2011 WAFL Finals Thread

Claremont played well but mainly WP played like absolute dogshit.

The umpiring was an absolute disgrace. Claremont were getting kissed on the dick all day by the orange maggots. WP couldn't buy a free kick.

And by the way Kane Mitchell from Claremont is a little animal.

I had just written a massive review of both games, and as I was about to press post, My IPad ran out of battery, I honestly want to cry at the moment.

I might write a shorter version later...

Claremont played well but mainly WP played like absolute dogshit.

The umpiring was an absolute disgrace. Claremont were getting kissed on the dick all day by the orange maggots. WP couldn't buy a free kick.

And by the way Kane Mitchell from Claremont is a little animal.

You are kidding right? Claremont were superb today - best they have been all season by some distance. The umpires had absolutely no influence on the result. In fact 4 of WP's first 6 goals were directly from dubious free kicks in their favour. Free kick count even despite one side being 10-15 goals in front for most of the day. The only thing that stopped WP being beaten by 120 pts was Claremont putting the cue back in the rack early in the last qrt.

As for your comment on Kane Mitchell, maybe some of the WP players could take a leaf out of his book when it comes to winning a contested footy. Consistently put his body on the line and won the contests. Your comment is a disgrace !!

Hey guys,

Well what a day that was. I haven't sen Claremont put a performance on like that all season.
They attacked the ball, ran hard almost all day and put on the kind of defensive pressure that the Cardies usually inflict on us.
I didn't notice any discrepancies in the free kicks, it was the usual collection of frees ranging from obvious to very soft and sometimes harsh. There didn't seem to be a bias one way or the other.
West Perth. I haven't seen them play that bad all year. I really don't know what was wrong with them. Shell shocked? possibly, over-awed by the occasion...hardly. There weren't that many people there to throw them off. When they did string some good play together they more often than not failed to finish it off properly.
And sooooo so many unforced errors.
Then there is another factor that most don't consider, whether the ball is bouncing your way on the day. Laugh all you like but I saw more than a few times when the ball was going the Cardies way they'd get an absolutely diabolical bounce. Several times a West Perth player running into their attacking zone to get onto the ball and it bouncing up and over them and into the hands of the Claremont player.
Never seen anything like it. Proof that sometimes god goes for Claremont I think.

A really terrible day for the Cardies though.

Hopefully Claremont will bring this game to the Grand Final.

^^^^^Perfect report. Claremont were awesome today.

It was distressing to watch every time the cardies got into some space, the ball would bounce at right angles. Claremont own the premiership if they play this way in 2 weeks

Prelim finals fixture

League
West Perth vs Subiaco
Sunday, 2:15, Arena Joondalup

Reserves
Perth vs East Fremantle
Sunday, 2:15, Brownes Stadium

Colts
Claremont vs Subiaco
Saturday, 10:00, Claremont Oval

Will probably walk over to Claremont Oval for my first Colts game of the year!

You are kidding right? Claremont were superb today - best they have been all season by some distance. The umpires had absolutely no influence on the result. In fact 4 of WP's first 6 goals were directly from dubious free kicks in their favour. Free kick count even despite one side being 10-15 goals in front for most of the day. The only thing that stopped WP being beaten by 120 pts was Claremont putting the cue back in the rack early in the last qrt.

As for your comment on Kane Mitchell, maybe some of the WP players could take a leaf out of his book when it comes to winning a contested footy. Consistently put his body on the line and won the contests. Your comment is a disgrace !!

That's horseshit and free kick counts mean **** all. Time after time WP were denied obvious free kicks while Claremont were given everything even the 50-50 one's.

Hey guys,

Well what a day that was. I haven't sen Claremont put a performance on like that all season.
They attacked the ball, ran hard almost all day and put on the kind of defensive pressure that the Cardies usually inflict on us.
I didn't notice any discrepancies in the free kicks, it was the usual collection of frees ranging from obvious to very soft and sometimes harsh. There didn't seem to be a bias one way or the other.
West Perth. I haven't seen them play that bad all year. I really don't know what was wrong with them. Shell shocked? possibly, over-awed by the occasion...hardly. There weren't that many people there to throw them off. When they did string some good play together they more often than not failed to finish it off properly.
And sooooo so many unforced errors.
Then there is another factor that most don't consider, whether the ball is bouncing your way on the day. Laugh all you like but I saw more than a few times when the ball was going the Cardies way they'd get an absolutely diabolical bounce. Several times a West Perth player running into their attacking zone to get onto the ball and it bouncing up and over them and into the hands of the Claremont player.
Never seen anything like it. Proof that sometimes god goes for Claremont I think.

A really terrible day for the Cardies though.

Hopefully Claremont will bring this game to the Grand Final.

:thumbsu:.. was great to watch.. one of the most dominant 4 quarter performances in a 2 year period of dominant performances.

Easily the best game Trinity has played imo... and Chad was back to his best.. Wilkes was extremely well held which can only be a positive really.

I thought Schammer was harshly dealt with in the worst today, thought he used the ball quite well and along with Blackwell, dominated the middle.

And my boy Kane... i was about to blow him a kiss when he looked over after that mark :eek: **

** Maybe some homo

Cant wait the the fortnight to pass.. tbh im torn, earlier in the season i would hands down want to play Subi, but in the last month the tide is turning and i think i would prefer to play WP

^^^^Mate you couldn't have been sitting too far away from me then. I was in the group of people who kept starting up chants after every goal.
And we also yell out Wilkse's name every time he gets near it.
It was awesome when he turned and waved at us after his goal in the last.

That's horseshit and free kick counts mean **** all. Time after time WP were denied obvious free kicks while Claremont were given everything even the 50-50 one's.

Ok, time to take a breath. I was there too, and I have to say that most of the free decisions were mystifying to me, for both sides. I spotted most of the easy ones and they went as expected, but there were heaps of 50-50's that went wests way too.
Claremont were first to the ball all day and went in hard. When you do that, you get a lot of the frees. Wests did get quite frustrated and gave away a lot os stupid frees, Claremont gave away a few of those too.
All that aside, Wests just had an incredibly dirty day. Nothing went right for them, nothing at all.

Commiserations.

U mad?

haha, I heard that, keep it up:thumbsu:

^^^^Mate you couldn't have been sitting too far away from me then. I was in the group of people who kept starting up chants after every goal.

Yeah mate, left hand end of the Members stand.. first time i have sat there, i usually sit on the wing near where the Ressies sit after their game.

I was impressed with the chants haha.. and the tigers crowd in general actually.. keep it up :thumbsu:

Yeah mate, left hand end of the Members stand.. first time i have sat there, i usually sit on the wing near where the Ressies sit after their game.

I was impressed with the chants haha.. and the tigers crowd in general actually.. keep it up :thumbsu:

Will do. I plan to get my tickets thru the club so I can sit with the usual crowd and rev em up a bit.
It was great when the squad came over to applaud the supporters for all the noise we made.

Rix out is a massive out for Subi, IMO. Huge opportunity for Scotty Douglas, in a final, who would have thought. :eek: That's why you've got to be always at the ready, you never know when you're going to get thrown a chance.

The teams for tomorrow:

Falcons
B D Burns D Hunt D Fleay
HB S Bewick B Lecras L Tedesco
C J Morrow M Hutchings J Pearce
HF A Strijk J Gobbels S Browne
FF F Stockley A Tsalikis K Manning
F C Keunen J Salecic A Saylor
Int. S Tregear, R Bartholomew, J Lockyer, C Branch, M Guadagnin, J Rice, A Black, M Crisp
In J Lockyer, A Black, J Morrow, M Guadagnin
Out

Lions
B R Forrest D Rumble K Bloxsidge
HB B Randall A Parker A Davey
C D Hughes C Phelan S Hildebrandt
HF P Hassett C Wheeler R Kerr
FF S Worthington B Broadhurst A Pickett
F B Stevenson J Bristow K Horsley
Int. R Blechynden, A Cockie, S Douglas, G Hampson, D Headland, B Keevers, R Muller, R Wade
In S Douglas, G Hampson, B Keevers, R Muller, R Wade
Out M Rix

Went down to the Colts who in the end accounted for Subi with relative ease after a tint first half tussle. On a very sour note, Captain Hugo Breaksley suffered a broken leg in the closing minutes of the game. Why does this always happen to us!?

Anyway, all three grades are in the Grand Final which is a fantastic reward for a fantastic season. I hope we can get as many Tiger fans as possible to all three games!

P.S, does anyone know when the last time a club won all three premierships was?

^^^ I have absolutely no idea about that, I don't think Claremont have done it yet though.
I was there too cheering the colts on and making a racket with my friends.
You really must come over sometime and say hi.

2011 WAFL Finals Thread