Chris_2593

Sep 18, 2008
ATP
No thread yet so thought i would start one since qualifying has started.

Aussie men in qualifying:
Ebden Def Lemke 6-0 6-3
Jones Def Odesink 6-7 6-2 6-2

Guccionie and Carsten Ball will play over night.

Aussie Women in qualifying:
Soler-Espinsoa Def Peers 6-4 6-4
Rampre Def Rogowoska 7-6(3) 7-5

Holland is still to play also Ash Barty got a WC.

I dont do previews so i will leave that for someone else.

All of the Aussie women are out of qualfying none of them even won a set.:eek:

Guccionie and Luczak lost while Ball won.

Ebden Vs Klahn.
Ball Vs Ram
Jones Vs Lojda.

Ebden should win his match but Klahn isnt the worst player despite his ranking. Ball will lose to Ram. And Jones match could go either way. Will be intresting to see if he back up his big win the first round if he does he will break the top 200 rankings.

Expected results so far in qualies apart from Jones upset win. Really hope Ebden can qualify, he should be a ble to win that 2nd round match and qualifying will get him a step closer to top 100.

Jones had a good win in his 1st round match, hopefully they might contiune. Ball was lucky enough to get one of the few players he could beat to win a match.

Main Draw comes out tomorrow

Are we discussing the draw in here?
Men's:
Tomic - plays a qualifier round 1, will then interestingly enough play the winner of Harrison and Cilic. The winner of that will play Federer so it will most likely end there. (If I've read the draw correctly).

Matosevic - unfortunately plays Chela again...

Women's:
Gajdosova - plays Benesova first off, which you'd normally say easy win but not in Jarka's current form. She'll gain heaps of points from just winning a couple of rounds, but I think she'll face Wozniacki in round 3 again (by some miracle she wins two matches).

Dellacqua - will play Cornet, who just beat Goerges I think, so not expecting a win.

Dokic - plays Gortosova, the winner will play Jankovic. If Dokic rocks up could be a bit of a smoky to do well.

Rodionova - plays Kudryatseva, winner will most likely play Wickmayer so that'll be that

Stosur - obviously our best chance to do something of any Aussie. Plays Arvidson round 1. She's in the same quarter as Bartoli, who's done very little this hardcourt season, Zvonareva, her "bitch", Petrova. Lisicki and V Williams will play each other in round 2 in this quarter.

Are we discussing the draw in here?
Men's:
Tomic - plays a qualifier round 1, will then interestingly enough play the winner of Harrison and Cilic. The winner of that will play Federer so it will most likely end there. (If I've read the draw correctly).

Matosevic - unfortunately plays Chela again...

Women's:
Gajdosova - plays Benesova first off, which you'd normally say easy win but not in Jarka's current form. She'll gain heaps of points from just winning a couple of rounds, but I think she'll face Wozniacki in round 3 again (by some miracle she wins two matches).

Dellacqua - will play Cornet, who just beat Goerges I think, so not expecting a win.

Dokic - plays Gortosova, the winner will play Jankovic. If Dokic rocks up could be a bit of a smoky to do well.

Rodionova - plays Kudryatseva, winner will most likely play Wickmayer so that'll be that

Stosur - obviously our best chance to do something of any Aussie. Plays Arvidson round 1. She's in the same quarter as Bartoli, who's done very little this hardcourt season, Zvonareva, her "bitch", Petrova. Lisicki and V Williams will play each other in round 2 in this quarter.

What do you mean unfortunatley? Chela hates hard courts he doesnt even care about his results. MM could be in with a chance.

Cornet didnt beat Goerges i thnk she took a set off her. Im loving Sams draw i think she can defend her QF points in my honest opinon but i have picked in my draw that McHale will be her 4th round oppenent.:p

I would love to see Tomic and Harrison have a second round clash hopfully on Athur Ashe. I would think Harrison would win that one.

Couple of results from qualies. Ebden had a disappointing 3 set loss against Klahn, would of been a big step in getting closer to the top 100 by qualifying. Jones was able to win his match in straight sets. He has Soeda in the final round and I would be surprised if he gets through that.

Now draw time:

Yeah, Federer/Djokovic and Nadal/Murray is getting insane, it's certainly not rigged but it is an insane amount of times for it to happen. Djokovic has got a pretty easy draw to warm into the tournament, not that anyone lower ranked would trouble him anyways. Federer has a little interesting section, shouldn't lose but some fun players in there such as Bellucci, Tomic, Harrison and Cilic. Nadal has a few interesting players in his section if it was 5 years ago (ie. Ljubicic, Nalbandian)

Aussies:

Tomic - Absolutely fascinating draw, man I hope he turns up with some good tennis and gets through that qualifer because whoever he plays in the 2nd round will be fun. Cilic will be a rematch of a match Tomic nearly won at AO last year. And with Harrison, well, the hope there is huge rivarly between the two comes up in the next 10 years, would be fun to see. Plus, the possible 3rd round match with Federer. I just hope he wins that first round match.

Matosevic - Pretty funny he drew Chela again, Chela is a sucky hardcourt player but then again, so is Chela is on grass and Matosevic lost to him at Wimby. Guess you could agrue it's a faster surface and that might help Marinko but honestly I have never rated him and he's a headcase so can't see him winning. I rate Ebden slightly higher but since Matosevic qualified for Wimby the WC was clearly his.

Stosur - Oh I do not want to get excited about this draw, her Slam results have been so disappointing and honestly I fully expect her to stuff it up again. But promising tennis from her the last couple of weeks and honestly no one to trouble her in the first couple round, an out-of-form Petrova, and then maybe bartoli might trouble her in the 4th round. As long as she doesn't mentally collapse she should in the 2nd week, from there who knows. Lisicki is the most dangerous player there for Sam, she does not want to paly ehr but then that would be the quarterfinals and I would be f***ing rapted if she made the quarters.

Gajdsova - Ah yeah, she ain't winning,s he lost to Cirstea this week, she isn't winning a match...

Dellacqua - Challenegr results show nothing to prove she would of have a chance which is a shame, pre-injury she would of been a good shot.

Rodionova - Winnable but she has been struggling with injury all year and this will be tough.

Dokic - She's been struggling with whatever she's got, would be surprised if she won

Supposedly this hurricane should be gone by Monday and good forecast for the first few days, of course it must rain on the final weekend like it seems to do so every year.

Couple of results from qualies. Ebden had a disappointing 3 set loss against Klahn, would of been a big step in getting closer to the top 100 by qualifying. Jones was able to win his match in straight sets. He has Soeda in the final round and I would be surprised if he gets through that.

Now draw time:

Yeah, Federer/Djokovic and Nadal/Murray is getting insane, it's certainly not rigged but it is an insane amount of times for it to happen. Djokovic has got a pretty easy draw to warm into the tournament, not that anyone lower ranked would trouble him anyways. Federer has a little interesting section, shouldn't lose but some fun players in there such as Bellucci, Tomic, Harrison and Cilic. Nadal has a few interesting players in his section if it was 5 years ago (ie. Ljubicic, Nalbandian)

Aussies:

Tomic - Absolutely fascinating draw, man I hope he turns up with some good tennis and gets through that qualifer because whoever he plays in the 2nd round will be fun. Cilic will be a rematch of a match Tomic nearly won at AO last year. And with Harrison, well, the hope there is huge rivarly between the two comes up in the next 10 years, would be fun to see. Plus, the possible 3rd round match with Federer. I just hope he wins that first round match.

Matosevic - Pretty funny he drew Chela again, Chela is a sucky hardcourt player but then again, so is Chela is on grass and Matosevic lost to him at Wimby. Guess you could agrue it's a faster surface and that might help Marinko but honestly I have never rated him and he's a headcase so can't see him winning. I rate Ebden slightly higher but since Matosevic qualified for Wimby the WC was clearly his.

Stosur - Oh I do not want to get excited about this draw, her Slam results have been so disappointing and honestly I fully expect her to stuff it up again. But promising tennis from her the last couple of weeks and honestly no one to trouble her in the first couple round, an out-of-form Petrova, and then maybe bartoli might trouble her in the 4th round. As long as she doesn't mentally collapse she should in the 2nd week, from there who knows. Lisicki is the most dangerous player there for Sam, she does not want to paly ehr but then that would be the quarterfinals and I would be f***ing rapted if she made the quarters.

Gajdsova - Ah yeah, she ain't winning,s he lost to Cirstea this week, she isn't winning a match...

Dellacqua - Challenegr results show nothing to prove she would of have a chance which is a shame, pre-injury she would of been a good shot.

Rodionova - Winnable but she has been struggling with injury all year and this will be tough.

Dokic - She's been struggling with whatever she's got, would be surprised if she won

Supposedly this hurricane should be gone by Monday and good forecast for the first few days, of course it must rain on the final weekend like it seems to do so every year.
Ripper call mate! :D :thumbsu:

As for Stosur, very kind draw, she should do well, c'mon Sammy! :thumbsu:

So it is a fix when they put no 1 and no 2 on opposite sides of the draw?........perhaps I'm missing your point- I assumed it was that they favour Federer by putting him on the opposite side to Nadal.

Number one and two are always on opposite draw. But no matter what if Federer is number on he will get Djokovic if Nadal is number one he well get Murray. Now Novak is number one and he still gets Federer.

Shouldn't it be 1v4 and 2v3 (isn't that the fairest option)? In this case you're right, but at the Aus Open, French and Wimbledon this year Novak and Fed were 2 and 3.

Even then, because it's 1v3 and 2v4 here, it's harder on Fed because he (as no3) should get the easier match (which going by rankings is Nadal) so if anything he's being hard done by.
Btw, I'm not trying to ignite a Fed v Nadal fight here (because no one wants that)- just trying to understand the argument better

3 and 4 seed can go either top or bottom half of the draw. Did I read that 11 out of the last 12 has been Fed-Novak/Nadal-Murray. For a 50-50 chance every time, for it to happen 11/12 seems just a bit too convenient.

Draw:

[1] Novak Djokovic (SRB) - Qualifier
Pere Riba-Madrid (ESP) - Carlos Berlocq (ARG)
Potito Starace (ITA) - Michael Berrer (GER)
Nikolay Davydenko (RUS) - [32] Ivan Dodig (CRO)

[22] Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR) - Frederico Gil (POR)
Kei Nishikori (JPN) - Flavio Cipolla (ITA)
Ivo Karlovic (CRO) - Fernando Gonzalez (CHI)
Sergiy Stakhovsky (UKR) - [13] Richard Gasquet (FRA)

[9] Tomas Berdych (CZE) - Qualifier
Fabio Fognini (ITA) - Horacio Zeballos (ARG)
Philipp Petzschner (GER) - Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)
Qualifier - [20] Janko Tipsarevic (SRB)

[31] Marcel Granollers (ESP) - Xavier Malisse (BEL)
Mikhail Kukushkin (KAZ) - Albert Montanes (ESP)
Pablo Andujar (ESP) - Juan Carlos Ferrero (ESP)
Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) - [7] Gael Monfils (FRA)

[3] Roger Federer (SUI) - Santiago Giraldo (COL)
Dudi Sela (ISR) - Thomaz Bellucci (BRA)
Qualifier - Bernard Tomic (AUS)
Ryan Harrison (USA) - [27] Marin Cilic (CRO)

[23] Radek Stepanek (CZE) - Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
Juan Monaco (ARG) - Andreas Seppi (ITA)
Tommy Haas (GER) - Qualifier
Alejandro Falla (COL) - [15] Viktor Troicki (SRB)

[11] Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) - Yen-Hsun Lu (TPE)
Andreas Haider-Maurer (AUT) - Qualifier
Qualifier - Qualifier
Jarkko Nieminen (FIN) - [19] Fernando Verdasco (ESP)

[29] Michael Llodra (FRA) - Victor Hanescu (ROU)
Kevin Anderson (RSA) - Qualifier
Qualifier - Thiemo de Bakker (NED)
Tobias Kamke (GER) - [8] Mardy Fish (USA)

[6] Robin Soderling (SWE) - Qualifier
Alex Jr. Bogomolov (USA) - Steve Johnson (USA)
Robby Ginepri (USA) - Qualifier
Marcos Baghdatis (CYP) - [28] John Isner (USA)

[18] Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG) - Filippo Volandri (ITA)
Diego Junqueira (ARG) - Karol Beck (SVK)
Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (ESP) - Daniel Gimeno-Traver (ESP)
Ricardo Mello (BRA) - [12] Gilles Simon (FRA)

[14] Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI) - Maximo Gonzalez (ARG)
Donald Young (USA) - Qualifier
Dmitry Tursunov (RUS) - Steve Darcis (BEL)
Marinko Matosevic (AUS) - [24] Juan Ignacio Chela (ARG)

[25] Feliciano Lopez (ESP) - Tatsuma Ito (JPN)
Qualifier - Lukas Rosol (CZE)
Rui Machado (POR) - Robin Haase (NED)
Somdev Devvarman (IND) - [4] Andy Murray (GBR)

[5] David Ferrer (ESP) - Igor Andreev (RUS)
James Blake (USA) - Qualifier
Olivier Rochus (BEL) - Qualifier
Adrian Mannarino (FRA) - [26] Florian Mayer (GER)

[21] Andy Roddick (USA) - Michael Russell (USA)
Jack Sock (USA) - Marc Gicquel (FRA)
Denis Istomin (UZB) - Ryan Sweeting (USA)
Julien Benneteau (FRA) - [10] Nicolas Almagro (ESP)

[16] Mikhail Youzhny (RUS) - Ernests Gulbis (LAT)
Edouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA) - Gilles Muller (LUX)
Matthias Bachinger (GER) - Igor Kunitsyn (RUS)
Eric Prodon (FRA) - [17] Jurgen Melzer (AUT)

[30] Ivan Ljubicic (CRO) - Blaz Kavcic (SLO)
Bobby Reynolds (USA) - David Nalbandian (ARG)
Nicolas Mahut (FRA) - Qualifier
Andrey Golubev (KAZ) - [2] Rafael Nadal (ESP)

Preview:

The final Grand Slam of the year, the last opportunity for some to make the year a success, and another opportunity for others to make the year an even bigger success. There’s always something special about the US Open and this year could be one of the most interesting in recent years. However large or small, there are doubts surrounding all of the top 4, and it’ll be fascinating to see how they respond over the next fortnight. Adding to the intrigue is Hurricane Irene and how it will affect the tournament. The opening day of the tournament is in some doubt but the hurricane is expected to pass soon.

Can top seed and world #1 Novak Djokovic win a remarkable 3rd Slam for the year? He owns an incredible 57-2 W/L record for the year, with his latest loss coming last week when he retired in his match against Murray. He’s already claimed the Australian Open and Wimbledon, as well as 5 Masters titles, so anything less than a win here would be a major disappointment for Novak. The main doubt over Novak is not his game, rather his shoulder, and how well it has recovered after severe pain caused him to retire in Cincinnati. He has a rather kind draw; he opens against qualifier Conor Niland and will then face Riba or Berlocq, an easy introduction indeed. His 3R opponent could be Davydenko, that’s if he gets past the in-form Ivan Dodig, Dodig of course was the only man to take a set off Novak at the AO. In the 4th he’ll likely face Gasquet, the Frenchman has a couple of tricky customers in his section, but he should advance. His QF opponent will be either Berdych or Monfils, both who could prove tricky, but most likely won’t have enough to win. Djokovic’s got the draw to give him a chance for redemption against Federer in the SF.

A win here would see Roger Federer move into first place for most US Open titles. He’s currently tied with Jimmy Connors and Pete Sampras at 5 wins, and a 6th would further extend his lead for most GS titles. Quite remarkably, if Federer fails to win in New York, it will be the first time since 2002 that he’s failed to win at least one Slam in a year. A Federer win here seems unlikely, he hasn’t won a title since his January triumph in Qatar, and after tame exits in both Montreal and Cincinnati, he’s got no real form to suggest he should win. You’d be foolish to write him off completely though, the faster paced courts at Flushing Meadows suit his game, and with attention turning elsewhere, maybe he will thrive. As for his draw, he opens against Giraldo, then he faces either Sela or Bellucci. His 3R opponent should be one of an interesting trio, either Cilic, Harrison or Tomic. His 4R opponent will be a breeze, most likely Trocki, but he’s got arguably the toughest QF opponent of the high seeds. He’ll be facing either Tsonga or Fish, the former has beaten him in their last two matches including at Wimbledon, whereas Fish won the US Open Series and is playing the best tennis of his career. Difficult either way and to me, this US Open will reveal how much there is left in Federer’s tank.

Rafael Nadal arrives as the defending champion but of the top 4, probably has the most doubt surrounding him. On the back of the foot injury he suffered at Wimbledon, his preparation for the North American hard court swing was far from ideal. His performances at the back-to-back MS events gave little indication that he was anywhere near his best, so defending his title will be one of the biggest challenges of his career. If he does defend his title, it’ll be the first non clay title that Nadal has defended in his career. Working in his favour is a very favourable draw, he begins against Golubev who has a horrible 4/20 record this year, up next will likely be Mahut, and in the 3R probably a veteran in Ljubicic or Nalbandian. In the 4th it will likely be the winner of the blockbuster opening round clash between Youzhny and Gulbis, 17th seed Melzer is there too but with his form winning three matches would take a minor miracle. Even with his ordinary lead-in form and apparent self doubt, in all likelihood I see Rafa progressing through to the QF where David Ferrer is the one most likely to be waiting, Andy Roddick is in this section but with his form and ailing game, I wouldn’t bet on him winning four matches. Rafa to set up a mouth-watering SF clash with Murray.

In 2009 Andy Murray crashed out in the 4R to Cilic and last year he was defeated a round earlier by Stan Wawrinka. This year he insists his preparation has been more focussed on getting it right come NY, and given he achieved success in Cincinnati without seemingly ever hitting top gear, maybe he has every right to be confident. Does Murray have the firepower to truly match it over five sets with the big boys? Maybe once, but in consecutive matches, only time will tell. He opens against Devvarman, a talent from what we saw in Indian Wells, and then he should meet big hitting Dutchman Robin Haase. Imagine if Haase maintains his serving and ball striking over five sets...In the 3rd he should face Lopez, no match for Murray at Wimbledon, so probably not here either. 4R should be Wawrinka and a chance for Murray to get some revenge for last year. Murray’s QF opponent will be one of Soderling, Isner, Del Potro and Simon. Soderling’s not played for six weeks, Del Potro looks as though he’s never played, Isner likely doesn’t have the talent to make it to the QF, and Simon was easily dismantled by Murray in Cincinnati, so as dangerous as this group looks, I doubt Murray stumbles at this hurdle. Both Murray and Nadal were placed in the more advantageous half, avoiding the dangerous floaters, and they should meet on Super Saturday.

For maybe the first time in a while, maybe there is reason to look outside of the top four. With doubts over Djokovic’s shoulder/fatigue, Nadal’s foot/confidence, Federer’s form, and Murray’s ability to be a headcase at the Slams, maybe there is reason to suggest a bolter could upstage them all, just as JMDP did in 2009. Mardy Fish certainly has the form and confidence to make a deep run, but given his draw means he’ll have to beat Tsonga-Federer-Djokovic in consecutive matches just to reach the final, I think that rules him out, especially given all the tennis he’s played over the past month. Tsonga, at $31, is definitely a value bet. He’s obviously got the same path as Fish, but unlike the American he’s got the experience in big matches to do it. Other possibilities include top 10 seeds Berdych and Monfils, although a shoulder injury forced Berdych to retire in Cincinnati, whereas Monfils is a mixed bag and doesn’t often bring his best to the big events. Despite the current doubts over the big four, whenever a GS rolls along, you’d struggle to bet against them squaring off in the Semi’s.

It’s a shame that all of the ‘other’ contenders all happened to be in the top half, it’s made for a really lop-sided draw. It would’ve been interesting had Fish or Tsonga been in Rafa or Murray’s half, instead they’re all up top. Some of the best first round clashes are: Gasquet/Stakhovsky, Monfils/Dimitrov, Cilic/Harrison, Isner/Baghdatis, Youzhny/Gulbis.

Prediction: Djokovic def. Murray

If I could be sure Djokovic’s shoulder was 100%, I’d have no hesitation picking him to win. The fact that he won Montreal despite serving poorly, and then reached the final of Cincinnati serving less than 50% with virtually no speed speaks volumes of his current play. He’s had a week off, and will cruise through the first week, so he’ll be in the second week seeing the finish line knowing this is virtually it for 2011, so motivation should ease any pain. Grand Slams are easier than Masters Series in the sense that you have time to work your way into the tournament, and this might benefit Novak. Nadal might have been in-line for an early exit if he’d drawn anyone worthwhile early, but he doesn’t and therefore should make the SF. Other than a great run at the French, Federer’s really given no indication that he’ll make it a 6th US Open, but you never know. Then there’s Murray, good old Andy Murray, always the wildcard. A part of me says he’s not even that good, but then he’s reached the final of a GS on three occasions, all on hard courts, so with a bit of luck he could easily end his drought here. I always have trouble believing the hype, but his draw, coupled with his superior form to Nadal, I see him making it into the final. I don’t think his second serve is good enough to beat Djokovic; just rolling it in won’t get the job done, so he’ll need to serve at 70% to win.

Good preview Drummond see the final being those 2 as well. Really interested to see if Fish can continue his form at a GS. As for Nadal, I simply cannot see him doing that well here. Fed has a tough draw.

This one is hard to predict, really looking forward to it. Djokovic really shouold've taken Cincinnati off, he was feeling pain at the end of Montreal, if he'd arrived in NY having had two weeks off, I'd back him without any doubt. But now...I worry about his shoulder. He returns so well that he'll easily beat most opponents, but you can't be gifting service games to the top dogs. Quite frankly, his serve was horrible in Cincy, conceeding break points at will.

Nadal's off his game, Federer's got a tough draw and to win he'd have to beat 3 top guys in a row, and guys that he's struggled with of late. It's Murray's time to make a statement, his favourite surface, just won Cincy, how many more prime chances does he need?

Seen the OOP for tomorrow? Rather uninspiring, that's partly because the US Open insists with their stupid R1 matches split over days 1-3. Federer the only top 4 seed in action, in the night session.

Harrison/Chela open on Louis Armstrong, Kvitova begins on Ashe, Stosur is last on Court 17. Really like C11's schedule, open with Goerges, then Bernie Tomic, then Stepanek/Kohlschreiber, then the Radwanska sisters. I'd just head there if I had a ground pass. :thumbsu:

My bracket got those two as well Drummond. You can't go past Djokovic and it should be an ingteresting test for him, I don't think the shoulder should be too much of an issue, rest would of done him enough but if it does bother him, I want to see how much he fights for it, I believe he is so much more stronger mentally (as well as game wise) that he wouldn't even think about retiring from a match at a slam but we'll see. It shouldn't be an issue anyway.

There's going to be a bolter from somewhere, whetehr it will be Federer or Nadal going out early, too many question marks over the big guys.. Just can't wait to get this tournament started, obivously the Tomic will be the big thing for the coverage of the first day, hope he goes alright. Should start around 3am, bye bye normal sleeping patterns.

The other thing is Hurricane Irene, doesn't look like rain will be an issue just a matter of actually getting there to the tournament with the airports and of course any damage or flooding, we won't find out anything to tomorrow

Shouldn't it be 1v4 and 2v3 (isn't that the fairest option)? In this case you're right, but at the Aus Open, French and Wimbledon this year Novak and Fed were 2 and 3.

Probably the fairest, but seeds 3 and 4 are placed randomly (well, they are meant to be anyway).

I have Djokovic Def Murray aswell. Also Fish and Nadal making the semis. In the Womens i have Sharapova Def S.Williams. Im looking at getting only around 4 or 5 hours of sleep tonight then work for 9 hours. Oh so much fun with the US Time Zone.

2011 US Open