2012 Draft Discussion

Cal Twomey referring to Sam Mayes

If Port ruin this I won't be happy.

Unfortunately I reckon they will. Hoping they take Grundy but I don't think they will.

Thinking about it maybe its the actual pick that's making it a bit harder for me. 8 just seems to be a bit in no-mans land. Not quite high enough to get the really top shelf talent but its a bit high to be drafting on needs over best available.

Perfectly sums up my personal vibe. I'm excited about our options at 8 and we could get a very, very good long term player, but we start to move into the "genuine question mark" zone at about that point. When my post-draft cognitive dissonance set in, I know I am going to dwell on the perceived faults of whoever we take :p

Just hurts to know that without expansion related shenanigans, we'd be a genuine shot at Jimmy Toumpas. He would have been absolutely perfect for us, and he is a Lions fan too. It stings.

Couldn't we just trade some picks in future years for Toupas or some other talent? Sooner or later we'll have to move out of rebuilding phase, challenge for the flag and stop drafting young kids.

There's a part of me that is still clinging to the slim chance of one of the elites sliding to us (Wines, Toumpas or Grundy).

Here's my rationale....

GWS will certainly take Whitfield, and quite likely Plowman with 2 of their first 3 picks. The other pick, if not Toumpas, could be O'Rourke, Grundy or even the potential wildcards of Menzel/Stringer.

Melbourne may certainly go with Wines and have made their minds up no matter what...or may see a jet like Grundy and realize he's better for them on needs than Wines and pass on Wines accordingly.

WBD may take Stringer, as he's done significant amounts of training with them apparently so could already be a lock, the other pick could be Toumpas, Grundy or O'Rourke/Macrae, but unlikely to be an inside mid - meaning Wines may slide past them.

That leaves Port next - I bet they'd snap up Grundy if he was available, or if not, certainly take Mayes who is a local boy and someone they've been strongly linked too. Toumpas is local too, and an elite, but perhaps Mayes fulfills their needs better. I doubt they'd take Wines.

Which means potential that Wines can get to us, or to a lesser extent Toumpas.

The wildcards are GWS (or WBD) taking Plowman, Grundy being taken (hopefully not by GWS), meaning WBD/Melb/Port blow a pick on him, and I'm hoping too, that if Stringer/Menzel get picked before us, that'll also potentially free up Wines (or maybe Toumpas though I doubt it) to slide through to 8.

Perfectly sums up my personal vibe. I'm excited about our options at 8 and we could get a very, very good long term player, but we start to move into the "genuine question mark" zone at about that point. When my post-draft cognitive dissonance set in, I know I am going to dwell on the perceived faults of whoever we take :p
How many times is there really a no-brainer? When clubs pass on a top2-3 talent? (ie Carlton passing Cotchin, Hawks & Saints passing Judd). Just about every time, there's significant pros & cons - that's where the recruiters really make their money.

Just hurts to know that without expansion related shenanigans, we'd be a genuine shot at Jimmy Toumpas. He would have been absolutely perfect for us, and he is a Lions fan too. It stings.
Under the immediately previous versions of the rules, and taking out compo picks, you'd only jump up to pick 7 (GC would have a 1st round PP)

I didn't say "under previous rules" I was talking without the recent expansion shenanigans.

Without recent expansion shenanigans, Gold Coast wouldn't have a priority pick because Gold Coast wouldn't have a football team. ;)

Depends where you draw the arbitrary line.

Yeah, I notice you tend to draw it at the point that allows you to draft a media release from the Department of Internet Corrections. ;)

I'm actually intrigued by the prospect of Grundy, not as a ruckman but whether he could become a permanent forward or not. Would be interested to hear any thoughts on the traits that would make him successful in this role when compared with Daniher. Wondering how his speed, agility, hands etc match up when comparing the two. Will be an interesting call if he is available at 8.

The AFL Phantom has him sliding to 14 o_O
I've been wondering the same thing. He looks quick from the limited footage online. Certainly looks quicker than Daniher - who mostly used his height really well against the u18s. Is there anything else there other than 1st round ruck fears?

I'll preface my remarks by pointing out that I have tipped us to select him at 8. Having said that, I don't think in today's footy you could have a 203 cm guy permanently at FF, regardless of his mobility. I think if we select him it will be because he is a very good ruck prospect who may well provide the option of resting him at FF rather than just rotating off the bench.

The AFL Phantom has him sliding to 14 o_O
I've been wondering the same thing. He looks quick from the limited footage online. Certainly looks quicker than Daniher - who mostly used his height really well against the u18s. Is there anything else there other than 1st round ruck fears?

Agree, Grundy reminds me of a certain player in Charlie Dixon. Agile for his size, good contested mark, but obviously Grundy can ruck too. I'm warming towards him now. It's certainly going to be interesting who we choose on Thursday. Can't wait!!

Be interesting if we take Macrae or Jaksch. Vic Metro lads.
Why interesting? Are you referring to the potential go home factor, the fact that we chose Longer last year, or something else?

For years, we seemed to avoid them. Taking Longer last year, on top of Karnezis and Lester the year before, tends to suggest that we've changed tact. Adding another one with a very early pick would pretty much cement that.

I also think it is interesting in light of homesickness rumours of Karnezis.

Yeah I am still clinging on tightly to the hope that Toumpas or Wines slide to pick 8. We are missing 1 more genuinely elite midfield prospect and I think both of those are those types. Menzel and Stringer fit the same boat although they are both more forwards right now. They also both have injury problems. I have O'Rourke, Mayes, Macrae and the like 1 step down from Wines and Toumpas. Unfortunately I still feel as if come draft time GWS will select Toumpas and melbourne wills select Wines. Anyway the club know 100 billion times more than what I do so I will trust whoever they draft.

Billy Longer has his dad living in Brissie/Goldie. He spent much of his life commuting SEQ/Vic. Not much go home there.

I'm in the boat where I want us to take someone with the potential to be elite - even if there is an added risk.

If he is as talented up forward as the experts are claiming, I'm not ruling out us nabbing Grundy.

I'd be more stunned if we pass on Grundy at pick 8 than I was when rich fell to pick 7.

I'm sure the board will go into meltdown but I'll be ecstatic. 3 potentially elites rucks who can take a grab up forward. The start of the new ruck/forward revolution.

That didn't make any sense: Just to clarify I won't be ecstatic if we pass on him, I really like him.