2011 Drafting

Just got back from watching the South vs Claremont colts second semi, won easily by South in the end, 14.17 (101) to 8.11 (59)

I will give a brief run down of some of the players i think are a chance of being drafted this year and next year.

Mason Shaw - kicked 3.4, played at full forward, recently became an AIS scholarship holder. Too young to be drafted this year but IMO is a certainty next year. 197cm and very sticky hands. Has kicked about 60 goals this year. Was in WA's U18's squad this year without getting a game.

Shane Kersten - just kicked the 1 goal today but is strong and very good overhead, kicked his goal off one step from 55 metres out. Played CHF and is deceptively quick for his size. He stood next to Daniel Gilmore during the 3rd quarter break and certainly looks to be a few cm's taller than Gilmore who is about 189cm, in fact Kersten didn't look than much shorter than Shaw.

Brendon Ah Chee -probably my favourite out there today, played as a midfielder then drifted forward to provide South with that 3rd forward marking option. Very quick and clever and i really hope Freo have a good look at him, has the makings of a very good footballer, good in the air and on the ground, and as i said very quick for his size.

Marley Williams - Williams ended up having about 20 odd possessions but for me he was a big disappointment. He took a screamer in the second but after that gave away 2 50metre penalties and a further 3 free kicks from off the ball incidents, very undisciplined and would not have impressed any of the talent scounts at the game today.

Hayden Schloite - was very impressive, played mainly as a half forward/pocket and kicked 3 goals. Takes a good mark but also has pace, could definitely be drafted this year as a small forward, clever player.

Shannon Taylor - did some good things, very good by hand in close but largely ineffectual today. Is still likely to be drafted very high next year. Knows where the goals are.

More to come later.

Brendon Ah Chee -probably my favourite out there today, played as a midfielder then drifted forward to provide South with that 3rd forward marking option. Very quick and clever and i really hope Freo have a good look at him, has the makings of a very good footballer, good in the air and on the ground, and as i said very quick for his size.

Join the fan club TW!

His reports are very good. But I've never seen him.

I assumed he was more of an undersized KPP? Which is his biggest knock. What do you think of his prospects then of becoming a "power midfielder" TW? If he has the speed, ability in the air and on the ground his only weakness would then be his endurance? What is it like? Does he finish games off well?

He also sounds like a hard worker. Good mindset and leadership and all that.

Join the fan club TW!

His reports are very good. But I've never seen him.

I assumed he was more of an undersized KPP? Which is his biggest knock. What do you think of his prospects then of becoming a "power midfielder" TW? If he has the speed, ability in the air and on the ground his only weakness would then be his endurance? What is it like? Does he finish games off well?

He also sounds like a hard worker. Good mindset and leadership and all that.

Loved him, worked very hard, started each boucedown in the middle and was instrumental in getting a few clearances himself. As i said went forward on a few occasions and took strong marks, but the most impressive part of his game was his pace and he already has a good build, AFL ready IMO.

He was running just as hard in the last quarter when South eventually got on top in the centre and ran away with the game.

Loved him, worked very hard, started each boucedown in the middle and was instrumental in getting a few clearances himself. As i said went forward on a few occasions and took strong marks, but the most impressive part of his game was his pace and he already has a good build, AFL ready IMO.

He was running just as hard in the last quarter when South eventually got on top in the centre and ran away with the game.

Yep. The more you read, the more he sounds absolutely perfect.

Sounds like we're prepared and most likely to flog off our first pick if the right player comes around (Clark) so thats disappointing as it looks like this guy will be a handy player. My personal preference is to continue to draft. Enjoy watching the young fellsa develop and when alot of them are thrown into the deep end of the AFL they thrive. Which is why when people call it a shallow draft im still optimistic of picking up handy players down the draft order.

From all the reading it definitely doesn't sound as shallow as people are saying. Sounds like a lot of gems floating around for people to pick up with later picks, just have to hope the recruiters judgement isn't clouded by too much info to see the good ones based on the facts.

All the threads make it quite confusing, but i reckon things aren't all that bad

We will get a 1st(16)/2nd(34)/3rd(52) round picks in the national draft plus we will hopefully get another 1st round pick after pick 16 for Palmer.

Griffin wants out and Port will probably have to give us picks cause we don't want their washed out hacks so we may get another late 1st round pick or 2nd round pick.

We want Clarke and O'Meara

I reckon with at least 2 possibly 3 1st round picks and maybe 1 or 2 2nd round picks plus we can probably shop round a few guys like Duffield we should be able to get a deal done i reckon

In Bond we trust is the mantra isn't it?

This year's draft is no where near as "bad" as many are making it out to be.

Once again, it will be about squeezing quality out of whatever picks we have, and hopefully not trading any of our picks, especially not trading for over-priced, under-performing Kim f**kstick Hagdorn endorsed flogs like Mitch Clark.

Put Hackdorn in the back paddock where he deserves to be, along with his so-called mate Colin Ung, and the squalid goats that are their clients. Suddenly you will see why the future of player management in our game will trend away from contracts that have that micro printed clause "and said player gives nominated player agent and all associated companies any and all rights to an and all Internet property for no additional fees"

Seriously - to any draftee approached by dog Young - look for the clause, cross it out - and then force the dog Young to sign the contract.

Back on topic. [Damn that felt good] This year's draft is, surprise surprise, a draft. No better, no worse. A bunch of mature agers look exciting, plus there are a number of players delisted by GC/NM/Bulldogs/Brisbane that could be interesting to some AFL clubs as second chance picks.

The notion of a so-called "weak" draft is garbage - you gets what you deserves - especially if you invests what you truly deserve!!

Myles Bolger 199cm 80kgs - Bolger's ruck work was impressive. On numerous occasions he took front position and must have had a dozen double handed taps to a team mate. I would have liked to see him take the game on a bit more and grab the ball from the ruck contest and put it straight onto his boot. Clearly won the ruck for South. Positioned himself well and is good by foot for a guy his size.

Adam Carter 179cm 70kgs - Carter finished as Souths second leading possession winner (behind Schloithe) with 18 disposals. Like his brother at Carlton he is a thumping kick. Kicked a beautiful long goal and was instrumental in a number of clearances from the centre. West Coast are apparently quite interested in him and with good reason.

Brendon Verrier 183cm 70kgs - was really looking forward to seeing the younger Verrier play as he finished second overall in the colts for possessions with 452, outstanding effort for a bottom age player. Quiet by his standards, but like his brother very hard working and makes the play. Good overhead for his height and courageous.

Steve Verrier 185cm 80kgs - played mainly in defence, had a job to do and did it. Very good overhead and hardworking. Didn't get a lot of the ball today, but is a good finisher.

Sam Fong 185cm 72kgs - the nephew of the great Les Fong. Fong was the leading possession winner in the game with 24. Still very slightly built but is gutsy and good with his hands in close and a quick, clever player. Was in the WA U18s squad.

His dad Wayne said at the medal night, that Luke is in a happy place right now and doesn't want to go back into AFL football.

Yeah his dad Wayne said that, but as for the second part he didn't say that; Gossage spun that part from what Wayno said.

However Blackwell himself said nothing at all about returning to AFL.

Seriously though why would you turn down another shot at the big league for WAFL :confused:

As long as we recruit Horsely I'll be happy though :thumbsu:

Yeah his dad Wayne said that, but as for the second part he didn't say that; Gossage spun that part from what Wayno said.

However Blackwell himself said nothing at all about returning to AFL.

Seriously though why would you turn down another shot at the big league for WAFL :confused:

As long as we recruit Horsely I'll be happy though :thumbsu:

Yeah there was talk that he was promised a place on Freo's rookie list. But after the BS rumours we have had in the last couple of days, it was probably rubbish. Word is pretty strong on Horsley though. Hope he is around for our rookie list.

2011 Drafting