2012 AFL draft rumors

Cheers for the heads up. I'm always happy to read what people have heard. When Lonergan was asked who was the coach he had the best chat with he said Dimma.

Like Vlastuin he's a strong bodied mid which has been talked about as the type of players we will target in the draft.

Can we start Rendell jokes now about how he's racist and doesn't like recruiting indigenous players?
He'll definitely be drafting Spencer White as he has 2 White parents

I honestly don't know why they would take him, he's had his sights set on Norf since the trade period, wouldn't Essendon picking him up mean he wouldn't have the passion to play for them?
Simple.

We could get Jacobs to change his mind with a good offer.

Just have a look at the Mitch Clark situation. He wanted out of Brisbane and all the talk was that he wanted to go back to W.A. and play for either the Eagles or the Dockers. However he ends up going to Victoria to join the Demons and ends up having a good year until he got injured because Neeld and co made him a really good offer.

Simple.

We could get Jacobs to change his mind with a good offer.

Just have a look at the Mitch Clark situation. He wanted out of Brisbane and all the talk was that he wanted to go back to W.A. and play for either the Eagles or the Dockers. However he ends up going to Victoria to join the Demons and ends up having a good year until he got injured because Neeld and co made him a really good offer.
Looking at the Mitch Clark situation means that Jacobs doesn't go to Victoria and ends up in another state. Also hes nominated terms for his selection so clubs dont need to make an offer.

GWS are crazy if these rumours of them cooling on Toumpas are true, same thing happened last year with Wingard.

Players are often drafted to clubs they'd prefer not to be at. FFS, he'll be getting the $ he wants and he'll living in Melbourne. Is Arden St/North the closest place to his GF's/Parents house or something? Such a sook.

Another case of selective home sickness. Good luck to the club that takes this prima dona.....

He would make a fine addition along with Heppel and Goddard.

Imagine three quarter backs in the one side? Revolutionary.
Quite amusing how hUng up you are on landing him, i guess that comes after consistently getting your hopes dashed with north consistently missing players. I couldn't care less either way.

I've read that GWS could take Plowman at 3 then Grundy will be overlooked by everyone and then port might pick him up but I reckon they'll get Mayes then Brisbane don't need another ruck due to longer and then the tigers can get Brodie Grundy then our rucks will be set for the next 10 years :)

I honestly don't know why they would take him, he's had his sights set on Norf since the trade period, wouldn't Essendon picking him up mean he wouldn't have the passion to play for them?
Has he actually said he's set on North? I thought he was set on moving home, and North were just the most likely/interested during trade week.

I kind of do agree. I guess we would be talking to him and his manager to try and convince him but if he isn't keen we probably won't take him.
Once you draft him, and the Bombers own his rights, you hardly have to convince him. It's either play with us, or go play in the bush somewhere. Simple really. It's starting to be a disturbing trend where the horse picks the jockey, and not the other way around.

Has he actually said he's set on North? I thought he was set on moving home, and North were just the most likely/interested during trade week.
He said he wants to play for North, yes.

North would have Jacobs, Atley and Luke "already better than Bruce Doull" McDonald.

If you rate Jacobs so highly, then take him with pick 15.

Except that won't be the case seeing Heppell moved into the midfield for the majority of last season and the club have already signaled Goddard for a midfield role.
Suspect we won't take Jacobs anyway.

Surely we wouldn't take Lonergan. Sure, he's played reasonably well, but that's in Division 2.
He's also reportedly been playing senior footy in Tassie since he was 15 and is also not far off a year younger than the likes of Toumpas and Garlett, so could have plenty more improvement in him.

Read in the paper yesterday that Carlton might take Leon Davis in the pre-season as he loves Malthouse?

If they do this I will personally go APESH&T and conduct a protest similar to that when Fev was sacked.
It doesn't really worry me who they draft but to even think about Leon is lunacy.

Read in the paper yesterday that Carlton might take Leon Davis in the pre-season as he loves Malthouse?

If they do this I will personally go APESH&T and conduct a protest similar to that when Fev was sacked.
It doesn't really worry me who they draft but to even think about Leon is lunacy.
Highly doubt it.

Can't wait for another club to take Ben Jacobs, and for all the mindless trolls to rush on to here and be joyful about how North have "lost" another player...or maybe we just don't have the draft picks? Good youngster, but pick 15...nope..so it's back to 38 and we will see what other clubs do. He's definitely in the mix for a pick in the 30's, so it won't be like North has massively failed by being unable to stop Jacobs being picked up by another club.

So if Plowman is taken at 3, Melbourne and the Dogs won't take Grundy and so he slips to Port (7) or Richmond (9). Sam Mayes may slip down the order, as could Jackson Macrae, Jake Stringer (possible pick 6?), Dayle Garlett and depending on the Dogs pick 6, Troy Menzel.

HS says Josh Simpson to GC. Also read that elsewhere. Would combine well with Swallow, Bennell, O'Meara, Prestia etc..

Can't see Lonergan going at 9...but a kid who is very much a footballer, who then blitzes the draft camp like he did..well he is going to be considered much earlier than people expected a few months back.

I think Menzel will slip to GWS 4th or 5th pick (11, 13) with Simpson in between. Clurey maybe at 13. No rumour though, just personal opinion, but fits in with other rumours.

Heppell plays in the midfield with our brownlow medalist. Think you are getting confused with Atley who is a small defender.