2012/13 Nine Commentary team bagging thread

• Thread starter Thread starter JUBJUB

The cricket show quiz: What are the 10 ways of getting out.
1. There's 11
2. When David Hussey said 'hitting the ball twice' they gave the buzzer and didn't count it.
3. They counted Mankadded as separate to run out.

I mean shit if you're going to do a quiz at least come close to getting it right.

nearly fell out of my chair. and i never do that sober.

1. There's 11
2. When David Hussey said 'hitting the ball twice' they gave the buzzer and didn't count it.

I mean shit if you're going to do a quiz at least come close to getting it right.

Aren't there 10? (Caught, bowled, stumped, LBW, run out, hit wicket, hit ball twice, handled the ball, timed out, obstructing the field)

But yeah, I saw that and couldn't believe it. Really poor that Nine don't even know the basic laws of the game they have been broadcasting for 30+ years.

Aren't there 10? (Caught, bowled, stumped, LBW, run out, hit wicket, hit ball twice, handled the ball, timed out, obstructing the field)

But yeah, I saw that and couldn't believe it. Really poor that Nine don't even know the basic laws of the game they have been broadcasting for 30+ years.

According to Wikipedia there are ten, plus 'retired out'.

According to the laws of cricket there are 10 plus 'retired out'.

I would think it's pretty clear cut, I mean hell retired out is closer to being dismissed than timed out.

Either way, it was ridiculous.

Here we go again another full day of Slater, Taylor, Nicholas banging on about how great a place Sydney is (as if all day yesterday wasnt enough for us poor viewers trying to watch the cricket) ..you know how it goes Bondi Beach, Harbour Bridge, Opera House blah blah blah
Fair dinkum you would think they were getting paid a lil something extra to talk the place up as much as possible! :rolleyes:
Pity they dont do the same amount of spruiking about our other cities when the Tests are being played there with the exception of Bill his beloved Melbourne but I think he does it more to stir up his NSW counterpart flogs in the commentary box knowing full well the next Test is going to be unbearable with Sydney promoting claptrap for 5 days straight!
Let's see if Slater, Taylor & co bang on about how only in Sydney it takes 10 minutes to move the fricken sightscreen!! :p
Have a bloody manual option ffs! :rolleyes:

1. There's 11

Embarrassing really. Yeah they missed two by my reckoning;

- hitting the ball twice
- Retired Out

Basically McGrath and Lee are hopeless. I actually find it painful to listen to McGrath who seems to have no actual insight other than injokes with the boys - which are funny but we have Taylor, Slats and Heals for that.

Bill and Taylor are great, Chappell is good and to the point, Heals is ok and Slater still likes to remind people of his day. Mark Nicholas does a pretty good job too. And Richie, well every one loves him!

Blewett, Fleming, Mark Waugh and Julian are by far the best. Andrew Symonds is just a pain in the ass and hope we dont have to suffer listening to him prattle on next summer. AB is only slightly better.

According to the laws of cricket there are 10 plus 'retired out'.

I would think it's pretty clear cut, I mean hell retired out is closer to being dismissed than timed out.

Either way, it was ridiculous.
I remember a "retired out" dismissal from a Shield match when I first started following the game.

http://www.cricketarchive.co.uk/Archive/Scorecards/32/32051.html

I can't recall the exact circumstances, but I think Watson left the field thinking he had been caught, whereas the umpire had actually given it not out. So as he didn't return, and he had been given not out "caught", the umpire ruled it be recorded as "retired out".

I think....

That 9-360 thing? That's ancient "technology". I remember watching similar during Superbowl 38 (Feb 04, Panthers vs Patriots). I think it was the international FOX feed, They were using it on the Delhomme/Muhammad 85 yard touchdown pass. When they called it "3D", it would only have been good if they were able to stay on an angle other than the regular camera positions.

You know that whole game is on Youtube?

Feel free to give it a watch :p

Even poorer that umpires don't always give outs for ball handling. Only time I've seen it given was against Steve Waugh in India, 2001.

It also doesn't really work for cricket, since everything is happening on a rather 1 dimension aspect. It's fantastic for NFL, would be amazing for AFL.

Basically McGrath and Lee are hopeless. I actually find it painful to listen to McGrath who seems to have no actual insight other than injokes with the boys - which are funny but we have Taylor, Slats and Heals for that.

Bill and Taylor are great, Chappell is good and to the point, Heals is ok and Slater still likes to remind people of his day. Mark Nicholas does a pretty good job too. And Richie, well every one loves him!

Blewett, Fleming, Mark Waugh and Julian are by far the best. Andrew Symonds is just a pain in the arse and hope we dont have to suffer listening to him prattle on next summer. AB is only slightly better.
Lee's not bad. I had hope for Pigeon but alas he's not that good.

Bolded- You have got to be kidding me? Taylor is ****ing hopeless, Chappell is just as bad, they're annoying as hell and quite frankly Healy is not quite as bad but still annoying as hell. Slater is good when he's not with "the boys".

Blewett, Fleming and BJ are excellent, but Mark Waugh is the most biased commentator I have ever seen. He just barracks for NSW instead of commentating. Andrew Symonds is far better, and so is AB.

Even poorer that umpires don't always give outs for ball handling. Only time I've seen it given was against Steve Waugh in India, 2001.
I've seen a few more than that.

But I go back further than you I guess.

I cam remember Jimmy Armanath being out handled ball in an ODI in the mid 1980's, Graham Gooch also was dismissed handled ball in the 93 (?) Ashes series.
Yeah, they are two I can remember. I also go back far enough to remember Hilditch.

And there have been others in overseas tests not involving Australia.