WALL-e

Magic, Sturt, Ravens, Duke
Vlad's been 'pretty' decent here. Especially early.

http://www.afl.com.au/portals/0/afl_docs/fixture_document.pdf

Lots of Sat night and 3 or 4 Friday nights.
Get a couple of dirty Sunday Afternoons late, as well as a hard stretch of Port on Sunday (though well rested from a Friday), Brisbane at the Gabba, Geelong on Sunday, GC at Cararra (get to see Judas Bock at home earlier), the the Tigs on Sunday.
Apart from that stretch I'm happy.

Friday - 3
Sat Arvo - 4
Sat Night - 5
Sund Arvo - 7
Sund Death - 2
TBC 1

Most of the Sunday games are away, all but 2 I think, so no poor crowd excuses.

In Summary

• the first three games of the season at AAMI Stadium
• the first bye of the season is in round two, the second in round 16
• two games against Gold Coast Suns, Port Adelaide, Geelong, St Kilda, Brisbane and West Coast Eagles
• three Friday night games
• one game at the MCG
• five games at Etihad Stadium
• one game at Patersons Stadium (Perth)
• one game at the Gabba (Brisbane)
• one game at Gold Coast Stadium
• one game Skilled Stadium (Geelong)
• the first Showdown of the season (April 16) will be a home game
• Fremantle, St Kilda, Gold Coast Suns, Brisbane Lions, West Coast Eagles, Sydney, Essendon, Geelong and Richmond also play at AAMI Stadium against the Crows.

Spewing that again there is no game in Sydney

I've only had a quick look but I'm pretty happy with it. 7 games in Victoria is great, only one trip to Perth and no games in Tassie. Three Friday night games is awesome :thumbsu:

One game at the G? :rolleyes:

And WHY can't we get some Saturday or Saturday night games interstate - why are they all on a bloody Sunday! :thumbsd:
I imagine all our away games are Sundays because the club has pleaded for NO Sundays at home because our crowds can be soft.

In return for the AFL giving us all those saturdays at home we take on all those sunday aways.

In Summary

• the first three games of the season at AAMI Stadium
• the first bye of the season is in round two, the second in round 16
• two games against Gold Coast Suns, Port Adelaide, Geelong, St Kilda, Brisbane and West Coast Eagles
• three Friday night games
• one game at the MCG
• five games at Etihad Stadium
• one game at Patersons Stadium (Perth)
• one game at the Gabba (Brisbane)
• one game at Gold Coast Stadium
• one game Skilled Stadium (Geelong)
• the first Showdown of the season (April 16) will be a home game
• Fremantle, St Kilda, Gold Coast Suns, Brisbane Lions, West Coast Eagles, Sydney, Essendon, Geelong and Richmond also play at AAMI Stadium against the Crows.

Spewing that again there is no game in Sydney

Do you know the breakdown of timeslots for home games?

Only one game in Perth :eek:

Is Round 22 though.

Also the Round 2 bye is going to suck!

Am relatively happy with that draw.

two games against Gold Coast Suns, Port Adelaide, Geelong, St Kilda, Brisbane and West Coast Eagles

There's a potential 10 wins right there.......if we dont see a repeat of what created last seasons woes

Quite a bit to like from my perspective..
  • 3x Fri night games
  • 8 of 21 on FTA TV, doubling the 2010 FTA coverage.
  • First 3 games are all at Footy Park
  • 10 games against the top-8 teams from 2010
  • 10 games against the bottom-8 teams from 2010 + 2 games vs GC
On the other hand..
  • No away game vs Sydney (home games for me)
  • Tough start to the season, with 4 of our first 5 games being against the 2010 finalists.
  • 6 of our 10 games against the 2010 top-8 sides are against top-4 teams (Geelong & St Kilda are the double-ups).

I'll let someone else analyse the time slots

first showdown is an "away" game i think you'll find

not a bad draw though, pretty good early, need to take advantage of that

Saturday night home game to start the season :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Here's our fixture..
Code:
[B]R	vs	        Day/Time	Where	Broadcaster[/B]
1	Hawthorn	Sat 7:40pm	FP	TEN
2	Bye			
3	Freo	        Sat 3:10pm	FP	Fox
4	Port Adelaide	Sat 7:40pm	FP	Fox
5	Carlton	        Sat 7:10pm	Dock	TEN
6	St Kilda	Sat 7:40pm	FP	TEN
7	Melbourne	Sun 2:10pm	MCG	SEVEN
8	GC	        Sat 3:10pm	FP	Fox
9	Collingwood	Sun 1:10pm	Dock	Fox
10	Brisbane	Sun 1:10pm	FP	Fox
11	North Melbourne	Sun 2:10pm	Dock	SEVEN
12	West Coast	Sat 3:10pm	FP	Fox
13	Footscray	Fri 7:40pm	Dock	SEVEN
14	Geelong	        Sun 1:10pm	KP	Fox
15	Sydney	        Sat 7:40pm	FP	Fox
16	Bye			
17	Essendon	Fri 8:40pm	FP	SEVEN
18	St Kilda	Fri 7:40pm	Dock	SEVEN
19	Port Adelaide	Sun 4:40pm	FP	Fox
20	Brisbane	Sun 1:10pm	GABBA	Fox
21	Geelong	        Sun 4:40pm	FP	Fox
22	GC	        Sat 2:10pm	GC	Fox
23	Richmond	Sun 1:10pm	FP	Fox
24	West Coast	TBA	        Subi	TBA
**** Note that times are all EDT, not local or SA based.

FP = Football Park
Dock = Docklands
GC = Gold Coast Stadium
Subi = Subiaco Oval
KP = Kardinia Park

Why is the Collingwood game at Etihad not the G?

so collingwood can claim it as their away game! :rolleyes:
Seriously WTF is the AFL's problem. Why must they do everything in their power to help Collingwood as much as possible? What does Eddie have on these guys?

Why is the Collingwood game at Etihad not the G?
Why are you complaining? Surely we have a better record against them at Docklands anyway? Surely people would complain more if Collingwood NEVER played a game away from the MCG.

Perhaps because we only get 1 game at the MCG??
whats the problem with that, after last year why do we deserve to play at the G?

Not worried about games at the G. Its got grass and goalposts.

Round 24 in Perth is a huge worrry. Though if we are in finals contention you would hope it would be the Friday night game. Time will tell.

Could be wrong but there seems to be an unusually large amount of games at Etihad. Maybe the AFL has been below its quoted in previous years.

I like a hard start to the season. I always feel the early games are where worse sides pinch games from better sides. Will also give the players an idea of the benchmark of the competition early on. Always good for a young side to have something to aim for.