2011 WAFL Ladder Prediction

And what about the 3rd game we played no mention???? ;) ..at the end of the day one side went on to be Premiers in one of the greatest GF's in history while the other side went on to claim the Wooden Spoon with Peel who lost 10 games by over 100 points finishing above them! OUCH :eek:

Not surprised you are feeling a little cocky Swannies, you are the reigning premiers and these days are looking more and more like the new Subi of the WAFL. You are even stealing players off them. With BHP backing a WAFL club it's no surprise. Apparently SD are paying Phil Smart $130k as football manager. That is obscene money in the WAFL. We were very competitive with your premiership winning side last year with an inferior list to what we will have this year. We lost narrowly the first time, defeated you the second time and though you blew us away in the 3rd game we still managed to kick a respectable 16.8. Look forward to Perth v SD clashes in 2011. ;)
Way ahead of you mate! ;)

But that's entirley my point r'n'b. I didn't think Subi's or Peel's teams were anything much, I thought you were at least equal. Yes, we lost to Subi as well, which was as much a result of the mental pain they had dealt out for the past 5 years as anything, but it showed the evenness of the comp overall.
There's no denying we were disgraceful last season and there was absolutely no excuse for finishing below Peel. That was embarrassing. But I don't think we had the team to finish any higher than Peel.

Another positive for this year will be McDougall will have done a pre season. Last year he was only talked into playing again around February so he had a limited preparation which caught up with him when he did a hammy, against Subi at Eftel from memory. But when he eventually came back he played some bloody good footy for us. He will most likely play a lot of football in the ruck this year and apparently that's where he likes to play. I expect further improvement from some young players and i'm told there's a few from the colts who could step straight up.

Not sure how Swans will go this year.

Too many losses to their team and not enough gains.

Claremont will probably street the field this year. They've retained all their best players I think, and having lost three games all of last year including the GF, they'll be hungry for atonement.

But I hope the Royals kick their ass.

Not sure how Swans will go this year.

Too many losses to their team and not enough gains.

Claremont will probably street the field this year. They've retained all their best players I think, and having lost three games all of last year including the GF, they'll be hungry for atonement.

But I hope the Royals kick their ass.
How many and who have you lost UFG? Early reports suggested you could lose Geapen and Robinson but it appears they have stayed. Your confirmed losses so far are Krakouer and Twomey but i think apart from Krakouer your biggest loss might be Brian Dawson. He made a big difference to Swans so it will be interesting to see how you go without him. Big shoes to fill for Greg Harding.

I'm a Royals man myself, but I've got too many mates/family members with vested interest in Swans to let them go unnoticed.

Krakouer and Twomey are two players that can't be replaced. Has Hansen gone back to Victoria? If so, there's another 41 goals that need to be found. Good news that Geappen's stayed (well, good for Swans anyway). Had heard he was gone back to Tassie.

Dawson is going to be hard to replace, especially for an untried coach at league level like Harding.

I also know of one other player who's fielding offers from another WAFL club and a team over east, but I won't mention his name because I'm not sure the club knows yet. There's a funny story that goes with it though, so hopefully I'll get to tell it later on.

I just think that when you stack Swans up against other teams like Claremont (who haven't lost much at all), and East Perth (who've gained a few big names), they might struggle to reach the highs of 2010.

I'm a Royals man myself, but I've got too many mates/family members with vested interest in Swans to let them go unnoticed.

Krakouer and Twomey are two players that can't be replaced. Has Hansen gone back to Victoria? If so, there's another 41 goals that need to be found. Good news that Geappen's stayed (well, good for Swans anyway). Had heard he was gone back to Tassie.

Dawson is going to be hard to replace, especially for an untried coach at league level like Harding.

I also know of one other player who's fielding offers from another WAFL club and a team over east, but I won't mention his name because I'm not sure the club knows yet. There's a funny story that goes with it though, so hopefully I'll get to tell it later on.

I just think that when you stack Swans up against other teams like Claremont (who haven't lost much at all), and East Perth (who've gained a few big names), they might struggle to reach the highs of 2010.
Hansen has signed with Swans i believe so they will have him exclusively (when he's fit anyway). I think Hunter is making a comeback with Swans also. They have also snared Jacky who was delisted by Adelaide who was originally from Subi. They've picked up a few others too so I think Swans will still be strong but it might take time for new players and a new coach to click.

Hey, usually I'm the pessimist on Swans, can you leave that to me please?:D I want to hear that funny story sometime too, UFG.:thumbsu:

Looks like we've also got Isaiah Stevens for the year,:thumbsu: as he hasn't returned to GWS after Christmas, according to the Hun. Rather than cut him they'll allow him to play at Swans for the year.

I'll be interested to see if Stevens will even break in to SD 22.......Hunter, Hansen, Geappen, Notte all pushing for spots plus new recruits for 2011......Stevens seems like a gifted player who is a long term project.....very long term.....similiar to Notte!

Considering SD reserves were woeful in 2010, Stevens may be a good get for them at least Swannies!

Claremont should dominate this year. Pretty much no loss, and a couple good names coming in. Could be one of the most potent WAFL sides seen. Swans might also lose Casserley to Richmond with their witheld draft pick.

Twomey and Krakouer are big losses. Plus the coach. East Perth finished well and have added a few very decent names, but throwing names into a side dont make the side work necessarily. Apparently they got Lovett last year? lol. see how it all goes.

On the note of Perth, I dont think they will climb too far. Maybe push towards middle of the ladder and off the bottom, but to do that other sides need to drop also. Damon White etc, ok names, but nothing spectacular. All will be serviceable WAFL players, but I think there are quite a few WAFL (non AFL) players better.

Swan Districts have finally released an article confirming player movements.

Outs
Andrew Krakouer - Collingwood
Wayde Twomey - Carlton
Travis Casserly - Richmond

Ins
Ashley Hansen - West Coast (full time)
Tony Notte - West Coast (full time)
Adam Hunter - West Coast/South Bunbury
Luke Miles - St Kilda
Jarrad Blight - Collingwood
Jarrhan Jacky - Adelaide
Alex James - West Perth
John Williams - Essendon

Miles is the one to look out for - former Swan Districts best and fairest and coming off several seasons of AFL.

Swan Districts have finally released an article confirming player movements.

Outs
Andrew Krakouer - Collingwood
Wayde Twomey - Carlton
Travis Casserly - Richmond

Ins
Ashley Hansen - West Coast (full time)
Tony Notte - West Coast (full time)
Adam Hunter - West Coast/South Bunbury
Luke Miles - St Kilda
Jarrad Blight - Collingwood
Jarrhan Jacky - Adelaide
Alex James - West Perth
John Williams - Essendon

Miles is the one to look out for - former Swan Districts best and fairest and coming off several seasons of AFL.

Yeah, Luke is a gun. Should not have been delisted. Didnt actually knoe he was coming back. Definitely the biggest in out of all of them. But yeah, a few alright names, could be a contender again based on that.

I'll be interested to see if Stevens will even break in to SD 22.......Hunter, Hansen, Geappen, Notte all pushing for spots plus new recruits for 2011......Stevens seems like a gifted player who is a long term project.....very long term.....similiar to Notte!

Considering SD reserves were woeful in 2010, Stevens may be a good get for them at least Swannies!

We've got to find him first Freezin, which is sort of what I expected.
;)

Haha you have got to laugh ...yes Perth did beat Swans at Lathlain last year only just mind you but what you fail to realise is nearly a dozen of the eventual premiership side were missing that day as most were rested! Anyways keep talking the Demons up buddy you would think after 34 lean years you would learn your lesson but it would seem not! :rolleyes:
LOL, looking forward to this Monday's game at Steel Blue. What about you Jughead?

Quite a few red faces from this thread I would imagine.

LOL, looking forward to this Monday's game at Steel Blue. What about you Jughead?

Why the red faces.. you have won a few games...... gee you are easy to please... so do you see your team as a genuine flag challenger?

Nothing feeds disappointment like expectation.

This :thumbsu:

Carn the Demons! Going to be making a lot of teams look silly this season. :D

Why the red faces.. you have won a few games...... gee you are easy to please... so do you see your team as a genuine flag challenger?

Nothing feeds disappointment like expectation.

Could be worse, you could go through a whole season losing one game and dominate just about every team and then lose the Grand Final. Bet Perth haven't done that in their history. Claremont on the other hand.....perennial bridesmaids. :thumbsu:

You have to be prepaired to lose one to win one. But I would think that is a concept a bit difficult to understand for someone who doesn't even have the balls to list who they follow.

Bit hard to win a flag if you cant make it to the grand final. How many years has it been now since Perth last made a grandfinal ?

Was it 1978 ?? Beaten by East Perth and Barry Cable was East Perth Captain Coach.

Since Perth last won the flag I have had the pleasure of Watching Claremont win six. Its a great feeling.

Love the banter and passion in this thread, this is what WAFL is all about, having 9 different sets of supporters, rather than just the usual Eagles V Dockers stuff:thumbsu:!!!

You have to be prepaired to lose one to win one. But I would think that is a concept a bit difficult to understand for someone who doesn't even have the balls to list who they follow.

Bit hard to win a flag if you cant make it to the grand final. How many years has it been now since Perth last made a grandfinal ?

Was it 1978 ?? Beaten by East Perth and Barry Cable was East Perth Captain Coach.

Since Perth last won the flag I have had the pleasure of Watching Claremont win six. Its a great feeling.

I don't care when Perth last made a GF because I go for Subi. :thumbsu:

2011 WAFL Ladder Prediction