Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Thought it interesting too that they've tagged Staker for that role for the next couple of years.Was really interesting to hear his thoughts on how Paparone will be utilised. Makes me excited. His running capacity could enable him to be really effective as that running marking linkman. Could be a real point of difference in our team and a real weapon, especially later in games.
I'm excited.
Not attacking you Sean - there have been a few doing this recently, usually in relation to the 1-10 photo at the draft - but can I ask that if people want to keep having a dig at the guernsey/logo, that they do it on the other thread? There is a thread specifically designed for whining about the logo/guernsey. Personally, I don't care about the logo, and there is absolutely no way that the club would change back, because then it would only restart the entire whinging and whining in the future, the next time they tried to change the logo, and the club isn't stupid enough to do that. If anyone wants to whinge about it anyway, that's their prerogative, but can I please ask that this is done in the correct thread, as I am sick of seeing it in the draft thread.Looks good in a Lions guernsey albeit the wrong guernsey
Not attacking you Sean - there have been a few doing this recently, usually in relation to the 1-10 photo at the draft - but can I ask that if people want to keep having a dig at the guernsey/logo, that they do it on the other thread?
Ah. Well, that would be my bad then... Whoops! Can you see how annoyed it makes me - even the thought that it COULD be to do with that sends me rantingI am pretty sure Sean was referring to the fact that the jumper has our old sponsors on it, thus the attempt to cover the BOQ logo with the footy.
Took me a second there - Game, Set, Match 'To Be determined'? No, I think I got pretty owned by The Brown Dog... ahhhh. right.
Trust me to pick the wrong post to have the whinge at after ignoring the last few jabs, and then make it a nice big rant, not a simple "BTW - jumper issues belong in X thread". In my defence: everybody pretend it didn't happen...
Was really interesting to hear his thoughts on how Paparone will be utilised. Makes me excited. His running capacity could enable him to be really effective as that running marking linkman. Could be a good point of difference in our team and a real weapon, especially later in games.
Clearly he is seen more as a Riewoldt style, far-ranging type CHF rather than a Browny type who stays a little closer to home.
I'm excited.
Ah. Well, that would be my bad then... Whoops! Can you see how annoyed it makes me - even the thought that it COULD be to do with that sends me ranting![]()
I seem to be the serial defender of Lester but I haven't seen any evidence in the past 2 years that suggests that he is less adept at clearances than Harwood. The latter might have spent time at the contest as a junior footballer but we're yet to see it at senior level. Lester had 4 and 5 clearance games last year - hardly completely ineffective. Meanwhile, Harwood was playing on a half back flank. I reckon that is more relevant form than what they each did in the under 18s comp. Now, I suspect that Lester's stint in the middle was just us much about his physical maturity, understanding of the gameplan and endurance but that just demonstrates to me the gap between him and the others being spoken of as more natural clearance players.
However, I reckon the coaching staff agree with you about a big body at the contest.
I also agree with you about taking an overly negative approach to clearances. I would say though that someone like Redden took a fair while this year to display the see ball, get ball approach that the best contest mids have.
Yep. Not sure at that age he would be an accomplished bull shitter so I'll take him at his word that he is happy to be here.Draft Interview of Sam Mayes
Look at his big broad smile when he says the names of Brown, Black, Voss.
Bring on 2013 already!!
Yeah but it's those secret, brown paper bag payments you demand. Unless you're happy with Carlton or Adelaide mate, you're shit outa luck.Surely a club out there is willing to back themselves in sorting out my off-board issues.
Surely a club out there is willing to back themselves in sorting out my off-board issues.
I was particularly happy with Adelaide's efforts.
Terry Wallace ( more of a Walldud if you ask me) says: I thought they (sic Brisbane) had a pretty average night. From a senior point of view they have added key forwards in Lisle and Stef Martin. They tried to ensure last night that life after Jonathan Brown is covered by picking up at No.23 Marco Paparone (193cm) and pick No.32 Michael Close (195cm) who are both key forwards but certainly no J. Brown's in my opinion. I am not a Sam Mayes fan. The mid-forward has undoubted natural flair and skill but at pick eight I will wait to see if he can tough it out in the hostile AFL environment.
Terry Wallace ( more of a Walldud if you ask me) says: I thought they (sic Brisbane) had a pretty average night. From a senior point of view they have added key forwards in Lisle and Stef Martin. They tried to ensure last night that life after Jonathan Brown is covered by picking up at No.23 Marco Paparone (193cm) and pick No.32 Michael Close (195cm) who are both key forwards but certainly no J. Brown's in my opinion. I am not a Sam Mayes fan. The mid-forward has undoubted natural flair and skill but at pick eight I will wait to see if he can tough it out in the hostile AFL environment.This can only mean one thing, we did AWESOME!One of my ex's is a life long doggies girl and she detests him, says that club is still getting over getting Wallaced.Mr "I have won 2 of 7 finals my teams played in". Statistics like that are never wrong.
Each to their own really, but I sadly agree with Wallace's comments on this occasion.
I have been left scratching my head since last night questioning the same thing. I'm not going to knock the lads we brought in yesterday, but to me it seems, out of fear of Brown's departure and the fact we missed out on Hogan, that we are loading up on pretty much the same sized player in the hope that 'one' may stand up as his replacement. We brought in Lisle and Longer (to a lesser extent, albeit a ruckman) last year and then brought in Martin and drafted Paprone and Close who are all pretty similar. Sure one may stand up, but gee, to bring in 5 very similar players who you wouldn't classify as elite is pretty short-sighted in my opinion. In my opinion, this recent strategy smacks of paranoia and suggests we don't trust that any one of the recent additions (Lisle, Longer, Martin, Paparone and Close) is capable, so therefore bring in as many as possible and cross our fingers that at least one will step up.
Like others have said, I would have felt a whole lot better about how we performed at the draft had the types of players drafted varied, with reference to the similarities between Paporone and Close after also brining in Martin and Lisle.
As for Mayes. I'm not excited. Reminds me of Polec too much, being that soft outside player without a mature hard body. And before you level all sorts of attacks my way, as is the custom around here, I don't mean 'soft' in the sense that he blatantly shirks the contest. I was really hoping Port would go local so that we got Wines, the type of physical and agressive player I like and suspect Mayes is not. To be honest, I would have rathered a guy like Hrovat over Mayes., but happy to cut him some slack and hope, like the others, prove me completely wrong.
But, that being said, I 100% agree with Wallace.
Each to their own really, but I sadly agree with Wallace's comments on this occasion.
I have been left scratching my head since last night questioning the same thing. I'm not going to knock the lads we brought in yesterday, but to me it seems, out of fear of Brown's departure and the fact we missed out on Hogan, that we are loading up on pretty much the same sized player in the hope that 'one' may stand up as his replacement. We brought in Lisle and Longer (to a lesser extent, albeit a ruckman) last year and then brought in Martin and drafted Paprone and Close who are all pretty similar. Sure one may stand up, but gee, to bring in 5 very similar players who you wouldn't classify as elite is pretty short-sighted in my opinion. In my opinion, this recent strategy smacks of paranoia and suggests we don't trust that any one of the recent additions (Lisle, Longer, Martin, Paparone and Close) is capable, so therefore bring in as many as possible and cross our fingers that at least one will step up.
Like others have said, I would have felt a whole lot better about how we performed at the draft had the types of players drafted varied, with reference to the similarities between Paporone and Close after also brining in Martin and Lisle.
As for Mayes. I'm not excited. Reminds me of Polec too much, being that soft outside player without a mature hard body. And before you level all sorts of attacks my way, as is the custom around here, I don't mean 'soft' in the sense that he blatantly shirks the contest. I was really hoping Port would go local so that we got Wines, the type of physical and agressive player I like and suspect Mayes is not. To be honest, I would have rathered a guy like Hrovat over Mayes., but happy to cut him some slack and hope, like the others, prove me completely wrong.
I'm excited about Mayes but I like your comparison to Polec.As for Mayes. I'm not excited. Reminds me of Polec too much, being that soft outside player without a mature hard body. And before you level all sorts of attacks my way, as is the custom around here, I don't mean 'soft' in the sense that he blatantly shirks the contest. I was really hoping Port would go local so that we got Wines, the type of physical and agressive player I like and suspect Mayes is not. To be honest, I would have rathered a guy like Hrovat over Mayes., but happy to cut him some slack and hope, like the others, prove me completely wrong.