's better in defence.

yep they have alot of holes...but their midfield future consists of harlett and Boak...they need heaps more class in their and I just cant see them passing on either wingard, tyson, and the like

Unless we wanted to reach for a guy like Talia I think we go small in the first round and take a couple of talls in amongst our next three picks. I would be looking at the mature aged options as well.

I assume GWS will pick him up but Tim Mohr is definately one guy I would like us to pick. He is 22 and think he could step in next year if needed. If we went that way I would have no problem letting Maguire go. Strong guy with a bit of dash and a big leg.

Other KPDers I like who are still under 20 but have played well in the VFL this year - Jack Frost and Kyle Hartigan. I would be happy with either of those two.

mmm...maybe. But I guess my opinion is tainted after I went to watch him play in the SANFL finals last year and he was extremely average...Im pretty sure he finished the game with 0 hitouts & 0 possessions. I just cant see him developing into a elite ruck. But longer is a gun and will be hard to pass up much like how the Lions couldnt resist with berger
I think you are writing Gorringe off way too early and installing too much faith in Longer. One is a first year ruck, the other is a potential draftee. We'll be waiting 5 years before these types of judgements can be made.

Besides, it isn't your judgement that matters even though you may well prove to be correct. If the Gold Coast thought he was Cam Wood mark 2 they would hardly have used a high draft pick on him. They obviously rated him pretty highly. I just can't see that one year would change that. The only variable that I see is that Smith looks like a superstar in the making - is Gorringe superfluous? Possibly but I think that if Gorringe is superfluous, then Longer will be considered equally so.

If I were Gold Coast, I'd keep Gorringe on the list and give him and Smith a go as 1st ruck next year. If Gorringe shows signs of becoming the elite ruckman he was drafted to be, then it increases his trade value as well as his value to the Gold Coast (if they can fit both into their side). If he doesn't do much good and they lose faith, next year will be the year to trade him (even then it might be too early). Drafting Longer will create a 3 way logjam, even assuming the other 3-4 ruck types on the list aren't pushing for senior footy.

I think you are writing Gorringe off way too early and installing too much faith in Longer. One is a first year ruck, the other is a potential draftee. We'll be waiting 5 years before these types of judgements can be made.

Besides, it isn't your judgement that matters even though you may well prove to be correct. If the Gold Coast thought he was Cam Wood mark 2 they would hardly have used a high draft pick on him. They obviously rated him pretty highly. I just can't see that one year would change that. The only variable that I see is that Smith looks like a superstar in the making - is Gorringe superfluous? Possibly but I think that if Gorringe is superfluous, then Longer will be considered equally so.

If I were Gold Coast, I'd keep Gorringe on the list and give him and Smith a go as 1st ruck next year. If Gorringe shows signs of becoming the elite ruckman he was drafted to be, then it increases his trade value as well as his value to the Gold Coast (if they can fit both into their side). If he doesn't do much good and they lose faith, next year will be the year to trade him (even then it might be too early). Drafting Longer will create a 3 way logjam, even assuming the other 3-4 ruck types on the list aren't pushing for senior footy.

mmm...of coarse they didnt think he was a cam wood Mark II. You should also note that they used pick 2 on Bennell...that looks like it could be a disaster pick.

But you are right, rucks take time...Still I think go can still see in early days in the AFL who is most likely to make it to the Elite level...I just dont think Gorringe has it in him to play above the level of a "good" AFL player.

but Yes time will tell I guess...one thing for certain is that it appeared that Silvani (GWS list manager) was super super keen on Longer when interviewed. And I am sure after 3-4 years on developing/trialling all their many youngsters they will have in their plans to expect to be trading a percentage of them as teams come knocking...so why not have a little depth in young rucks and decide later on who to keep?

Gorringe is in his first season of AFL football. He wouldn't have debuted this year if not for being selected by the Suns. You must on some quality to gear to be writing him off at this stage of his career.

Not writing him off as a good AFL player??? Just giving reason to why I think the GC will pick Longer in the draft..as I think he has more upside and will more likely make a elite ruck in the AFL in the future.

:)

GWS depth chart at ruck imho:

Smith
Nicholls
Gorringe
Hickey
Thompson

There are also Fraser and Tippet to throw in there as well. I was not that high on Gorringe last year and remain about the same this year. Nicholls I am very high on though and think he could be a very good ruck in the competition but playing behind Smith is going to hurt him. GC have way too much talent at ruck to draft Longer and could even afford to trade someone like Gorringe without it really affecting anything.

Not writing him off as a good AFL player??? Just giving reason to why I think the GC will pick Longer in the draft..as I think he has more upside and will more likely make a elite ruck in the AFL in the future.

:)

They already have a 21 year old elite ruck. :confused:

anyway, I guess if there is no way the GC will take Longer, then you can expect the GWS to hold out until either the doggies or tigers have their picks as I don't see either the Lions, crows, or demons picking a ruck.

wait and see...anyway back on lions draft discussions I think

It seems most here want the lions to take a mid/runner...what are peoples preferences?

Mine:

1) Tyson
2) Hoskin-Elliot
3) Buntine

I think our 1st pick will come from this group.

I love Tyson composure, balance, poise, positioning, decision making, skills whilst in heavy traffic...he has a real Simon black about him in that he doesnt need the speed as he has a knack of being in the right position and has all the qualities to gurt the opposition by bringing teammates into the game...I think he would help ease the load on guys like Rich teh most out of the draft.

Hoskin-Elliott looks a ripper selection, and the thought of having him and polec playing outside of guys like rich, redden, rocky, and harwood in the future is real real exciting!!!! Fast with a great kick...love it!

Buntine would be a real solid pick and give us a player like grimes who funny enough we could have at our club now. He could become a elite general in our backline and free up drummond to go forward late in his career, which would be a double win for us...this sort of player seems to be getting harder to find and more important to teams with the whole forward press thing

Thoughts?

It seems most here want the lions to take a mid/runner...what are peoples preferences?

Mine:

1) Dyson
2) Hoskin-Elliot
3) Buntine

I think our 1st pick will come from this group.

I love Dyson composure, balance, poise, positioning, decision making, skills whilst in heavy traffic...he has a real Simon black about him in that he doesnt need the speed as he has a knack of being in the right position and has all the qualities to gurt the opposition by bringing teammates into the game...I think he would help ease the load on guys like Rich teh most out of the draft.

Hoskin-Elliott looks a ripper selection, and the thought of having him and polec playing outside of guys like rich, redden, rocky, and harwood in the future is real real exciting!!!! Fast with a great kick...love it!

Buntine would be a real solid pick and give us a player like grimes who funny enough we could have at our club now. He could become a elite general in our backline and free up drummond to go forward late in his career, which would be a double win for us...this sort of player seems to be getting harder to find and more important to teams with the whole forward press thing

Thoughts?

Is this Tom Dyson any relation to Dom Tyson BP? ;)

Balony what are your thoughts on Grigg? He is from your neck of the woods and might be around when we pick.

Dobosz I think might go higher than many expect. The Bulldogs and Melbourne would both be big chances to take him I think.

Balony what are your thoughts on Grigg? He is from your neck of the woods and might be around when we pick.

Dobosz I think might go higher than many expect. The Bulldogs and Melbourne would both be big chances to take him I think.

Grigg is a interesting one, for most the year Port fans have had him as a lock for their selection, but with the rising stocks of Tyson that seams to be wearing thin.

I will hopefully watch him in the finals soon if he makes the seniors for the redlegs, but he has spent time in the ressies this season so he can be hard to follow.

The hype is that he is a Rich clone...sounds good but I wonder if we need a more Hoskin-elliot or Tyson for better midfield dynamics

No I am sure it was clarified that it would be based on the finish of the team that originally held the pick. If it was used this year it could only be used at the end of the first round before the band three picks. Next year it would be after the team's pick or half way through the round whichever is the earlier.

Could this have influenced our decision to use the Harbrow Compensation Pick this year at all as well as in preference to the Rischa Compensation Pick?