Preview 2012 AFL Draft

Yeah I have heard he's pretty good, I have seen a bit of footage. Some of the guys on here rate him. He's also a midfielder I believe, but I'm not sure he is that quick.....I really think we need to recruit some serious pace.
Not super quick, but has very explosive pace.

To be an A grader you need some standout qualities. What is Wallis'?

I see him and Libba replacing Boyd/cross in the guts as our main extractors. We need some quality outside mids to offset their inside work.

he said Cross was a good kicker.

Apologies there both BSE and VD. My comment was not directed at BSE or what he said. I was in a hurry and simply used his post as a log on point. My comment was about a host of posters over recent times who castigate Cross unfairly for his kicking. Glad to see some here at least can see what is actually in front of them, as distinct from what they want/expect to see.

I see him and Libba replacing Boyd/cross in the guts as our main extractors. We need some quality outside mids to offset their inside work.
He is a 'natural' footballer, and an instinctive leader just for starters.
Instinctive leadership qualities, composed on the field and a natural footballer. All elements that you want from someone that is touted as a future leader of the club.

I understand that. Wallis will be the captain of the club one day I'm 99.9% sure of that.

My question goes back to what Mofra mentioned about Libba being our only certain A grade player. Do you see Wallis being an A grader? Being a natural footballer and leader does not mean he will be A grade quality. The way I see it, he does not standout in anything besides leadership which means he's likely to be a B grader.

It's concerning, we need to find some A graders. At the very least 2.

I understand that. Wallis will be the captain of the club one day I'm 99.9% sure of that.

My question goes back to what Mofra mentioned about Libba being our only certain A grade player. Do you see Wallis being an A grader? Being a natural footballer and leader does not mean he will be A grade quality. The way I see it, he does not standout in anything besides leadership which means he's likely to be a B grader.

It's concerning, we need to find some A graders.

One thing Wallis does have is the ability to pick out a target in heavy traffic and he has the knack of running to the right spots to receive. The ball is safe in his hands. Will he ever be a devastating player?

Probably not. But he'll pick the right option and execute 8 times out of 10.

The way I see it. Wallis and Libba are going to develop into better versions of Boyd and cross. Neither player has the limitations that Boyd and cross have (shonky disposal). If they can teach the father sons the required work ethic they should become better players than the level Boyd and cross are at.

I see Mitch as a Sam Mitchell, Jobe Watson kind of player. They aren't elite in anything really (apart from Jobe's leadership) but are really good at everything. Certainly think he can be and will be an A-grader.

Watson and Mitchell are both elite at the clearances. Both have excellent vision and awareness. They also have the class and composure to use the ball well. This is why they are elite players.

I see Mitch as being good in these areas rather then 'elite'. I hope I am proven wrong. I'm at least confident he will be a good player and a great leader.

One thing Wallis does have is the ability to pick out a target in heavy traffic and he has the knack of running to the right spots to receive. The ball is safe in his hands. Will he ever be a devastating player?

Probably not. But he'll pick the right option and execute 8 times out of 10.

The way I see it. Wallis and Libba are going to develop into better versions of Boyd and cross. Neither player has the limitations that Boyd and cross have (shonky disposal). If they can teach the father sons the required work ethic they should become better players than the level Boyd and cross are at.

Wallis has better disposal, then Cross or Boyd agree.

Wallis will be an elite in and under player, I see more in him than I see in Libba (and thats saying something, as I rate Libba extremely highly too!)

The kids 19 ffs and will probably finish highly in our BnF, why do our supporters expect so much of our kids?

Theres not many other 19 year olds going around that are in the bests week in week out!

Add Toumpas and Garlett to Libba, Wallis, Smith and Dahlhaus and we have an awesome midfield in a few years down the track!

Yeah I don't know about Wallis being better than Libba.

Libba has 80 clearances (2nd in the team) 150 contested touches (equal 3rd) going at 71.58% at a 50/50 ratio between kicking and hand balling. He has double the inside 50's of Wallis.

He's been bloody good this year.

Wallis is averaging 2-3 more touches a game and is going at 76.68% but he handballs a lot more than he kicks.

Not sure if it's because this is Wallis' breakout year or not but people seem to think he's been out performing Libba this year when it's not the case.

Wallis will be an elite in and under player, I see more in him than I see in Libba (and thats saying something, as I rate Libba extremely highly too!)

The kids 19 ffs and will probably finish highly in our BnF, why do our supporters expect so much of our kids?

Theres not many other 19 year olds going around that are in the bests week in week out!

Add Toumpas and Garlett to Libba, Wallis, Smith and Dahlhaus and we have an awesome midfield in a few years down the track!

Very happy to be proven wrong on Wallis and as a 19 year old he's looks good. Never said I wasn't happy with him or I expect him to be Jobe Watson at 19. Just arguing whether Wallis will be a B grader or an A grader. Just an opinion mate.

Dazb86 I think gave a very good response with some good reasoning.
Anyway I won't harp on about it.

To the draft. I remain unconvinced we will go for Garlett given his behaviour problems, very good talent of course. I would not complain if we got him.

Yeah I don't know about Wallis being better than Libba.

Libba has 80 clearances (2nd in the team) 150 contested touches (equal 3rd) going at 71.58% at a 50/50 ratio between kicking and hand balling. He has double the inside 50's of Wallis.

He's been bloody good this year.

Wallis is averaging 2-3 more touches a game and is going at 76.68% but he handballs a lot more than he kicks.

Not sure if it's because this is Wallis' breakout year or not but people seem to think he's been out performing Libba this year when it's not the case.

Really? I knew he was doing good but I thought he had slowed a bit to be honest, but yeah I guess he is going pretty well then :p

Very happy to be proven wrong on Wallis and as a 19 year old he's looks good. Never said I wasn't happy with him or I expect him to be Jobe Watson at 19. Just arguing whether Wallis will be a B grader or an A grader. Just an opinion mate.

Dazb86 I think gave a very good response with some good reasoning.
Anyway I won't harp on about it.

To the draft. I remain unconvinced we will go for Garlett given his behaviour problems, very good talent of course. I would not complain if we got him.

Yeah thats cool, I wasn't really having a go at you just our supporters in general haha, we seem to expect so much from Jones/Cordy/Wallis/Dahl/Libba.

Tbh Garletts issues don't seem to be that bad at all but I could see BM passing on him because of it.

Yeah thats cool, I wasn't really having a go at you just our supporters in general haha, we seem to expect so much from Jones/Cordy/Wallis/Dahl/Libba.

Tbh Garletts issues don't seem to be that bad at all but I could see BM passing on him because of it.

No worries mate.:)

I noticed quite a few people are on the Stringer train. I watched him on Saturday, looked better. Got more of the ball then previously seen, butchered it at times. Seems to be running better then I saw 2 weeks ago. Kicked 3 or 4 goals, missed one he should have kicked. Still remain unconvinced on him, at least there's improvement. If he plays more of these games, be happy to take him.

Others
Wines won a truckload of the ball again and looked a class above.
Haynes was ok, his kicking can be a little hit and miss. Damn fast. Prefer to look at others with better skill.
Ballard played well, used it really well and pushed hard defensively. Was pushed out of the metro midfield perhaps a little unlucky to be. Might be a nice later pick there.
Miller is next years draft. Type of half back we need. Good skills, good run.
Hrovat was ok, won a lot of clearances as usual. Not for us.

Watson and Mitchell are both elite at the clearances. Both have excellent vision and awareness. They also have the class and composure to use the ball well. This is why they are elite players.

I see Mitch as being good in these areas rather then 'elite'. I hope I am proven wrong. I'm at least confident he will be a good player and a great leader.

You have to, if you are going to judge Wal. and Libba against Watson and Mitchell, you need to be comparing them at the same stage of development [ second year 19yo's].
I have pretty good recollection of Jobe at that stage, but little of Mitchell back then [ probably says something { wasn't he a late starter?}]. I would say in my opinion both pups are noticeably forward of where the young Jobe was back then. It is all still ahead of them. Their potential is still to be proven, but right now looks very hopeful.

You have to, if you are going to judge Wal. and Libba against Watson and Mitchell, you need to be comparing them at the same stage of development [ second year 19yo's].
I have pretty good recollection of Jobe at that stage, but little of Mitchell back then [ probably says something { wasn't he a late starter?}]. I would say in my opinion both pups are noticeably forward of where the young Jobe was back then. It is all still ahead of them. Their potential is still to be proven, but right now looks very hopeful.

I wasn't comparing them, I was just correcting the poster above that suggested Watson and Mitchell are not elite at anything. This is not correct at all.

If I remember correctly Mitchell was a late starter, I think he was labelled 'fat' which is why he was drafted late. My recollection of them both was they were both very good at the clearances. Watson's decision making was pretty terrible back then, would often cough the ball up both by hand and foot. Wallis would win that battle by a mile if I was comparing him to Watson.

Just one other thing, I've watched Wallis as a junior for Vic metro so I'm not just comparing him to AFL players. I just struggle to see his standout qualities, I thought Libba was the better prospect out of the two and a potential A grader.

He has elite hands and vision. Libba probably is the better of the two but who cares, we have both. Now we need blokes that can be the outside players for them.

Having had a bit of time on my hands this year Ive been able to watch a lot of the prospects first hand and my big draft crush is Sam Mayes. Was CHF All Australian as a bottom ager, moved into the midfield this year and hasnt looked back. He's one of those tallish mids, would measure at about the 188 at a guess, really quick (not quite Griffen but probably Dale Thomas type pace), absolutely lovely skills, massively polished, beautiful mark of the footy and will only find more of it as he plays more time in the middle. If I had a choice between Garlett and Mayes I wouldnt hesitate in going Mayes every day of the week.My wishlist would be Toumpas and Mayes with Stringer and Garlett being the next I'd consider.

The other one to have a think about is Jack Martin the bottom-ager eligible for the mini draft, just one of those eye catching kids who can do it all. All the athletic ability in the world, sublime skills, lovely leap and good overhead as well as having all the mecurial ability the indigenous lads are blessed with. A touch of the Wanganeen/ Stephen Hill about him and would just about be number one pick next year on form.

I see Mitch as a Sam Mitchell, Jobe Watson kind of player. They aren't elite in anything really (apart from Jobe's leadership) but are really good at everything. Certainly think he can be and will be an A-grader.
Could quite easily say the same about Dane Swan

Having had a bit of time on my hands this year Ive been able to watch a lot of the prospects first hand and my big draft crush is Sam Mayes. Was CHF All Australian as a bottom ager, moved into the midfield this year and hasnt looked back. He's one of those tallish mids, would measure at about the 188 at a guess, really quick (not quite Griffen but probably Dale Thomas type pace), absolutely lovely skills, massively polished, beautiful mark of the footy and will only find more of it as he plays more time in the middle. If I had a choice between Garlett and Mayes I wouldnt hesitate in going Mayes every day of the week.My wishlist would be Toumpas and Mayes with Stringer and Garlett being the next I'd consider.

The other one to have a think about is Jack Martin the bottom-ager eligible for the mini draft, just one of those eye catching kids who can do it all. All the athletic ability in the world, sublime skills, lovely leap and good overhead as well as having all the mecurial ability the indigenous lads are blessed with. A touch of the Wanganeen/ Stephen Hill about him and would just about be number one pick next year on form.

I don't think we would go for the 17yo mini draft, I would say the club would be worried about the drop in crowd numbers and probably membership again next year, so having to wait an extra year before this kid was eligible to play might be a deciding factor, hope it isn't but very afraid it will be.