2012 Draft Discussion

Ah ok.

Claye hasn't played reserves at Mt Gravatt, only seniors..

Must've been under 18's then? I was just casually walking by and watching, didn't look like seniors though.

Speed is still the biggest thing we lack, with both center square mids and small forwards. But considering the age and state of the list, i think it is wise for the club to sure up our KPP at both ends going forward now. We will lose quality talls at either ends over the next few years. Must draft for that now, not in a few years time.

Quick players can come into the team more easily when needed. KPP can take 3-5 years to get anything out of them.

Speed is still the biggest thing we lack, with both center square mids and small forwards. But considering the age and state of the list, i think it is wise for the club to sure up our KPP at both ends going forward now. We will lose quality talls at either ends over the next few years. Must draft for that now, not in a few years time.

Quick players can come into the team more easily when needed. KPP can take 3-5 years to get anything out of them.

starting to agree...of the players we have either missed out on or passed on in the passed few years they are speed types like Jetta, Rioli, Motlop, Davey, Bennell etc...

If we can land a elite super fast mid The I would be damm happy for us to land one with our first pick.

But if the best mids are plodder types (redden, rich, rocky types etc...), then I would say lock in a gun forward if available

The delivery on either foot is certainly impressive, and a good grab. Doesn't look extremely quick in that vision though.
He is quite strong for his size as well isn't he! He isn't that fast but he has quick and good decision making skills that make up for it. He also has that Akermanis ability where he can change his kick mid kick.

Getting possies and winning the hard, contested ball is not a weakness of his either. He got 27 disposals last year in a State match for WA. He only needs around 15 disposals to impact a game though. he could play that Yarran role off Half Back I reckon.

Garlett - taken out of AIS, recently disciplined by local WA club - will be interesting to see where he ends up. Slider?

Given our precendented risk aversion drafting I wouldn't be holding your breath for us to read out his name.

Garlett - taken out of AIS, recently disciplined by local WA club - will be interesting to see where he ends up. Slider?

Given our precendented risk aversion drafting I wouldn't be holding your breath for us to read out his name.

It's all a ploy by West Coast similar to what they did with Darling to get all the best WA talent. Just ask Wayne Carey.

It can be argued that we've already looked to address this. If we can get all of Green, Bartlett, Zorko and Docherty into the senior team, we'll look much faster all of a sudden.

But yes, a genuine pacy linebreaker and a nippy small forward won't go astray. I think though that these are 2 of the last pieces of the jigsaw you add to the team, as they're about as 'plug and play' positions as possible. Key position players and inside midfielders are the building blocks.

I think though that these are 2 of the last pieces of the jigsaw you add to the team, as they're about as 'plug and play' positions as possible. Key position players and inside midfielders are the building blocks.

Yup, exactly my point. Your genuine mids and KPPs take awhile to develope, but those pacy pure speed players can pretty much come straight in and make an impact. Hence why i think it's important we get our KPP at both ends sorted now, because we will need them 3-5 years time.

I pumped him up as much as I could. I knew someone would add this into it though haha. Anyway. he is still a talented kid.

You can have all the talent you want (Albert Proud and Rhan Hooper spring to mind) but if you're lazy and have a bad attitude you'll go no where fast.

Learnt the hard way :(

Yes that is very true. What is the point you are trying to make?

I just read the above posts about his discipline issues, I think that would go against him for being drafted to the Lions (we've been burnt before).

I always hope players can clean up their acts though and come good. I had my fingers crossed for Albert Proud.

I just read the above posts about his discipline issues, I think that would go against him for being drafted to the Lions (we've been burnt before).

I always hope players can clean up their acts though and come good. I had my fingers crossed for Albert Proud.
Ok, thanks for the reply. I just didn't really understand what you meant but that reply clears it up:)

The U18 champs kick off on Saturday.

Div 1 players to watch

Div 2 players to watch

I believe the games on July 4th are being broadcast on foxtel (+ maaaybe those on July 5th?).

Anyone getting along to the games?

Anyone interested in any players in particular?

I will be going to Blacktown next weekend to watch:

Qld v WA
NSW v Vic Country

and then the following weekend to Princess Park to watch:

Vic Country v Qld
Vic Metro v Tas

Good chance to get a look at some of our academy players. Also Mason Shaw from WA is a guy I will be watching. I think he will be right on the cards for us if we don't win a heap more games. It's a shame I won't get a chance to see SA live this year. There are quite a few guys who I really like from that team. Mayes in particular is someone who I think could be a champion player.

For those interested it is also worth noting that the last two rounds of the Div 1 games will be telecast this year rather than the usual last round only. They will certainly be getting taped in our household.

The U18 champs kick off on Saturday.

Div 1 players to watch

Div 2 players to watch

I believe the games on July 4th are being broadcast on foxtel (+ maaaybe those on July 5th?).

Anyone getting along to the games?

Anyone interested in any players in particular?

Keep an eye out for a kid called James Tsitas from Vic Country. Is eligible for the draft next year and will go top 20. Tough midfielder who is an animal inside. Won Vic Country U16 MVP at last years champs and has been playing good footy for the Falcons this year.

No secret I've been keen on Ives, Boston and Cameron for a while. Interested to see how they go against the best their age.

Qld have very high hopes for Boston.

New Qld coaching staff this year, a move in the right direction.

Jesse Lonergan sounds pretty good for another Tassie inside mid... 86kgs at only 6'0" is pretty strong bodied for a 17 year old.