2012 Draft Discussion

the lad is realy a forward i think , may be worth a rookie spot for sure . still developing and he could be our tassie recruit for 2012 as we seem to find one each year of late

Taswegians being tested this year:

Combine
Jesse Lonergan
Sam Siggins
Jackson Thurlow
Mitchell VanDenBerg
Toby Nankervis

State Screening
Josh Woolley
Beau Webster
Mark Walsh
Jay Bowden
Brady Jones

I watched Lonergan at Visy during the championships - caught my eye with both his hardness and clean hands although did appear to be a bit underdone. From my limited knowledge of him, is a rare breed of inside mid that also has pace to burn when given the chance. Would like to hear from Irish if he has seen much of him down in tassie.

I wouldn't be at all disappointed if we gave Dobosz a chance. I was quite keen on him last year and surprised that no one picked him up, so I'd take him with a late pick in a heartbeat.

If Lonergan was a Victorian, I reckon he'd go much earlier than he will. Was a similar situation with Josh Green. Pick 23 or 30 should grab him, and I'd be rapt if we did. Love the Tasmanians.

Memory is hazy, but was not the crack on Dobosz his athletic capabilities? Has that changed in a year? Otherwise, wouldn't you just be drafting Cornelius 2.0?

thorp is coaching south launceston

I was quite amazed when I heard he got appointed to that position. He always struck me as kind of a douchebag bogan with not a lot going on up top.

All uninformed assumptions of course.

I watched Lonergan at Visy during the championships - caught my eye with both his hardness and clean hands although did appear to be a bit underdone. From my limited knowledge of him, is a rare breed of inside mid that also has pace to burn when given the chance. Would like to hear from Irish if he has seen much of him down in tassie.

Jesse Lonergan: An inside midfielder who has been training with the AIS squad. Plays for Launceston in the TSL. Was named in the top 30 for the 2011 Tassie medal which is awarded to the best and fairest in the league. In an outstanding year, he also won the Corporate Express rising star award, joining fellow past winners such as Grant Birchall, Mitch Robinson, and Ryan Harwood. He was injured during the AIS tour of Europe, but should be fit to play in the Under 18's carnival later this year.

this is a review from the tsl site on Jesse , i havnt seen the lad play but he comes with much cred ! as does jay bowden and nankervis !!

I was quite amazed when I heard he got appointed to that position. He always struck me as kind of a douchebag bogan with not a lot going on up top.

All uninformed assumptions of course.
must admit BD didnt see that apoinment coming myself. the boys tend to be a bit wild up there but i think he has done a reasonable job with them this year

Memory is hazy, but was not the crack on Dobosz his athletic capabilities? Has that changed in a year? Otherwise, wouldn't you just be drafting Cornelius 2.0?
the boy is young and still learning the game , think he came from a soccer background and has been catching up , quite a natural footballer . yes he is a key forward like ace but hey that isnt a bad thing as i have said many times key forwards kick goals that win games , to rely on midfielders to do it is a poor strategy
we need forward options so why not rookie the kid , what do we have to lose ? certainly worth a look !

the boy is young and still learning the game , think he came from a soccer background and has been catching up , quite a natural footballer . yes he is a key forward like ace but hey that isnt a bad thing as i have said many times key forwards kick goals that win games , to rely on midfielders to do it is a poor strategy
we need forward options so why not rookie the kid , what do we have to lose ? certainly worth a look !

Yeah he is from a soccer back round and I was keen on him last year. Has been playing seniors and kicked 25 goals in 16 matches.

Waylen Manson has been playing in the Colts and kicked 27 goals in 8 matches.

Hard to see either of them get picked up at this stage.

Yeah he is from a soccer back round and I was keen on him last year. Has been playing seniors and kicked 25 goals in 16 matches.

Waylen Manson has been playing in the Colts and kicked 27 goals in 8 matches.

Hard to see either of them get picked up at this stage.

maybe so cotter ! rookie spot maybe ??

Sadly, I don't think that's going to be a high enough scoring rate. I always thought the point of difference between him and Ace was that he was much more the big bodied typical KPF, whereas Ace is obviously not as big-framed, and has strengths in other, more athletic areas (not running so much, but jumping and marking, because marking is athletic in this argument).

I'd assumed he'd done a bit better this year, but 25 from 16 probably isn't enough to get noticed. I'd be surprised if we don't add three or four KPP's in the upcoming draft/trade period (including the rookie draft). Probably depends on if some of the guys currently on our list stay on, though.

Brian Coleman-Broome has been invited to the national screening, there must be a bit of interest floating around him. I haven't seen enough of him to really make an informed comment. He must be a drafting/rookie chance. Is he worth a speculative pick from us, what role could we see him play?

Best position is in the back line. Silky user of the footy and good decision maker. I would rookie him in a heartbeat, I'd love to see him with an AFL pre season under his belt.

Knocks on him are his fitness and height. His beep/3km at draft camp could be the make or break.

Best position is in the back line. Silky user of the footy and good decision maker. I would rookie him in a heartbeat, I'd love to see him with an AFL pre season under his belt.

Knocks on him are his fitness and height. His beep/3km at draft camp could be the make or break.

Yeah, spot on there.

He is one who could go anywhere really. Hard to judge, but he has talent.

I wouldn't be at all disappointed if we gave Dobosz a chance. I was quite keen on him last year and surprised that no one picked him up, so I'd take him with a late pick in a heartbeat.

If Lonergan was a Victorian, I reckon he'd go much earlier than he will. Was a similar situation with Josh Green. Pick 23 or 30 should grab him, and I'd be rapt if we did. Love the Tasmanians.
Same here but Justin Clarke is a similar type, albeit a KPB not KPF, and probably considered to have more upside. A few recruiters no doubt keeping an eye on Dobosz to see if he has come on or been overtaken.

The knock on Dobosz is that he is athletically quite poor, his sprint times were very slow from memory and he didn't have any outstanding features. His marking mas average, and he didn't read the game overly well but just had the one really good game last year at the Champs then did not much for the rest of them if I can recall correctly. Justin Clarke looks to be a much better athlete, has decent speed it would seem, and really moves nicely for a big bloke.

Jesse Lonergan looks to be a decent prospect but one I rate as a second/third rounder, he is a very good inside ball winner and uses it quite well, doesn't have the upside some others do but is still a good prospect. I wouldn't say from watching him that he is anything but a solid athlete, I think his pace would be average hence he is more an inside player.

I don't think Dobosz tested from memory. He also had more than one good game though. Every time he came up against the Victorians he tore them a new one both at the Champs and the TAC teams in the praccy matches.

I am coming to realise that it is often easy to underestimate how much improvement is in inside players. If they are good inside and are good athletically I am thinking I might start bumping them up more. More and more of them seem to improve their skills and outside game a lot once they get into the AFL.

Offsider what do you think are the chances of Stringer testing? He looks like the type that Voss seems to like. Medical reports will be a big factor with him.

I think that Stringer will probably test if he is 100% fit, if not and he feels it could impact on his draft position then he probably won't. I would like to see him do the tests and would be interested to see how he goes. I didn't expect him to have a big year this year with his injuries. I think that as he is a strong powerful inside type who goes forward he would be definitely on our radar. He is a big strong powerful kid, and this should translate to AFL imo and this type of player we could use.