2012 Draft Discussion

If you have a dynamic ruck in the middle and two mobile rucks up forward you can just focus on killing the ball in your forward 50. Get it inside, get a thrown un and let the rucks tap it down to a mosquito fleet (Zorko, Green) or the guys who are efficient at scoring from the stoppages (Rich, Raines).

Are you suggesting that teams that can create a difference or new game plan/style can catch other teams out?
If so, why can't we try to evolve our own Eagles type tall forward line and go for Grundy if available? :thumbsu:

Are you suggesting that teams that can create a difference or new game plan/style can catch other teams out?
If so, why can't we try to evolve our own Eagles type tall forward line and go for Grundy if available? :thumbsu:

Why not? Could be the future of forward lines. I like to dream... Of course I don't like responsibility, so I'm thankful to leave important decision like that to our coaching and recruiting department and won't be too broken up if we pick a talented mid over Grundy and the promise of the ruck trio revolution.

Can't see us taking Grundy, not unless he could play 100% as a forward. As good as he is, we simply don't need another young ruckman. We have Bergs and Longer along with some depth to cover us. Would be a waste of a top 10 pick for me.

Now that's an interesting conspiracy theory. If Luey had flagged to the club that he wanted to return to WA for some reason we might be gearing up to trade him. I think it's highly unlikely though.[/quote]
Is he eligible for free agency next year?

Why not? Could be the future of forward lines. I like to dream... Of course I don't like responsibility, so I'm thankful to leave important decision like that to our coaching and recruiting department and won't be too broken up if we pick a talented mid over Grundy and the promise of the ruck trio revolution.
haha - yeah I'm a regular fence sitter at times... but yeah it's nice to dream.

Is he eligible for free agency next year?

No. 2013 will be his seventh season. If he was coming out of contract at the end of 2014, he'd be a restricted free agent then.

Anyway, the latest rumour doing the rounds is that Wines might be available at pick 8. The reasoning is that GWS are leaving the Demons to pounce on Toumpas at four, the Dogs are looking elsewhere, and Port would rather get a local like Grundy or Mayes.

Seems far fetched to me but I can't imagine we'd hesitate too long if we had the chance to get him. Seems like a bona fide ball winning midfielder. Youtube highlights actually remind me a bit of a young Michael Voss.

Anyway, the latest rumour doing the rounds is that Wines might be available at pick 8. The reasoning is that GWS are leaving the Demons to pounce on Toumpas at four, the Dogs are looking elsewhere, and Port would rather get a local like Grundy or Mayes.

Seems far fetched to me but I can't imagine we'd hesitate too long if we had the chance to get him. Seems like a bona fide ball winning midfielder. Youtube highlights actually remind me a bit of a young Michael Voss.
Some might say he is twice [33] that of Vossy. ;)
aliir.jpg

[photo courtesy of freddies fotos]

Wines at 8 (if available) would be a no-brainer wouldn't it?

Then again, there are so many juicy prospects who might still be there............who knows?

This is surely one of the all-time most intriguing drafts.

Whitfield is everyone's UN-backable favorite for Pick 1 but after that the permutations and combinations are so numerous that picking the order from 2 to 10 is tantamount to getting next week's lotto numbers right.

Speaking for myself, I can't wait till 6.00 next Thursday...........especially since they've woken up to themselves and are going to call the draft in the "proper" order:thumbsu:

Based on what we now know...
1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas
5. (Dogs)
6. (Dogs)
7. (Power) - said they will take the best available South Australian
8. ???

Think Wines & Menzel will land at Footscray, while Port will be left to chose between Mayes & Grundy.

Which leaves us some serious talent to select - one of Mayes/Grundy, Stringer, Macrae. And of course Jaksch...

Whispers from WBD supporters is that theres little chance the club would draft another inside player. Therefore Menzel/Stringer, Mayes or Macrae would be most likely for some much-needed dash. And are they in a position to refuse a quality ruck like Grundy?

Which means Mr.Wines may very well be a Lion come draft day.

Whispers from WBD supporters is that theres little chance the club would draft another inside player. Therefore Menzel/Stringer, Mayes or Macrae would be most likely for some much-needed dash. And are they in a position to refuse a quality ruck like Grundy?

If that is to be the case, champagne all round.

But, don't you think Wines suits the Brendan McCarthy model of hard, contested footy?

As far as I'm concerned, Menzel is a lock to the Dogs

carllewisaflad.jpg

Oliver Wines in a Brisbane Lions guernsey? Yeah, I'd like to see that.

If that is to be the case, champagne all round.

But, don't you think Wines suits the Brendan McCarthy model of hard, contested footy?

As far as I'm concerned, Menzel is a lock to the Dogs
He definitely is in their mould. But in their young midfield they are all tough as tough inside players and not much more. Wallis, Liberatore, Clay Smith, Hunter, Stevens, probably more and the old heads Boyd, Cross and Griffen. Doubt they'll select another hard as nails centreman because you can't have eight blokes start in the centre bounce.

Great point. Well I'm not complaining! Bring on Ollie Wines at #8!!

GWS having the first three picks has shaken up pre-draft discussion more than I expected. Will be interesting if it turns out to change what many would consider the appropriate draft order.

If we could nab Wines with 8 and then pick up a few KPP's, I reckon we'd be getting out of there before the other clubs changed their minds. Can't comprehend that O'Rourke could be a top 3 pick though - I mean, he's good, but top 3 in this draft? I'm not sure.

We had Newell and James Brain but we didn't draft Brain who is now playing for the Swans Reserves. We have Brendan Beno on the international rookie list but I think this is all we have. He is not draftable for another year I believe.

Collingwood really exploited the scheme well. But really, they have so much more money than us to spend on these types of things, along with coaches, trips for players etc.

thanks mate yeahh read up about beno hopefully he develops well, yeahhh its a bit hard compete with the dollars of a team like Collingwood hopefully our academy system helps us catch up a bit

Kevin Sheehan says Lions spoiled for choice with pick 8
November 20, 2012
Greg Davis

DRAFT guru Kevin Sheehan says Brisbane will be spoilt for choice at pick No.8 in tomorrow night's national draft on the Gold Coast.

The Lions showed during the trade period that they are keen to bolster both their midfield stocks and recruit some tall timber with captain Jonathan Brown nearing the end of his outstanding career.

Sheehan said the likes of 194cm-tall key position player Kristian Jaksch, 192cm-tall defender Lachie Plowman or 195cm-tall defender Aidan Corr could come under Brisbane's microscope.

Mid-sized forwards such as SA product Sam Mayes, WA junior Josh Simpson and the 187cm-tall Troy Menzel, the brother of Geelong's Daniel Menzel, could loom as possible recruits for the Lions depending on what other clubs do on the night.

I still think GWS are just playing head games with other clubs with regards to grundy I'd be astounded if they didn't pick him at number 3.

can we stop this toumpas fantasies please I have honestly had 2 nights where I've had dreams of toumpas slipping to us, its starting to become a worry

I've said it before but if the unbelievable happened and GWS, Melbourne and the Dogs all passed on him, there's no chance he'd get past Port. With their preference for SA kids it would come down to him, Mayes and Grundy, of which I have very little doubt they'd take Toumpas. So sadly there's no hope this year. Just need to get him to a club we can trade with down the track.

I've been doing some thinking as to who currently on our list I think would be worth pick 8 or better if it were their draft year again with recruiters having seen what they have so far. This is my list currently:

Black
Brown
Hanley
Leuenberger
Merrett
Redden
Rich
Rockliff
Zorko

Anyone I'm missing? As I said, I think any club would now pay 8 for any of the above after seeing what they can do, with the only speculative ones in my mind being Leuenberger (as he still hasn't made his mark as an elite ruck, mostly due to injury) and Zorko (coming off just one year). I still think all of them are worthy of eight or better though. Anyone who should/shouldn't be there?

I hope that Daniel Rich fella falls to number 7.

Probably won't happen though.

WHERE WILL HE END UP?
West Coast is a rough chance to pick him, but the Eagles seem more sure to go with either Nick Naitanui or Jack Watts — whichever player Melbourne doesn’t take. Fremantle will think hard about him, and if it passes then either Port Adelaide, Essendon or (most particularly) Carlton may find him irresistible. There’s a chance, though, that he could be the draft’s big slider and get as far as the Brisbane Lions at No. 7. If so, think about him for next year’s Rising Star award.

:rolleyes:

Don't be talking like that on here, gave up along, long time ago and all that does is sew that small seed which now is going to fester over the next 36 hours damn it

I have convinced myself that we are getting Wines! If we don't ill be very disappointed!!!!!!