A Section 2011

Squiggzy, you have asked the Big Question here: "where did the amnesty stuff come from" - why have the VAFA felt compelled to bring this in? Just so many questions.
Is it Xavs again? Does sending a $5000 hardware hamper to VAFA H.O. for Christmas breach the rules?
How many scholarships to the school can Hails afford? Can OM's afford anything? Are Carey really doing plumbers vans? Have Uni spent all their cash on succession planning for coaches over the next 5 years? Have De La bought Dairy Bell and are now trading in under the table ice cream? Scotchies maybe (you'd have to pay me to play there - hear Banners is an interesting Cat). Someone has to be the first and maybe an avalanche will follow?
Will be an interesting month or so to see if the Hazell Rule takes any victims.
Must run, River Cottage is about to air on Foxtel Lifestyle Channel. 89 Shiraz for me too old pencil nose. 'twas a wonderful vintage.

Which kids are on scholarships at Hails?

Re: 2011 and Mal from Malvern

So are they able to register, pay these guys, then claim the amnesty prior to 30/6/2011 and win another flag?

The perfect crime. :eek:

How about they just want to play for the club? The rich history and the culture that the Old Xavs have?

Xavs to be v hard to beat.

People rave about De La's youngsters, however Xavs have a few young guns of their own....

Agree with the youngster call.

Xavs have just as young a side as anyone in the comp... The funny thing is they also have more premiership players than anyone in the comp.

And they don't get ahead of themselves... Apparently still hungry for more!

I'm tipping a Three-peat!!

Xavs have just as young a side as anyone in the comp... The funny thing is they also have more premiership players than anyone in the comp.

Anyone inparticular from your end that we should be looking out for DShlapp?

How about they just want to play for the club? The rich history and the culture that the Old Xavs have?

Xavs to be v hard to beat.

Any truth to the wisper that one B Cousins will be making an appearance in the red and black this season?

If so, how do Xavs do it? What a star recruit!

Old Carey's list looks wanting. Thoughts?

No question that Xavs have enormous depth of talent but at the risk of repeating an earlier post Noonan was the only player from the previous years 19s to feature in the GF and I hear he is going to the VFL. Goss springs to mind but any other youngsters coming though that we should keep an eye on?

Agree they are going to be hard to beat.

Any truth to the wisper that one B Cousins will be making an appearance in the red and black this season?

If so, how do Xavs do it? What a star recruit!

Old Carey's list looks wanting. Thoughts?

I'm not directly involved in the club but I don't think there is any truth to that rumour. I did hear Caydn Beetham had returned however.

No question that Xavs have enormous depth of talent but at the risk of repeating an earlier post Noonan was the only player from the previous years 19s to feature in the GF and I hear he is going to the VFL. Goss springs to mind but any other youngsters coming though that we should keep an eye on?

Agree they are going to be hard to beat.

Has Noonan gone to VFL? Interesting to see if his football can progress from there.

Have heard Goss has had a big pre-season and looks to have a big year, however unsure of some other youngsters Xavs have if anyone can shed some further light.

Carey sound Scarey

That rumour regarding them doesn't seem to be going away though does it.

Is it also true they have a new sponsor in the business of automotive vans and people movers?

Carey do look scarey........top 4 in my opinion, Xavs, De La.......only leaves one other spot in my book. Don't know about the vans or whatever

Carey sound Scarey

That rumour regarding them doesn't seem to be going away though does it.

Is it also true they have a new sponsor in the business of automotive vans and people movers?

Don't be scared Mal, they make big noise each year and deliver zero.

A new sponser equals new shorts however, unfortunately for the fairies, shorts can't kick goals.

Less noise, more heart.

Don't be scared Mal, they make big noise each year and deliver zero.

A new sponser equals new shorts however, unfortunately for the fairies, shorts can't kick goals.

Less noise, more heart.

They have gone from D to A Grade in 5-6 years. So not sure what you are on about?
There best 15 are as good as DLS or OX. Its the depth that will become the issue if they lose a number of players. Ressies have historically been weak.

They have gone from D to A Grade in 5-6 years. So not sure what you are on about?
There best 15 are as good as DLS or OX. quote]

D to A in 5-6 years = over 6 years to make the grade. How long were they languishing in D? Anyhow, good effort, accept that. History is history though.

Best 15 are as good as DLS or OX is the overstatement of the thread. That's fantasy stuff octopussy.

Happy to agree to disagree and return to this exchange in August.

D to A in 5-6 years = over 6 years to make the grade. How long were they languishing in D? Anyhow, good effort, accept that. History is history though.

Best 15 are as good as DLS or OX is the overstatement of the thread. That's fantasy stuff octopussy.

Im guessing you couldn't even name 15 of their senior best?

Have a try!

Hey Brockie, or should i say mr squiggle or rah rah? There's no-one from Carey on here spruiking, only outsiders guessing and a couple of others trying to create a stir. All sides will have recruited and all would have lost players. I guess you will just have to wait to see how good our best 15 are.

Great post Brian, how is it sitting on that fence?

Not sitting on the fence mate, OC are an EXTREMELY talented side but they run out of puff with their last 3 or 4 on the bench, if they have a clean year injury wise look out, whereas most teams if they have an injury free year are happy to not get squashed(relegated) living in the land of the giants ruled by Old Xavs.

I wouldn't be surprised if this year's Grand Final is a repeat of last year's matchup, Old Xaverians v Collegians, seeing that the Lions have signed up possibly the greatest full-forward in recent VFA/VFL history since Port Melbourne's Fred Cook ruled the goalsquare, 5-time premiership with Sandringham, and 800+ goals for the Zebras in Nick Sautner.

Collegians played better last year when they weren't reliant on one full forward (Watts) to kick their goals. When will they learn the lesson? There aren't too many key forwards able to kick big bags on a regular basis unless they are extremely mobile, which Sautner no longer is. How will Collegians fare on game day when the players run out with a player who doesn't train? Plus all Sautner cares about is himself.

Collegians are remniscent of the current Brisbane Lions who tried to hold on too long by topping up with players past their prime instead of bringing through the younger guys. This move could prove a disaster for the Collegians Lions...

Collegians played better last year when they weren't reliant on one full forward (Watts) to kick their goals. When will they learn the lesson? There aren't too many key forwards able to kick big bags on a regular basis unless they are extremely mobile, which Sautner no longer is. How will Collegians fare on game day when the players run out with a player who doesn't train? Plus all Sautner cares about is himself.

Collegians are remniscent of the current Brisbane Lions who tried to hold on too long by topping up with players past their prime instead of bringing through the younger guys. This move could prove a disaster for the Collegians Lions...

Agree with IT Man - I think Collegians are kidding themselves here into thinking Sautner will be the answer to their prayers - horrible bloke from all reports - it is very much all about Nick Sautner - just ask his former Zebra teammates - all very happy he ain't there anymore.

There are already real doubts about whether this was/is a good decision. I hope for the Lions' sake it is a good decision because it sounds like everyone is hoping the Sautner experiment will fail. Time will tell.

Hey Brockie, or should i say mr squiggle or rah rah? There's no-one from Carey on here spruiking, only outsiders guessing and a couple of others trying to create a stir. All sides will have recruited and all would have lost players. I guess you will just have to wait to see how good our best 15 are.
Hey OC37 (now you're either a 73 year old fan of Old Carey, or you wear that # in their 2's, or perhaps both?), not sure why you mention me in that dispatch. I haven't talked them up and have never been to Carey - you may recall I even had to ask where it was?
My only other comment was on whether walkabout Carl would remember to turn up, as per the Herald Sun article I found when researching him. Not a great read. I just reckon the articles above about Sauntner eroding the Collegians happy culture may well also be written about Carey and their Big Recruit by mid year.
For those that missed it: (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...petersons-future/story-e6frf9jf-1225931205733) Fev Next?

Hey OC37 (now you're either a 73 year old fan of Old Carey, or you wear that # in their 2's, or perhaps both?), not sure why you mention me in that dispatch. I haven't talked them up and have never been to Carey - you may recall I even had to ask where it was?
My only other comment was on whether walkabout Carl would remember to turn up, as per the Herald Sun article I found when researching him. Not a great read. I just reckon the articles above about Sauntner eroding the Collegians happy culture may well also be written about Carey and their Big Recruit by mid year.
For those that missed it: (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...petersons-future/story-e6frf9jf-1225931205733) Fev Next?
Not far off the mark in either sense, though a past tense would suit one. Sorry to add you to the other two- was more suspicious of some pro-carey rants with little knowledge from Mr Squiggle. Anyway, enough here for now