Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion

I knew when I was watching the draft that when I logged onto to BF it would be full of Tigers supporters sooking even though they have NFI about these kids.

Happens every year.

as much as highlight packages are their 'highlights' i like those selections on the vids. vlastuin looks like a replacement for tucky,mckintosh a tall mackie type,mcdonough a chapman type and mcbean a rookie ruck prospect. we have to wait for how they go.

I am fair dinkhum baffled. these blokes get paid dosh to do this? ffs a few mates with a few beers could have done better.
How do you know though?Thats what's baffling.

I would have liked to have taken the punt on Grundy or Menzel. Higher risk higher reward. Don't know anything about the other 3 so il give them a couple of years before I pass judgement. McBean is physically a long way away definitely looking at 4-5 years before he has a ruck capable body.
The menzel family have flawed knees, would have been a terrible risk to take from our position

I am fair dinkhum baffled. these blokes get paid dosh to do this? ffs a few mates with a few beers could have done better.

Always pay attention to your posts...but the above post..without seeing the selections choosen in our Draft play...is piffle...expect more from you!

Is it just my bias... or was Dimma the happiest coach out of all those interviewed tonight... he was absolutely beaming when talking about our selections... reckon I'll base my opinion on his judgment rather than the whingers on this forum.

GO TIGES.

ok i will give you some advice then you ignore us:D.
Usually don't bite at people who don't bite at me first. I haven't been randomly shouting down posters just for being too pleased with the draft or not being sceptical enough.

How about people like you just letting people like us vent and express diverse opinions on an internet discussion board and stop interjecting with smartarse cliched "club knows best" remarks and jumping on anyone who has a view you don't like just because they may not be an accredited employee of the AFL or journalist and haven't sat through thousand of hours of junior games & footage. Most of us have however followed the game & this club for decades, which may not count for much in your eyes, but means something to us and earnt us the right to have a voice.

If you can't manage that simple thing then make use of the ignore function and quit bitching about our bitching. We're no less passionate about this club than any of you good two shoes agree-with-everything supporters. So maybe try and indulge us and our rantings & ravings that may or may not be, uneducated, irrational & driven by emotion and excuse us for giving a shit about RFC and where it's headed.

Here we go again, Harmichael having a sook. How about you go do something that makes you happy instead of being on here whinging all the time?

I don't agree with everything the club does, as much as it would suit your argument if I did.

However I do know that people whose job it is to know these things know more about drafting than the people on here sooking.

Maybe you should ignore me? After all I never quoted your post did I?

Just finished watching the video highlights from the kids drafted tonight and I'd say I'm pretty satisfied with our haul. I know that a 4 minute highlights package can be made to look good, but what I took from watching them was that they're all pretty good by foot, and seem to be able to kick a ball to a teammates advantage. Vlastuin was a given, but of the rest I love the look of McIntosh... great hands overhead, and has a good goal sense from what I saw.

Time will tell...

How about people like you just letting people like us vent and express diverse opinions on an internet discussion board and stop interjecting with smartarse cliched "club knows best" remarks and jumping on anyone who has a view you don't like just because they may not be an accredited employee of the AFL or journalist and haven't sat through thousand of hours of junior games & footage. Most of us have however followed the game & this club for decades, which may not count for much in your eyes, but means something to us and earnt us the right to have a voice.

If you can't manage that simple thing then make use of the ignore function and quit bitching about our bitching. We're no less passionate about this club than any of you good two shoes agree-with-everything supporters. So maybe try and indulge us and our rantings & ravings that may or may not be, uneducated, irrational & driven by emotion and excuse us for giving a shit about RFC and where it's headed.
Cut it out partner, if you care to shoot from the hip then you aren't beyond repute...be accountable. Much of what you've remarked is straight from the clacker and for all its worth thats probably where it should have stayed

McDponough had 28 touches and kicked 4 goals in the U/18 SA GF this year.
Handy!
Should have had 30 and kicked 5 obviously.As will Ferrell said I feel like I'm taking crazy pills reading this thread

Usually don't bite at people who don't bite at me first. I haven't been randomly shouting down posters just for being too pleased with the draft or not being sceptical enough.

imo i get your frustration with the club and i think we have this yet i just dont get how you can be venting on something that hasnt happened yet. by all mean crack it at the way the club plays,operates ect,ect but i dont understand how posters can get frustrated when they could turnout to be stars.

I really like the Vlastuin pick. Good, solid, low risk - high reward. The fact they didn't change their minds shows they're confident in their selection of him. Good job Tigey boys! Keep flying under the radar. Looking forward to round 1

Very mixed feelings about this pool but I can definitely see where Richmond is coming from and from the looks of it, have executed the draft to plan.

We have recruited 4 players who can kick the ball. In order of kicking, I'd have it as McDonough > Vlastuin > McIntosh > McBean. And there isn't much between them.

We have recruited 2 players which are tough nuggety players. We have recruited one player who shows a lot of class and potential. And finally, one player who fills a need.

Vlastuin will come straight into the side, and it looks like there is a spot for A. Edwards and McDonough to compete for. McIntosh could be a real surprise packet. I'd really love to see him get some games next year, I think he can be special. I might be getting a little too excited but he could be the Nathan Fyfe of 2010. (Similar background)

A mixed bag. An inside mid, an outside mid, a forward pocket and a ruckman. I think we need to get a KPF in the PSD or rookie and we'd have all parts covered for depth.

To be honest, although we got it wrong in terms of who we thought we'd pick, other clubs didn't even rate these players.

Atkins went at 81, Membrey 46, Graham 54, Carter 59 and Dick at 62. Also, Garlett, Pongracic, Haynes, Herbert, Banfield and McGennis missed out on being drafted all together.

Very strange draft this year, but it was certainly entertaining. I wouldn't write this one off yet. This really could be one of our better hauls.

Here we go again, Harmichael having a sook. How about you go do something that makes you happy instead of being on here whinging all the time?

I don't agree with everything the club does, as much as it would suit your argument if I did.

However I do know that people whose job it is to know these things know more about drafting than the people on here sooking.

Maybe you should ignore me? After all I never quoted your post did I?

Because you're usually too busy quoting others and telling them how to think, having your own "sook" about people being too "negative" and chastising them for voicing a concern without having the correct "qualifications".

Tell me? Should everyone who expresses concern about the economy work in the department of finance or have a degree in economics too?

Because you're usually too busy quoting others and telling them how to think, having your own "sook" about people being too "negative" and chastising them for voicing a concern without having the correct "qualifications".

Tell me? Should everyone who expresses concern about the economy work in the department of finance or have a degree in economics too?
Tiger fight, in the words of Brucccceeee....."Roooooaaaaarrrrrrr".....

Ah the joys of watching the reactions of the phantom draft readers, they see certain players get hyped up in these drafts and then get their hearts set on the club recruiting them. As good as the draft watchers are that write these phantom drafts, they don't have the in depth knowledge that the recruiters at the club do. I appreciate the fact that they do give up a lot of their time to give the everyday Joe an insight about the kids coming through, just think that posters need to keep in mind that they need to take the info they get from these drafts with a grain of salt and not get too emotionally attached.

Can't wait to head on down to Coburg next year to watch our new young guns begin their hopefully long and successful careers at Tigerland:thumbsu:

My only gripe is McBeen as a ruck, think he lacks the competitiveness I like in ruckman.

Other than that, got a steal in Kamdyn and Mcdonough I love. Vlastuin is ok.

As I said, underwhelmed but I think we have done quite well. If that makes sense.

I will write more when I get back to the hotel room.

You see Tigerbob this is where i believe you are looking at it from the wrong angle and i have to disagree with you.

McBean will never be our number 1 ruckman, You have to consider him as somebody mentioned before playing the Jackson Trengove roll at port adelaide FB/CHB that spends 10-15% in the ruck and can take the resting ruckman

Alot of teams are now going in with a 'BUG' foward that plays the 2nd ruck role and in 4 years time we will have a ready made replacement for Chaplin that can also go foward to pinch a goal.

Very very happy with this selection and wouldnt of lasted to pick #42, Both the Hawks & Roo's were very heavily into Liam and some had him going late 1st round.

If Richmond had Selected Membrey or Atkins with #42 and Taken McDonough with #87 and Garlett with #100

#9 - Vlastuin
#31- McIntosh
#33 - McBean
#42 - Membrey
#87 - McDonough
#100 - Garlett

We would have Rated our Draft as the best of all the teams, And could of virtually claimed we got 4 1st Round Kids in Vlastuin,McBean,Garlett,Membrey

Should of used the last 2 Picks and Got Rid of that Resident SPUD McGUANE

I think the club also considered that in 2014 we will have our own reserves so we can develop some of these players a lot better than previous years.

You see Tigerbob this is where i believe you are looking at it from the wrong angle and i have to disagree with you.

McBean will never be our number 1 ruckman, You have to consider him as somebody mentioned before playing the Jackson Trengove roll at port adelaide FB/CHB that spends 10-15% in the ruck and can take the resting ruckman

Alot of teams are now going in with a 'BUG' foward that plays the 2nd ruck role and in 4 years time we will have a ready made replacement for Chaplin that can also go foward to pinch a goal.

Very very happy with this selection and wouldnt of lasted to pick #42, Both the Hawks & Roo's were very heavily into Liam and some had him going late 1st round.

If Richmond had Selected Membrey or Atkins with #42 and Taken McDonough with #87 and Garlett with #100

#9 - Vlastuin
#31- McIntosh
#33 - McBean
#42 - Membrey
#87 - McDonough
#100 - Garlett

We would have Rated our Draft as the best of all the teams, And could of virtually claimed we got 4 1st Round Kids in Vlastuin,McBean,Garlett,Membrey

Should of used the last 2 Picks and Got Rid of that Resident SPUD McGUANE

Talking to the recruiters, he was definitely recruited as a ruckman mate.

McGuane should be gone once Elton steps up.

McBean needs a lot of size and development, we have Maric, Vickery (important for forward structure) and Derickx. Richmond fans need to pray that we dont have an injured Maric next season, or no finals again.

McIntosh is a good talent, thought he would go to either Fremantle (got lucky with Simpson) or Sydney (they rated Towers really high). He dropped, I then had him at St.Kilda who went against a Tall Defender and Hawthorn got lucky with O'Brien dropping. He fell extremely far for us.

Excited by McDonough. Again, will need development, needs to increase his tank and conditioning, but very smart and elite user of the ball. Loves a goal too.

Vlastuin we all know about. Safe selection who will play Round One.

Don't think anyone can be too upset with this draft to be honest.

Let's think this through a bit shall we?

Who's more likely to know more about finance or economics? The person paid to be one or the person who has NFI?

That's the point of my comments to those sooking about who we drafted. The point of my comments to you are that you ought to lighten up a bit. It's really not healthy (IMHO) to be so negative about everything. Still, if I was in the stand with you at a Tigers match i'd still want to buy you a beer. Truce?

Tigerbob - I know the recruiter said Ruckman but McBean will be playing KPD for the Richmond Football Club
Think of him either as a Jackson Trengove or an Defender version of Tyrone Vickery.

Do you agree with my summation about what we would of thought of our drafting if we had selected as i posted ?

Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion