Gippy Power
2011 BIG FOOTY PHANTOM DRAFT

We will kick off tomorrow morning circa 9am. Teams and orders (let me know if you think we have it wrong but took it from AFL website this morning) are below along with the basic rules we have every year. Can participants pls make sure we are not kept waiting to long and ensure your write ups are done asap (as thats the bit the readers are most keen on). If you are not around pls pm your tip to either Chris25 or myself and we can drop it in for your (we are v trustworthy). Bulldogsman has kindly agreed to do a review at the end of each round. Happy picking!

Teams

Adelaide - Wall-e
Brisbane - Quigley
Carlton - Beowulf
Collingwood - Knightmare
Essendon - Foj1
Fremantle - Chris25
Geelong - Ysaye
GWS Giants - Snoop Dog
Gold Coast Suns - Offsider
Hawthorn - Swannies
Melbourne - Humble Minion
North Melbourne - Jonts
Port Adelaide - Thunderstruck
Richmond - Toadvine
St Kilda - Monocle
Sydney Swans - Raymann
West Coast Eagles - RoyalEagle
Western Bulldogs - HFF_07

First Reserve - Bulldogsman

GWS Zone Selections

NSW - Sam Milne
NSW - James Breust
NSW - Harry Cunningham
NT - Louis Eggar
NT - Gibson Turner
NT - Kelvin Williams

Order

1 GWS - Stephen Coniglio
2 GWS - Jonathon Patton
3 GWS - Chad Wingard
4 GWS - Will Hoskin Elliot
5 GWS - Dom Tyson
6 Port Adel - Elliot Kavanagh
7 GWS - Billy Longer
8 Brisbane - Liam Sumner
9 GWS - Matthew Buntine
10 GWS - Todd Elton
11 GWS - Adam Tomlinson
12 Brisbane - Shane Kersten
13 GWS - Taylor Adams
14 GWS - Toby Greene
15 Richmond - Sam Docherty
16 Fremantle - Sam Frost
17 Bulldogs - Fraser McInnes
18 North Melb - Brad McKenzie
19 Essendon - Devon Smith
20 Fremantle - Murray Newman
21 Swans - Tom Mitchell (Swans F/S)
22 Carlton - Julian Dobosz
23 WCE - Daniel Markworth
24 Gold Coast - Xyrus Manson
25 St Kilda - Myles Bolger
26 Richmond - Mitch Grigg
PP 27 Adelaide - Hayden Crozier
PP 28 WCE - Jordan Lockyer
PP 29 Fremantle - Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
CP 30 Brisbane - Henry Schade
31 Essendon - Brandon Ellis
32 Geelong - Jackson Paine
33 Hawthorn - Michael Talia
34 Geelong - Steven Verrier
35 St Kilda - Alex Forster
36 Melbourne - Alex Woodward
37 St Kilda - Joshua Waldhunter
38 Hawthorn - Rhys Waters
39 Bulldogs - Sebastian Ross
40 North Melb - Thomas Sheridan
41 Adelaide - Andrew Boseley
42 St Kilda - Michael Bussey
43 Swans - Josh Tynan
44 Carlton - Nick Haynes
45 Port Adel - Marley Williams
46 Adelaide - Brad Hill
47 Brisbane - Ben BRown
48 Geelong - Alex Howard
49 Bulldogs - Sam Kerridge
50 Collingwood - Kyal Horsley
51 Port Adel - Clay Smith
52 Melbourne - Courtney Hylton
53 Hawthorn Luke Bruest (Rookie Upgrade)
54 Melbourne - Lin Jong
55 Richmond - Brett O'Hanlon
56 GWS - Shane Nelson
57 Bulldogs - Jim Webster
58 Fremantle - Nick Murphy
59 Essendon Stuart Crameri (Rookie Upgrade)
60 St Kilda - Jackson Merrett
61 Swans - Jordan Kelly
62 Carlton Dylan Buckley (Carlton F/S)
63 WCE - Ashton Hams (Rookie Upgrade)
64 Adelaide - Tom Sundberg
65 Collingwood - Tom Downie
66 Geelong - Max Duffy
67 Collingwood - Jarrod Witts (NSW Scholar)
68 St Kilda - Tom Lee
69 Brisbane - Mitch Goldy (Rookie Upgrade)
70 Bulldogs - Matthew Panos (Rookie Upgrade)
71 Fremantle - Elliot Yeo
72 Fremantle - Marcus Crook
73 Bulldogs - Luke Dahlaus (Rookie Upgrade)
74 North Melb - Luke Delaney (Rookie upgrade)
75 St Kilda - Jordan Murdoch
76 Geelong - Brody Mihocek
77 GWS - Tom Curran
78 Gold Coast - Alex Sexton (QLD Zone)
79 Port Adel - Lee Spurr
80 Adelaide - Aidan Riley (Rookie Upgrade)
81 Fremantle - Nick Lower (Rookie Upgrade)
82 North Melb - Cameron Pederson (Rookie Upgrade)
83 Sydney - Lachlan Dalgleish
84 Geelong - Jed Bews (F/S)
85 Gold Coast - Jackson Allen (QLD Zone)
86 Adelaide - Matt Wright (Rookie Upgrade)
87 Swans - Nathan Gordon (Rookie Upgrade)

Rules

If you take longer than 4 hours we reserve right to take next live pick from Chris25 mock draft
Any disputes will be resolved by either Chris25 or myself

Selections by Club

Hayden Crozier
Andrew Boseley
Brad Hill
Tom Sundberg

Brisbane
Liam Sumner
Shane Kersten
Henry Schade
Ben Brown

Julian Dobosz
Nick Haynes
Dylan Buckley

Kyal Horsley
Tom Downie
Jarrod Witts

Devon Smith
Brandon Ellis

Sam Frost
Murray Newman
Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
Nick Murphy
Elliot Yeo
Marcus Crook

Jackson Paine
Steven Verrier
Alex Howard
Max Duffy
Brody Mihocek
Jed Bews

Gold Coast
Xyrus Manson
Alex Sexton
Jackson Allen

Greater Western Sydney
Stephen Coniglio
Jonathon Patton
Chad Wingard
Will Hoskin-Elliot
Dom Tyson
Billy Longer
Matthew Buntine
Todd Elton
Adam Tomlinson
Taylor Adams
Toby Greene
Shane Nelson
Tom Curran
Sam Milne
James Breust
Harry Cunningham
Louis Eggar
Gibson Turner
Kelvin Williams

Michael Talia
Rhys Waters

Alex Woodward
Courtney Hylton
Lim Jong

Brad McKenzie
Tom Sheridan

Port Adelaide
Elliot Kavanagh
Marley Williams
Clay Smith
Lee Spurr

Sam Docherty
Mitch Grigg
Brett O'Hanlon

Myles Bolger
Alex Forster
Josh Waldhuter
Michael Bussey
Jackson Merrett
Tom Lee
Jordan Murdoch

Tom Mitchell
Josh Tynan
Jordan Kelly
Lachlan Dalgleish

Daniel Markworth
Jordan Lockyer

Fraser McInnes
Sebastian Ross
Sam Kerridge
Jimmy Webster

Re: 2011 Big Footy Phantom Draft

Looking forward to this as usual!

From what i've heard/read Brisbane will use pick 47 to draft a kid and use 69 to upgrade Golby.

Snoop I expect Brisbane will put Brown on the veteran list and outside the list and so use pick 47.

I second Quigley's expectation. :thumbsu:

North will only be using their first 2 selections.

Rawlings was on the vets list when he retired.

Dim question: how can a club have a live pick and be pre-committed to a pass, as the above order indicates in a whole bunch of cases?

They've either got a spot on their senior list, in which case there is some chance they'll use the ND pick until they formally pass on the day of the draft, or they haven't, in which case they will not be allocated a pick in the relevant slot anyway. Yes?

Re; Brisbane

It is usually the last available pick that is used for a rookie upgrade.

Therefore Mitch Golby should be upgraded with pick 88.

Brisbane will very likeley have a veteran (Brown) outside the list as well.

Also it's the person drafting that determines if he (the club) will PASS. How can it be pre -determined?

Therefore, Brisbane's pick 66 should not be a PASS. Quigley will decide if he is going to use it in the National Draft or Pre-Season Draft.

Hawthorn's doesn’t look right either.

Edit. Others have already alerted you to these anomalies.

Cheers

Irel: I'm 99.9 percent sure that once Brown is moved outside the list, 47 becomes our last live pick, making pick 69 the pick used for Golby's elevation.

87 Port Adel

104 Port Adel

I'm betting Port will pass on pick 87 saving a spot for the PSD.

We do not have pick 104 because we have a maximum of 4 openings available, picks 6, 45 & 51 plus the PSD.

Snoop I expect Brisbane will put Brown on the veteran list and outside the list and so use pick 47.

Similarly Freo will likely put Pavlich on the vets list and take an extra pick (currently 74)

Irel: I'm 99.9 percent sure that once Brown is moved outside the list, 47 becomes our last live pick, making pick 69 the pick used for Golby's elevation.

That's how I see it for Brisbane as well - 4 live picks + Rookie Elevation, as the list currently stands (with Black & Brown Vets outside).

Cheers

Have updated the picks so that is what we are now running with - of something changes we can work our way through it at the time.

GWS Zone Selections

Not entirely sure of how the territory is divided so may have these selections incorrect for NSW.

Sam Milne 176 / 70 / '93 – Really like Sam and my god does he go hard at the footy. Smaller version of Brad Sewell but he is quicker. Probably would be a late pick in the draft for me because he just probably lacks the height you want but look he is genuinely fearless, very aggressive at stoppages and will do the little things you want.

James Bruest 183 / 76 / '93 – Probably didn’t feature at champs as much as I hoped for but gee he did some good things when he had it. Seen a bit of him but the game vs Metro was a ripper. Can play the lad and suited to a medium fwd role.

Harry Cunningham 181 / 70 / '93 – This kid has a massive amount of x factor and is a genuine wingmen / midfielder. Extremely quick and has terrific hands in close and then can finish nicely. Did some nice things through the Champs.

For what it is worth found it difficult to leave out Tweedale, Ryan, Crook and Coward. All would have genuine claims.

Louis Eggar 184 / 74 / '93 – HB flanker from NT who I would have had around the 60 mark in the Draft. Think of a young Byron Pickett and you are about right. Runs hard and uses it well but its his work in and around the contest that shines

Gibson Turner 178 / 65 / '93 – Small fwd from NT who is a terrific type and reminds very much of a young Leon Davis. Good 1:1 and even better when the ball hits the ground. Another who I would have as a mid range pick in the draft.

Kevin Williams 185 / 74 / '92 – Giants have been keen on him for a while and he played well in a couple of games at BO through the year. Tall HB flank type who is really agile but waifer thin.

Wouldn't have minded a couple of those zone picks being left alone there Snoop :)

See ya'll in three weeks when Adelaide pick.

# 1 GWS - Stephen Coniglio Swan Districts / 182cm / 76kg / '93

Look it doesnt really matter but for formality I expect this kid to be the #1 player from the pool this year. He has been playing for at an elite level for a very long time and has done it well. Terrific midfielder who has speed, can play in and out and uses it very well. All the defensive parts of the game seem to be there as well so no obvious flaws in his game and will be part of an elite midfield in the years to come for the Giants.

# 2 GWS - Johnathan Patton Eastern Ranges / 197cm / 95kg / '93

I am going to be really intrigued with this kid over the next few years and in fact I feel for him a fair bit. The expectation on him is huge and given the Giants havent recruited a mature age key fwd (other than Cornes) the load on Folau and Patton could be quite big very early. Sure he is a big kid but he will be pushed around by some mature age bodies next year and I just wonder if he shouldnt be protected a bit more. In saying all that he is a terrific athlete and I have no doubt when he develops he will be a key fwd who can lead as well as take contested marks. That will make him a really difficult match up. The only knock I have on him is his kicking. It can be a bit erratic and at times. The comparisons to a bloke in QLD arent without foundation.

For the record - I would give Fevola a go in Sydney. Sheedy and Choco wont put up with any crap and they need him. Equally he needs them and so it might be a good fit.

# 3 GWS - Chad Wingard (Sturt / 181 / 70 / 93)

This is where it gets a little interesting for the Giants. I suspect many wouldn’t agree with Wingard being placed ahead of some others but for me its a ‘no brainer’. This guy is all class and he carried SA in the champs in some of the games this year and that was on top of some really special performances as an underager last year. Can play anywhere on the field but I think he will settle as a mid because of his ability to extract stoppage ball and get to advantage. In saying that, have seen enough of him fwd to suggest he can be part of a rotation and be really effective in attack. Seen a lot of his senior SANFL footy and he has been a great contributor. He moves with ease, he has time and creates himself space. His foot skills are real good and he always weights them to the advantage of the fwd.

# 4 GWS - Will Hoskin-Elliott Western Jets / 182 / 73 / 93

This kid is a class act who is that traditional wingman. Has blistering pace and along with his huge motor will run aggressively into the fwd half and kick goals. In fact he reminds of Thomas and Matera of years gone in that regard but just lacks the vertical leap Daisy has. Would think the Giants will round out their final 5 selections with a kid who offers them something different to what their list has to this point as opposed to going for Tyson who is a bit more of what they already have. Pace isn’t something the Giants have in abundance out at the Brekkie Point Academy and hence expect them to snap up Sumner or WHE here who will give them x factor in the middle.

WHE is a guy I am not as high on as many and I mentioned a while ago that having watched him closely I did not think he had the pace many attributed to him. This was borne out at the Combine I believe and I have it on good authority that he finished bottom third in the 20m. With his endurance he is able to maintain his top speed for longer but I am comfortable saying his top speed is not as high as a lot of others. I also don't like that he struggled to find the ball at the Champs and worry about him being able to do it against the better opposition he will face in the AFL.

I think he is a rock solid top 10 but I would not put him ahead of a few others like Tyson.

# 5 GWS – Dominic Tyson (Oakleigh / 186 / 82 / 93)

Tyson is a terrfic player and have seen a lot of him throughout the year and not once have I been disappointed. Ultimately the reason a lot of players go early is because they seem to have a touch more time and hence their execution is so much better. Tyson is no different. Watched him very closely in a couple of games and I reckon every one of his first ten disposals in one of those game were elite. He just picked the right option every time and that stands out for recruiters. He is a beaut size to boot and tested exceptionally well at the Combine.

I think Snoop has done what GWS won't have the guts to do - leave Longer til pick 7, betting that Port won't pick him up.