2012 Draft Discussion

Comparing Patty to when he came out I would rate Mayes significantly ahead of him. Mayes has a better body and more form on the board including at senior level. Karnezis has the height to play as a third tall but Mayes is more of a traditionally HFFer who can get out on the lead as well. Mayes also much more noticeable and classy looking as a junior. Patty didn't do a lot to separate himself at this stage.

An interesting 'out there' suggestion. Will see how the ladder plays out, but a club like Melbourne has a few picks with which to play and probably a more pressing need for marginally improved picks.
It is a quite a common tactic in the NBA.

I guess your backing your recruiters in big time if you do that. Geelong has done it recently, although much more conservatively than what I was suggesting.

I like Kennedy, and normally wouldn't be put off by his height, but when our best 22 in a couple of years should feature:

Green, Zorko and Bartlett below 180cm and
Beams, Banfield, Golby, Rocky, Harwood, Raines and Rich @ 183

...I start to worry about drafting another midget midfielder. That'd be half our team under 6ft!

Granted, he could well 'push out' one of those guys, but when there are taller options available...hrmm...

I don't have the skills to analyse Collingwood's playing list, but it occurs to me that Leigh Matthews remarked that mid-size or below was how they had gone. And they're [unfortunately] travelling ok.

Had a chat with Retz's Father a few weeks ago and we agreed that none of Greg Williams [too slow and too small], Ian Stewart [too left-sided but also 3 Brownlows], Peter Hudson [only kicked flat torps, but also kicked 150 goals in a season] would probably get drafted today. Forgive the Tassie bias but I could also have mentioned Darrell Baldock- too small, too fat, Premiership Captain.

Surely Zorko is a prime example of the priority to pick best first available.

What we need is for the Vic boys to go to the head of the class based on good TAC games and a few of the SA and WA kids to fall. I am still hoping for Mayes or Garlett. I think both would add a bit more class and goal kicking ability to our team. People would not have got to see Mayes up forward this year but he made AA last year as a forward. He is exceptionally smart up there and got separation with ease. Not making the AA might also be a bit of a blessing.
Shifter made the point on FoxFooty the other night that the top 10 is still wide open - he said the same 8 or so names would be on everyone's list but that the order would change markedly from person to person. That's the feel I'm getting right now too - I'm not sensing a consensus at all except on #1.

I don't have the skills to analyse Collingwood's playing list, but it occurs to me that Leigh Matthews remarked that mid-size or below was how they had gone. And they're [unfortunately] travelling ok.

From my perspective their top 30 players 6 ft and under are: Blair and Elliot (sub-180cm) + Sidebottom, Clarke, Fasolo, Sinclair and Ball. Most of their core mids are a bit taller, with Pendlebury the tall exception.

Just play a style of footy that doesn't need the height. Most of these players are quick and get the ball from forcing errors from the other team. Otherwise they run hard to get into space so they can be hit up on a lead without having to out mark an opponent. They only really kick to a contest with the designated tall forwards or rucks. Otherwise they typically lower the eyes and try hit up an open target.

Yesterdays game showed up our KPP deficienies. I really hope this is addressed at this years draft.
I would hope that 2 of the top 3 picks will look at KPPs, but not necessarily the first pick.

That said if you look at the opposition & where they were picked:
Goodes Pick 43
Reid Pick 38
Richards Pick 27
Grundy Rookie Draft Pick 42
LRT Pick 29
A Everitt Pick 11

Not all exactly 1st Rounders, although the Swans are unbelieveable at get the most out of players. The point I am trying to make is that we don't necessarily need throw the 1st rounder at KPPs, but the 20+s can become 200 gamers. Run through any side & it is a bit of a pattern.

The other thing we should remember is that those draft as KPP forwards or backs don't neceesarily make their career for the position they were drafted for, with often fowards becoming backs.

I've been following the young QLDr's closely, and think quite a few more than normal may get picked up this year. Obviously Conway, Tickner, Gribble and the likes are still a year off eligibility, but there's a few other guys who are in their draft year this year who went through the academy I believe, or at least had some time there.

Would have to say Boston is a fair chance of getting picked up, making the AA team and all. Very impressed with him, but not sure he's exactly the type we need at the moment. Seems more inside than outside to me. We've got enough of them :p

I would've said Cameron was an absolute lock at the start of the year but it hasn't been the best year for him. I think the Suns will just use one zone selection this year, and it'll come down to him or Boston imo. Can't see them taking both. I'd still be surprised if he didn't get at least a rookie spot though with that much upside. Anyone know when he's back playing for Mt Gravatt? Would love to get down and check out a few of his games.

Bourke will probably get taken too, at this stage by Geelong I think. Been a great deal written about him, don't think much more needs to be said.

Like many, I still think Aliir is more hype than anything else. Rookie list at best unless he lifts towards the end of the year.

Anyone else I'm missing who's a chance?

What does our list really needs? Please give feedback!!!! The afl's 25 most talented players. Mids 1. Lachie Whitfield, Dandenong Stingrays, 18 July 1994, 184cm, 74kg 2. Jack Martin, Claremont, 29 January 1995, 184cm, 64kg 3. Jimmy Toumpas, Woodville-West Torrens, 2 January 1994, 183cm, 77kg 4. Oliver Wines, Bendigo Pioneers, 7 October 1994, 185cm, 83kg 5. Dayle Garlett, Swan Districts, 9 January 1994, 180cm, 75kg 6. Jack Viney, Oakleigh Chargers, 13 April 1994, 178cm, 80kg 7. Nathan Hrovat, Northern Knights, 7 June 1994, 174cm, 76kg 8. Nick Vlastuin, Northern Knights, 19 April 1994, 187cm, 83kg 9. Josh Simpson, East Fremantle, 9 February 1994, 183cm, 72kg 10. Jed Anderson, Darwin FC, 16 February 1994, 178cm, 75kg 11. Jesse Lonergan, Launceston FC, 14 November 1994, 183cm, 86kg KPF: 1. Joe Daniher, Calder Cannons, 4 March 1994, 201cm, 89kg 2. Jesse Hogan, Claremont, 12 February 1995, 193cm, 91kg 3. Kristian Jaksch, Oakleigh Chargers, 7 October 1994, 194cm, 85kg KPB: 1. Lachlan Plowman, Calder Cannons, 11 September 1994, 191cm, 86kg Ruck: 1. Brodie Grundy, Sturt, 15 April 1994, 202cm, 100kg HF: 1. Troy Menzel, Central Districts, 22 September 1994, 186cm, 77kg 2. Ben Kennedy, Glenelg, 3 March 1994, 174cm, 76kg 3. Sam Mayes, North Adelaide, 20 May 1994, 187cm, 78kg 4. Jake Stringer, Bendigo Pioneers, 25 April 1994, 191cm, 91kg 5. Taylor Garner, Dandenong Stingrays, 8 Jan 94, 186cm, 77kg 6. Jackson Macrae, Oakleigh Chargers, 3 August 1994, 188cm, 75kg 7. Tim Membrey, Gippsland Power, 26 May 1994, 188cm, 87kg HB: 2. Sam Colquhoun, Central Districts, 20 December 1994, 179cm, 72kg

Teamtobeat, just a heads-up that you may get a better response to your posts if you take some time to format them a little better. Solid blocks of text are quite difficult to read.

I've been following the young QLDr's closely, and think quite a few more than normal may get picked up this year. Obviously Conway, Tickner, Gribble and the likes are still a year off eligibility, but there's a few other guys who are in their draft year this year who went through the academy I believe, or at least had some time there.

Would have to say Boston is a fair chance of getting picked up, making the AA team and all. Very impressed with him, but not sure he's exactly the type we need at the moment. Seems more inside than outside to me. We've got enough of them :p

I would've said Cameron was an absolute lock at the start of the year but it hasn't been the best year for him. I think the Suns will just use one zone selection this year, and it'll come down to him or Boston imo. Can't see them taking both. I'd still be surprised if he didn't get at least a rookie spot though with that much upside. Anyone know when he's back playing for Mt Gravatt? Would love to get down and check out a few of his games.

Bourke will probably get taken too, at this stage by Geelong I think. Been a great deal written about him, don't think much more needs to be said.

Like many, I still think Aliir is more hype than anything else. Rookie list at best unless he lifts towards the end of the year.

Anyone else I'm missing who's a chance?
Boston is a silky outside player. Knock on him has been his lack of ability to win his own ball. Very smooth mover with a great kick. Not sure if you have mistaken him for someone else? He is part of the Suns academy so I'd say he will end up there.

Cameron has been battling injury a bit this year. No doubt it will affect his draft stock, but I'd say the Suns will take the risk. Not sure when he is back with Mounties.

I'm an Ives fan. I reckon he is worth a shot.

Cameron has been battling injury a bit this year. No doubt it will affect his draft stock, but I'd say the Suns will take the risk. Not sure when he is back with Mounties.

If the Suns don't take him, would you want the Lions to take him?

I don't think that the Suns will pick up Cameron and Boston and will only have a list spot open for one of them as they will have to delist 9 players or something like that. Personally I would want the Lions to take Cameron maybe we could give them a pick upgrade or something like that, ie our second for Cameron and their third. He has talent but could end up more of a later draft pick.

Yeah that's a good point. It will be interesting to see what they do.

Boston has more runs on the board, but Cameron has a much higher ceiling imo.

Yep, absolutely. Truck load of talent.

Good to hear. I was underwhelmed by his performance against Tassie (the only time I've seen him play), but took it with a grain of salt given he was returning from injury and played mostly back.

FWIW, the scouts around me were certainly keeping a pretty close eye on him.

Cameron probably suits our needs better although I would prefer if he were a bit taller.

I think there is no chance that the GC pass on either Boston or Cameron. They are assets that will let them get an upgraded pick even if they don't want to keep them themselves.

Here's hoping they 'do a Zorko'. :thumbsu:

Yesterdays game showed up our KPP deficienies. I really hope this is addressed at this years draft.
I would hope that 2 of the top 3 picks will look at KPPs, but not necessarily the first pick.

That said if you look at the opposition & where they were picked:
Goodes Pick 43
Reid Pick 38
Richards Pick 27
Grundy Rookie Draft Pick 42
LRT Pick 29
A Everitt Pick 11

Wonder if in a few years someone will be saying the same thing about Llisle, Cornelius, Retzlaff and Clarke.

Boston is a silky outside player. Knock on him has been his lack of ability to win his own ball. Very smooth mover with a great kick. Not sure if you have mistaken him for someone else? He is part of the Suns academy so I'd say he will end up there.

I'm an Ives fan. I reckon he is worth a shot.

Must be confused on Boston then. I've only seen him play once, and I must've been watching the wrong jumper number. Hate when that happens. I wonder who I was watching though, because he seemed like quite a good inside mid.

I've heard a fair bit about Cameron's injury. He also struggled through a pretty serious injury a year or two ago. Do you think that's any chance to come into play? Not sure if it's the same injury though, but interesting. With the Vultures seemingly very unlikely to make the finals, I'm sure he wants to get back out there ASAP. Not too much time left to stake his claim.

Ives definitely has potential, and is a great guy too which fits in with our personality criteria. Wouldn't complain at all if we picked him up. He captained the Lions academy u18's didn't he?

Must be confused on Boston then. I've only seen him play once, and I must've been watching the wrong jumper number. Hate when that happens. I wonder who I was watching though, because he seemed like quite a good inside mid.

I've heard a fair bit about Cameron's injury. He also struggled through a pretty serious injury a year or two ago. Do you think that's any chance to come into play? Not sure if it's the same injury though, but interesting. With the Vultures seemingly very unlikely to make the finals, I'm sure he wants to get back out there ASAP. Not too much time left to stake his claim.

Ives definitely has potential, and is a great guy too which fits in with our personality criteria. Wouldn't complain at all if we picked him up. He captained the Lions academy u18's didn't he?
I'm not sure where Cameron is at with his injury. I assume if he was fit he would want to get more games under his belt to show his worth. He'll end up on a list in some way or another.

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but, is this draft as good as previously suggested? and if not, how many list changes can you see us making?

The only thing that I am unsure of with Cameron is what position he will end up playing. He has played most of his games as either a tall forward or CHB, and at 190cm is he a little short to play as a KPF at AFL level? I think that this is the case. I see Cameron as a third tall/medium sized player who is strong on the lead but also somewhat decent at ground level, somewhat similar to Jack Darling (not on the same level with junior careers however). I really like him as a prospect and would like to see him at Brisbane, but where do people see him playing??