A Section 2011

I had a look at the second half of the St Bedes Mentone v Uni Blues match.
I must say I was disgusted with the filthy, petulant, babyish, abusivise mouth of the Uni Blues senior coach. I am amazed that the VAFA let this bloke do what he does week in, week out.
He is an embarrassment to not only his club but to the VAFA in general. His carry on, in front of a heap of 5-10 year old children was enough for one of his staffers to call him an imbecile. His new assistant coach carries on just as badly, they are a rudderluss ship lead by two headless individuals.
As far as the game goes, the third and fourth quarters were fantastic. Blues were fanatical at the ball and looked to have the Tigers stretched, only for the Tigers and their famous never give in spirit willing themelves over the line on the back of some inspired goals from their forwards and great leadership from their skipper.

Well said BS, wasn't there but sounds like you have reported what you have observed and come onto BF to drop your views. No doubt a precious UB supporter will sign up this week and have a crack and tell us that you are a motherless child etc. As your #1 rule is, just ignore newbies and trolls.

So many " Hi, I'm a long time reader, first time poster...." on here

statler_waldorf.jpg

Yup, they're back for another season... :)

YouLike tipped OM's & Collegians. Nice try buddy.

Incorrect RahRah it was actually God Yeah that tipped both, I just asked him how it went.

Please try and include SOME facts in your weekly rant otherwise the board will fill up with rumours and innuendo and we wouldn’t want that now would we?

Incorrect RahRah it was actually God Yeah that tipped both, I just asked him how it went.

Please try and include SOME facts in your weekly rant otherwise the board will fill up with rumours and innuendo and we wouldn’t want that now would we?
I told you Church Street is full of yahmmy mahmmy's in lahcra - not factual enough for you buddy?

Well said BS, wasn't there but sounds like you have reported what you have observed and come onto BF to drop your views. No doubt a precious UB supporter will sign up this week and have a crack and tell us that you are a motherless child etc. As your #1 rule is, just ignore newbies and trolls.

So many " Hi, I'm a long time reader, first time poster...." on here

Agree BS/CC........there is no quality there. Could recount 20 similar incidents over the journey. Abusing injured opposition players etc etc

I had a look at the second half of the St Bedes Mentone v Uni Blues match.
I must say I was disgusted with the filthy, petulant, babyish, abusivise mouth of the Uni Blues senior coach. I am amazed that the VAFA let this bloke do what he does week in, week out.
He is an embarrassment to not only his club but to the VAFA in general. His carry on, in front of a heap of 5-10 year old children was enough for one of his staffers to call him an imbecile. His new assistant coach carries on just as badly, they are a rudderluss ship lead by two headless individuals.
As far as the game goes, the third and fourth quarters were fantastic. Blues were fanatical at the ball and looked to have the Tigers stretched, only for the Tigers and their famous never give in spirit willing themelves over the line on the back of some inspired goals from their forwards and great leadership from their skipper.

Well said Brian.

He is well known for his unsporting behaviour-terrible when he is losing-always has been.

The general consensus is he has stayed a year too long and has lost the plot.

How would it be if he was the first man for nearly four decades to take then to B Section?

What if they were passed in the process by Blacks?

St Bedes appear to be playing with great spirit atm.

First time poster on the VAFA site. Have spent all my senior footy days over at the SFL (please dont hold it against me!!!) :)

Happened to get down and watch a quarter of the St. Bedes v Uni Blues match on Sat. I was very impressed with the standard of footy. Fast, open and very skilled. And both sides were very ferocious at the footy (dont understand the 'soft' tag the Ammo's can sometimes get). I will definitely be interested in heading down to watch more of that football in the future. I was surprised to see St. Bede's get up, as i left at half time and Uni Blues had the upper hand.

And no guys, i won't be trying to compare VAFA to SFL to EFL to EDFL etc. Would be like flogging a dead horse!!!

One final note, was good to see Leigh Fisher running around umpiring. I think it is great to see ex AFL guys umpiring. A great initiative of the AFL. I hope he continues with it and makes into the VFL or AFL!!

My 2 cents worth!

Nice post, Jetsons.

I never ceases to amaze me how many 'suburban league' (for want of a better term) clubs, footballers and supporters dismiss amateur football - mostly through ignorance, I suspect.

Good to hear that you've had a taste of it and were impressed with the standard.

Cheers!

Long Time supporter of the VAFA!!

But need to get this off my chest !!

The Umpiring this year thus far has been the worst I have ever seen it!

I have been to watch a number of different games and teams and am a supporter of the "competition" (dont have a particular team) and admirer of good football!

However, I cannot believe how many decisions have been made so far in the games I have seen. Ones that have cost teams badly too I must say.

Has anyone else noticed this?

It is making it hard to watch.... The game I saw on the weekend (wont name it) had some of the worst umpiring I have seen in a long time.

Well if you already spend your weekends watching it Alinta why don't you sign up and have a crack at being an umpire yourself?

My tips this week are

SBMT vs. OX – Match of the round, flip a coin
OC vs. OM’s – OM’s only play so they can shower together
UB vs. OH – Got to go with the home team
DLS vs. OS – Going with a semi upset here, OS normally like Dairy Bell
OT vs. Coll – This will also be close initially but Coll will get the job done by 6 goals in the end

Good luck to all

To be honest I've been impressed with the consistency of umpiring decisions throughout each match - be they good, bad or indifferent. IMO you can't ask for more than that.

My picks:

SBMT to defeat Xavs - only because they're at home
Panthers to defeat OMs - will be a good luncheon, too!!
Uni Blues over The Bloods - tossed a coin on this one
Dairy Bells over Scotchies - home gound advantage?
Collegians to do to Old Trinity what they did to Old Carey

Snippet from the De La Website

Justin Baxter will be missed in the De La back half - All the best mate and have a speedy recovery.

Justin’s condition had not improved as they (doctors) would have liked and he underwent some exploratory surgery on Tuesday. The results were not great and they no option but to remove his spleen. This is obviously a serious measure and as expected Justin is not travelling all that well at the moment. He is in a great deal of pain and has a long road ahead to regain full health, let alone play football.

To make matters worse Justin, who has been felling unwell for a few weeks, has been diagnosed with glandular fever. This is adding to his discomfort and further impacting his recovery.

While the circumstances of Saturday’s loss were bitterly disappointing, Justin’s situation gives it some perspective. Our thoughts are with him and we hope that the worst of this is over and he is now on the road to recovery.

Everyone who knows Justin will appreciate what a fantastic young person he is. As a club we need to support him and hope that the wider De La Salle Football community will get behind these efforts.

Well if you already spend your weekends watching it Alinta why don't you sign up and have a crack at being an umpire yourself?

My tips this week are

OT vs. Coll – This will also be close initially but Coll will get the job done by 6 goals in the end

Good luck to all

Struck a nerve

Oh yeah absolutely

I loath losers that sit on the sidelines and criticise umpires, I’m now retired but I played A grade footy for 5 years, during those years I dropped marks, I missed tackles and I kicked a few points but no one complained or had a crack at me about it.

A grade footy is a fast game and both umpires & players are human, they make mistakes! Yes some weeks the Ump’s make more mistakes than others but that can’t be helped, they have off days like players.

If you are not happy with the standard of umpiring get your fat ass off the sidelines and have a crack yourself

Snippet from the De La Website

Justin Baxter will be missed in the De La back half - All the best mate and have a speedy recovery.

Justin’s condition had not improved as they (doctors) would have liked and he underwent some exploratory surgery on Tuesday. The results were not great and they no option but to remove his spleen. This is obviously a serious measure and as expected Justin is not travelling all that well at the moment. He is in a great deal of pain and has a long road ahead to regain full health, let alone play football.

To make matters worse Justin, who has been felling unwell for a few weeks, has been diagnosed with glandular fever. This is adding to his discomfort and further impacting his recovery.

While the circumstances of Saturday’s loss were bitterly disappointing, Justin’s situation gives it some perspective. Our thoughts are with him and we hope that the worst of this is over and he is now on the road to recovery.

Everyone who knows Justin will appreciate what a fantastic young person he is. As a club we need to support him and hope that the wider De La Salle Football community will get behind these efforts.

Absolute tragedy. Knew the boys was crook post game but had no idea the extent. They can’t take trick at Diary Bell at the moment with so many top liners getting cut down with season ending injuries. Ripper young bloke Justin and he has been playing fantastic footy. It does indeed put things in perspective.

My tips this week are

Good luck to all

Even if the "home" team is playing at EP?

Oh yeah absolutely

I loath losers that sit on the sidelines and criticise umpires, I’m now retired but I played A grade footy for 5 years, during those years I dropped marks, I missed tackles and I kicked a few points but no one complained or had a crack at me about it.

A grade footy is a fast game and both umpires & players are human, they make mistakes! Yes some weeks the Ump’s make more mistakes than others but that can’t be helped, they have off days like players.

If you are not happy with the standard of umpiring get your fat ass off the sidelines and have a crack yourself

You sound like you were a very average footballer!!