HF: Stephen Coniglio / Drew Petrie (VC) / Mitch Duncan
HB: Chris Yarran / Lachie Hansen / Nick Malceski
C: Kade Simpson / Chris Judd (C) / Matt Rosa
C: David Mundy / Michael Rischitelli / Callan Ward
HB: Heath Scotland (LG) / Luke McPharlin (LG) / Sean Dempster
HF: Daniel Wells / Nathan Vardy / Jake Melksham
FB: Greg Broughton / Ted Richards / Matthew Scarlett
FF: Chris Mayne / Josh Kennedy(WCE) / Matt Campbell

Foll: Max Bailey / Brad Sewell / Jack Trengove (LG)
Foll: David Hille / Josh Kennedy(Syd) / Gary Ablett Jnr

I/C: Brendan Whitecross / Luke Parker / Clinton Young
I/C: Jordan Roughead / Lindsay Gilbee / Dan Connors
Sub: Christian Howard
Sub: Travis Colyer

Emg: Ben Speight / Kane Cornes / Addam Maric
Emg: David Astbury / Cale Morton / Charlie Dixon

My ratings-

FF - Roo2macca
HF - Roo2macca
C - Carl Spackler
HB - Roo2macca
FB - Roo2macca
R - Carl Spackler
B - Carl Spackler

The tight contests continue. Roo2macca has a nice forward line with plenty of X-factor. While I probably dont rate Petrie as high as I should (mainly cos he's injury prone), you cant underestimate having a tall target to kick to.

The midfield nearly comes down to Judd v Ablett. I chose Ablett, but also because of the support around him.

Roo2maccas defenders should get the better of Carl's forwards. J. Kennedy being the only one I really rate.

Carl has some quality on his bench, but it's not enough to get him the win.

Roo2macca in another nailbiter!

Why my team would win:

His forwards will have their hands full with my defence. Vardy will be lucky to get a touch on McPharlin and Kennedy, whilst dangerous, I think can be taken care of by either Richards or Scarlett. If Richards gets towelled up early, I can just move Scarlett onto him. Petrie on Hansen is also a major win for me as I don't rate Hansen as a KPD, and Jurrah will probably be worn like a glove by Taylor. As for my midfield, I have to say I have a solid one to work with, with Judd leading the way and Sewell and trengove providing excellent bluechip support, with Simpson on the outer breaking the lines. Carl also has a great midfield with GAJ being the main threat which is why I have one of the competitions best taggers in my side, and that is Dempster who was rarely beaten last year. GAJ will still probably rack up touches but Dempster's task is to limit his input and make most of his touched ineffective which I think he can do.

Finally to the bench, Whitecross will provide great service like he did for the Hawks, Parker provides more depth inside and is capable of going up forward with Howard taking off the green vest to provide fresh legs (and he is a great kick!)

I reckon that the Gophers backline would have the Maccaroos' forwards in check. Petrie is obviously a good player but only averages 1.0 goals per game over the course of his career. Last season was his best output (48 goals) but I think Harry Taylor would have his measure. The ground-level back trio of Yarran, Butler and Malceski are smart and use the ball well.

On ball would be an excellent match up with some football royalty going head to head (Ablett vs Judd). Each team has just as much grunt and clearance prowess as the other - but I reckon the Gophers have a touch of class (Mundy, Wells) and guys who can run and carry (Ward, Rischitelli) to get us across the line.

As I was going through the match-ups line by line, I thought that Carl was going pretty well until I got to his forward line - just too many second stringers in that group.

I think Carl's team would win the mid-field battles - in fact I think they would dominate, which puts his team right back in the mix.

However, you can only pick one team, and I'll go for rootomacca to win by 5 points due to a better conversion rate up forward.

Close, though.

Game 4 - 4th vs 5th

roo2macca's Maccaroos in bold
Carl Spackler's The Gophers in italics

FF: Brandon Matera / Liam Jurrah / Lewis Johnston
FB: Ben Stratton / Harry Taylor / Sam Butler
Carl.

HF: Stephen Coniglio / Drew Petrie (VC) / Mitch Duncan
HB: Chris Yarran / Lachie Hansen / Nick Malceski
Draw.

C: Kade Simpson / Chris Judd (C) / Matt Rosa
C: David Mundy / Michael Rischitelli / Callan Ward
Carl.

HB: Heath Scotland (LG) / Luke McPharlin (LG) / Sean Dempster
HF: Daniel Wells / Nathan Vardy / Jake Melksham
Roo2.

FB: Greg Broughton / Ted Richards / Matthew Scarlett
FF: Chris Mayne / Josh Kennedy(WCE) / Matt Campbell
Roo2.

Foll: Max Bailey / Brad Sewell / Jack Trengove (LG)
Foll: David Hille / Josh Kennedy(Syd) / Gary Ablett Jnr
Carl.

I/C: Brendan Whitecross / Luke Parker / Clinton Young
I/C: Jordan Roughead / Lindsay Gilbee / Dan Connors
Sub: Christian Howard
Sub: Travis Colyer
Emg: Ben Speight / Kane Cornes / Addam Maric
Emg: David Astbury / Cale Morton / Charlie Dixon
Roo2.

Okay - Carl for me, just.

Two teams lacking a 2nd proven KPF. Great mid's though.

I love the trio Carl has in his defence in Butler/Yarran/Malceski - really built for today's footy, will provide a ton of rebound and with his mids should mean the forward-line is well supplied. Can it kick enough goals though... with Scarlett/Scotland/Broughton the ball is going back the other way plenty of times as well.

I like Carl's bench better as well.. good flexibility there.

Going for Carl.. but oh so just. Could be a low scoring ping-pong affair this one.

Voted for roo2macca

The way I look at it the Midfield is pretty even could go either way maybe slightly to Carl. Carl's ruck adds to that advantage. However roo2macca's backs smash Carls forward line. Just too strong and lots of options. On the other end of the field it could go either way Harry Taylor will shut down one but if Jurrah is firing then I don't think hansen will do too much.

Think it would actually be a pretty dour contest with Roo just shading Carl in a nail bitter.

wow what a game.
the midf battles would be awesome to watch.
1 great team v 1 very good team.

R2M is one gun forward short in my opinion of having the best team in the comp.
However i just cant see how CS is going to kick his goals, with R2Ms quality defence unless GAJnr plays as a forward, which then stuffs his midf up.

R2M too powerful sorry CS

R2ms side is bloody good. I think I undervalued it too be honest...

Im giving the points to Spackler, just...

I love Spacklers midfield... Wells on a half forward flank was the icing on the cake for me..He had an elite year last year and although he has a few health concerns by all reports he will be ok.... I dont rate Hansen and Vardy is a bit of an unknown quantity for me but Taylor and Kennedy are on the verge of eliteness...

Competitions 2012 AFC Drafting Game Finals Series - roo2macca vs Carl Spackler