2011 Draft Prospects

Jesse lonergan from tassie will be a chance. Powerfully built midfielder/half forward who won tassies best player in the under 16s. Plays for launceston seniors and won best first year player. Excelled in all games and was frequently in there best players

Billy Longer (Northern Knight)
Todd Elton (Dandenong Stingrays)

Two best big guys coming through the TAC, both dominated games this year.

If your looking at ruckman Myles Bolger is the best talent hope he gets over his foot injury soon.

He represented VC in schoolboys u/15's and was outstanding (All Australian). He also represented VC in the u/16's carnival in Blacktown and was not mentioned in the best players for VC throughout the series?

Standout player of Vic Country carnival. Super athlete.
Apparently struggled in Aust championships but still AIS.

How did he get in the AIS if he struggled through the champs? I thought you had to play well to earn an AIS gig?

Jesse lonergan from tassie will be a chance. Powerfully built midfielder/half forward who won tassies best player in the under 16s. Plays for launceston seniors and won best first year player. Excelled in all games and was frequently in there best players

Any relation to Sam?

Yes Sam is his uncle. Jesse has a real chance at making it. I play footy with him and he just dominates. Super player. Not sure of he's eligable for the draft this year or next? Has a good attitude which is always good. Supports essendon for obvious reasons.

Who does he play for?

North Ballarat rebels and St Patricks College.

He might choose cricket though, he did make the under 15 Australia tour of the west indies.

St pats have alot of talent this year with Nick Obrien, Mat Begbie, Brad Crouch and Scott Spriggs looking like top 30-50 picks and Tom Stapelton going after pick 50.

Begbie could also choose cricket as he keeps in the Melbourne premier league and has since he was 15.

who would be the best tall forward coming through for the 2011 draft? The lions will surely be targeting a tall next year

Don't let it worry you mate.:)

I'm sure the Eagles will be more than happy to throw in Quinten Lynch as our 'set of steak knives' in the Rich to Eagles trade deal.:D;)

A big Lynch back at FF for the Lions .......... come on and admitt it ....... you want it to happen.:D

Couple of Adelaide boys,

Sam Mayes from North Adelaide, and Sam Tonkes from Port.

Both played SANFL reserves as 16-17 year olds. Mayes especially should be a look in at the draft.

Couple of Adelaide boys,

Sam Mayes from North Adelaide, and Sam Tonkes from Port.

Both played SANFL reserves as 16-17 year olds. Mayes especially should be a look in at the draft.

mayes has a cannon pass..in will be top 10. He has been playing senior country footy since he was 15 odd...watch out for him

Don't let it worry you mate.:)

I'm sure the Eagles will be more than happy to throw in Quinten Lynch as our 'set of steak knives' in the Rich to Eagles trade deal.:D;)

A big Lynch back at FF for the Lions .......... come on and admitt it ....... you want it to happen.:D

I forgot lynch was even on the eagles list...surely he will be delisted in the coming seasons and the lions if they really wanted him woud get him for free?

mayes has a cannon pass..in will be top 10. He has been playing senior country footy since he was 15 odd...watch out for him

I'm from the same town, grew up with his older brother, have seen him all the way through juniors. Played at the same club as Lewis Johnston did. Mayes played a few more A grades out there though, seeing as Johnston was in the North system a bit earlier and wasn't allowed to come back.

Mayes is a good kid too, decent head on his shoulders. Will be favourable for potential clubs.

I'm from the same town, grew up with his older brother, have seen him all the way through juniors. Played at the same club as Lewis Johnston did. Mayes played a few more A grades out there though, seeing as Johnston was in the North system a bit earlier and wasn't allowed to come back.

Mayes is a good kid too, decent head on his shoulders. Will be favourable for potential clubs.

Port pirie hey? I played for the squids (granted only B-Grade)...still training with Mayes was a eye opener to his talents.

I'm mates with a fair few of the squid boys. I've probably even met you before if you were at Port anytime in the last 5 or so years.

I haven't seen any of Sam's games at North Adelaide, but his brother tells me he is going great guns. I think he kicked three goals in a reserves game, might have even been his first game at that level, this season just gone. Decent effort for a skinny 17 year old.

I'm mates with a fair few of the squid boys. I've probably even met you before if you were at Port anytime in the last 5 or so years.

I haven't seen any of Sam's games at North Adelaide, but his brother tells me he is going great guns. I think he kicked three goals in a reserves game, might have even been his first game at that level, this season just gone. Decent effort for a skinny 17 year old.

Am i right in saying Sam Mayes would be in the 2012 draft, not the 2011 draft?

Ahh shit- possibly.

Edi- Not 18 until 2012, misses the April 30 cut off by less than a month.

Ahh shit- possibly. Is the cut off date still in April sometime? He is 18 in 2011 but not until 20th of May.

Edit- yep. Cut off is April 30. Mayes misses out on 2011 draft by less than a month. My bad.

I thought the cut-off was now 31 December (apart from underage players eligible to be taken under the GWS concession).